Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/03/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 11/12/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the recited limitation “a first end in communication with the refrigerant outlet through a refrigerant pipeline” is indefinite. It is unclear whether the refrigerant outlet is claimed to let out specifically air, or refrigerant, or both. [0086] of the specification discloses that the refrigerant flows into the compressor 1 from the refrigerant inlet 1a and is discharged from the refrigerant outlet 1b. [0086] also discloses the refrigerant discharged from the refrigerant outlet 1b flows, through the refrigerant pipeline R, to the one end 2a (as shown in Fig. 1) of the first internal heat exchanger 2. Moreover, Fig. 1 shows a single flow path from the refrigerant inlet (1a) to the refrigerant outlet (1b) and then to the first end (2a) of the first internal heat exchanger (2), indicating that there are no other flow path between 1a and 1b or between 1b and 2a.
In an effort to expedite prosecution, the broadest reasonable interpretation is applied. In light of the specification and drawings, where the refrigerant is disclosed as discharged from the refrigerant outlet 1b flows, through the refrigerant pipeline R, to the internal heat exchanger 2 ([0086]), “refrigerant pipeline” can reasonably be interpreted to have refrigerant flowing through. Additionally, in light of the specification, “refrigerant inlet” can reasonably also be interpreted as “refrigerant inlet” as refrigerant flows into the compressor from the refrigerant inlet ([0086]), and “refrigerant outlet” can reasonably be interpreted as “refrigerant outlet” as refrigerant is discharged from the refrigerant outlet ([0086]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimauchi (US 2021/237533).
Regarding claim 1, Shimauchi teaches a vehicle thermal management system (100, Fig. 1, [0037]), comprising a first system (10, Fig. 1, [0041]), the first system comprising:
a compressor (11, Fig. 1, [0041]), having a refrigerant inlet ([0085], “refrigerant… returns to the compressor”) and a refrigerant outlet ([0085], ”refrigerant discharged from the compressor”);
a first internal heat exchanger (14, Fig. 1, [0041]), having a first end (top end of 14 in Fig. 6) in communication with the refrigerant outlet through a refrigerant pipeline (14 to 15 and then 11, Fig. 6, [0097]); and
an external heat exchanger (13, Fig. 1, [0041]), having
a first end (top end of 13 in Fig. 5) configured to be in communication with a second end (bottom end of 14 in Fig. 5) of the first internal heat exchanger through a first pipeline (13 to 18a, 19a, 17b, and then 14, Fig. 5, [0093]),
a second end (bottom end of 13 in Fig. 6) of the external heat exchanger configured to be in communication with the refrigerant inlet through a second pipeline (13 to 19b, 15, and then 11, Fig. 6, [0097]), and
the second end of the external heat exchanger configured to be in communication with the second end of the first internal heat exchanger through a third pipeline (13 to 19b, 15, 11, 12, 19c, 19a, 17b, and then 14, Fig. 6, [0097]);
a second internal heat exchanger (top half of 12 in the refrigerant circuit, Fig. 5, [0191]), having
a first end (bottom end of top half of 12) configured to be in communication with the second end of the external heat exchanger through a fourth pipeline (13 to 18a, 19a, 17b, 14, 14a, 15, and then 12, Fig. 5, [0093]), and having
a second end (top end of top half of 12) configured to be in communication with the refrigerant inlet through a fifth pipeline (12 to 19c, 19a, 17b, 14, 15, and then 11, Fig. 6, [0097]);
a first throttle element (17c, Fig. 5) connected to the fourth pipeline (Fig. 5);
a second throttle element (17b, Fig. 6) connected to the third pipeline (Fig. 6); and
an integrated module (100, See annotated Fig. 5 below) comprising
at least a part of the first pipeline, at least a part of the second pipeline, at least a part of the third pipeline, and at least a part of the fourth pipeline (See annotated Fig. 5 below), and
the first throttle element and the second throttle element disposed on the integrated module (See annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 2, Shimauchi teaches the integrated module is divided into a first temperature region, a second temperature region, and a third temperature region (See annotated Fig. 8 below),
the at least a part of the first pipeline, the at least a part of the second pipeline, and at least a part of an upstream of the third pipeline are disposed in the first temperature region (See annotated Fig. 8 below),
at least a part of a downstream of the third pipeline and at least a part of a downstream of the fourth pipeline are disposed in the second temperature region (See annotated Fig. 8 below), and
the at least a part of the downstream of the fourth pipeline is disposed in the third temperature region (See annotated Fig. 8 below).
Regarding claim 3, Shimauchi teaches a first slot and a second slot are formed on the integrated module,
the first slot (inlet of 17a) is disposed between the first temperature region and the third temperature region (See annotated Fig. 8 above, 17a is disposed in a flow path between the two regions), and
the second slot (inlet of 19b) is disposed between the first temperature region and the second temperature region (See annotated Fig. 8 above, 19b is disposed in a flow path between the two regions).
Regarding claim 4, Shimauchi teaches the third pipeline and the fourth pipeline have a first common branch (See annotated Fig. 6 and Fig. 5 below), and the first common branch has a first end (left end of first common branch in annotated figures below) and a second end (right end of first common branch in annotated figures below);
the third pipeline further comprises a first branch and a second branch (See annotated Fig. 6 below),
the first branch is in communication with the second end of the first internal heat exchanger and the second end of the first common branch (first branch is in communication with the second end of the first internal heat exchanger and the second end of the first common branch as part of the flow path described in [0097], from 12 to 19c, 19a, 17b, and then 14),
the second branch is in communication with the first end of the first common branch and the second end of the external heat exchanger (second branch is in communication with the first end of the first common branch and the second end of the external heat exchanger as part of the flow path described in [0097], from 13 to 19b, 15, 11, and then 12), and
the second throttle element is connected to the second branch (17b is connected to the second branch as part of the flow path described in [0097], from 13 to 19a, 17b, 14, and then to 15); and
the fourth pipeline further comprises a third branch and a fourth branch (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
the third branch is in communication with the first end of the second internal heat exchanger and the first end of the first common branch (first end of 12 to second end of first common branch),
the first throttle element is connected to the third branch (17a is connected to the third branch as part of the flow path described in [0093], from 11 to 12, 17a, and then 13),
the fourth branch is in communication with the second end of the external heat exchanger and the second end of the first common branch (fourth branch is in communication with the second end of the external heat exchanger and the second end of first common branch as part of the flow path described in [0093], from 13 to 19a, 17b, 14, 15, 11, and then 12), and
a check valve (18a, Fig. 5, [0045]) is connected with the fourth branch (18a is connected to the fourth branch), and has an inlet end in communication with the second end of the external heat exchanger (See annotated Fig. 5 above, 18a is in communication with the second end of the external heat exchanger as part of the flow path described in [0093]) and an outlet end in communication with the second end of the first common branch (See annotated Fig. 5 above, 18a is in communication with the second end of the first common branch as part of the flow path described in [0093]).
Regarding claim 5, Shimauchi teaches the first branch, the second branch, and the third branch are formed in the integrated module, and the fourth branch and the first common branch are disposed outside the integrated module (See annotated Fig. 5 in claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 6, Shimauchi teaches the integrated module is divided into a first temperature region, a second temperature region, and a third temperature region, the first branch is located in the first temperature region, the second branch and a part of the third branch before the first throttle element are located in the second temperature region, and a part of the third branch after the first throttle element is located in the third temperature region (See annotated Fig. 8 below).
Regarding claim 7, Shimauchi teaches the second pipeline and the fifth pipeline have a second common branch (See annotated Fig. 6 below),
the second common branch has a third end (See annotated Fig. 6 below) and a fourth end (See annotated Fig. 6 below), the fourth end of the second common branch is in communication with the refrigerant inlet (See annotated Fig. 6 below);
the second pipeline further comprises a fifth branch, the fifth branch is in communication with the first end of the external heat exchanger and the third end of the second common branch (See annotated Fig. 6 below, fifth branch is in communication with the third end of the second common branch as part of the flow path described in [0097], from 13 to 19b and then 15); and
the fifth pipeline further comprises a sixth branch, the sixth branch is in communication with the second end of the second internal heat exchanger and the third end of the second common branch (See annotated Fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 8, Shimauchi teaches the fifth branch and the sixth branch are formed in the integrated module, and the second common branch is disposed outside the integrated module (See annotated Fig. 5 in claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 9, Shimauchi teaches the integrated module is divided into a first temperature region, a second temperature region, and a third temperature region (See annotated Fig. 8 below),
the fifth branch is located in the first temperature region, a part of an upstream of the sixth branch is located in the third temperature region, and a part of a downstream of the sixth branch is located in the first temperature region (See annotated Fig. 8 below).
Regarding claim 10, Shimauchi teaches the third pipeline and the fourth pipeline have a first common branch (See annotated Fig. 6 and Fig. 7 below),
on the third pipeline, the first common branch is located on an upstream of the second throttle element (the first common branch is upstream of 17b as part of the flow path described in [0097] through 12, 19c, 19a, and then 17b), and
on the fourth pipeline, the first common branch is located on an upstream of the first throttle element (the first common branch is upstream of 17a as part of the flow path described in [0093], from 11 to 12, 17a, and then 13); and
the vehicle thermal management system further comprises:
a first heat exchange apparatus (16, [0053]), having a first heat exchange flow path (See annotated Fig. 7 below) and a second heat exchange flow path (See annotated Fig. 7 below),
the first heat exchange flow path connected to the first common branch (See annotated Fig. 7 below), and
the second heat exchange flow path connected to the second common branch (See annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 11, Shimauchi teaches a liquid storage tank (15) connected to the first common branch (See annotated Fig. 7 in claim 10 rejection above), and located on an upstream of the first heat exchange flow path (See annotated Fig. 7 in claim 10 rejection above, 15 is upstream in the flow path described in [0100] prior to the refrigerant entering 16).
Regarding claim 12, Shimauchi teaches
in a cabin-only cooling mode, the first pipeline, the fourth pipeline, and the fifth pipeline are connected to each other, and the second pipeline and the third pipeline are disconnected from each other (Fig. 3); and
in an air source heat pump (heat pump system 1, [0039]) heating mode, the second pipeline and the third pipeline are connected to each other, and the first pipeline and the fourth pipeline are disconnected from each other (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Shimauchi teaches a battery heat exchanger (16, [0053]), having
a first end (left end of 16 in Fig. 8) configured to be in communication with the refrigerant inlet through a sixth pipeline (16 to 18b, 15, and then 11, Fig. 8, [0103]), and
a second end (right end of 16 in Fig. 8) configured to be in communication with the second end of the external heat exchanger through a seventh pipeline (13 to 18a, 19d, 17c, and then 16, Fig. 8, [0103]); and
a third throttle element (17c, Fig. 8, [0103]) connected to the seventh pipeline (Fig. 8, [0103]).
Regarding claim 14, Shimauchi teaches the seventh pipeline and the fourth pipeline have a third common branch (See annotated Fig. 8 below), the third common branch has a fifth end (left end of third common branch) and a sixth end (right end of third common branch), and the fifth end of the third common branch is in communication with the second end of the external heat exchanger (See annotated Fig. 8 below);
the seventh pipeline further comprises a seventh branch (See annotated Fig. 8 below),
the seventh branch is in communication with the second end of the battery heat exchanger and the sixth end of the third common branch (See annotated Fig. 8 below), and the third throttle element (17c) is connected to the seventh branch (See annotated Fig. 8 below); and
the fourth pipeline further comprises a third branch (See annotated Fig. 8 below),
the third branch is in communication with the first end of the second internal heat exchanger and the sixth end of the third common branch (See annotated Fig. 8 below, third branch is in communication with the first end of the second internal heat exchanger and the sixth end of the third common branch as part of the flow path described in [0103], from 13 to 19a, 17b, 14, 15, 11, and then 12), and
the first throttle element is connected to the third branch (17a is connected to the third branch as part of the flow path described in [0103], from 11 to 12, 17a, and then 13).
Regarding claim 15, Shimauchi teaches a part of an upstream of the third common branch, the seventh branch, and the third branch are integrated into the integrated module (See annotated Fig. 5 in claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 16, Shimauchi teaches the sixth pipeline and the fifth pipeline have a second common branch (See annotated Fig. 6 below),
the second common branch has a third end and a fourth end (See annotated Fig. 6 below),
the fourth end of the second common branch is in communication with the refrigerant inlet (See annotated Fig. 6 below); and
the vehicle thermal management system further comprises:
a second heat exchange apparatus (bottom half of 12 in the coolant circuit, Fig. 6, [0043]), having a third heat exchange flow path and a fourth heat exchange flow path,
the third heat exchange flow path (bottom half of 12 to 22, 23, 21, and back to bottom half of 12) being connected to the third common branch (See annotated Fig. 6 above, bottom half of 12 is thermally connected to the top half of 12, and the top half of 12 is connected to the third common branch through 19c, as described in [0097]), and
the fourth heat exchange flow path (bottom half of 12 to 22, 24, 110, 23, and back to bottom half of 12) being connected to the second common branch (See annotated Fig. 6 above, bottom half of 12 is thermally connected to the top half of 12, and the second common branch is connected to the top half of 12 through 11, as described in [0097]).
Regarding claim 17, Shimauchi teaches in a battery-only cooling mode (“recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim), the first pipeline, the sixth pipeline, and the seventh pipeline are connected (Fig. 8); and
in a cabin-battery-dual cooling mode, the first pipeline, the fourth pipeline, the fifth pipeline, the sixth pipeline, and the seventh pipeline are connected (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 18, Shimauchi teaches a second system (20, Fig. 6, [0056]) comprising
an engine cooling jacket (water jacket, Fig. 6, [0061]), a drive pump (21, Fig. 6, [0057]), and a heater core (23, Fig. 6, [0056]),
wherein the engine cooling jacket, the drive pump, and the heater core are in communication through a first circulation pipeline (20, [0064], from 22 to 24, water jacket, 23, 21, 12, and then back to 22);
a third heat exchange apparatus (16, Fig. 8, [0053]) having a fifth heat exchange flow path and a sixth heat exchange flow path,
the fifth heat exchange flow path (Fig. 8, [0103], 16 to 15, 11, and then top half of 12) connected to the first circulation pipeline (the fifth heat exchange flow path is thermally connected to the first circulation pipeline through the top half of 12 to the bottom half of 12) and located on a downstream of the heater core (the bottom half of 12 is located downstream of 23), and
the sixth heat exchange flow path ([0103], Fig. 8, 14 to 15, 11, 12, 13, 19d, 17c, and then 16) having a first end (right end of 16, Fig. 8) configured to be in communication with the second end of the first internal heat exchanger through an eighth pipeline ([0103], Fig. 8, 14 to 15, 11, 12, 13, 19d, 17c, and then 16), and having a second end (top end of 16, Fig. 8) in communication with the refrigerant inlet through a ninth pipeline ([0103], Fig. 8, 16 to 18b and then 15); and
a fourth throttle element (17c) connected to the eighth pipeline (connected as described in the eighth pipeline above).
Regarding claim 19, Shimauchi teaches in a water source heat pump heating mode, the eighth pipeline and the ninth pipeline are connected, and the drive pump is in operation (Fig. 6); and
in an air source-water source-combined heat pump heating mode, the second pipeline, the third pipeline, the eighth pipeline, and the ninth pipeline are connected, and the first pipeline and the fourth pipeline are disconnected ([0106], the battery cooling mode can be used with the parallel dehumidification air-heating mode).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwang (US 2019/135075).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches a vehicle thermal management system (heat pump system, Fig. 3, [0027]), comprising a first system (heat pump system), the first system comprising:
a compressor (100, Fig. 3, [0027]), having a refrigerant inlet ([0038]) and a refrigerant outlet ([0037]);
a first internal heat exchanger (110, Fig. 3, [0038]), having a first end (left end of 110) in communication with the refrigerant outlet through a refrigerant pipeline (Fig. 3, [0038]); and
an external heat exchanger (131, Fig. 3, [0047]), having
a first end (top end of 131) configured to be in communication with a second end (right end of 110) of the first internal heat exchanger through a first pipeline (110 to 120 and then 131, Fig. 3, [0047], 130 is connected with refrigerant circulation line R, which [0027] teaches 100, 110, 130, and 160 are connected to),
a second end (bottom end of 131) of the external heat exchanger configured to be in communication with the refrigerant inlet through a second pipeline (131 to 132, 160, 170, and then 100, Fig. 3), and
the second end of the external heat exchanger configured to be in communication with the second end of the first internal heat exchanger through a third pipeline (131 to 132, 160, 170, 100, and then 110, Fig. 3);
a second internal heat exchanger (160, Fig. 3, [0027]), having
a first end (bottom end of 160, Fig. 3) configured to be in communication with the second end of the external heat exchanger through a fourth pipeline (131 to 132, 140, and then 160, Fig. 3), and having
a second end (top end of 160, Fig. 3) configured to be in communication with the refrigerant inlet through a fifth pipeline (160 to 170 and then 100, Fig. 3);
a first throttle element (140) connected to the fourth pipeline (Fig. 3);
a second throttle element (120) connected to the third pipeline (Fig. 3); and
an integrated module (heat pump system) comprising
at least a part of the first pipeline, at least a part of the second pipeline, at least a part of the third pipeline, and at least a part of the fourth pipeline (Fig. 3), and
the first throttle element and the second throttle element disposed on the integrated module (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 2019/135075), and further in view of Shimauchi (US 2021/237533).
Regarding claim 20, Hwang teaches a battery heat exchanger (180, Fig. 3, [0071], [0073]), having a first end (top end of 180) configured to be in communication with the refrigerant outlet through a tenth pipeline (180 to 170 and then 100, Fig. 3);
a third heat exchange apparatus (132, Fig. 3, [0047]) having a fifth heat exchange flow path and a sixth heat exchange flow path, the sixth heat exchange flow path having
a first end (left end of 132) configured to be in communication with a second end of the battery heat exchanger through an eleventh pipeline (132 to 185 and then 180, Fig. 3) and having
a second end (right end of 132) in communication with the refrigerant inlet through a ninth pipeline (100 to 151, 120, 131, and then 132, Fig. 3);
a third throttle element (185) connected to the eleventh pipeline (connected as described in the eleventh pipeline above and Fig. 8, [0104]); and
Hwang does not teach a second system comprising an engine cooling jacket, a drive pump, and a heater core,
wherein the engine cooling jacket, the drive pump, and the heater core are in communication through a first circulation pipeline,
the fifth heat exchange flow path is connected to the first circulation pipeline and located on a downstream of the heater core.
However, Shimauchi teaches a second system (20, Fig. 6, [0056]) comprising an engine cooling jacket (water jacket, Fig. 6, [0061]), a drive pump (21, Fig. 6, [0057]), and a heater core (23, Fig. 6, [0056]),
wherein the engine cooling jacket, the drive pump, and the heater core are in communication through a first circulation pipeline (20, [0064], from 22 to 24, water jacket, 23, 21, 12, and then back to 22),
a heat exchange flow path (11 to top half of 12 and then 13, Fig. 6, [0097]) is connected to the first circulation pipeline (the heat exchange flow path is thermally connected to the first circulation pipeline through the top half of 12 to bottom half of 12) and located on a downstream of the heater core (the bottom half of 12 is located downstream of 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle thermal management system (Hwang: heat pump system) to use the second system (Shimauchi: 20) in order to heat the vehicle cabin using the heater core (Shimauchi: [0019]) during the operation of the internal combustion engine (Shimauchi: [0064]) by drawing heat from the internal combustion engine (Shimauchi: [0062]) as Hwang teaches carry out heating to the maximum as a goal (Hwang: [0046]).
Conclusion
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763