DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the communication filed 11/12/2024.
Claims 1-15 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bethlehem et al. (EP 2487289 A1) (machine translation attached).
Re claim 1, Bethlehem discloses a filter module (ref. 14, see fig. 3) comprising:
a filter case (housing of ref. 14) having a case opening (see fig. 3) and an inlet (ref. 9a) to allow water to enter the filter case;
a filter (ref. 16) mountable in the filter case through the case opening; and
a sealing member (ref. 20) that is deformable and is configured so that, with the filter mounted in the filter case, at least a portion of the sealing member is outside a perimeter of the case opening (see fig. 6 ref. 20b is outside the perimeter region of ref. 22 of the housing ref. 14), and with the filter mounted in the filter case and the water entering the filter case through the inlet and thereby causing a hydraulic pressure in the filter case, the sealing member is deformed by the hydraulic pressure so as to seal a gap formed between the filter case and the filter (RE “deformed by the hydraulic pressure”, here, as seen in fig. 6 ref. 20b is exposed to receiving space 15 and thus any hydraulic pressure therein and is expected to deform leftward and radially outward if receiving pressure in the leftward/compressive direction by nature of the flange-style seal; see also claim 1 “designed to provide a radial force against wall section 15a”).
Re claim 2, wherein, with the sealing member deformed by the hydraulic pressure, at least a portion of the sealing member is in close contact with the filter case (claim 1 “radial force against wall section 15a”).
Re claim 3, wherein the filter includes a filter cover (ref. 19) configured to cover the case opening when the filter is mounted in the filter case, and the sealing member is mounted on the filter cover (see figs. 3 and 6).
Re claim 4, further comprising a handle (see fig. 2 unlabeled handle on front side of filter cover 19) on a side of the filter cover that is opposite to a side of the filter cover that faces the filter.
Re claims 11-12, Independent claim 11 defines over claim 1 only the recitation of a filter apparatus including a housing inlet and a housing outlet. Bethlehem further discloses a filter apparatus including a housing inlet and a housing outlet (see fig. 3, abstract, inlet 9a and outlet 10a). Re claim 12, claim 12 recites limitation rejected above.
Re claim 15, Independent claim 15 defines over claims 1 and 11 only in the recitation of a clothes treating apparatus comprising a housing, a tub, and a drainage device. Bethlehem further discloses a clothes treating apparatus (abstract, washing machine ref. 1) comprising a housing (ref. 2), a tub and a drainage device (ref. 9, 14, 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bethlehem, as applied above, in view of Liu (CN-107237090-A) (machine translation attached).
Re claims 5 and 13, Bethlehem discloses as shown above including the sealing member includes: a sealing body (see fig. 6 lower portion of ref. 20) along a perimeter of the filter cover and an extension portion (ref. 20a) extending from the sealing body in an outward direction of the filter cover. Bethlehem does not explicitly disclose a sealing rib extending from the extension portion in a direction that is different from the outward direction of the filter cover. However, Liu teaches it is known in the washing machine filter art (abstract) to provide a sealing body (see fig. 9 ref. 3 inner perimeter) with an extension portion (see figs. 9-10 vertical portion) extending from the sealing body in an outward direction, and a sealing rib (ref. 32 ring of protruding structures) extending from the extension portion in a direction that is different from the outward direction.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seal of Bethlehem to further include a sealing rib, as suggested by Liu, in order to provide an extension for deformation to provide greater surface contact with the surface to be sealed.
Re claim 6, Liu further discloses wherein, with the filter mounted in the filter case, the sealing rib is outside the perimeter of the case opening (see figs. 6-7 ref. 32 includes portion outside perimeter of ref. 1, 21).
Re claims 7 and 14, Regarding “wherein, with the sealing member deformed by the hydraulic pressure, the sealing rib is in close contact with the filter case”, as discussed above, it is expected as a function of a deformable sealing member that any leftward-compressive force will yield a radial deformation/sealing.
Re claim 8, Regarding “wherein the sealing body, the extension portion, and the sealing rib are configured to form a sealing groove, and with the filter mounted in the filter case and the water entering the filter case through the inlet, the sealing groove is pressed by the water”, the combination of Bethlehem and Liu forms a sealing groove, i.e. a right protrusion (Bethlehem) and a left protrusion (Liu), and would be expected to be pressed/deformed by the water.
Re claim 9, Liu further discloses wherein the sealing member further includes a sealing protrusion (ref. 33) protruding from the sealing rib.
Re claim 10, Bethlehem further discloses wherein the sealing body includes a deformation groove (see fig. 6, groove between ref. 20b and 20a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20240356049A1 note groove-type seal.
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711