DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 3 recites “wherein the memory stores.” This should recite “wherein the memory
Claim 9, line 5 recites “simultaneously input pre-operative image.” This should recite “simultaneously input a pre-operative image.”
Claim 11, lines 2-3 recites “MRI images of the body part, wherein the training set.” This should read “MRI images
Claim 13, lines 1-2 recites “pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images are resized.” This should read “pre-operative MRI images
Claim 14, line 2 recites “MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images are normalized.” This should read “MRI images
Claim 16, line 1 recites “The systemof claim 9.” This should read “The system of claim 9.”
Claim 17, line 5 recites “body part of a patient, to a first.” This should read “body part of a patient,
Claim 17, line 17 recites “determinin a final post-operative.” This should read “determining a final post-operative.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (“Post-operative MRI synthesis from pre-operative MRI and post-operative CT using conditional GAN for the assessment of degree of resection” May 2024), hereinafter “Miao,” in further view of Mukherkjee et al. (“Brain tumor image generation using an aggregation of GAN models with style transfer” 2022), hereinafter “Mukherkjee,” or, in the alternative, in further view of Hooper et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20200311932), hereinafter “Hooper.”
Regarding claim 1, Miao discloses a method of determining post-operative image of an anomaly (a method for synthesizing post-operative MRI images of a brain tumor/lesion/glioma, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶4, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Figs.1-2), comprising:
inputting, by a processor, a pre-operative image of the anomaly, detected in an internal body part of a patient, to a first generative adversarial network (GAN) (input, by computer software implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a pre-operative image of the anomaly, pre-operative MRI image of the tumor/lesion/glioma, detected in an internal body part of the patient, brain, to a generative adversarial network (GAN), CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Fig. 1);
determining, by the processor, a first post-operative image of the anomaly from the first generative adversarial network (GAN) (determine, by computer software implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a post-operative image of the anomaly, post-operative MRI images of a brain tumor/lesion/glioma, from the generative adversarial network (GAN), CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶4, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Figs.1-2),
wherein the first GAN is trained based on a training data comprising a training set of post-operative images of the anomaly corresponding to a training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly (the GAN, CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), is trained based on a training data comprising a training set of post-operative images of the anomaly, training set of post-operative MRI images of the tumor/lesion/glioma, corresponding to a training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly, training set of post-operative MRI images correspond to a training set of pre-operative MRI images of the tumor/lesion/glioma, P.2, ¶3-5);
applying, by the processor, a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score to the first post-operative image (applying, by computer software implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score to the post-operative image, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5).
However, while Miao discloses training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly does not appear to disclose training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine the image of the anomaly.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Mukherkjee teaches simultaneously inputting, by a processor, an image of the anomaly, detected in an internal body part of a patient, to a first generative adversarial network (GAN), a second GAN, and a third GAN (simultaneously input, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, an image of the anomaly, MRI image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, detected in an internal body part of the patient, brain, to a first generative adversarial network (GAN), first deep convolutional generative adversarial network DCGAN-1, a second GAN, DCGAN-2, and a third GAN, Wasserstein generative adversarial network WGAN, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3-5, P.10, ¶4 – P.11, ¶3, P.13, ¶7-10, Figs. 1, 3, Table 1);
determining, by the processor , a first image of the anomaly from the first generative adversarial network (GAN), a second image of the anomaly from the second GAN, and a third image of the anomaly from the third GAN (determining, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a first image of the anomaly from the first generative adversarial network (GAN), image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary synthesized by DCGAN-1, a second image of the anomaly from the second GAN, image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary synthesized by DCGAN-2, and a third image of the anomaly from the third GAN, image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary synthesized by WGAN, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3-5, P.10, ¶4 – P.11, ¶3, P.13, ¶7-10, Figs. 1, 3, Table 1),
wherein each of the first GAN, the second GAN, and the third GAN are trained based on a training data comprising a training set of images of the anomaly (each of the first GAN, DCGAN-1, the second GAN, DCGAN-2, and the third GAN, WGAN, are trained based on a training data comprising a training set of images of the anomaly, training set of MRI images of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3-5, P.10, ¶4 – P.11, ¶3, P.13, ¶7-10, Figs. 1, 3, Table 1);
selecting, by the processor, two of the first image, the second image, and the third image based on a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score of each of the first image, the second image and the third image (selecting, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, two of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, based on a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score of each of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶7 – P.4, ¶1, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, P.14, ¶2, Figs. 3, 8, Tables 1 and 2, Algorithm 1); and
determining, by the processor, a final image of the anomaly by performing a pixel-wise aggregation of the selected two of the first image, the second image and the third image (determining, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a final image of the anomaly, final, aggregated, synthesized MRI image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, by performing a pixel-wise aggregation of the selected two of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, P.14, ¶2, Figs. 3, 8, Tables 1 and 2, Algorithm 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Mukherkjee’s known technique of training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine an image of the anomaly to Miao’s known process of training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that combining different GANs improves over stand-alone GANs through understanding of distributed features, overcomes the limitation of data unavailability, and/or provides understanding of information variance. See, e.g., Mukherkjee, P.1, ¶1.
Additionally, or, in the alternative, while Miao in further view of Mukherkjee teaches computer software implementing a method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, Miao in further view of Mukherkjee, may not explictly teach a processor.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Hooper teaches a processor (synthetic medical image generation system including a processor, Abstract, [0005], [0024], [0025], [0045]-[0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Hooper’s known technique of providing a processor in communication with memory and machine readable instructions therein to cause the processor to perform methods steps to implement a deep learning model to Miao in further view of Mukherkjee’s known process for computer software implementing a method of implementing a deep learning model to achieve the predictable result that “[s]ynthetic medical image generation processing systems can be implemented using any of a variety of computing platforms” ([0041]) and “any number of different system architectures can be utilized as appropriate to the requirements of specific applications” ([0044] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 2, Miao discloses the SSIM score is determined based on texture, luminance and contrast of the first post-operative image (the SSIM score is determined based on luminance, contrast and structure information, i.e., texture, of the post-operative image, CoCosNet synthesized post-operative MRI image, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5).
However, while Miao discloses determining the SSIM score of a post-operative image, Miao does not appear to disclose the SSIM score is determined for each of the first image, the second image, and the third image.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Mukherkjee teaches the SSIM score is determined for each of the first image, the second image, and the third image (the SSIM score is determined for each of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶7 – P.4, ¶1, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, P.14, ¶2, Figs. 3, 8, Tables 1 and 2, Algorithm 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Mukherkjee’s known technique of training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine an image of the anomaly to Miao’s known process of training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that combining different GANs improves over stand-alone GANs through understanding of distributed features, overcomes the limitation of data unavailability, and/or provides understanding of information variance. See, e.g., Mukherkjee, P.1, ¶1.
Regarding claim 3, Miao discloses the training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly are determined from a set of pre-operative MRI images of the body part (the training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly, tumor/lesion/glioma, are determined from a set of pre-operative MRI images of the body part, brain, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2),
the training set of post-operative images of the anomaly are determined from a set of post-operative MRI images of the body part (the training set of post-operative images of the anomaly, tumor/lesion/glioma are determined from a set of post-operative MRI images of the body part, brain, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2), and
each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and each of the set of post-operative images capture the body part from a predefined angular view with respect to a central axis of the body part (each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and each of the set of post-operative images capture the body part, brain, from a predefined angular view with respect to a central axis of the body part, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2 demonstrate that the pre-operative MRI images and the post-operative MRI images are captured from a predefined angular view with respect to a central axis of the body part, i.e., an axial view).
Regarding claim 5, Miao discloses each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images are resized to a predefined size (each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images are resized to 512*512 pixels, P.2, ¶3-4).
Regarding claim 7, Miao discloses the GAN measures a similarity score index of the post-operative image with the training set of post-operative images of the anomaly (the GAN measures a similarity score index of the post-operative image with the training set of post-operative images of the anomaly, training set of post-operative MRI images of the tumor/lesion/glioma, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5).
However, Miao does not appear to disclose the third GAN measures a similarity score index of the third image with the training set of images of the anomaly by using a critic model.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Mukherkjee teaches the third GAN measures a similarity score index of the third image with the training set of images of the anomaly by using a critic model (the third GAN, Wasserstein generative adversarial network WGAN, measures a similarity score index of the third image with the training set of images of the anomaly, tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, by using a critic model, P.10, ¶5 – P.11, ¶3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Mukherkjee’s known technique of training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine an image of the anomaly to Miao’s known process of training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that combining different GANs improves over stand-alone GANs through understanding of distributed features, overcomes the limitation of data unavailability, and/or provides understanding of information variance. See, e.g., Mukherkjee, P.1, ¶1.
Regarding claim 8, Miao discloses the determination of a post-operative image (determine, by computer software implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a post-operative image of the anomaly, post-operative MRI images of a brain tumor/lesion/glioma, from the generative adversarial network (GAN), CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶4, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Figs.1-2).
However, Miao does not appear to disclose the determination of the final image comprises: detecting, by the processor, edges of the selected two of the first image, the second image, and the third image; reducing, by the processor and upon detection of the edges, noise of the selected two of the first image, the second image, and the third image using a gaussian filter to determine corresponding two smoothened images; and assigning, by the processor, weights to pixels of the corresponding two smoothened images, the final image is determined based on pixel-wise aggregation of the corresponding two smoothened images based on the weights assigned to pixels with higher intensity.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Mukherkjee teaches the determination of the final image comprises:
detecting, by the processor, edges of the selected two of the first image, the second image, and the third image (detecting, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, edges of the selected two of the first image synthesized by DCGAN-1, a second image synthesized by DCGAN-2, and a third image synthesized by WGAN, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, Algorithm 1);
reducing, by the processor and upon detection of the edges, noise of the selected two of the first image, the second image, and the third image using a gaussian filter to determine corresponding two smoothened images (reducing, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, and upon detection of the edges, noise of the selected two of the first image synthesized by DCGAN-1, a second image synthesized by DCGAN-2, and a third image synthesized by WGAN, using a gaussian filter to determine corresponding two smoothened images, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, Algorithm 1; see also title of reference 45 “An adaptive gaussian filter for noise reduction and edge detection” referenced in P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2); and
assigning, by the processor, weights to pixels of the corresponding two smoothened images (assigning, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, weights to the pixels of the corresponding two smoothened images, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, Algorithm 1),
the final image is determined based on pixel-wise aggregation of the corresponding two smoothened images based on the weights assigned to pixels with higher intensity (the final image is determined based on pixel-wise aggregation of the corresponding two smoothened images based on the weights assigned to pixels with higher intensity, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, Algorithm 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Mukherkjee’s known technique of training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine an image of the anomaly to Miao’s known process of training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that combining different GANs improves over stand-alone GANs through understanding of distributed features, overcomes the limitation of data unavailability, and/or provides understanding of information variance. See, e.g., Mukherkjee, P.1, ¶1.
Additionally, or, in the alternative, while Miao in further view of Mukherkjee teaches computer software implementing a method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, Miao in further view of Mukherkjee, may not explictly teach a processor.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Hooper teaches a processor (synthetic medical image generation system including a processor, Abstract, [0005], [0024], [0025], [0045]-[0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Hooper’s known technique of providing a processor in communication with memory and machine readable instructions therein to cause the processor to perform methods steps to implement a deep learning model to Miao in further view of Mukherkjee’s known process for computer software implementing a method of implementing a deep learning model to achieve the predictable result that “[s]ynthetic medical image generation processing systems can be implemented using any of a variety of computing platforms” ([0041]) and “any number of different system architectures can be utilized as appropriate to the requirements of specific applications” ([0044] and [0048]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao in further view of Mukherkjee, or, in the alternative, in further view of Hooper, as in claim 3 above, and further in view of Hindawi et al. (“Synthesis of brain tumor MRI images using GAN aggregation with style transfer” 2022), hereinafter “Hindawi.”
Regarding claim 4, Miao discloses the training set of pre-operative images and the training set of post-operative images and an abnormality in the body part captured in the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images respectively (the training set of pre-operative images and the training set of post-operative images and an abnormality, tumor/lesion/glioma, in the body part, brain, captured in the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images respectively, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2).
However, Miao does not appear to disclose the training set of images are determined using an encoder-decoder convolutional neural network pretrained to detect the abnormality in the body part captured in the set of MRI images.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Hindawi teaches the training set of images are determined using an encoder-decoder convolutional neural network pretrained to detect the abnormality in the body part captured in the set of MRI images (training set of images for one or more GANs are determined using an encoder-decoder convolution neural network, U-Net, pretrained to detect abnormal region, tumor, in the body part, brain, captured in the set of MRI images, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶1, P.3, ¶10 – P.4, ¶2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Hindawi’s known technique of using an encoder-decoder U-NET CNN pretrained to detect the abnormality in the body part captured in the set of MRI images to Miao in further view of Mukherkjee’s known process of training and using a combination of GANs to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that using a U-Net encoder-decoder CNN produces a more precise segmentation map and/or produces locally and globally coherent images. See, e.g., Hindawi, P.3, ¶10.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao in further view of Mukherkjee, or, in the alternative, in further view of Hooper, as in claim 3 above, and further in view of Cai et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0177832), hereinafter “Cai.”
Regarding claim 6, Miao discloses pixel intensity values of each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images are normalized (pixel intensity values of each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images are normalized, P.2, ¶3-4).
However, Miao does not appear to explictly disclose that the normalization is between 0 and 1.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Cai teaches the normalization is between 0 and 1 (pixel intensity values of the set of training MRI images are normalized between 0 and 1, [0069]-[0074]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Cai’s known technique of normalizing between 0 and 1 to Miao in further view of Mukherkjee’s known apparatus for normalizing the pixel intensity values of each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images to achieve the predictable result that such “[n]ormalization or standardization can eliminate detrimental effect arising from abnormal data, making all indicative values at the same quantitative level such that they are more comparable to each other and the accuracy of the discriminator can be greatly enhanced.” Cai, [0074].
Claims 9-11, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao in further view of Mukherkjee in further view of Hooper.
Regarding claim 9, Miao discloses a system for determining post-operative images of an anomaly (a system for synthesizing post-operative MRI images of a brain tumor/lesion/glioma, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶4, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Figs.1-2), comprising:
a processor (computer software implementing a deep learning model on a processor, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶4, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Figs.1-2); and
input pre-operative image of an anomaly detected in an internal body part to a first generative adversarial network (GAN) (input a pre-operative image of the anomaly, pre-operative MRI image of the tumor/lesion/glioma, detected in an internal body part of the patient, brain, to a generative adversarial network (GAN), CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Fig. 1);
determine a first post-operative image of the anomaly from the first GAN (determine a post-operative MRI image of a brain tumor/lesion/glioma, from the generative adversarial network (GAN), CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶4, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Figs.1-2),
wherein the first GAN is trained based on a training data comprising a training set of post-operative images of the anomaly corresponding to a training set pre-operative images of the anomaly (the GAN, CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), is trained based on a training data comprising a training set of post-operative images of the anomaly, training set of post-operative MRI images of the tumor/lesion/glioma, corresponding to a training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly, training set of post-operative MRI images correspond to a training set of pre-operative MRI images of the tumor/lesion/glioma, P.2, ¶3-5);
apply a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score to the first post-operative image (applying, by computer software implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score to the post-operative image, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5).
However, while Miao discloses training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly does not appear to disclose training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine the image of the anomaly.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Mukherkjee teaches simultaneously input image of an anomaly detected in an internal body part to a first generative adversarial network (GAN), a second GAN and a third GAN (simultaneously input an image of the anomaly, MRI image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, detected in an internal body part of the patient, brain, to a first generative adversarial network (GAN), first deep convolutional generative adversarial network DCGAN-1, a second GAN, DCGAN-2, and a third GAN, Wasserstein generative adversarial network WGAN, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3-5, P.10, ¶4 – P.11, ¶3, P.13, ¶7-10, Figs. 1, 3, Table 1);
determine a first image of the anomaly from the first GAN, a second image of the anomaly from the second GAN and a third image of the anomaly from the third GAN (determine a first image of the anomaly from the first generative adversarial network (GAN), image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary synthesized by DCGAN-1, a second image of the anomaly from the second GAN, image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary synthesized by DCGAN-2, and a third image of the anomaly from the third GAN, image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary synthesized by WGAN, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3-5, P.10, ¶4 – P.11, ¶3, P.13, ¶7-10, Figs. 1, 3, Table 1),
wherein each of the first GAN, the second GAN, and the third GAN are trained based on a training data comprising a training set of images of the anomaly (each of the first GAN, DCGAN-1, the second GAN, DCGAN-2, and the third GAN, WGAN, are trained based on a training data comprising a training set of images of the anomaly, training set of MRI images of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3-5, P.10, ¶4 – P.11, ¶3, P.13, ¶7-10, Figs. 1, 3, Table 1);
select two of the first image, the second image, and the third image based on a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score of each of the first image, the second image and the third image (selecting, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, two of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, based on a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score of each of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶7 – P.4, ¶1, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, P.14, ¶2, Figs. 3, 8, Tables 1 and 2, Algorithm 1); and
determine a final image of the anomaly by performing a pixel-wise aggregation of the selected two of the first image, the second image and the third image (determining, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a final image of the anomaly, final, aggregated, synthesized MRI image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, by performing a pixel-wise aggregation of the selected two of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, P.14, ¶2, Figs. 3, 8, Tables 1 and 2, Algorithm 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Mukherkjee’s known technique of training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine an image of the anomaly to Miao’s known apparatus for training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that combining different GANs improves over stand-alone GANs through understanding of distributed features, overcomes the limitation of data unavailability, and/or provides understanding of information variance. See, e.g., Mukherkjee, P.1, ¶1.
However, while Miao in further view of Mukherkjee teaches computer software implementing a method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, Miao in further view of Mukherkjee, may not explictly teach a memory communicably coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instruction, which, on executing by the processor cause the processor perform method steps.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Hooper teaches a processor (synthetic medical image generation system including a processor, Abstract, [0005], [0024], [0025], [0045]-[0048]); and
a memory communicably coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instruction, which, on executing by the processor cause the processor to perform method steps (synthetic medical image generation system includes a memory in communication with the processor, wherein the memory contains an image synthesis application including machine readable instructions to cause the processor to perform method steps, Abstract, [0005], [0024], [0025], [0045]-[0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Hooper’s known technique of providing a processor in communication with memory and machine readable instructions therein to cause the processor to perform methods steps to implement a deep learning model to Miao in further view of Mukherkjee’s known apparatus for computer software implementing a method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor to achieve the predictable result that “[s]ynthetic medical image generation processing systems can be implemented using any of a variety of computing platforms” ([0041]) and “any number of different system architectures can be utilized as appropriate to the requirements of specific applications” ([0044] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 10, Miao discloses the SSIM score is determined based on texture, luminance and contrast of the first post-operative image (the SSIM score is determined based on luminance, contrast and structure information, i.e., texture, of the post-operative image, CoCosNet synthesized post-operative MRI image, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5).
However, while Miao discloses determining the SSIM score of a post-operative image, Miao does not appear to disclose the SSIM score is determined for each of the first image, the second image, and the third image.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Mukherkjee teaches the SSIM score is determined for each of the first image, the second image, and the third image (the SSIM score is determined for each of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶7 – P.4, ¶1, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, P.14, ¶2, Figs. 3, 8, Tables 1 and 2, Algorithm 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Mukherkjee’s known technique of training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine an image of the anomaly to Miao’s known apparatus for training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that combining different GANs improves over stand-alone GANs through understanding of distributed features, overcomes the limitation of data unavailability, and/or provides understanding of information variance. See, e.g., Mukherkjee, P.1, ¶1.
Regarding claim 11, Miao discloses the training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly are determined from a set of pre-operative MRI images of the body part (the training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly, tumor/lesion/glioma, are determined from a set of pre-operative MRI images of the body part, brain, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2),
the training set of post-operative images of the anomaly are determined from a set of post-operative MRI images of the body part (the training set of post-operative images of the anomaly, tumor/lesion/glioma are determined from a set of post-operative MRI images of the body part, brain, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2), and
each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and each of the set of post-operative images capture the body part from a predefined angular view with respect to a central axis of the body part (each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and each of the set of post-operative images capture the body part, brain, from a predefined angular view with respect to a central axis of the body part, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2 demonstrate that the pre-operative MRI images and the post-operative MRI images are captured from a predefined angular view with respect to a central axis of the body part, i.e., an axial view).
Regarding claim 13, Miao discloses each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images are resized to a predefined size (each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images are resized to 512*512 pixels, P.2, ¶3-4).
Regarding claim 15, Miao discloses the GAN measures a similarity score index of the post-operative image with the training set of post-operative images of the anomaly (the GAN measures a similarity score index of the post-operative image with the training set of post-operative images of the anomaly, training set of post-operative MRI images of the tumor/lesion/glioma, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5).
However, Miao does not appear to disclose the third GAN measures a similarity score index of the third image with the training set of images of the anomaly by using a critic model.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Mukherkjee teaches the third GAN measures a similarity score index of the third image with the training set of images of the anomaly by using a critic model (the third GAN, Wasserstein generative adversarial network WGAN, measures a similarity score index of the third image with the training set of images of the anomaly, tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, by using a critic model, P.10, ¶5 – P.11, ¶3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Mukherkjee’s known technique of training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine an image of the anomaly to Miao’s known apparatus for training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that combining different GANs improves over stand-alone GANs through understanding of distributed features, overcomes the limitation of data unavailability, and/or provides understanding of information variance. See, e.g., Mukherkjee, P.1, ¶1.
Regarding claim 16, Miao discloses to determine the post-operative image, the processor is configured to perform method steps (determine, by computer software implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a post-operative image of the anomaly, post-operative MRI images of a brain tumor/lesion/glioma, from the generative adversarial network (GAN), CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶4, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Figs.1-2).
However, Miao does not appear to disclose to determine the final image comprises: detecting, by the processor, edges of the selected two of the first image, the second image, and the third image; reducing, by the processor and upon detection of the edges, noise of the selected two of the first image, the second image, and the third image using a gaussian filter to determine corresponding two smoothened images; and assigning, by the processor, weights to pixels of the corresponding two smoothened images, the final image is determined based on pixel-wise aggregation of the corresponding two smoothened images based on the weights assigned to pixels with higher intensity.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Mukherkjee teaches to determine the final post-operative image, the processor (to determine, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a final image of the anomaly, final, aggregated, synthesized MRI image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, by performing a pixel-wise aggregation of the selected two of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, P.14, ¶2, Figs. 3, 8, Tables 1 and 2, Algorithm 1) is configured to:
detect edges of the selected two of the first image, the second image, and the third image (detecting edges of the selected two of the first image synthesized by DCGAN-1, a second image synthesized by DCGAN-2, and a third image synthesized by WGAN, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, Algorithm 1);
upon the detection of the edges, reduce noise of the selected two of the first image, the second image, and the third image using a gaussian filter to determine corresponding two smoothened images (upon the detection of the edges, reduce noise of the selected two of the first image synthesized by DCGAN-1, a second image synthesized by DCGAN-2, and a third image synthesized by WGAN, using a gaussian filter to determine corresponding two smoothened images, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, Algorithm 1; see also title of reference 45 “An adaptive gaussian filter for noise reduction and edge detection” referenced in P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2); and
assign weights to pixels of the corresponding two smoothened images (assign weights to the pixels of the corresponding two smoothened images, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, Algorithm 1),
the final image is determined based on pixel-wise aggregation of the corresponding two smoothened images based on the weights assigned to pixels with higher intensity (the final image is determined based on pixel-wise aggregation of the corresponding two smoothened images based on the weights assigned to pixels with higher intensity, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, Algorithm 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Mukherkjee’s known technique of training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine an image of the anomaly to Miao’s known apparatus for training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that combining different GANs improves over stand-alone GANs through understanding of distributed features, overcomes the limitation of data unavailability, and/or provides understanding of information variance. See, e.g., Mukherkjee, P.1, ¶1.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao in further view of Mukherkjee in further view of Hooper as in claim 11 above, and further in view of Hindawi.
Regarding claim 12, Miao discloses the training set of pre-operative images and the training set of post-operative images and an abnormality in the body part captured in the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images respectively (the training set of pre-operative images and the training set of post-operative images and an abnormality, tumor/lesion/glioma, in the body part, brain, captured in the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images respectively, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2).
However, Miao does not appear to disclose the training set of images are determined using an encoder-decoder convolutional neural network pretrained to detect the abnormality in the body part captured in the set of MRI images.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Hindawi teaches the training set of images are determined using an encoder-decoder convolutional neural network pretrained to detect the abnormality in the body part captured in the set of MRI images (training set of images for one or more GANs are determined using an encoder-decoder convolution neural network, U-Net, pretrained to detect abnormal region, tumor, in the body part, brain, captured in the set of MRI images, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶1, P.3, ¶10 – P.4, ¶2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Hindawi’s known technique of using an encoder-decoder U-NET CNN pretrained to detect the abnormality in the body part captured in the set of MRI images to Miao in further view of Mukherkjee in further view of Hooper’s known apparatus for training and using a combination of GANs to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that using a U-Net encoder-decoder CNN produces a more precise segmentation map and/or produces locally and globally coherent images. See, e.g., Hindawi, P.3, ¶10.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao in further view of Mukherkjee in further view of Hooper as in claim 11 above, and further in view of Cai.
Regarding claim 14, Miao discloses pixel intensity values of each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images are normalized (pixel intensity values of each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images are normalized, P.2, ¶3-4).
However, Miao does not appear to explictly disclose that the normalization is between 0 and 1.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Cai teaches the normalization is between 0 and 1 (pixel intensity values of the set of training MRI images are normalized between 0 and 1, [0069]-[0074]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Cai’s known technique of normalizing between 0 and 1 to Miao in further view of Mukherkjee in further view of Hooper’s known apparatus for normalizing the pixel intensity values of each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images to achieve the predictable result that such “[n]ormalization or standardization can eliminate detrimental effect arising from abnormal data, making all indicative values at the same quantitative level such that they are more comparable to each other and the accuracy of the discriminator can be greatly enhanced.” Cai, [0074].
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao in further view of Mukherkjee in further view of Hooper.
Regarding claim 17, Miao discloses computer-executable instructions for determining post-operative image of an anomaly (computer software implement a deep learning model on a processor for synthesizing post-operative MRI images of a brain tumor/lesion/glioma, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶4, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Figs.1-2), the computer-executable instructions configured for:
inputting a pre-operative image of the anomaly, detected in an internal body part of a patient, to a first generative adversarial network (GAN) (input a pre-operative image of the anomaly, pre-operative MRI image of the tumor/lesion/glioma, detected in an internal body part of the patient, brain, to a generative adversarial network (GAN), CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Fig. 1);
determining a first post-operative image of the anomaly from the first generative adversarial network (GAN) (determine a post-operative image of the anomaly, post-operative MRI images of a brain tumor/lesion/glioma, from the generative adversarial network (GAN), CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶4, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5, P.4, ¶2, Figs.1-2),
wherein the first GAN is trained based on a training data comprising a training set of post-operative images of the anomaly corresponding to a training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly (the GAN, CoCosNet conditional Generative Adversarial Net (cGAN), is trained based on a training data comprising a training set of post-operative images of the anomaly, training set of post-operative MRI images of the tumor/lesion/glioma, corresponding to a training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly, training set of post-operative MRI images correspond to a training set of pre-operative MRI images of the tumor/lesion/glioma, P.2, ¶3-5);
applying, by the processor, a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score to the first post-operative image (applying, by computer software implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score to the post-operative image, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5).
However, while Miao discloses training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly does not appear to disclose training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine the image of the anomaly.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Mukherkjee teaches simultaneously inputting a pre-operative image of the anomaly, detected in an internal body part of a patient, to a first generative adversarial network (GAN), a second GAN and a third GAN (simultaneously input an image of the anomaly, MRI image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, detected in an internal body part of the patient, brain, to a first generative adversarial network (GAN), first deep convolutional generative adversarial network DCGAN-1, a second GAN, DCGAN-2, and a third GAN, Wasserstein generative adversarial network WGAN, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3-5, P.10, ¶4 – P.11, ¶3, P.13, ¶7-10, Figs. 1, 3, Table 1);
determining a first image of the anomaly from the first generative adversarial network (GAN), a second image of the anomaly from the second GAN, and a third image of the anomaly from the third GAN (determining a first image of the anomaly from the first generative adversarial network (GAN), image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary synthesized by DCGAN-1, a second image of the anomaly from the second GAN, image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary synthesized by DCGAN-2, and a third image of the anomaly from the third GAN, image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary synthesized by WGAN, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3-5, P.10, ¶4 – P.11, ¶3, P.13, ¶7-10, Figs. 1, 3, Table 1),
wherein each of the first GAN, the second GAN, and the third GAN are trained based on a training data comprising a training set of images of the anomaly (each of the first GAN, DCGAN-1, the second GAN, DCGAN-2, and the third GAN, WGAN, are trained based on a training data comprising a training set of images of the anomaly, training set of MRI images of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3-5, P.10, ¶4 – P.11, ¶3, P.13, ¶7-10, Figs. 1, 3, Table 1);
selecting, by the processor, two of the first image, the second image, and the third image based on a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score of each of the first image, the second image and the third image (selecting, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, two of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, based on a Structural Similarity Index Measure (SSIM) score of each of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶7 – P.4, ¶1, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, P.14, ¶2, Figs. 3, 8, Tables 1 and 2, Algorithm 1); and
determining, by the processor, a final image of the anomaly by performing a pixel-wise aggregation of the selected two of the first image, the second image and the third image (determining, by computer software implementing method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor, a final image of the anomaly, final, aggregated, synthesized MRI image of the tumor/glioma/meningioma/pituitary, by performing a pixel-wise aggregation of the selected two of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶2, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, P.14, ¶2, Figs. 3, 8, Tables 1 and 2, Algorithm 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Mukherkjee’s known technique of training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine an image of the anomaly to Miao’s known apparatus for training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that combining different GANs improves over stand-alone GANs through understanding of distributed features, overcomes the limitation of data unavailability, and/or provides understanding of information variance. See, e.g., Mukherkjee, P.1, ¶1.
However, while Miao in further view of Mukherkjee teaches computer-executable instructions for determining post-operative image of an anomaly, Miao in further view of Mukherkjee, may not explictly teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions configured for implementing method steps.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Hooper teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for determining post-operative image of an anomaly, the computer-executable instructions configured for implementing method steps (synthetic medical image generation system includes a computing platform and a memory in communication with the processor, wherein the memory contains an image synthesis application including machine readable instructions to cause the processor to perform method steps, Abstract, [0005], [0024], [0025], [0045]-[0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Hooper’s known technique of providing a processor in communication with memory in a computing platform and machine readable instructions therein to cause the processor to perform methods steps to implement a deep learning model to Miao in further view of Mukherkjee’s known apparatus for computer software implementing a method of implementing a deep learning model on a processor to achieve the predictable result that “[s]ynthetic medical image generation processing systems can be implemented using any of a variety of computing platforms” ([0041]) and “any number of different system architectures can be utilized as appropriate to the requirements of specific applications” ([0044] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, Miao discloses the SSIM score is determined based on texture, luminance and contrast of the first post-operative image (the SSIM score is determined based on luminance, contrast and structure information, i.e., texture, of the post-operative image, CoCosNet synthesized post-operative MRI image, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2, P.2, ¶6 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶3, P.3, ¶5).
However, while Miao discloses determining the SSIM score of a post-operative image, Miao does not appear to disclose the SSIM score is determined for each of the first image, the second image, and the third image.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Mukherkjee teaches the SSIM score is determined for each of the first image, the second image, and the third image (the SSIM score is determined for each of the first image, DCGAN-1 synthesized image, the second image, DCGAN-2 synthesized image, and the third image, WGAN synthesized image, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶7 – P.3, ¶1, P.3, ¶7 – P.4, ¶1, P.11, ¶4 – P.12, ¶2, P.14, ¶2, Figs. 3, 8, Tables 1 and 2, Algorithm 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Mukherkjee’s known apparatus for training and simultaneously using a first GAN, a second GAN, and third GAN and pixel-wise aggregation to determine an image of the anomaly to Miao’s known process of training and using a GAN to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that combining different GANs improves over stand-alone GANs through understanding of distributed features, overcomes the limitation of data unavailability, and/or provides understanding of information variance. See, e.g., Mukherkjee, P.1, ¶1.
Regarding claim 19, Miao discloses the training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly are determined from a set of pre-operative MRI images of the body part (the training set of pre-operative images of the anomaly, tumor/lesion/glioma, are determined from a set of pre-operative MRI images of the body part, brain, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2),
the training set of post-operative images of the anomaly are determined from a set of post-operative MRI images of the body part (the training set of post-operative images of the anomaly, tumor/lesion/glioma are determined from a set of post-operative MRI images of the body part, brain, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2), and
each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and each of the set of post-operative images capture the body part from a predefined angular view with respect to a central axis of the body part (each of the set of pre-operative MRI images and each of the set of post-operative images capture the body part, brain, from a predefined angular view with respect to a central axis of the body part, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2 demonstrate that the pre-operative MRI images and the post-operative MRI images are captured from a predefined angular view with respect to a central axis of the body part, i.e., an axial view).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao in further view of Mukherkjee in further view of Hooper as in claim 19 above, and further in view of Hindawi.
Regarding claim 20, Miao discloses the training set of pre-operative images and the training set of post-operative images and an abnormality in the body part captured in the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images respectively (the training set of pre-operative images and the training set of post-operative images and an abnormality, tumor/lesion/glioma, in the body part, brain, captured in the set of pre-operative MRI images and the set of post-operative MRI images respectively, P.1, ¶1-4, P.2, ¶2-5, Figs. 1 and 2).
However, Miao does not appear to disclose the training set of images are determined using an encoder-decoder convolutional neural network pretrained to detect the abnormality in the body part captured in the set of MRI images.
However, in the same field of endeavor of generative adversarial networks and magnetic resonance imaging, Hindawi teaches the training set of images are determined using an encoder-decoder convolutional neural network pretrained to detect the abnormality in the body part captured in the set of MRI images (training set of images for one or more GANs are determined using an encoder-decoder convolution neural network, U-Net, pretrained to detect abnormal region, tumor, in the body part, brain, captured in the set of MRI images, P.1, ¶1, P.2, ¶1, P.3, ¶10 – P.4, ¶2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Hindawi’s known technique of using an encoder-decoder U-NET CNN pretrained to detect the abnormality in the body part captured in the set of MRI images to Miao in further view of Mukherkjee in further view of Hooper’s known apparatus for training and using a combination of GANs to determine a post-operative image of an anomaly from an input pre-operative image of the anomaly to achieve the predictable result that using a U-Net encoder-decoder CNN produces a more precise segmentation map and/or produces locally and globally coherent images. See, e.g., Hindawi, P.3, ¶10.
Conclusion
/J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798