Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, claims 9-14 and 21-34, in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant recites “A remote radio unit mounting frame unit, the remote radio unit mounting frame unit comprising:”.
The limitation contains repeated phrases of “remote radio unit mounting frame”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, Applicant recites “wherein, when secured to the mounting structure, the remote radio unit mounting frame unit is positioned on a first side of the mounting structure with an antenna mounting frame positioned on a second, opposite side of the mounting structure.”
The limitation is nebulous to the Examiner because “mounting structure” and “antenna mounting frame” are not shown in the drawings and does not have numerical in the specification and in the drawings.
Furthermore, the limitation on one structure on one side and another structure on an opposite side does not have a support in the drawing. For Example, figure 11 shows that the structure all on one side of the pipe.
In claim 27, applicant recites “the remote radio unit mounting frame unit according to Claim 9, in combination with the antenna mounting frame.” The Limitation is nebulous to the examiner because it appears that the limitation is incomplete. It is not sure if it means that the remote radio unit mounting frame unit and the antenna mounting frame is combined or merged or connected together.
Furthermore, the limitation is nebulous to the Examiner because “antenna mounting frame” is not shown in the drawings and does not have numerical in the specification and in the drawings.
In claim 28, applicant recites “the remote radio unit mounting frame unit according to Claim 9, in combination with at least one remote radio unit mounted to the first mounting pipe.” The Limitation is nebulous to the examiner because it appears that the limitation is incomplete. It is not sure if it means that the remote radio unit mounting frame unit and at least one remote radio unit mounted to the first mounting pipe is combined or merged or connected together.
In claim 29, Applicant recites “wherein the remote radio unit mounting frame unit is positioned on a first side of the mounting structure with the antenna mounting frame positioned on a second, opposite side of the mounting structure.”
The limitation is nebulous to the Examiner because “mounting structure” and “antenna mounting frame” are not shown in the drawings and does not have numerical in the specification and in the drawings.
Furthermore, the limitation on one structure on one side and another structure on an opposite side does not have a support in the drawing. For Example, figure 11 shows that the structure all on one side of the pipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-14, 21-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sivanandar et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0302078, hereby referred as Sivanandar).
Regarding claim 9,
As best understood, Sivanandar discloses,
A remote radio unit mounting frame unit, the remote radio unit mounting frame unit comprising (figures 4-5):
a mounting foundation comprising a pair of bracket members configured to be secured to a mounting structure (mounting structure 30 and bracket members 36 or 22); and
a remote radio unit mount comprising a mounting pipe, the mounting pipe coupled to the pair of bracket members of the mounting foundation and configured to have one or more remote radio units secured thereto (mounting pipe 14 and RRU 34),
wherein, when secured to the mounting structure, the remote radio unit mounting frame unit is positioned on a first side of the mounting structure with an antenna mounting frame positioned on a second, opposite side of the mounting structure (see figure 5, RRU 34 in one side, antenna 32 in another side and it is opposite to the side of the brackets 22 or 36).
Regarding claim 10,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the mounting pipe of the remote radio unit mount is a first mounting pipe, the remote radio unit mount comprising a second mounting pipe and a pipe stand-off member coupling the second mounting pipe to the first mounting pipe (see figure 5, see plurality of pipes 14, 13, and 20).
Regarding claim 11,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the mounting foundation further comprises a pair of pipe clamp members, each pipe clamp member configured to be held together with a corresponding bracket member to secure the mounting foundation to the mounting structure (each element of 22 or 36 is connected to the pipe via clamp member).
Regarding claim 12,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the pair of bracket members are saddle brackets, each saddle bracket having a main body and a pair of angle brackets coupled to the main body, the mounting pipe secured to each angle bracket via a respective fastener (each element of 22 or 36 is connected to the pipe via clamp member).
Regarding claim 13,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the mounting structure is a spine pole of a sector frame mount (see figure 5, the plurality of pipes and other elements and forming a sector frame).
Regarding claim 14,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the mounting structure is a leg of an antenna tower (see figure 5, RRU 34, antenna 32 and brackets 22 or 36 and antenna tower 14).
Regarding claim 21,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the pipe standoff member is perpendicular to the first and second mounting pipes (pipes 14, 13, and 20 are all perpendicular).
Regarding claim 22,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the second mounting pipe is configured to have one or more remote radio units is secured thereto (see figure 5, RRU 34, antenna 32 and brackets 22 or 36 and antenna tower 14).
Regarding claim 23,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein one of the pipe clamp members is configured to mount to a vertical pole of the antenna mounting frame (each element of 22 or 36 is connected to the pipe via clamp member. Pipes 14, 13, and 20 are all perpendicular).
Regarding claim 24,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the sector frame mount is positioned outwardly from the spine pole in a first direction and the mounting pipe of the remote radio unit mount is positioned inwardly from the spine pole in an opposing second direction (see figure 5, the plurality of pipes and other elements and forming a sector frame, and RRU 34, antenna 32 and brackets 22 or 36 and antenna tower 14).
Regarding claim 25,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the bracket members secure the remote radio unit mount to the leg of the antenna tower such that the mounting pipe is positioned inwardly from the leg of the antenna tower and within an interior space of the antenna tower (see figure 5, the plurality of pipes and other elements and forming a sector frame, and RRU 34, antenna 32 and brackets 22 or 36 and antenna tower 14).
Regarding claim 26,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the mounting structure is a monopole (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 27,
As best understood, Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
The remote radio unit mounting frame unit according to Claim 9, in combination with the antenna mounting frame (see figure 5, the plurality of pipes and other elements and forming a sector frame, and RRU 34, antenna 32 and brackets 22 or 36 and antenna tower 14).
Regarding claim 28,
As best understood, Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
The remote radio unit mounting frame unit according to Claim 9, in combination with at least one remote radio unit mounted to the first mounting pipe (see figure 5, the plurality of pipes and other elements and forming a sector frame, and RRU 34, antenna 32 and brackets 22 or 36 and antenna tower 14).
Regarding claim 29,
As best understood, Sivanandar discloses,
A remote radio unit mounting frame unit assembly, the assembly comprising (figures 4-5):
a mounting structure; an antenna mounting frame mounted on the mounting structure (see figure 5, RRU 34 in one side, antenna 32 in another side and it is opposite to the side of the brackets 22 or 36); and
a remote radio mounting frame unit mounted on the mounting structure, the mounting frame unit comprising (see figure 5, RRU 34 in one side):
a mounting foundation comprising a pair of bracket members secured to a mounting structure (mounting structure 30 and bracket members 36 or 22); and
a remote radio unit mount comprising a mounting pipe, the mounting pipe coupled to the pair of bracket members of the mounting foundation (mounting pipe 14 and RRU 34 and brackets 22 or 36),
wherein the remote radio unit mounting frame unit is positioned on a first side of the mounting structure with the antenna mounting frame positioned on a second, opposite side of the mounting structure (see figure 5, RRU 34 in one side, antenna 32 in another side and it is opposite to the side of the brackets 22 or 36), and
wherein at least one radio unit is secured to the mounting pipe of the remote radio mounting frame unit (radio unit 34 and pipe 14).
Regarding claim 30,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the mounting pipe of the remote radio unit mount is a first mounting pipe, the remote radio unit mount comprising a second mounting pipe and a pipe stand-off member coupling the second mounting pipe to the first mounting pipe, and wherein the second mounting pipe is configured to have one or more remote radio units is secured thereto (see figure 5, see plurality of pipes 14, 13, and 20).
Regarding claim 31,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the mounting foundation further comprises a pair of pipe clamp members, each pipe clamp member configured to be held together with a corresponding bracket member to secure the mounting foundation to the mounting structure (each element of 22 or 36 is connected to the pipe via clamp member).
Regarding claim 32,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the pair of bracket members are saddle brackets, each saddle bracket having a main body and a pair of angle brackets coupled to the main body, the mounting pipe secured to each angle bracket via a respective fastener (each element of 22 or 36 is connected to the pipe via clamp member).
Regarding claim 33,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the mounting structure is a spine pole of a sector frame mount mount (see figure 5, the plurality of pipes and other elements and forming a sector frame), and wherein the sector frame mount is positioned outwardly from the spine pole in a first direction and the mounting pipe of the remote radio unit mount is positioned inwardly from the spine pole in an opposing second direction (see figure 5, the plurality of pipes and other elements and forming a sector frame, and RRU 34, antenna 32 and brackets 22 or 36 and antenna tower 14).
Regarding claim 34,
Sivanandar discloses (figures 4-5),
wherein the mounting structure is a leg of an antenna tower, and wherein the bracket members secure the remote radio unit mount to the leg of the antenna tower such that the mounting pipe is positioned inwardly from the leg of the antenna tower and within an interior space of the antenna tower (see figure 5, the plurality of pipes and other elements and forming a sector frame, and RRU 34, antenna 32 and brackets 22 or 36 and antenna tower 14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kolokotronis US Pub. No. 2015/0144758, Park et al. US Pub. No. 2022/0344789, Roy et al. US Patent No. 10797380, Heath et al. US Pub. No. 2020/0119537,
/AWAT M SALIH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845