DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9-10 and 15-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks (page 2), filed 07/27/2026, with respect to claims 11-14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 11-14 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferraro et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0356499) in view of Iadanza et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0336432).
Regarding claim 1, Ferraro et al. teaches an insulator (100) for a cable termination assembly comprising: a main body (102) of insulating material extending along a longitudinal direction (B-B’) and having a cylindrically symmetrical shape with a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end opposite to each other (as shown in fig. 2A and disclosed in para. 0037 and 0043), the main body (102) being configured to be fitted on a power cable (as disclosed in para. 0032 and 0045); and a ring-shaped electrode (106 and 108, as shown in fig. 2A-2B and disclosed in para. 0037 and 0043) and made of a mesh of conducting material integrated in the main body (102) at a predefined distance from the first longitudinal end (as disclosed in para. 0047), the ring-shaped electrode (106 and 108) being configured to be coupled (using 206, as shown in fig. 2A) to an external voltage detector (as disclosed in para. 0043).
Ferraro et al. fails to specifically teach a metallic insert comprising a first side and a second side, wherein the metallic insert is configured to be electrically coupled to an exposed electric conductor of the power cable on the first side and to a bare conductor on the second side. However, Iadanza et al. teaches a metallic insert (7, 103) comprising a first side and a second side (as shown in fig. 1-2), wherein the metallic insert (7, 103) is configured to be electrically coupled to an exposed electric conductor (101) of the power cable (100) on the first side and to a bare conductor (9) on the second side (as shown in fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the metallic insert comprising a first side and a second side, wherein the metallic insert is configured to be electrically coupled to an exposed electric conductor of the power cable on the first side and to a bare conductor on the second side as taught by Iadanza et al. with the invention of Ferraro et al. in order to accurately and securely transmit current from one end to another.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Ferraro et al. teaches wherein the ring- shaped electrode (106 and 108) is provided of at least one protrusion (206) made of conducting material and extending from the ring-shaped electrode (106 and 108) to an outer surface of the main body (206 electrically connects 202 externally to voltage readout circuitry, as disclosed in para. 0043).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Ferraro et al. teaches wherein the ring-shaped electrode (106 and 108) comprises a metallic mesh plate shaped as a ring (as disclosed in para. 0047).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Ferraro et al. teaches wherein the main body (102) is made of epoxy resin (as disclosed in para. 0040).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferraro et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0356499) and Iadanza et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0336432) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Siebens (US PGPUB 2019/0107563).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. teaches the limitations of claim 2, in addition, Ferraro et al. teaches wherein the at least one protrusion (206) made of conducting material (206 electrically connects 202 externally to voltage readout circuitry, as disclosed in para. 0043).
The combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the at least one protrusion has, at its free end, a threaded bush. However, Siebens teaches wherein the at least one protrusion (152) has, at its free end, a threaded bush (155) (as shown in fig. 1A and disclosed in para. 0026).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the at least one protrusion has, at its free end, a threaded bush as taught by Siebens with the invention of the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. in order to securely attach the insulator to an external device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferraro et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0356499) and Iadanza et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0336432) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of STOLLWERCK et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0395326).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the ring-shaped electrode has a folded edge proximal with respect to the first longitudinal end. However, STOLLWERCK et al. teaches wherein the ring-shaped electrode (220) has a folded edge (228) proximal with respect to the first longitudinal end (as shown in fig. 1B and disclosed in para. 0067).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the ring-shaped electrode has a folded edge proximal with respect to the first longitudinal end as taught by STOLLWERCK et al. with the invention of the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. in order to have electrical stress control (STOLLWERCK et al. para. 0067).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferraro et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0356499) and Iadanza et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0336432) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ROMMEL et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0145631).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the mesh of conducting material has a cover factor comprised between 0.2 and 0.5. However, ROMMEL et al. teaches wherein the mesh of conducting material has a cover factor comprised between 0.2 and 0.5 (as disclosed in para. 0028).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the mesh of conducting material has a cover factor comprised between 0.2 and 0.5 as taught by ROMMEL et al. with the invention of the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. in order to better integrate the mesh to the insulating body.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferraro et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0356499) and Iadanza et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0336432) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Czyzewski et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0219323).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. fails to specifically teach a termination assembly for a power cable comprising: an electric field control element fitted to the power cable; and an insulator according to claim 1, wherein the insulator is coupled to the electric field control element so as to surround it at least partially. However, Czyzewski et al. teaches a termination assembly (10) for a power cable (29) comprising: an electric field control element (6) fitted to the power cable (29) (as shown in fig. 1); and an insulator (1), wherein the insulator (1) is coupled to the electric field control element (6) so as to surround it at least partially (as shown in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have a termination assembly for a power cable comprising: an electric field control element fitted to the power cable; and an insulator according to claim 1, wherein the insulator is coupled to the electric field control element so as to surround it at least partially as taught by Czyzewski et al. with the invention of the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. in order to achieve minimal interface pressure while having a compact overall design.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ferraro et al., Iadanza et al. and Czyzewski et al. teaches the limitations of claim 9, in addition, Czyzewski et al. teaches a Gas Insulated Substations termination (as disclosed in para. 0002) comprising: a termination assembly (10) according to claim 9; a tubular casing (21) configured to be fixed to the insulator (1) and to house the insulator (as shown in fig. 1); and a bare conductor (32) configured to be installed within the tubular casing (21) and electrically coupled to an electric conductor of a power cable (29) (as shown in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have a Gas Insulated Substations termination comprising: a termination assembly according to claim 9; a tubular casing configured to be fixed to the insulator and to house the insulator; and a bare conductor configured to be installed within the tubular casing and electrically coupled to an electric conductor of a power cable as taught by Czyzewski et al. with the invention of the combination of Ferraro et al. and Iadanza et al. in order to protect and shield the Gas Insulated Substations termination from external forces.
Claims 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferraro et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0356499) in views of Iadanza et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0336432) and Stollwerck et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0115600).
Regarding claim 15, Ferraro et al. teaches a method for monitoring a cable termination assembly comprising: coupling a ring-shaped electrode (106 and 108) of an insulator (100) for the cable termination assembly applied on a power cable to a voltage detector (as shown in fig. 6), the insulator (100) comprising: a main body (102) of insulating material extending along a longitudinal direction (B-B’) and having a cylindrically symmetrical shape with a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end opposite to each other (as shown in fig. 2A and disclosed in para. 0037 and 0043), the main body (102) comprising an inner opening for receiving the power cable (as disclosed in para. 0032 and 0045); and a ring-shaped electrode (106 and 108, as shown in fig. 2A-2B and disclosed in para. 0037 and 0043) and made of a mesh of conducting material integrated in the main body (102) at a predefined distance from the first longitudinal end (as disclosed in para. 0047), the ring-shaped electrode (106 and 108) being configured to be coupled (using 206, as shown in fig. 2A) to an external voltage detector (as disclosed in para. 0043).
Ferraro et al. fails to specifically teach a metallic insert comprising a first side and a second side, wherein the metallic insert is configured to be electrically coupled to an exposed electric conductor of the power cable on the first side and to a bare conductor on the second side; detecting a voltage signal with the voltage detector; and analyzing the voltage signal through the voltage detector and based thereon determining when the power cable is under voltage or detecting the presence of partial discharge. However, Iadanza et al. teaches a metallic insert (7, 103) comprising a first side and a second side (as shown in fig. 1-2), wherein the metallic insert (7, 103) is configured to be electrically coupled to an exposed electric conductor (101) of the power cable (100) on the first side and to a bare conductor (9) on the second side (as shown in fig. 1-2) and Stollwerck et al. teaches detecting a voltage signal with the voltage detector (as disclosed in para. 0092-0099); and analyzing the voltage signal through the voltage detector and based thereon determining if the power cable is under voltage or detecting the presence of partial discharge (as disclosed in para. 0092-0099).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have a metallic insert comprising a first side and a second side, wherein the metallic insert is configured to be electrically coupled to an exposed electric conductor of the power cable on the first side and to a bare conductor on the second side; detecting a voltage signal with the voltage detector; and analyzing the voltage signal through the voltage detector and based thereon determining if the power cable is under voltage or detecting the presence of partial discharge as taught by Iadanza et al. and Stollwerck et al. with the invention of Ferraro et al. in order to accurately and securely transmit current from one end to another and avoid electrical damage the cable termination system.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Ferraro et al., Iadanza et al. and Stollwerck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 15, in addition, Ferraro et al. teaches wherein the ring- shaped electrode (106 and 108) is provided of at least one protrusion (206) made of conducting material and extending from the ring-shaped electrode (106 and 108) to an outer surface of the main body (206 electrically connects 202 externally to voltage readout circuitry, as disclosed in para. 0043).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ferraro et al., Iadanza et al. and Stollwerck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 15, in addition, Ferraro et al. teaches wherein the ring-shaped electrode (106 and 108) comprises a metallic mesh plate shaped as a ring (as disclosed in para. 0047).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferraro et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0356499), Iadanza et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0336432) and Stollwerck et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0115600) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Siebens (US PGPUB 2019/0107563).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ferraro et al., Iadanza et al. and Stollwerck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 16, in addition, Ferraro et al. teaches wherein the at least one protrusion (206) made of conducting material (206 electrically connects 202 externally to voltage readout circuitry, as disclosed in para. 0043).
The combination of Ferraro et al., Iadanza et al. and Stollwerck et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the at least one protrusion has, at its free end, a threaded bush. However, Siebens teaches wherein the at least one protrusion (152) has, at its free end, a threaded bush (155) (as shown in fig. 1A and disclosed in para. 0026).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the at least one protrusion has, at its free end, a threaded bush as taught by Siebens with the invention of the combination of Ferraro et al., Iadanza et al. and Stollwerck et al. in order to securely attach the insulator to an external device.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferraro et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0356499), Iadanza et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0336432) and Stollwerck et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0115600) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of STOLLWERCK et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0395326).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ferraro et al., Iadanza et al. and Stollwerck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Ferraro et al., Iadanza et al. and Stollwerck et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the ring-shaped electrode has a folded edge proximal with respect to the first longitudinal end. However, STOLLWERCK et al. teaches wherein the ring-shaped electrode (220) has a folded edge (228) proximal with respect to the first longitudinal end (as shown in fig. 1B and disclosed in para. 0067).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the ring-shaped electrode has a folded edge proximal with respect to the first longitudinal end as taught by STOLLWERCK et al. with the invention of the combination of Ferraro et al., Iadanza et al. and Stollwerck et al. in order to have electrical stress control (STOLLWERCK et al. para. 0067).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 11-14, the prior art fails to specifically teach a cable termination system comprising: an insulator comprising: a main body of insulating material extending along a longitudinal direction and having a cylindrically symmetrical shape with a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end opposite to each other, the main body configured to receive the power cable, and a ring-shaped electrode made of a mesh of conducting material integrated in the main body at a predefined distance from the first longitudinal end, the ring-shaped electrode being configured to be coupled to an external voltage detector, wherein the insulator is coupled to the electric field control element so as to surround it at least partially, in combination with all the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858