DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/8/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0345409 (hereinafter Si) in view of US 2025/0142292 (hereinafter Hoang).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 15, Si teaches a method of a first device, comprising: receiving a configuration of a first sidelink resource pool from a network for sidelink data transmission and/or sidelink reference signal ([0280]: details the first terminal may configure the resource set or resource pool for sending the location information request), wherein a first resource of the first SL PRS transmission is associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource ID ([0037][0281]: details SL reference signal includes… PRS; resource location may be determined in a… sidelink reference signal resource identifier); determining a first sidelink reference signal resource Identity (ID) (abstract; [0281]: details SL reference signal is sent… a candidate resource location may be determined in a preconfigured resource set or resource pool according to… a sidelink reference signal resource identifier); determining a second sidelink reference signal resource ID (abstract; [0281]: details SL reference signal is sent… a candidate resource location may be determined in a preconfigured resource set or resource pool according to… a sidelink reference signal resource identifier), wherein a second resource location of the second SL PRS transmission is associated with the second sidelink reference signal resource ID ([0037][0281]: details SL reference signal includes… PRS; resource location may be determined in a… sidelink reference signal resource identifier).
Si does not explicitly teach performing a first sidelink data transmission multiplexed with a first sidelink Positioning reference signal (SL PRS) transmission in a first slot, and wherein the first sidelink reference signal resource ID corresponds to a first number of sidelink symbols, a first comb size, and/or a first comb offset; and performing a second sidelink data transmission multiplexed with a second SL PRS transmission in a second slot which is different, in time domain, from the first slot, wherein the second sidelink reference signal resource ID corresponds to a second number of sidelink symbols, a second comb size, and/or a second comb offset, and wherein the first sidelink data transmission and the second sidelink data transmission are for transmitting a same sidelink data packet.
However, Hoang teaches performing a first sidelink data transmission multiplexed with a first sidelink Positioning reference signal (SL PRS) transmission in a first slot([0141]: details the WTRU may be configured (e.g., preconfigured) with two types of resource pools for SL-PRS transmission, in which the first resource pool may allow multiplexing SL-PRS with another sidelink transmission (e.g., sidelink data)) and wherein the first sidelink reference signal resource ID corresponds to a first number of sidelink symbols, a first comb size, and/or a first comb offset ([0098]: details configuration may include… an SL-PRS resource ID… a number of SL-PRS symbols);; and performing a second sidelink data transmission multiplexed with a second SL PRS transmission in a second slot which is different, in time domain, from the first slot ([0114]: details In another type of SL-PRS multiplexing, SL-PRS may be multiplexed with both sidelink control and sidelink data), wherein the second sidelink reference signal resource ID corresponds to a second number of sidelink symbols, a second comb size, and/or a second comb offset ([0098]: details configuration may include… an SL-PRS resource ID… a number of SL-PRS symbols) and wherein the first sidelink data transmission and the second sidelink data transmission are for transmitting a same sidelink data packet ([0112]: details repetitions/retransmissions; also, no patentable weight because “for transmitting…” is interpreted as “used for transmitting…” which is an intended use of the transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Si to incorporate the teachings of Hoang and include performing a first sidelink data transmission multiplexed with a first sidelink Positioning reference signal (SL PRS) transmission in a first slot, and wherein the first sidelink reference signal resource ID corresponds to a first number of sidelink symbols, a first comb size, and/or a first comb offset; and performing a second sidelink data transmission multiplexed with a second SL PRS transmission in a second slot which is different, in time domain, from the first slot, wherein the second sidelink reference signal resource ID corresponds to a second number of sidelink symbols, a second comb size, and/or a second comb offset, and wherein the first sidelink data transmission and the second sidelink data transmission are for transmitting a same sidelink data packet of Hoang with Si. Doing so would provide a more desirable dynamic approach to SL-PRS transmission, reception and/or measurement reporting (Hoang, at paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 2, Si teaches wherein: the second sidelink reference signal resource ID is allowed to be different from the first sidelink reference signal resource ID, and/or the second sidelink reference signal resource ID is same or different from the first sidelink reference signal resource ID ([0281]: details a sidelink reference signal resource identifier).
Regarding claim 3, Si teaches wherein the determination of the first sidelink reference signal resource ID is separated or independent from the determination of the second sidelink reference signal resource ID (abstract; [0281]: details SL reference signal is sent… a candidate resource location may be determined in a preconfigured resource set or resource pool according to… a sidelink reference signal resource identifier).
Regarding claim 6, Si teaches further comprising: determining a sidelink reference signal resource ID associated with a sidelink reference signal transmission in the first sidelink resource pool in a slot, in response to whether the slot comprises, or not, one or more sidelink feedback symbols, resources, or occasions; determining the first sidelink reference signal resource ID in response to the first slot not comprising one or more sidelink feedback symbols, resources, or occasions in the first sidelink resource pool ([0280]: details the first terminal may configure the resource set or resource pool for sending the location information request); and/or determining the second sidelink reference signal resource ID in response to the second slot comprising one or more sidelink feedback symbols, resources, or occasions in the first sidelink resource pool.
Regarding claim 7, Si teaches wherein the first sidelink data transmission and the second sidelink data transmission are performed in the sidelink resource pool ([0280]: details the first terminal may configure the resource set or resource pool for sending the location information request).
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Si teaches wherein: the first SL PRS transmission and the second SL PRS transmission are associated with a same destination ID, a same source ID, and/or a same cast type, the first SL PRS transmission and the sidelink data packet are associated with the same destination ID, the same source ID, and/or the same cast type ([0281]: details terminal identifier… group ID or intra-group ID), and/or the second SL PRS transmission and the sidelink data packet are associated with the same destination ID, the same source ID, and/or the same cast type.
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Si teaches wherein: the first sidelink reference signal resource ID is different from the second sidelink reference signal resource ID, the first number of sidelink symbols is different from the second number of sidelink symbols, the first comb size is different from the second comb size, or the first comb offset is different from the second comb offset ([0281]: details the sidelink reference signal resource ID are different because they are associated with different resources, transmissions, etc.).
Regarding claim 19, Si teaches wherein: the first sidelink reference signal resource ID is different from the second sidelink reference signal resource ID, the first sidelink reference signal resource ID is mapped to a first number of sidelink symbols, a first comb size, and a first comb offset, the second sidelink reference signal resource ID is mapped to a second number of sidelink symbols, a second comb size, and a second comb offset, and/or a first resource of the first sidelink reference signal transmission is associated with the first sidelink reference signal resource ID ([0281]: details SL reference signal is sent… a candidate resource location may be determined in a preconfigured resource set or resource pool according to… a sidelink reference signal resource identifier), and/or a second resource of the second sidelink reference signal transmission is associated with the second sidelink reference signal resource ID.
Regarding claim 10, 14 and 20, Si teaches wherein: the first sidelink data transmission comprises a first Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) transmission, the second sidelink data transmission comprises a second PSSCH transmission, the sidelink reference signal comprises a sidelink Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) for beam management ([0037]: details the first SL includes… CSI-RS), the sidelink reference signal is utilized for any of positioning, ranging, beam management, high-resolution localization, sensing, or imaging, the first SL PRS transmission comprises a first sidelink CSI-RS transmission for beam management, the first SL PRS transmission is utilized for any of positioning, ranging, beam management, high-resolution localization, sensing, or imaging, the second SL PRS transmission comprises a second sidelink CSI-RS transmission for beam management, and/or the second SL PRS transmission is utilized for any of positioning, ranging, beam management, high-resolution localization, sensing, or imaging.
Regarding claim 12, Si teaches wherein: the first transmission of the first SL PRS and the second transmission of the first SL PRS are associated with a same destination ID, a same source ID, and/or a same cast type, the first SL PRS for transmission and the sidelink data packet are associated with the same destination ID, the same source ID, and/or the same cast type, the first transmission of the first SL PRS and the sidelink data packet are associated with the same destination ID, the same source ID, and/or the same cast type ([0281]: details terminal identifier… group ID or intra-group ID), and/or the second transmission of the first SL PRS and the sidelink data packet are associated with the same destination ID, the same source ID, and/or the same cast type.
Claims 4-5 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si in view of Hoang, and further in view of US 2024/0007987 (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Si does not explicitly teach wherein: the first sidelink data transmission is an initial transmission for transmitting the same sidelink data packet, and the second sidelink data transmission is a retransmission for transmitting the same sidelink data packet.
However, Liu teaches wherein: the first sidelink data transmission is an initial transmission for transmitting the same sidelink data packet (FIG. 4, 410: details transmit first sidelink reference signal; also, no patentable weight because “for transmitting…” is interpreted as “used for transmitting…” which is an intended use of the transmissions), and the second sidelink data transmission is a retransmission for transmitting the same sidelink data packet (FIG. 5, 530: details transmit second sidelink reference signal; also, no patentable weight because “for transmitting…” is interpreted as “used for transmitting…” which is an intended use of the transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Si to incorporate the teachings of Liu and include the first sidelink data transmission is an initial transmission for transmitting the same sidelink data packet, and the second sidelink data transmission is a retransmission for transmitting the same sidelink data packet of Liu with Si. Doing so would improve resource consumption (Liu, at paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Si does not explicitly teach wherein the first sidelink data transmission and the second sidelink data transmission are different retransmissions for transmitting the same sidelink data packet.
However, Liu teaches wherein the first sidelink data transmission and the second sidelink data transmission are different retransmissions for transmitting the same sidelink data packet (FIG. 4, 410; FIG. 5, 530: details transmit first and second sidelink reference signal… retransmitted; also, no patentable weight because “for transmitting…” is interpreted as “used for transmitting…” which is an intended use of the transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Si to incorporate the teachings of Liu and include wherein the first sidelink data transmission and the second sidelink data transmission are different retransmissions for transmitting the same sidelink data packet of Liu with Si. Doing so would improve resource consumption (Liu, at paragraph [0049]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415