DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 13 April 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant respectfully asserts that the combination of Jerez with Wong is improper, as one of ordinary skill in the art is provided no motivation to combine any of the insulators 40, 60 or screw 20 of Wong with the clamps 31 and the insulating sleeve 32 / bifurcated end 41 of Jerez to arrive at the presently-claimed invention. In particular, one of ordinary skill is provided no instruction on why or even how the insulating clamps 31 of Jerez would mate with any of the screw 20, or insulators 40, 60 of Wong in the manner claimed, as doing so would also appear to require the filament shield 30 and the stage 50 to somehow provide the mating of the insulators with the clamp of Jerez, which would render the device of Jerez unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In Wong, screws 20 perform the function of holding filament 10 in the same way that insulating sleeve 32 performs the function of holding filament 34 in Jerez; Wong screws 20 are thus analogous to Jerez sleeve 32. Jerez’s sleeves 32 are positioned by inserting the ends 41 into holes 40 in clamp 31, Wong’s screws are positioned by inserting the screws into holes 54 in stage 50; Wong’s stage 50 is thus analogous to Jerez’s clamp 31. Jerez does not specifically teach how the sleaves 32 are kept in place in the hole (likely through friction), while Wong shows that the screw 20 is positioned by sandwiching the stage 50 between the head of the screw on one side and the nuts 64 on the other, with insulators 40 and 60 essentially acting as washers. Wong discloses that this configuration has the art-recognized suitability for the purpose of holding the filament assembly together, which is why one of ordinary skill would consider it obvious to use it to hold Jerez’s filament assembly together.
Applicant argues that Wong fails to teach or suggest either of the first positioning feature or the second positioning feature as extending from the first engagement body, as claimed. Indeed, Wong is clear that the stage 50 is fixed to the source chamber 76, and no mention is made of any coupling to any clamping member. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Wong teaches positioning features 50, 60 extending from first engagement body 20. The stage 50 being fixed to the source chamber 76 is a non-sequitur, and no different that Jerez’s clamp being fixed to the source chamber through screws 43 (see Jerez Fig. 6) or applicant’s clamp being fixed to the source chamber through insulating spacers 155 (see specification paragraph 48).
Applicant further asserts that any clamping of the filament 10 of Wong would be at the ends of the leads between 10 and 20. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Jerez’s clamping does not occur between 34 and 32 (analogous to Wong 10 and 20), so why would the clamping in the combination be in a different location as it was in the primary reference?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9, 11-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jerez (US 2012/0013249 A1) in view of Wong (US 5675152).
With respect to claim 3: Jerez teaches a cathode filament device (30) for an indirectly heated cathode (20), the cathode filament device comprising: a first filament rod (32+41) having a first end (end facing 31) and a second end (end facing 34) along a first axis (see Fig. 5), wherein the first filament rod comprises a first engagement portion (41) proximate to the first end thereof (see Fig. 5), wherein the first engagement portion comprises a first engagement body (41) and a first positioning feature extending from the first engagement body (unlabeled flange between 41 and 32); a first clamping member (41), wherein the first engagement body is configured to selectively mate with the first clamping member (see Fig. 6), wherein the first positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod with respect to the first clamping member in at least a first direction along the first axis (see Fig. 6) and a filament (34) operably coupled to the first filament rod proximate to the second end of the first filament rod (see Fig. 6)”.
Jerez does not specifically teach “wherein the first filament rod further comprises a second positioning feature extending from the first engagement portion, wherein the second positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod with respect to the first clamping member in a second direction along the first axis, wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction”.
However, Wong teaches “wherein the first filament rod (20+40+60) further comprises a second positioning feature (60) extending from the first engagement portion (part of 20 that engages 30, 50), wherein the second positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod (see Fig. 3) with respect to the first clamping member (50) in a second direction (down in Fig. 2) along the first axis (see Fig. 2), wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (as shown in Fig. 3, the second positioning feature 60 and the first positioning feature 40 are on opposite sides of the clamping member 50 and thus restrict movement in opposite directions)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 4: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “The cathode filament device of claim 3 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the first positioning feature comprises one or more of a tab, a rod, a collar, a flange (see Figs. 5, 8), and a step extending outwardly from the first engagement portion (see Fig. 5)
Jerez does not specifically teach “the second positioning feature comprises one or more of a tab, a rod, a collar, a flange, and a step extending outwardly from the first engagement portion”.
However, Wong teaches “the second positioning feature comprises one or more of a tab, a rod, a collar (see Fig. 2), a flange, and a step extending outwardly from the first engagement portion (see Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 5: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 3 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the first engagement portion defines a first diameter of the first filament rod (see Figs. 5, 8), and wherein the first positioning feature define a second diameter of the first filament rod (see Figs. 5, 8), wherein the second diameter is greater than the first diameter (see Figs. 5, 8)”.
Jerez does not specifically teach “wherein the second positioning feature define a second diameter of the first filament rod, wherein the second diameter is greater than the first diameter”.
However, Wong teaches “wherein the second positioning feature define a second diameter of the first filament rod (see Fig. 3), wherein the second diameter is greater than the first diameter (see Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 6: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 2 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the first engagement portion is cylindrical having a first engagement diameter (see Fig. 5), and wherein the first positioning feature comprises a first flange having a first positioning diameter (see Fig. 5), wherein the first positioning diameter is greater than the first engagement diameter (see Figs. 5, 8)”.
With respect to claim 7: Jerez teaches “The cathode filament device of claim 6 (see above)”.
Jerez does not specifically teach “wherein the second positioning feature defines a second positioning diameter, wherein the second positioning diameter is greater than the first engagement diameter, and wherein the second positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod with respect to the first clamping member in a second direction along the first axis,”.
However, Wong teaches “wherein the second positioning feature defines a second positioning diameter (see Fig. 3), wherein the second positioning diameter is greater than the first engagement diameter (see Fig. 3), and wherein the second positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod with respect to the first clamping member in a second direction along the first axis (see Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 8: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 3 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “further comprising a second filament rod (32+41; see Fig. 5) having a third end and a fourth end along a second axis (see Fig. 5), wherein the second filament rod comprises a second engagement portion (41) proximate to the third end (see Fig. 5), and wherein the filament is operably coupled to the second filament rod proximate to the fourth end of the second filament rod (see Fig. 6)”.
With respect to claim 9: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 8 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the second filament rod, when viewed perpendicular to the second axis, is identical to the first filament rod when viewed perpendicular to the first axis (see Figs. 5, 7)”.
With respect to claim 11: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 12 (see below)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the second filament rod, when viewed perpendicular to the second axis, is substantially identical to the first filament rod when viewed perpendicular to the first axis (see Fig. 5)”.
With respect to claim 12: Jerez teaches “a cathode filament device (30) for an indirectly heated cathode (20), the cathode filament device comprising: a first filament rod (32+41) having a first end and a second end along a first axis (see Fig. 5), wherein the first filament rod comprises a first engagement portion (41) proximate to the first end thereof (see Fig. 5), wherein the first engagement portion comprises a first engagement body (42) and a first positioning feature (unlabeled flange between 32 and 41) extending from the first engagement body (see Figs. 5, 8); a second filament rod (32+41; see Fig. 5) having a third end and a fourth end along a second axis (see Fig. 5), wherein the second filament rod comprises a second engagement portion (41) proximate to the third end (see Fig. 5) and having a second engagement body (unlabeled flange between 32 and 41); a first clamping member (31) having a first clamping surface (40) configured to selectively engage the first engagement body (see Figs. 6, 8), and wherein the first positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod with respect to the first clamping member in at least a first direction along the first axis (see Fig. 8, paragraph 65); a second clamping member (31) configured to selectively engage the second engagement body (see Fig. 5); and a filament (34) operably coupled to the first filament rod proximate to the second end of the first filament rod (see Fig. 6) and to the second filament rod proximate to the fourth end of the second filament rod (see Fig. 6)”.
Jerez does not specifically teach “wherein the first filament rod further comprises a second positioning feature extending from the first engagement portion, wherein the second positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod with respect to the first clamping member in a second direction along the first axis, wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction”.
However, Wong teaches “wherein the first filament rod (20+40+60) further comprises a second positioning feature (60) extending from the first engagement portion (part of 20 that engages 30, 50), wherein the second positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod (see Fig. 3) with respect to the first clamping member (50) in a second direction (down in Fig. 2) along the first axis (see Fig. 2), wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (as shown in Fig. 3, the second positioning feature 60 and the first positioning feature 40 are on opposite sides of the clamping member 50 and thus restrict movement in opposite directions)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 15: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 10 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the first engagement portion is cylindrical having a first engagement diameter (see Fig. 5), and wherein the first positioning feature comprises a first flange having a first positioning diameter (see Figs. 5, 8), wherein the first positioning diameter is greater than the first engagement diameter (see Figs. 5, 8)”.
With respect to claim 13: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “The cathode filament device of claim 12 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the first positioning feature comprises one or more of a tab, a rod, a collar, a flange (see Figs. 5, 8), and a step extending outwardly from the first engagement portion (see Fig. 5)
Jerez does not specifically teach “the second positioning feature comprises one or more of a tab, a rod, a collar, a flange, and a step extending outwardly from the first engagement portion”.
However, Wong teaches “the second positioning feature comprises one or more of a tab, a rod, a collar (see Fig. 2), a flange, and a step extending outwardly from the first engagement portion (see Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 14: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 12 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the first engagement portion defines a first diameter of the first filament rod (see Figs. 5, 8), and wherein the first positioning feature define a second diameter of the first filament rod (see Figs. 5, 8), wherein the second diameter is greater than the first diameter (see Figs. 5, 8)”.
Jerez does not specifically teach “wherein the second positioning feature define a second diameter of the first filament rod, wherein the second diameter is greater than the first diameter”.
However, Wong teaches “wherein the second positioning feature define a second diameter of the first filament rod (see Fig. 3), wherein the second diameter is greater than the first diameter (see Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 15: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 12 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the first engagement portion is cylindrical having a first engagement diameter (see Fig. 5), and wherein the first positioning feature comprises a first flange having a first positioning diameter (see Figs. 5, 8), wherein the first positioning diameter is greater than the first engagement diameter (see Figs. 5, 8)”.
With respect to claim 16: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 15 (see above)”
Jerez does not specifically teach “wherein the second positioning feature defines a filament rod diameter, wherein the filament rod diameter is greater than the first engagement diameter, and wherein the second positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod with respect to the first clamping member in a second direction along the first axis, wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction”.
However, Wong teaches “wherein the second positioning feature defines a filament rod diameter (see Fig. 3), wherein the filament rod diameter is greater than the first engagement diameter (see Fig. 3), and wherein the second positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod with respect to the first clamping member in a second direction along the first axis, wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (see Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 17: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 16 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the second engagement portion of the second filament rod comprises a third positioning feature extending from the second engagement body (see Fig. 5), wherein the third positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the second filament rod with respect to the second clamping member in at least the first direction along the second axis (see Figs. 5, 8)”.
With respect to claim 18: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 17 (see above)”.
Jerez does not specifically teach “wherein the second filament rod further comprises a fourth positioning feature extending from the second engagement body, wherein the fourth positioning feature defines a filament rod diameter, wherein the second engagement body defines a second engagement diameter, and wherein the filament rod diameter is greater than the second engagement diameter, wherein the fourth positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the second filament rod with respect to the second clamping member in the second direction along the second axis”.
However, Wong teaches “wherein the second filament rod (20+40+60) further comprises a fourth positioning feature (60) extending from the second engagement body (20), wherein the fourth positioning feature defines a filament rod diameter (see Fig. 3), wherein the second engagement body defines a second engagement diameter (see Fig. 3), and wherein the filament rod diameter is greater than the second engagement diameter (see Fig. 3), wherein the fourth positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the second filament rod with respect to the second clamping member in the second direction along the second axis (see Fig. 3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a fourth positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 19: Jerez teaches “a cathode filament device (30) for an indirectly heated cathode (20), the cathode filament device comprising: a first filament rod (32+41) having a first end and a second end along a first axis (see Fig. 5), wherein the first filament rod comprises a first engagement portion (41) proximate to the first end thereof (see Fig. 5), wherein the first engagement portion comprises a first engagement body (41) and a first positioning feature (unlabeled flange between 41 and 32) extending from the first engagement body (see Fig. 5); a second filament rod (see Fig. 5) having a third end and a fourth end along a second axis (see Fig. 5), wherein the second filament rod comprises a second engagement portion (41) proximate to the third end (see Fig. 5), wherein the second engagement portion comprises a second engagement body (41) and a third positioning feature (unlabeled flange between 32 and 41) extending from the second engagement body (see Fig. 5); a first clamping member (31) having a first clamping surface (40) configured to selectively engage the first engagement body (see Fig. 6), and wherein the first positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod with respect to the first clamping member along the first axis (see Fig. 8); a second clamping member (31; see Fig. 5) configured to selectively engage the second engagement body (see Fig. 6), wherein the third positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the second filament rod with respect to the second clamping member along the second axis (see Figs. 6, 8); and a filament (34) operably coupled to the first filament rod proximate to the second end of the first filament rod and to the second filament rod proximate to the fourth end of the second filament rod (see Fig. 6)”.
Jerez does not specifically teach a second positioning feature and a fourth positioning feature.
However, Wong teaches positioning feature 60 corresponding to the second positioning feature when applied to Jerez’s first filament rod and the fourth positioning feature when applied to Jerez’s second filament rod.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding second and fourth positioning features as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 20: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 19 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein one or more of the first positioning feature, the second positioning feature, the third positioning feature and the fourth positioning feature comprise one or more of a tab, a rod, a collar, a flange (see Fig. 5), and a step extending outwardly from the respective first engagement portion and the second engagement portion (see Fig. 5)”.
With respect to claim 21: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the cathode filament device of claim 19 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein one or more of the first positioning feature, the second positioning feature, the third positioning feature, and the fourth positioning feature are configured to fix a position of the filament with respect to one or more of the first clamping member and the second clamping member (see Figs. 6, 8)”.
With respect to claim 22: Jerez teaches “an indirectly heated cathode apparatus (20+30), comprising: a cathode (13) having a blind hole (19) defined therein, wherein the blind hole extends along a cathode axis (see Figs. 1, 4); a filament rod (32+41) extending from a first end to a second end thereof (see Figs. 5, 8), wherein the filament rod comprises: a first engagement portion (41) proximate to the first end (see Fig. 5); and one or more positioning features continuously extending outwardly from the first engagement portion (unlabeled flange between 32 and 41; see Figs. 5, 8); a filament (34) operably coupled to the filament rod proximate to the second end of the filament rod (see Fig. 6); and a clamping member (31) having a clamping surface (40), wherein the clamping member is configured to selectively clamp the first engagement portion of the filament rod to the clamping surface (see Figs. 6, 8), and wherein the one or more positioning features are further configured to selectively mate with the clamping member (see Figs. 6, 8), thereby selectively positioning the filament with respect to the cathode axis within the blind hole (paragraphs 64-65; see Fig. 8), wherein the plurality of positioning features are configured to limit a translation of the filament rod with respect to the clamping member in a first direction parallel to the cathode axis (see Fig. 6)”.
Jerez does not teach that the plurality of positioning features are configured to limit a translation of the filament rod with respect to the clamping member in a second direction parallel to the cathode axis.
However, However, Wong teaches the first filament rod (20+40+60) further comprises a second positioning feature (60) extending from the first engagement portion (part of 20 that engages 30, 50), wherein the second positioning feature is configured to limit a translation of the first filament rod (see Fig. 3) with respect to the first clamping member (50) in a second direction (down in Fig. 2) along the first axis (see Fig. 2), wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (as shown in Fig. 3, the second positioning feature 60 and the first positioning feature 40 are on opposite sides of the clamping member 50 and thus restrict movement in opposite directions)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 23: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “The indirectly heated cathode apparatus of claim 22 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the one or more positioning features comprise one or more of a tab, a rod, a collar, a flange (see Figs. 5, 8), and a step extending outwardly from the first engagement portion (see Fig. 5)”.
With respect to claim 24: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the indirectly heated cathode apparatus of claim 22 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the one or more positioning features are configured to fixedly position the filament at an aligned position with respect to the cathode axis (see Fig. 8, paragraph 64), whereby the aligned position defines a predetermined gap distance (‘g’; see Fig. 8) between the filament and a bottom surface of the blind hole of the cathode (paragraph 65)”.
With respect to claim 25: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “the indirectly heated cathode apparatus of claim 24 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the aligned position further defines a predetermined sidewall gap between the filament and an internal diameter of the blind hole of the cathode (see Figs. 7, 8)”.
With respect to claim 26: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “The cathode filament device of claim 3 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the first positioning feature continuously extends from the first engagement body (see Fig. 6)”
Jerez does not teach that the the first filament rod is unitary and the second positioning feature continuously extend from the first engagement body.
However, Wong teaches that the first filament rod (20) is unitary and the second positioning feature continuously extend from the first engagement body (see Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 27: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “The cathode filament device of claim 12 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the first positioning feature continuously extends from the first engagement body (see Fig. 6)”
Jerez does not teach that the the first filament rod is unitary and the second positioning feature continuously extend from the first engagement body.
However, Wong teaches that the first filament rod (20) is unitary and the second positioning feature continuously extend from the first engagement body (see Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 28: Jerez in view of Wong teaches “The cathode filament device of claim 19 (see above)”.
Jerez further teaches “wherein the first positioning feature continuously extends from the first engagement body (see Fig. 6), wherein the third positioning feature continuously extend from the second engagement body (see Fig. 6)”.
Jerez does not teach that the first and second filament rods are unitary and the second positioning and fourth positioning features continuously extend from the first and second engagement body.
However, Wong teaches that the first and second filament rods (20) are unitary and the second and fourth positioning features continuously extend from the first and second engagement body (see Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode filament device of Jerez by adding a second and fourth positioning feature as taught by Wong in order to help hold the assembly together (Wong column 3 lines 61-65).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bright et al. (US 5262652), which teaches an ion implantation apparatus.
Farley et al. (US 2004/0061068 A1), which teaches an indirectly heated cathode structure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875