DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 12, 14-15, 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 8, 12-13, 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,708 (hereinafter referred to as Patent ‘708) in view of Yerli (US Patent No. 11,218,522).
Regarding claim 1, the Patent ‘708 claim 1 teaches “providing a video conference session in a virtual environment that is a three-dimensional virtual space and includes respective digital representations of conference participants of the video conference session” functionally similar to “providing, in a video conference session, a virtual environment that is three-dimensional and that includes digital representations of video conference participants” recited in claim 1 of the present invention; the Patent ‘708 claim 1 teaches “placing a three-dimensional representation of a first conference participant of the conference participants in the virtual environment, wherein the first conference participant is an augmented or a virtual reality (AR/VR) conference participant” functionally similar to “providing, in the virtual environment, a representation of a first participant as an augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) participant in three dimensions” recited in claim 1 of the present invention; the Patent ‘708 claim 1 teaches “receiving a video stream of a second video conference participant of the conference participants, wherein the second video conference participant is a non-AR/VR conference participant, and wherein the video stream is two-dimensional” functionally similar to “receiving a two-dimensional video stream of a second participant who is not in AR/VR” recited in claim 1 of the present invention; the Patent ‘708 claim 1 teaches “determining a boundary about the second video conference participant in the video stream, wherein the boundary has an interior portion and an exterior portion, the interior portion being a two-dimensional depiction of the second video conference participant and the exterior portion depicting a background of the second video conference participant” functionally similar to “defining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream to separate an interior depiction of the second participant from an exterior background” recited in claim 1 of the present invention. The Patent ‘708 claim 1 teaches “processing the video stream to generate a modified video stream comprising the interior portion depicting the second video conference participant without the exterior portion depicting the background; providing the modified video stream in the virtual environment as a digital representation of the second video conference participant, the digital representation being two-dimensional, and the virtual environment including the digital representation that is two-dimensional and the three-dimensional representation” which is obviously for displaying to the user functionally similar to “the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment” recited in claim 1 of the present invention, but Patent ‘708 claim 1 does not explicitly teach “displaying” the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment. Also, Claim 1 of the present invention does not recite “providing in the video conference session a second video stream of the virtual environment captured by a virtual camera located at a viewpoint of the digital representation of the second video conference participant in the virtual environment” as recited in claim 1 of Patent ‘708.
However, in the similar field, Yerli teaches “displaying the interior depiction of the second participant (client video/ video cut out with background removed) and the representation of the first participant (client video/ video cut out without background removed) within the virtual environment” (col. 9 ll. 12-col. 10 ll. 39 various embodiments of client video without background and representation of other client video feeds in virtual environment displayed, col. 30 ll. 5-31, col. 55 ll. 64-col. 56 ll. 51 and other embodiments elsewhere in the art).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Patent ‘708 claim 1 to explicitly display the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment as taught by Yerli so that “The multimedia streams may be viewed, e.g., in first person within the virtual environment 1212 by the users through their user graphical representations 1222 via their client devices 1210.” (Yerli, col. 56 ll. 41-44).
Regarding claim 3, it is rejected against claim 4 of Patent ‘708.
Regarding claim 4, it is rejected against claim 5 of Patent ‘708.
Regarding claim 5, it is rejected against claim 1 of Patent ‘708.
Regarding claim 6, it is rejected against claim 1 of Patent ‘708.
Regarding claim 8, the Patent ‘708 claim 15 teaches “provide a video conference session in a virtual environment that is a three-dimensional virtual space and includes respective digital representations of conference participants of the video conference session” functionally similar to “provide, in a video conference session, a virtual environment that is three-dimensional and that includes digital representations of video conference participants” recited in claim 8 of the present invention; the Patent ‘708 claim 15 teaches “place a three-dimensional representation of a first conference participant of the conference participants in the virtual environment, wherein the first conference participant is an augmented or a virtual reality (AR/VR) conference participant” functionally similar to “provide, in the virtual environment, a representation of a first participant as an augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) participant in three dimensions” recited in claim 8 of the present invention; the Patent ‘708 claim 15 teaches “receive a video stream of a second video conference participant of the conference participants, wherein the second video conference participant is a non-AR/VR conference participant, and wherein the video stream is two-dimensional” functionally similar to “receive a two-dimensional video stream of a second participant who is not in AR/VR” recited in claim 8 of the present invention; the Patent ‘708 claim 15 teaches “determine a boundary about the second video conference participant in the video stream, wherein the boundary has an interior portion and an exterior portion, the interior portion being a two-dimensional depiction of the second video conference participant and the exterior portion depicting a background of the second video conference participant” functionally similar to “define a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream to separate an interior depiction of the second participant from an exterior background” recited in claim 8 of the present invention. The Patent ‘708 claim 15 teaches “process the video stream to generate a modified video stream comprising the interior portion depicting the second video conference participant without the exterior portion depicting the background; provide the modified video stream in the virtual environment as a digital representation of the second video conference participant, the digital representation being two-dimensional, and the virtual environment including the digital representation that is two-dimensional and the three-dimensional representation;” which is obviously for displaying to the user functionally similar to “the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment” recited in claim 8 of the present invention, but Patent ‘708 claim 15 does not explicitly teach “display” the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment. Also, Claim 8 of the present invention does not recite “provide in the video conference session a second video stream of the virtual environment captured by a virtual camera located at a viewpoint of the digital representation of the second video conference participant in the virtual environment” as recited in claim 15 of Patent ‘708.
However, in the similar field, Yerli teaches to “display the interior depiction of the second participant (client video/ video cut out with background removed) and the representation of the first participant (client video/ video cut out without background removed) within the virtual environment” (col. 9 ll. 12-col. 10 ll. 39 various embodiments of client video without background and representation of other client video feeds in virtual environment displayed, col. 30 ll. 5-31, col. 55 ll. 64-col. 56 ll. 51 and other embodiments elsewhere in the art).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Patent ‘708 claim 1 to explicitly display the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment as taught by Yerli so that “The multimedia streams may be viewed, e.g., in first person within the virtual environment 1212 by the users through their user graphical representations 1222 via their client devices 1210.” (Yerli, col. 56 ll. 41-44).
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected against claim 13 of Patent ‘708. Claim 15 of Patent 708 recites “video conference session in a virtual environment that is a three-dimensional virtual space” obviously any space including conference room.
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected against claim 15 modified with functionality of claim 13 of Patent ‘708. Also, Yerli teaches to provide, in the video conference session, a second video stream of the virtual environment (Fig. 10B environment in addition to Fig. 10A environment).
Regarding claim 15, the Patent ‘708 claim 8 teaches “providing a video conference session in a virtual environment that is a three-dimensional virtual space and includes respective digital representations of conference participants of the video conference session” functionally similar to “providing, in a video conference session, a virtual environment that is three-dimensional and that includes digital representations of video conference participants” recited in claim 15 of the present invention; the Patent ‘708 claim 8 teaches “placing a three-dimensional representation of a first conference participant of the conference participants in the virtual environment, wherein the first conference participant is an augmented or a virtual reality (AR/VR) conference participant” functionally similar to “providing, in the virtual environment, a representation of a first participant as an augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) participant in three dimensions” recited in claim 15 of the present invention; the Patent ‘708 claim 8 teaches “receiving a video stream of a second video conference participant of the conference participants, wherein the second video conference participant is a non-AR/VR conference participant, and wherein the video stream is two-dimensional” functionally similar to “receiving a two-dimensional video stream of a second participant who is not in AR/VR” recited in claim 15 of the present invention; the Patent ‘708 claim 8 teaches “determining a boundary about the second video conference participant in the video stream, wherein the boundary has an interior portion and an exterior portion, the interior portion being a two-dimensional depiction of the second video conference participant and the exterior portion depicting a background of the second video conference participant” functionally similar to “defining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream to separate an interior depiction of the second participant from an exterior background” recited in claim 15 of the present invention. The Patent ‘708 claim 8 teaches “processing the video stream to generate a modified video stream comprising the interior portion depicting the second video conference participant without the exterior portion depicting the background; providing the modified video stream in the virtual environment as a digital representation of the second video conference participant, the digital representation being two-dimensional, and the virtual environment including the digital representation that is two-dimensional and the three-dimensional representation” which is obviously for displaying to the user functionally similar to “the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment” recited in claim 15 of the present invention, but Patent ‘708 claim 8 does not explicitly teach “displaying” the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment. Also, Claim 15 of the present invention does not recite “providing in the video conference session a second video stream of the virtual environment captured by a virtual camera located at a viewpoint of the digital representation of the second video conference participant in the virtual environment” as recited in claim 8 of Patent ‘708.
However, in the similar field, Yerli teaches “displaying the interior depiction of the second participant (client video/ video cut out with background removed) and the representation of the first participant (client video/ video cut out without background removed) within the virtual environment” (col. 9 ll. 12-col. 10 ll. 39 various embodiments of client video without background and representation of other client video feeds in virtual environment displayed, col. 30 ll. 5-31, col. 55 ll. 64-col. 56 ll. 51 and other embodiments elsewhere in the art).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Patent ‘708 claim 8 to explicitly display the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment as taught by Yerli so that “The multimedia streams may be viewed, e.g., in first person within the virtual environment 1212 by the users through their user graphical representations 1222 via their client devices 1210.” (Yerli, col. 56 ll. 41-44).
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected against claim 15 modified with functionality of claim 12 of Patent ‘708..
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected against claim 8 of Patent ‘708..
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected against claim 8 of Patent ‘708.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-12, 14-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerli (US Patent No. 11,218,522)., and further in view of Zimmerman (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0312684).
Regarding claim 1, Yerli teaches a method, comprising:
providing, in a video conference session (Figs. 9, 10A-10B, 12 conference session), a virtual environment that is three-dimensional and that includes digital representations of video conference participants (Figs. 9, 10A-10B virtual environment, Fig. 12 item 1222 user graphical representations) (col. 28 ll. 55-66, col. 52 ll. 24-col. 53 ll. 28, col. 54 ll. 29-col. 56 ll. 51);
providing, in the virtual environment, a representation of a first participant as an augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) participant in three dimensions (Fig. 12 item 1222, col. 29 ll. 3-10 user with head mounted display, col. 53 ll. 26-34 user video with background removed, or user 3D cut out from live video feed, col. 54 ll. 60-col. 55, ll. 1);
receiving a two-dimensional video stream of a second participant who is not in AR/VR (col. 29 ll. 3-10 user with mobile device i.e. not AR/VR, col. 54 ll. 51-59, col. 55 l.. 64-col. 56 ll. 4 video from home camera i.e. not AR/VR);
determining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream to separate an interior depiction of the second participant from an exterior background (col. 31 ll. 43-col. 32 ll. 5, col. 32 ll. 14-col. 33 ll. 6); and
displaying the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment (Fig. 12 item 1212, col. 2 ll. 42-col. 3 ll. 19, col. 31 ll. 61-col. 32 ll. 5, col. 33 ll. 7-14 displaying graphical representations in variety of manners, col. 61 ll. 31-col. 62 ll. 3) (col. 1 ll. 57-col. 25 ll. 50, col. 27 ll. 14-col. 64 ll. 8 for complete details).
Yerli teaches determining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream, but Yerli does not specifically teach defining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream.
However, in the similar field, Zimmerman teaches defining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream (Paragraphs 0245-0246 manually indicating region of interest for face).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Yerli to include defining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream as taught by Zimmerman so that “a viewer of the wearable system can specify a size of the social triangle, and the wearable system can determine a region of the face that meets the specified size as the social triangle (such as, e.g., by placing the triangle on the face such that the eyes, nose, or mouth fit within it)” (Zimmerman, Paragraph 0246).
Regarding claim 2, Zimmerman teaches providing a user interface control for selecting a location of the interior depiction of the second participant in the virtual environment (Paragraphs 0245-0246).
Regarding claim 4, Yerli teaches wherein displaying the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment comprises: generating a three-dimensional mesh based on the interior depiction of the second participant; and displaying the interior depiction of the second participant on the three-dimensional mesh (col. 2 ll. 62-col. 3 ll. 14, col. 31 ll. 7-17, ll. 43-65, col. 32 ll. 65-col. 33 ll. 6).
Zimmerman teaches wherein displaying the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment comprises: generating a three-dimensional mesh based on the interior depiction of the second participant; and displaying the interior depiction of the second participant on the three-dimensional mesh (Paragraphs 0124, 0145, 0149, 0187).
Regarding claim 5, Yerli teaches providing, in the video conference session, a second video stream of the virtual environment (Fig. 10B environment in addition to Fig. 10A environment, Figs. 12-14 multiple video streams of multiple users and broadcast video stream).
Regarding claim 6, Yerli teaches wherein the second video stream of the virtual environment is captured by a virtual camera located in the virtual environment (Fig. 12 video stream captured by item 1214, col. 55 ll. 50-63).
Regarding claim 8, Yerli teaches a system, comprising:
one or more processors configured to perform instructions (Fig. 16, col. 60 ll. 22-col. 62 ll. 3) to:
provide, in a video conference session (Figs. 9, 10A-10B, 12 conference session), a virtual environment that is three-dimensional and that includes digital representations of video conference participants (Figs. 9, 10A-10B virtual environment, Fig. 12 item 1222 user graphical representations) (col. 28 ll. 55-66, col. 52 ll. 24-col. 53 ll. 28, col. 54 ll. 29-col. 56 ll. 51);
provide, in the virtual environment, a representation of a first participant as an augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) participant in three dimensions (Fig. 12 item 1222, col. 29 ll. 3-10 user with head mounted display, col. 53 ll. 26-34 user video with background removed, or user 3D cut out from live video feed, col. 54 ll. 60-col. 55, ll. 1);
receive a two-dimensional video stream of a second participant who is not in AR/VR (col. 29 ll. 3-10 user with mobile device i.e. not AR/VR, col. 54 ll. 51-59, col. 55 l.. 64-col. 56 ll. 4 video from home camera i.e. not AR/VR);
determine a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream to separate an interior depiction of the second participant from an exterior background (col. 31 ll. 43-col. 32 ll. 5, col. 32 ll. 14-col. 33 ll. 6); and
display the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment (Fig. 12 item 1212, col. 2 ll. 42-col. 3 ll. 19, col. 31 ll. 61-col. 32 ll. 5, col. 33 ll. 7-14 displaying graphical representations in variety of manners, col. 61 ll. 31-col. 62 ll. 3) (col. 1 ll. 57-col. 25 ll. 50, col. 27 ll. 14-col. 64 ll. 8 for complete details).
Yerli teaches to determine a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream, but Yerli does not specifically teach to define a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream.
However, in the similar field, Zimmerman teaches to define a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream (Paragraphs 0245-0246 manually indicating region of interest for face).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Yerli to include defining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream as taught by Zimmerman so that “a viewer of the wearable system can specify a size of the social triangle, and the wearable system can determine a region of the face that meets the specified size as the social triangle (such as, e.g., by placing the triangle on the face such that the eyes, nose, or mouth fit within it)” (Zimmerman, Paragraph 0246).
Regarding claim 9, Yerli wherein the one or more processors further configured to perform instructions to: generate volumetric information about a face of the second participant based on the interior depiction of the second participant; generating a three-dimensional mesh based on the volumetric information; and providing the interior depiction of the second participant on the three-dimensional mesh (col. 2 ll. 62-col. 3 ll. 14, col. 31 ll. 7-17, ll. 43-65, col. 32 ll. 65-col. 33 ll. 6).
Zimmerman teaches wherein the one or more processors further configured to perform instructions to: generate volumetric information about a face of the second participant based on the interior depiction of the second participant; generating a three-dimensional mesh based on the volumetric information; and providing the interior depiction of the second participant on the three-dimensional mesh (Paragraphs 0124, 0145, 0149, 0187).
Regarding claim 10, Yerli teaches wherein the one or more processors further configured to perform instructions to: capture a video stream of the virtual environment from a viewpoint of the displayed interior depiction; and provide the video stream of the virtual environment in the video conference session (col. 55 ll. 50-63).
Regarding claim 11, Yerli teaches wherein the one or more processors further configured to perform instructions to: dynamically adjust the boundary based on movements of the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream (col. 31 ll. 35-54, col. 32 ll. 22-32, col. 37 ll. 53-58).
Zimmerman teaches wherein the one or more processors further configured to perform instructions to: dynamically adjust the boundary based on movements of the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream (Paragraphs 0045, 0096, 0124, 0144-0146, 0151-0152, 0157, 0162-0163, 0242 tracking user movement for corresponding face with its boundary).
Regarding claim 12, Yerli teaches wherein the virtual environment includes a background setting that reflects a conference room (Figs. 9, 10A-10B).
Regarding claim 14, Yerli teaches wherein the one or more processors further configured to perform instructions to: provide, in the video conference session, a second video stream of the virtual environment (Fig. 10B environment in addition to Fig. 10A environment, Figs. 12-14 multiple video streams of multiple users and broadcast video stream).
Regarding claim 15, Yerli teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations (col. 63 ll. 50-col. 64 ll. 8) comprising:
providing, in a video conference session (Figs. 9, 10A-10B, 12 conference session), a virtual environment that is three-dimensional and that includes digital representations of video conference participants (Figs. 9, 10A-10B virtual environment, Fig. 12 item 1222 user graphical representations) (col. 28 ll. 55-66, col. 52 ll. 24-col. 53 ll. 28, col. 54 ll. 29-col. 56 ll. 51);
providing, in the virtual environment, a representation of a first participant as an augmented or virtual reality (AR/VR) participant in three dimensions (Fig. 12 item 1222, col. 29 ll. 3-10 user with head mounted display, col. 53 ll. 26-34 user video with background removed, or user 3D cut out from live video feed, col. 54 ll. 60-col. 55, ll. 1);
receiving a two-dimensional video stream of a second participant who is not in AR/VR (col. 29 ll. 3-10 user with mobile device i.e. not AR/VR, col. 54 ll. 51-59, col. 55 l.. 64-col. 56 ll. 4 video from home camera i.e. not AR/VR);
determining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream to separate an interior depiction of the second participant from an exterior background (col. 31 ll. 43-col. 32 ll. 5, col. 32 ll. 14-col. 33 ll. 6); and
displaying the interior depiction of the second participant and the representation of the first participant within the virtual environment (Fig. 12 item 1212, col. 2 ll. 42-col. 3 ll. 19, col. 31 ll. 61-col. 32 ll. 5, col. 33 ll. 7-14 displaying graphical representations in variety of manners, col. 61 ll. 31-col. 62 ll. 3) (col. 1 ll. 57-col. 25 ll. 50, col. 27 ll. 14-col. 64 ll. 8 for complete details).
Yerli teaches determining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream, but Yerli does not specifically teach defining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream.
However, in the similar field, Zimmerman teaches defining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream (Paragraphs 0245-0246 manually indicating region of interest for face).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Yerli to include defining a boundary around the second participant within the two-dimensional video stream as taught by Zimmerman so that “a viewer of the wearable system can specify a size of the social triangle, and the wearable system can determine a region of the face that meets the specified size as the social triangle (such as, e.g., by placing the triangle on the face such that the eyes, nose, or mouth fit within it)” (Zimmerman, Paragraph 0246).
Regarding claim 16, Yerli teaches wherein the interior depiction of the second participant is provided as a video sprite in the virtual environment (col. 2 ll. 46-49, col. 2 ll. 62-col. 3 ll. 2, col. 14 ll. 9-12, col. 16 ll. 19-21, col. 27 ll. 35-37, col. 30 ll. 59-65, col. 31 ll. 7-15, ll. 43-54, col. 41 ll. 40-48, col. 53 ll. 26-30 graphical representation with static expressions from photo).
Regarding claim 18, Yerli teaches to provide the interior depiction of the second participant on a three-dimensional mesh generated based on the interior depiction (col. 2 ll. 62-col. 3 ll. 14, col. 31 ll. 7-17, ll. 43-65, col. 32 ll. 65-col. 33 ll. 6).
Zimmerman teaches to provide the interior depiction of the second participant on a three-dimensional mesh generated based on the interior depiction (Paragraphs 0124, 0145, 0149, 0187).
Regarding claim 19, Yerli teaches wherein the video conference session includes a second video stream of the virtual environment (Fig. 10B environment in addition to Fig. 10A environment, Figs. 12-14 multiple video streams of multiple users and broadcast video stream).
Regarding claim 20, Yerli teaches wherein the second video stream is captured by a virtual camera located in the virtual environment (Fig. 12 video stream captured by item 1214, col. 55 ll. 50-63).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerli and Zimmerman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Copley (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0322395).
Regarding claim 3, Yerli and Zimmerman do not teach the interior depiction of the second participant is displayed on a flat shape in the virtual environment.
However, in the similar field, Copley teaches the interior depiction of the second participant is displayed on a flat shape in the virtual environment (Fig. 4B item 432, Paragraphs 0068-0069).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Yerli and Zimmerman to include the interior depiction of the second participant displayed on a flat shape in the virtual environment as taught by Copley so that “The orientation representation of a client-side user using a desktop, smartphone, or other non-HMD type of client-side can be provide by rotating their video feed in 3D space, e.g., as shown in FIG. 4B with reference to the rotatable floating screen 432. This provides a way to indicate where client-side user of the non-HMD type of client device is “looking”.” (Copley, Paragraph 0069).
Claims 7, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerli and Zimmerman as applied to claims 1, 8, 15 above, and further in view of Hauenstein (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0065027).
Regarding claim 7, Yerli and Zimmerman do not teach adjusting an opacity associated with the second participant to enhance visual integration within the virtual environment.
However, in the similar field, Hauenstein teaches adjusting an opacity associated with the second participant to enhance visual integration within the virtual environment (Paragraphs 0082 providing graphical components to adjust transparency (opacity) od displayed objects, 0400 adjusting transparency of displayed objects including foreground object).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Yerli and Zimmerman to include adjusting an opacity associated with the second participant to enhance visual integration within the virtual environment as taught by Hauenstein to enable “changing the visual impact (e.g., brightness, transparency, saturation, contrast or other visual property) of graphics that are displayed” (Hauenstein, Paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 13, Yerli and Zimmerman do not teach to apply a transparency effect to the exterior background
However, in the similar field, Hauenstein teaches to apply a transparency effect to the exterior background (Paragraphs 0082 providing graphical components to adjust transparency (opacity) od displayed objects, 0400 adjusting transparency of displayed objects including background object).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Yerli and Zimmerman to include to apply a transparency effect to the exterior background as taught by Hauenstein to enable “changing the visual impact (e.g., brightness, transparency, saturation, contrast or other visual property) of graphics that are displayed” (Hauenstein, Paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 17, Yerli and Zimmerman do not teach a transparency control setting is provided to a user for adjusting a transparency with respect to the second participant
However, in the similar field, Hauenstein teaches a transparency control setting is provided to a user for adjusting a transparency with respect to the second participant (Paragraphs 0082 providing graphical components to adjust transparency (opacity) od displayed objects, 0400 adjusting transparency of displayed objects including foreground object).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Yerli and Zimmerman to include a transparency control setting provided to a user for adjusting a transparency with respect to the second participant as taught by Hauenstein to enable “changing the visual impact (e.g., brightness, transparency, saturation, contrast or other visual property) of graphics that are displayed” (Hauenstein, Paragraph 0082).
Conclusion
HEMANT PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/HEMANT S PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694