DETAILED ACTION
The claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over Fisher (US Pub No 2015/0120560) in view of Filter et al. (US Pub No 2019/0356638).
With respect to claim 1, Fisher further teaches:
A method comprising:
[providing, to a user device,] a token (e.g., “The secure data element may be created by the user in an enrollment process. In other embodiments, the secure data element may be created by a computer on behalf of the user. The secure data element may be alphanumeric, or composed of only numbers or only letters. Secure data element are not limited to strings of characters. In some embodiments, a secure data element may be a password, a token, or biometric data (e.g., fingerprint, voiceprint).” ¶ 0036);
in response to a request to initiate a transaction by a user of the user device with another party, transmitting, to the user device, a request for a proof-of-identity, wherein the user is registered with an identity service (e.g., “In step 202, the server computer receives an authentication request message generated by a merchant computer 104 for a payment device used in a transaction between a user and a merchant. The authentication request message may include user data, user computing device data, and transaction data.” ¶ 0099 and “ In step 218, the server computer sends the challenge request message to the user computing device 102. The challenge request message may be sent to the user computing device 102 by a direct connection between the user computing device 102 and the server computer.” ¶ 0107);
receiving, by the identity service from the user device, the proof-of-identity based on the token and at least one of the following: a biometric, a secret code, an assertion profile, at least one know-your-customer datum, or any combination thereof (e.g., “In step 220, the server computer receives a challenge response message from the user computing device 102. The challenge response message may include the secure data element provided by a user associated with the user computing device 102.” ¶ 0108 and “Examples of secure data elements include a password, a token, and/or biometric data.” ¶ 0106);
authenticating, by the identity service, the user based on the proof-of-identity received from the user device (e.g., “ In step 222, the server computer evaluates the received secure data element against a stored secure data element. The server computer may evaluate the received secure data element to determine whether the received secure data element matches or is within a range of a stored secure data element.” ¶ 0109 and “In step 224, the server computer determines whether the received secure data element matches or is within a range of a stored secure data element.” ¶ 0110); and
initiating a transaction in response to authenticating the user (e.g., “ In step 226, when the received secure data element matches a stored secure data element, the transaction is authenticated by the server computer.” ¶ 0111).
Fisher discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above with regards to a “secure data elements include a password, a token, and/or biometric data” (¶ 0106) and the creating of the secure data element during enrollment process by the user or a computer on behalf of the user (¶ 0036), but does not explicitly discloses “providing, to a user device, a token”. However, analogous art from the same field of endeavor, Filter teaches the user device receiving a one-time code to use in subsequent transaction (e.g., ¶ 0093-0094). Therefore, based on Fisher in view of Filter, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Filter to the system of Fisher in order to increase data exchange security by reducing fraud and identity theft (¶ 0011). Hence, it would have been obvious to combine the references to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
The prior arts above further teach claim:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the proof-of-identity comprises a device identifier (e.g., verifying user computing device data @ Fisher ¶ 0077-0078 and ID @ Filter ¶ 0056).
The prior arts above further teach claim:
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the device identifier comprises a device fingerprint or a phone number (e.g., unique device identifiers to uniquely identifies a subscription in a mobile network @ Fisher ¶ 0029 and unique number @ Filter ¶ 0049).
The prior arts above further teach claim:
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the token comprises an encrypted token (e.g., encrypted token @ Fisher ¶ 0019 and encrypted object @ Filter ¶0090).
The prior arts above further teach claim:
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the token is provided to the user device by the identity service (e.g., “the target computing entity 16 approves the request to initiate conveyance when the target computing entity 16 is affiliated with trusted data securing device 18” @ Filter ¶ 0093).
The prior arts above further teach claim:
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a request for a one-time transaction identifier from the user device; and providing the one-time transaction identifier to the user device, wherein the transaction is initiated based on the one-time transaction identifier (e.g., “At step (b), user computing device 12 sends target computing entity 16 a request to initiate conveyance of at least a portion of a certified data object (hereinafter for FIGS. 8A and 8B referred to as the certified data object) to the target computing entity 16 via the direct communication link. When the request to initiate conveyance is approved by the target computing entity 16, target computing entity 16 sends the user computing device 12 a one-time use code (e.g., a transaction ID) regarding conveyance of the certified data object at step (c).” @ Filter ¶ 0093).
The prior arts above further teach claim:
7. The method of claim 6, further comprising: generating a risk signifier based on the transaction; and combining the risk signifier with the one-time transaction identifier, resulting in a relying party risk-adjusted indicator (e.g., risk analysis and risk score @ Fisher ¶ 0023-0024 and “ perform a risk analysis using user data, user computing device data and/or transaction data received in the authentication request message for a transaction from the user computing device 102. In such embodiments, the directory server computer 106 may determine a risk score for the transaction and send the risk score to the access control server computer 108 for additional authentication processing.” @ Fisher ¶ 0064-0067).
The prior arts above further teach claim:
8. The method of claim 7, further comprising: hashing or encrypting the relying party risk-adjusted indicator; and communicating the relying party risk-adjusted indicator to the another party (e.g., “ In some embodiments, when the risk score associated with the payment device or account is on one side of a pre-defined or user-defined risk threshold (e.g., below a threshold), the access control server computer 108 may provide an indication in the authentication response message that the account or payment device has been authenticated and that the transaction may proceed. For example, given a risk analysis where the risk score is within a range from 0-10, with 10 being the highest likelihood of fraud and 0 being the lowest likelihood of fraud, a risk score of 5 may be established as a risk threshold. In such an example, transactions with risk scores of 0-4 may be considered low risk, while transactions with risk scores of 5-10 may be considered higher risk and subject to additional authentication processes.” @ Fisher ¶ 0066 and using encryption @ Fisher ¶ 0019 and encrypted object @ Filter ¶0090).
The prior arts above further teach claim:
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising determining to authorize or reject the transaction based on the relying party risk-adjusted indicator (e.g., “when the risk score associated with the payment device or account is on another side of the pre-defined or user-defined risk threshold (e.g., above the threshold), the access control server computer 108 may provide an indication in the authentication response message that the account or payment device has not been authenticated and that the transaction may not proceed.” @ Fisher ¶0067).
The “system” Claims 10-19 recites substantially similar limitations to the “method” Claims 1-9, accordingly, Claims 10-19 are likewise rejected.
The “computer program product” Claim 20 recites substantially similar limitations to the “method” Claim 1, accordingly, Claim 20 is likewise rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHAU LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408