DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-8, 11-15, 17-19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 7122845 B2, Herein after “Ref. 845”) in view of Ogura et al. (USP 2017/0168501).
As Per Claim 1, “Ref. 845”, teaches, a tractor zone control system ( Fig.1 ) comprising: a tractor ( via tractor 1, Fig.1) having a propulsion unit ( wheel 5,6) and a steering unit ( 38, Fig.1) ; Page-2, 6th para; Page-3, 4th para); at least one camera (front camera 108, rear camera 109) carried by the tractor; Page -13, 5th para; page-15, 4th para); a processor; ( a terminal electronic control unit 54, Fig.2); and a non-transitory computer-readable medium (via storage 54 Page 4, 5th para, page 5, 3rd para) comprising: defining a plurality of zones proximate the tractor, the plurality of zones including a first zone and a second zone (( via zone J1, J2, Fig.12); instructions to direct the processor to: determine in which of the plurality of zones an obstacle on ground proximate the tractor currently resides based upon signals from the at least one camera; ( Via using obstacle control unit 107, (page 17, 3rd para) detecting obstacle in the ground proximate to tractor in zone J1, J2, J3 , Page 21, 4th para, Fig.12); output first control signals to at least one of the propulsion unit and the steering unit of the tractor in response to a determination that the obstacle currently resides in the first zone; ( via decelerating the vehicle speed when detecting obstacle present in J2 zone) Page 21, 3rd-5th para), Fig.12); and output second control signals to at least one of the propulsion unit and the steering unit of the tractor in response to a determination that the obstacle currently resides in the second zone. (when obstacle being in J3 zone ,stopping the Tractor, when detecting the obstacle being in J3 zone, Page 22, 1st and 2nd para), also see Page 22, 3rd para –Page 23, 1st para, Fig.12).
However “Ref. 845” does not explicitly teach, a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising: stored data defining a plurality of zones proximate the tractor, and a remote operator currently residing zones.
In a related field of Art, Ogura et al. ( Ogura) teaches, method for setting travel path of autonomous travel work vehicle (Tractor 1, Fig.1)) , wherein, a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising: stored data defining a plurality of zones proximate the tractor, ( via tractor being equipped with controller 30 with memory 30a , “The travel path R is stored in a memory 30a of the controller 30. The controller 30 can control the traveling and operation of the autonomous travel work vehicle 1 as well as calculate and store the travel path R all alone”, [0068],also see [0030,][0040],[0043], Figs. 1,2); and a remote operator currently residing zones ( via “the remote controller 112 carried by an operator”,[0052], Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of “Ref. 845” and Ogura before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Ref.845”, and incorporate the teachings of Ogura in order to, the vehicle of Ref.845 detecting the remote operator as an obstacle in first zone and in the second zone and decelerating the vehicle when detecting the remote operator in zone J2 and stopping the vehicle when detecting the remote operator in zone J3. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, upon detection of obstacle (remote operator), decelerating and stopping the vehicle to avoid collision with the operator (i.e., an added safety feature to enhance safety of the vehicle, enhanced vehicle durability).
As per Claim 2, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches,
the system further comprising a light ( a lamp 26, Fig.2) carried by the tractor, wherein the first control signals cause the light to operate in a first mode ( Ref. 845” : via in range J2 , buzzer is intermittently operated, lamp is lit in a predetermined color, Page 21, 4th para) and wherein the second control signals causing light to operate in a second mode. ( Ref. 845: in range J3, buzzer is continuously operated and map is lit in a predetermined color , Page 22, 2nd para).
As per Claim 3, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 2. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the light is at a location selected from a group of locations consisting of: (1) on an exterior of an operator cab roof of the tractor; (2) along an exterior of a front hood of the tractor; and (3) on an external portion of wheel fender of the tractor. ( Figs. 1-2).
As per Claim 4, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 2. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, an auditory output device ( vai notification device ( buzzer )), wherein the first control signals cause the auditory output device to operate in a first mode ( Intermittent mode) ( Ref. 845” : via in range J2 , buzzer is intermittently operated, lamp is lit in a predetermined color, Page 21, 4th para) and wherein the second control signals causing auditory output device to operate in a second mode. ( continuous mode) ( Ref. 845: in range J3, buzzer is continuously operated and map is lit in a predetermined color , Page 22, 2nd para).
As per Claim 5, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, an auditory output device, wherein the first control signals cause the auditory output device to operate in a first mode Intermittent mode) ( Ref. 845” : via in range J2 , buzzer is intermittently operated, lamp is lit in a predetermined color, Page 21, 4th para)and wherein the second control signals causing auditory output device to operate in a second mode. ( continuous mode) ( Ref. 845: in range J3, buzzer is continuously operated and map is lit in a predetermined color , Page 22, 2nd para).
As per Claim 6, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the first zone encompasses and surrounds the tractor and wherein the second zone at least partially encompasses and at least partially surrounds the first zone ( Ref. 845” : Fig.12).
As per Claim 7, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 6. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the first zone is rectangular (J2-Fig.1) and is proportional to a transverse width of the tractor and wherein the second zone (J3) completely encompasses and surrounds the first zone ( Fig.12).
As per Claim 8, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the first zone comprise has a triangular shape that widens in a forward direction from the tractor ( J3 triangular shape , Fig.12) and wherein the second zone has trapezoidal shape ( J2 trapezoid shape) adjacent a front of the first zone and widening in a direction away from the first zone.(Fig.12).
As per Claim 11, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the first zone has a triangular shape that widens in a rearward direction from the tractor and wherein the second zone has trapezoidal shape adjacent a rear of the first zone and widening in a direction away from the first zone. (Ref. 845: Fig.12).
As per Claim 12, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the first zone has a first size when the tractor is in a first operative state and has a second size, different than the first size, when the tractor is in a second different operative state. ( Fig.12).
As per Claim 13, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the system is operable in a follow mode in which the tractor follows movement of the remote operator and is configured to initiate the follow mode in response to: (1) an offboard operator input received by the processor requesting initiation of the follow mode; (2) the remote operator having been locked onto while residing within the first zone; and (3) a determination by the processor that the remote operator is currently in the second zone. ( Ogura : the remote controller 112 carried by an operator”,[0052], Fig.1). also see Ref. 845 : page 22, 5th para – Page 23, 1st para).
As per Claim 14, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 13. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the system is configured to additionally require receipt of an onboard operator follow mode entry request to enter the follow mode. see (Ref. 845 : page 22, 5th para – Page 23, 1st para).
As per Claim 15, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 13. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, a remote input device configured to communicate with the process in a wireless fashion from a location offboard the tractor, wherein the processor is configured to receive the offboard operator input from the remote input device. ( Ogura : [0056]).
As per Claim 17, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 13. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the system is configured to automatically exit the follow mode in response to a determination that the remote operator is currently locked onto and currently resides in the first zone (Ref. 845 : page 22, 5th para – Page 23, 1st para).
As per Claim 18, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 13. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the system is configured to automatically exit the follow mode in response to a determination by the processor that the remote operator is no longer within either the first zone or the second zone. (Ref. 845 : page 22, 5th para – Page 23, 1st para).
As per Claim 19, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 13. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura teaches, wherein the first zone and the second zone are forward the tractor and wherein the plurality of zones further comprises a third zone and a fourth zone rearward the tractor, the first zone and the second zone being separated from the third zone and the fourth zone along sides of the tractor by a fifth zone, wherein the system is further configured to initiate the follow mode in response to: (1) the onboard operator input received by the processor requesting initiation of the follow mode; (2) the offboard operator input received by the processor requesting initiation of the follow mode; (3) the remote operator having been locked onto while residing within the third zone; and (4) a determination by the processor that the remote operator is currently in the fourth zone. (Ref. 845: Fig. 12).
As Per Claim 20, “Ref. 845”, teaches, a vehicle control system ( via Fig.1) comprising: a vehicle ( via tractor 1, Fig.1) having a propulsion unit ( wheel 5,6) and a steering unit ( 38, Fig.1) ; Page-2, 6th para; Page-3, 4th para); at least one sensor carried by the vehicle; ( front camera 108, rear camera 109) carried by the tractor; Page -13, 5th para; page-15, 4th para) a processor; ( a terminal electronic control unit 54, Fig.2) and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising operator position identification instructions (via storage 54 Page 4, 5th para, page 5, 3rd para) to direct the processor to: identify relative positioning of an obstacle on ground proximate the vehicle based upon signals from the at least one sensor; ( Via using obstacle control unit 107, (page 17, 3rd para) detecting obstacle in the ground proximate to tractor in zone J1, J2, J3 , Page 21, 4th para, Fig.12) control the propulsion unit and the steering unit of the vehicle based upon the relative positioning of the obstacle on the ground proximate the vehicle (via decelerating the vehicle speed when detecting obstacle present in J2 zone) Page 21, 3rd-5th para), Fig.12); and control lighting and auditory emissions based on the relative positioning of the obstacle on the ground proximate the vehicle (Ref. 845” : when obstacle being in range J2 , buzzer being intermittently operated, lamp being lit in a predetermined color,( Page 21, 4th para) and when in range J3, buzzer being continuously operated and map being lit in a predetermined color , Page 22, 2nd para) also see ( when obstacle being in J2 zone , decelerating , when detecting the obstacle being in J3 zone, stopping the tractor Page 22, 1st and 2nd para), also see Page 22, 3rd para –Page 23, 1st para, Fig.12).
However “Ref. 845” does not explicitly teach, a remote operator.
In a related field of Art Ogura teaches, a remote operator in the vicinity of a tractor (via “the remote controller 112 carried by an operator”,[0052], Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of “Ref. 845” and Ogura before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Ref.845”, to incorporate the teachings (remote operator carrying a remote controller) of Ogura, in order to, the vehicle of Ref.845 detecting the remote operator as an obstacle in first zone and the second zone and decelerating the vehicle when detecting the remote operator in zone J2 and stopping the vehicle when detecting the remote operator in zone J3. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, upon obstacle (remote operator) detection decelerating and stopping the vehicle to avoid collision with operator (i.e., an added safety feature to enhance safety of the vehicle, enhanced vehicle durability).
5. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 7122845 B2, Herein after “Ref. 845”) in view of Ogura et al. (USP 2017/0168501) in view of Suzuki et al. ( CN-114616835 A).
As per Claim 16, “Ref.845” as modified by Ogura teaches the limitation of Claim 13. However, “Ref. 845” in view of Ogura does not explicitly teach, wherein the offboard operator input comprises a predefined anatomical gesture from the remote operator.
In a related field of art, Suzuki et al. (Suzuki) teaches, vehicle remote control method and vehicle remote control device, wherein, vehicle receiving a gesture for remotely controlling the vehicle , Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of “Ref. 845” and Ogura and Suzuki before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Ref.845”, to incorporate the teachings of Suzuki in order to, receive gesture from a remote operator for remotely controlling the vehicle. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to execute remote vehicle operation by receiving gesture from remote operator (i.e., an added feature of vehicle operation).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C