DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0009645 A1 (Kaneko).
The Examiner notes that terms such as “below” and “upward” do not denote intrinsic properties of a device, but, rather, are dependent on a certain orientation. Thus any direction may be considered “below” or “upward” as long as a consistent scheme is used.
Kaneko discloses, referring primarily to figures 1A and 1B, a printed circuit board comprising: a first insulating layer (12); and a first metal layer (11) having a protruding part protruding beyond the first insulating layer, a buried part buried in the first insulating layer, and a protrusion (11a, 11b) protruding outwards with respect to a side surface of the buried part and a side surface of the protruding part where the B) [claim 11], further comprising: a second insulating layer (14) disposed below the first insulating layer; and a first wiring layer disposed (13) on the second insulating layer and including a first pad and a first pattern ([0037]) [claim 12], wherein a width between both ends of the protrusion is narrower than a width of the first pad (figure 1A) [claim 13], wherein the first metal layer includes the protruding part, a seed layer extending along outside of the protrusion and the buried part, and a plating layer disposed on the seed layer ([0036]) [claim 14], further comprising a surface treatment layer disposed on the first metal layer ([0036]) [claim 15], wherein the surface treatment layer covers at least portions of the protruding part and the protrusion ([0036]) [claim 16], wherein the buried part has a shape tapered upward [claim 17], wherein the protruding part, the buried part, and the protrusion are formed integrally with one another (figures 3A, 3B) [claim 19].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0145635 A1 (Shimizu) in view of US 6,089,442 (Ouchi).
Shimizu discloses, referring primarily to figure 5, a printed circuit board comprising: a first insulating layer (27); a first metal layer (28bb, 28ba) having a part (28ba) protruding beyond the first insulating layer and another part (28bb) buried in the first insulating layer; and a barrier layer (29) disposed on the first insulating layer, wherein the barrier layer includes solder resist ([0066]). Shimizu does not specifically state that the barrier layer includes an inorganic oxide film [claim 1]. However, it is well known in the art to use inorganic oxide as a solder resist film as evidenced by Ouchi (col. 6, lines 25-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the claimed features into the invention of Shimzu as is known in the art and evidenced by Ouchi. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a known material for its intended purpose of isolating solder (MPEP 2144).
Additionally, the modified invention of Shimzu teaches, wherein the buried part of the first metal layer passes through upper and lower surfaces of the first insulating layer [claim 2], further comprising: a second insulating layer (25) disposed below the first insulating layer; a first wiring layer (24ba) disposed on the second insulating layer; and a first via layer (26bb) passing through at least a portion of the second insulating layer to connect the first wiring layer and the first metal layer to each other [claim 3], wherein the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer include insulating materials substantially the same as each other ([0038]) [claim 4], wherein the barrier layer is disposed on at least a portion of the first insulating layer, and in contact with a side of the first metal layer (figure 5) [claim 5], wherein the barrier layer is thinner than the first insulating layer [claim 6].
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimzu in view of Ouchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kaneko.
The modified invention of Shimzu teaches the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 1 except modified Shimzu does not specifically teach that the first metal layer includes a seed layer disposed on outside of the first metal layer and a plating layer disposed on the seed layer, and the barrier layer is thinner than the seed layer [claim 7]. However, such an arrangement is well known in the art as evidenced by Kaneko ([0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the claimed features into the modified invention of Shimzu. The motivation for doing so would have been to prevent oxidation.
Similarly, the twice modified invention of Shimzu teaches further comprising a surface treatment layer disposed on the first metal layer [claim 8], wherein the surface treatment layer covers the part protruding beyond the first insulating layer [claim 9].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 18 states the limitation “further comprising: a barrier layer disposed on the first insulating layer, wherein the barrier layer is in contact with the protrusion.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 20 states the limitation “wherein the protrusion includes one portion disposed at a level above one surface of the first insulating layer and another portion disposed at a level below the one surface of the first insulating layer.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
JEREMY C. NORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/JEREMY C NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847