DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11, 12-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN220230196).
Regarding claim 1,
Wang teaches a hollow pipe cooling device (see par. 3), comprising: a covering member 1 comprising a top cover 11 and a bottom cover 12, wherein the top cover and the bottom cover are combined together to form an accommodation space 13 therebetween, wherein the top cover comprises at least one top cover opening 111, and the least one top cover opening runs through the top cover in a first direction and is in communication with the accommodation space (see Fig. 5); a spacer member (e.g. the spacer member comprising support columns 121) disposed in the accommodation space, wherein the spacer member has a top surface (not labeled, wherein said spacer member further comprises a bulge, not labeled, see Fig. 5), and the top surface is partially exposed to the at least one top cover opening (see col 6); and at least one hollow pipe 2, wherein each of the at least one hollow pipe 2 comprises a surrounding wall part 212 and a closed end part 23, wherein a first end of the surrounding wall part is connected with the closed end part, a second end of the surrounding wall part is an opened end part 22, a heat dissipation space is defined by the surrounding wall part and the closed end part collaboratively (not labeled, see Fig. 5), and the opened end part is used as an entrance/exit of the heat dissipation space (see Fig. 5), wherein a hollow pipe wick structure 3 is formed on an inner wall of the surrounding wall part, and the opened end part is aligned with the corresponding top cover opening and contacted with the spacer member (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2,
Wang teaches wherein the hollow pipe cooling device further comprises a top wick structure 6, and the top wick structure is disposed on a surface of the top cover facing the accommodation space (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3,
Wang teaches wherein the spacer member is contacted with the top wick structure (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4,
Wang teaches wherein the top wick structure is a grooved structure, a copper powder sintered structure, a woven mesh structure or a composite structure (see par. 49).
Regarding claim 5,
Wang teaches wherein the hollow pipe cooling device further comprises a bottom wick (e.g. the bottom layer of element 6, see Fig. 6) 6 structure disposed on a surface of the bottom cover facing the accommodation space (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6,
Wang teaches wherein the spacer member is contacted with the bottom wick structure (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7,
Wang teaches wherein the bottom wick structure is a grooved structure, a copper powder sintered structure, a woven mesh structure or a composite structure (see par. 49).
Regarding claim 9,
Wang teaches wherein the spacer member is a convex structure, a battlement structure, a sawtooth structure or a columnar structure (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11,
Wang wherein the spacer member comprises a plurality of support structures 121, and the plurality of support structures are in a parallel arrangement, a mesh arrangement or a radial arrangement.
Regarding claims 12-16, 18-20,
The subject matter of claims 12-16, 18-20 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11 and has been addressed in the rejection of claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Chen (CN212253782).
Regarding claim 8,
Wang does not teach wherein the bottom cover comprises a first area, a second area and a third area, wherein the second area is arranged around the first area, the second area and the first area are located at different horizontal planes, the third area is connected with the second area and the first area, and the third area is arranged between the second area and the first area.
Chen, directed to a heat pipe cooling device, teaches wherein a (grooved) bottom cover 4 comprises a first area, a second area and a third area (not labeled, See Fig. 1), wherein the second area is arranged around the first area, the second area and the first area are located at different horizontal planes (see Fig. 1), the third area is connected with the second area and the first area, and the third area is arranged between the second area and the first area (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Wang by Chen with the motivation of, for example, providing a space (e.g. a groove) for a heat exchange fluid (e.g. a liquid heat exchange fluid) to collect.
Regarding claim 17,
The subject matter of claim 17 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claim 8 and has been addressed in the rejection of claim 8.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Regarding claim 10,
Wang does not teach wherein the spacer member is a copper powder sintered structure, a woven mesh structure or a composite structure.
Since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Wang and arrive at the claimed invention in order to provide a known material with advantageous properties such as high thermal conductivity, ductility, and corrosion resistance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tan, Lin, Jia teach hollow pipe cooling structures.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763