DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the communication received on 11/12/2024. The claims 1-8 are pending, of which the claim(s) 1 & 8 is/are in independent form.
Priority
The certified copies of the priority documents to the JP 2023-217608 have not been received.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 2:
“a first acquirer”: See Spec, pages 26, 30, Fig. 3, shown as item 711/703 and part of the control device 700 and are implemented by “input interface 703”
“an estimator”: See pages 26, 30, Fig. 3, shown as item 712 and implemented by the CPU 701
In claim 4:
“a second acquirer”: See, pages 26, 30, Fig. 3, shown as item 714/703, and implemented by “input interface 703”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 7 – 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Hutchinson et al. (US 20060051451 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hutchinson teaches a control device [“a controller is in communication with the temperature sensor”, e.g., a controller 165 of controller 218 of fig. 9A] for an injection molding machine [“mold apparatus 122”] configured to fill a cavity space [“the mold cavity”] inside a mold device with a molding material, the control device comprising: ([016, 0171, 0211, 0203], Figs. 8, 9A- 10);
a memory; a processor coupled to the memory ([0208]); and
a temperature regulator controller [a portion of the “the control unit 165” that controls/provides commands to the valves or “temperature control elements” of mold section 122, e.g., “temperature control rod (e.g., heating/cooling rods), heaters (e.g., resistance heaters)”] configured to control a temperature regulator [e.g., “the valves 163a, 169 to maintain the temperature of the mold surfaces” or “mold section 122b that comprises one or more temperature control elements 181…refers, without limitation, to a passageway, channel, temperature control rod (e.g., heating/cooling rods), heaters”] configured to regulate a temperature of the mold device ([013, 0193, 0207-0208, 0221]),
wherein the temperature regulator controller controls [“controller 165 can operate the valves 163a, 169 to maintain the temperature of the mold surfaces at a preset temperature preferably at or above the dew point”, “the temperature of the mold section 122 can be raised to prevent the formation of condensation on the mold surfaces…prevent formation of moisture on the mold surfaces forming the mold cavity”] the temperature regulator based on a dew point temperature of a surface [“temperature of the mold surfaces”] of the mold device, the surface forming the cavity [“the melt fills the mold cavity”] space in the mold device ([018, 0211-0213, 0218, 0262]).
Regarding claim 7, Hutchinson teaches an injection molding machine comprising: the control device of claim 1 (Fig. 9G, [0193]).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Thus, only in summary, Hutchinson teaches a control method [actions performed by “controller 165”] for an injection molding machine configured to fill a cavity space inside a mold device [“the mold apparatus 122”] with a molding material, the control method comprising: (Figs. 9s);
controlling the injection molding machine; controlling a temperature regulator [“the valves 163a, 169 to maintain the temperature of the mold surfaces” or “temperature control elements” like heater 173] configured to regulate a temperature of the mold device; and controlling the temperature regulator based on a dew point temperature [“maintain the temperature of the mold surfaces at a preset temperature preferably at above the dew point.”] of a surface of the mold device, the surface forming the cavity space in the mold device ([0208-0213, 0221]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson in view of Lin et al. (US 20220390166 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hutchinson teaches the control device for an injection molding machine according to claim 1, further comprising… the temperature regulator controller is configured to control the temperature regulator based on the dew point temperature estimated by the estimator ([0213, 0262-0263]).
Hutchinson does not teach how its controller determines the current dew point for the location where the injection molding machine being used so that the temperature of the mold surface can be maintained above the dew point. That is, Hutchinson may not teach: a first acquirer configured to acquire a temperature and a humidity of a surrounding atmosphere of the injection molding machine; and an estimator configured to estimate the dew point temperature of the surface of the mold device based on the
temperature and the humidity acquired by the first acquirer as claimed.
Lin relates to preventing condensation formation by changing temperature. Specifically, Lin teaches a control device for a machine according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first acquirer [portion of the controller that reads value of “cabinet-outside sensing module 12”] configured to acquire [“cabinet-outside sensing module 12 is used to sense a cabinet-outside temperature To and a cabinet-inside temperature Ho to generate a cabinet-outside temperature humidity signal Sth according to the cabinet-outside temperature To and the cabinet-inside temperature Ho”] a temperature and a humidity of a surrounding atmosphere of the ontroller 16 that compares the table of fig. 2 to generate dew point in S100 of fig. 3] configured to estimate the dew point temperature of the surface of the machine based on the temperature and the humidity acquired by the first acquirer, wherein the temperature regulator controller is configured to control [“adjusting the cabinet-inside temperature to be greater than or equal to the dew-point threshold value according to the trigger signal (S180)”] the temperature regulator based on the dew point temperature estimated by the estimator (Figs. 1- 3, [017, 024-031]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Lin and Hutchinson because they both related to a machine using a temperature control regulator to avoid preventing condensation formation into a temperature controlled surface exposed to outdoor environment and (2) modified the molding machine of Hutchinson to include a first acquirer and an estimator limitations as in Lin in order to avoid improper humidity and temperature control (Lin [0020]). Lin teaches required details for Hutchinson about how to accurately determine dew point for the particular location corresponding to different outdoor temperature and humidity level thereby avoiding condensation formation as the temperature and humidity varies in the environment where the injection molding machine of Hutchinson is installed as can be clear to PHOSITA.
Claim(s) 3- 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson et al. (US 20060051451 A1) in view of Schneebauer et al., (US 20200156301 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hutchinson teaches the control device for an injection molding machine according to claim 1 wherein the temperature regulator controller is configured to perform control to lower [begin to cooling for the melt deposited into the mold apparatus] a temperature of the molding device at “a temperature of the melt deposited into the mold apparatus”] to a second The temperature and/or flow rate of the cooling fluid can vary considerably during the production cycle for different applications”] manufacturing of a molded article, the first the temperature of the mold surfaces can be maintained at or above a dew point temperature to limit the formation of condensation”], and the second the second temperature can be made lower than the surrounding atmosphere to allow solidifying of the melted material] a temperature of a surrounding atmosphere of the injection molding machine ([0180, 0213-0215], Figs. 9A- 10).
While Hutchinson teaches “temperature control system 150, which is a closed loop system designed to control the temperature of the mold apparatus 122” ([0172]) and “temperature and/or flow rate of the cooling fluid can vary considerably” ([0215]) and “pulse temperature control comprises pulse cooling” (para. 0259), it still fails to teach its “first temperature” and “second temperature” as part of cooling sessions are “first set temperature” and “second set temperature” as claimed and shown above with strikethrough emphasis.
Schneebauer relates to variothermal temperature control of injection molds and discloses a control device [item 6, fig. 4, analogous to “controller 165” of Hutchinson, fig. 9G] with a processor and memory [“temperature control characteristic of the system is preferably stored in the form of tool specific”] for an injection molding device 4 (analogous to Hutchinson’s “mold apparatus 122” of fig. 9s) having pluralities of temperature sensors 7 to measure temperature inside the injection molding device and heating unit 2 and cooling unit 3 to adjust the temperature of the molding machine with pulse heating and pulse cooling respectively (Figs. 3- 4 [001, 0113-0116, 0135]). More specifically, Schneebauer teaches control device for an injection molding machine according to claim 1, wherein the temperature regulator controller [a portion of controller 6] is configured to perform control to lower [“At the time t of approximately 20 seconds, the cooling begins by switching on of the temperature control apparatus 3 with the cooling device, so that a cooling of the tool takes place from TSoll1 to a temperature TSoll2 lying there below”] a set temperature of the temperature regulator from a first set [“a nominal temperature” TSoll 1 of fig. 3] temperature to a second set [Tsoll 2 of fig. 3] temperature in a process in which the injection molding machine repeatedly performs manufacturing of a molded article, the first set temperature is higher [Fig. 3 shows TSoll 1 is higher than Tsoll 2] than the second set temperature and higher than the dew point temperature [TSoll1 temperature can he higher than dew point since this is the maximum temperature at which material is at molten state], and the second set temperature is lower than [the TSoll 2 can be selected lower than surrounding atmosphere to allow solidifying of the melted material] a temperature of a surrounding atmosphere of the injection molding machine (Figs. 2-3, [0132, 0144-0146]).
Schneebauer teaches:
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Schneebauer and Hutchinson because they both related to performing pulse heating and pulse cooling to the injection molding device under control of a temperature regulator based on the temperature sensor data and (2) modified the control device of Hutchinson to utilize variable set temperature from first set temperature to the second set temperature while performing the cooling phase as in Schneebauer. Doing so molded final products from the Hutchinson’s injection molding machine can be with improved qualities even when boundary conditions varied (Schneebauer [022]). Furthermore, Schneebauer teaches missing implementation details for Hutchinson about how (using first and second set temperature values like Tsoll1 and Tsoll2 as temperature setpoints) its temperature regulator controller can lower the temperature of the injection molding device from higher temperature to lower temperature while using closed loop control to perform its pulse cooling (Schneebauer [0146]).
Regarding claim 4, Hutchinson in view of Schneebauer teaches/suggests the control device for an injection molding machine according to claim 3, further comprising:
a second acquirer configured to acquire a temperature [“second section 310 and first section 199 can have one or more temperature sensors to measure the temperature of the mold apparatus 122”] of the surface of the mold device (Hutchinson [016, 0217]),
wherein the temperature regulator controller performs control to lower the set temperature of the temperature regulator [only when there is no risk of condensation to be form based on information of “the feedback line 232”, further cooling takes place by lowering the set temperature of regulator as in Schneebauer] in a case where the temperature of the surface of the mold device is higher than the dew point temperature (Hutchinson [0213, 0262-0263, 0270], claim 11 & Schneebauer Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Hutchinson in view of Schneebauer teaches/suggests the control device for an injection molding machine according to claim 3, wherein the temperature regulator controller performs control to lower the set temperature of the temperature regulator in a case [during pulse cooling, the set temperature is lowered from Tsoll1 until reaching the T Soll 2, i.e., as long as the set temperature is higher than TSoll2, the set temperature can be lowered] where the set temperature of the temperature regulator is higher than the second set temperature (Schneebauer fig. 3 [0145-0147]).
Regarding claim 6, Hutchinson in view of Schneebauer teaches/suggests the control device for an injection molding machine according to claim 3, wherein the temperature regulator controller performs control to lower [the set temperature is being lowered from TSoll 1 to TSoll 2 if the difference between temperature change is not very large. For example, at time 23 of fig. 3, the temperature difference from time 20 is still smaller than difference (“threshold value”) between Tsoll1 and Tsoll2 and hence the set temperature can be continued to be lowered until reaching TSoll2.] a set temperature of the temperature regulator in a case where a temperature difference between a past temperature and a current temperature of the temperature regulator is equal to or less than a threshold value (Schneebauer Fig. 3, [0145-0147]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Jo (KR 101364513 B1) teaches cooling step of the mold is a first rapid supply to supply a plurality of low-temperature cooling water of less than 5 ℃ to a plurality of holes existing in the mold, and continuously supply until the temperature of the mold reaches a cooling set temperature specified below the dew point Page 9).
2) Senda et al., (US 20040258786 A1) teaches an and particularly to a of a regulating part under a hopper ([002]).
Contacts
/SANTOSH R POUDEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115