DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-11 and 20-23, in the reply filed on 2/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-19 are withdrawn.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: there are two instances of “a processor”. It is not clear if the same processor is being referred to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oh (US 2025/0217029 A1).
Instant Claim 1: A display device (“The present embodiment relates to a display device and a method for driving the display device,” (Oh, abstract))
comprising: an electronic panel (“For this, the display device includes a display panel 100 (fig 3),” (Oh, paragraph 62) The display panel 100 of Oh corresponds to the electronic panel of the claim.)
including a touch panel and a display panel, (“Meanwhile, in the present disclosure, first touch sensors may be disposed on the first display area AA1 (fig 3) of the display panel 100. Further, second touch sensors may be disposed on the second display area AA2.” (Oh, paragraph 77) Referring to fig 3 of Oh, the combination of the first display area AA1 and the second display area AA2 corresponds to the touch panel and display panel of the claim.)
the touch panel includes a touch electrode (“The first touch wires TL1 and the second touch wires TL2 (fig 4) may include TX wires Tx through which driving signals for driving the touch sensors are applied and RX wires Rx through which touch sensing signals of the touch sensors are transmitted.” (Oh, paragraph 97) The touch sensors of Oh contain electrodes, corresponding to the touch electrode of the claim.)
and the display panel includes a pixel; (“In the first display area AA1 (fig 3), first data lines DL1 and first gate lines GL1 crossing the first data lines DL1 are disposed, and first pixels 101 are disposed in a matrix form.” (Oh, paragraph 67))
a driver integrated circuit that provides a data voltage to the pixel, (“The first data driving circuit 112 (fig 1) and the first touch driving circuit 132 may be integrated into one drive integrated circuit (IC). … The first data driving circuit 112 may write, on the first pixels 101, the first pixel data corresponding to a first divided image that is displayed on the first display area AA1 among unit frame images.” (Oh, paragraphs 83-84) The drive integrated circuit and first pixel data of Oh correspond to the driver integrated circuit and data voltage of the claim, respectively.)
the driver integrated circuit communicates with a processor through a communication line; (“In other words, the first data driving circuit 112 (fig 1) receives a first pixel data signal corresponding to the first pixel data from the timing controller 150, and converts the first pixel data signal into a first data voltage to apply the converted first data voltage to the first data lines DL1.” (Oh, paragraph 85) The timing controller 150 of Oh corresponds to the processor of the claim.
In addition, the line of Oh connecting the first data driving circuit 112 and the timing controller 150 corresponds to the communication line of the claim.)
a touch driver connected to the touch electrode through a touch line, (“The first touch driving circuit 132 is connected to first touch wires TL1, … The first touch wires TL1 are connected to the first touch sensors disposed in the first touch area TA1 of FIG. 4,” (Oh, paragraph 96) The first touch driving circuit 132 and first touch wires TL1 of Oh correspond to the touch driver and touch line of the claim, respectively.)
the touch driver drives the touch panel; (“The touch sensor driver may include: a first touch driving circuit configured to drive the first touch sensors while the second pixel data is written on the second pixels;” (Oh, paragraph 23))
and a compensation line to which a signal opposite to a signal of the communication line is applied. (“When the touch sensor driver drives the second touch sensors, the second gate driving circuit may be configured not to output the gate signal to the second display area, and the second data driving circuit may be configured to output a first noise compensation voltage having a phase opposite to a phase of the first data voltage to the second data lines,” (Oh, paragraph 20) The second data lines of Oh correspond to the compensation line of the claim.)
Instant Claim 10: The display device of claim 1, wherein the driver integrated circuit applies the signal opposite to the signal of the communication line to the compensation line. (“The first data driving circuit 112 (fig 1) and the first touch driving circuit 132 may be integrated into one drive integrated circuit (IC).” (Oh, paragraph 83)
“In other words, the first data driving circuit 112 (fig 1) receives a first pixel data signal corresponding to the first pixel data from the timing controller 150, and converts the first pixel data signal into a first data voltage to apply the converted first data voltage to the first data lines DL1.” (Oh, paragraph 85))
Instant Claim 20: An electronic device, (“The present embodiment relates to a display device and a method for driving the display device,” (Oh, abstract) The display device of Oh corresponds to the electronic device of the claim.)
comprising: a processor to provide input image data; (“In other words, the first data driving circuit 112 (fig 1) receives a first pixel data signal corresponding to the first pixel data from the timing controller 150, and converts the first pixel data signal into a first data voltage to apply the converted first data voltage to the first data lines DL1.” (Oh, paragraph 85) The timing controller 150 of Oh corresponds to the processor of the claim.)
and a display device to display an image based on the input image data, the display device comprising: an electronic panel including a touch panel and a display panel, the touch panel includes a touch electrode and the display panel includes a pixel; a driver integrated circuit that provides a data voltage to the pixel, the driver integrated circuit communicates with a processor through a communication line; a touch driver connected to the touch electrode through a touch line, the touch driver drives the touch panel; and a compensation line to which a signal opposite to a signal of the communication line is applied. (This portion of claim 20 is substantially identical to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 11, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh.
Instant Claim 2: The display device of claim 1, wherein the compensation line overlaps with at least a portion of the touch line on a plane. (Oh teaches the display device in accordance with claim 1, but does not disclose various lines overlapping each other. However, according to section 2144.04 of the MPEP, under the heading Rearrangement of Parts, in the case of In re Kuhle the courts ruled “the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice”. Similarly in Oh, the particular placement of the various lines is an obvious matter of design choice.)
Instant Claim 3: The display device of claim 1, wherein the communication line overlaps with at least a portion of the touch line on a plane. (Oh teaches the display device in accordance with claim 1, but does not disclose various lines overlapping each other. However, according to section 2144.04 of the MPEP, under the heading Rearrangement of Parts, in the case of In re Kuhle the courts ruled “the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice”. Similarly in Oh, the particular placement of the various lines is an obvious matter of design choice.)
Instant Claim 4: The display device of claim 1, wherein the compensation line is adjacent to at least a portion of the touch line. (Oh teaches the display device in accordance with claim 1, but does not disclose the second data lines DL2 being adjacent to the first touch wires TL1. However, according to section 2144.04 of the MPEP, under the heading Rearrangement of Parts, in the case of In re Kuhle the courts ruled “the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice”. Similarly in Oh, the particular placement of the various lines is an obvious matter of design choice.)
Instant Claim 5: The display device of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the compensation line is disposed on the touch line. (Oh teaches the display device in accordance with claim 1, but does not disclose the second data lines DL2 being disposed on the first touch wires TL1. However, according to section 2144.04 of the MPEP, under the heading Rearrangement of Parts, in the case of In re Kuhle the courts ruled “the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice”. Similarly in Oh, the particular placement of the various lines is an obvious matter of design choice.)
Instant Claim 6: The display device of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the compensation line is disposed between the touch line and the communication line. (Oh teaches the display device in accordance with claim 1, but does not disclose the second data lines DL2 being disposed between the first touch wires TL1 and the line connecting the first data driving circuit 112 and the timing controller 150. However, according to section 2144.04 of the MPEP, under the heading Rearrangement of Parts, in the case of In re Kuhle the courts ruled “the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice”. Similarly in Oh, the particular placement of the various lines is an obvious matter of design choice.)
Instant Claim 7: The display device of claim 1, wherein the touch driver applies the signal opposite to the signal of the communication line to the compensation line. (“When the touch sensor driver drives the second touch sensors, the second gate driving circuit may be configured not to output the gate signal to the second display area, and the second data driving circuit may be configured to output a first noise compensation voltage having a phase opposite to a phase of the first data voltage to the second data lines,” (Oh, paragraph 20) Whether the first data driving circuit or the second data driving circuit of Oh applies the compensation voltage is a matter of design choice.)
Instant Claim 11: The display device of claim 10, wherein the driver integrated circuit is disposed in the electronic panel, (“The first data driving circuit 112 (fig 1) and the first touch driving circuit 132 may be integrated into one drive integrated circuit (IC).” (Oh, paragraph 83) Referring to fig 3 of Oh, the first data driving circuit 112 is at least partially disposed in the display panel 100.)
and wherein the compensation line is adjacent to the touch line in the electronic panel. (This portion of claim 11 is substantially identical to claim 4, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.)
Instant claim 21: (Claim 21 is substantially identical to claim 2, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.)
Instant claim 22: (Claim 22 is substantially identical to claim 3, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.)
Instant claim 23: (Claim 23 is substantially identical to claim 4, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.)
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Kim (US 2015/0185960 A1).
Instant Claim 8: The display device of claim 7, wherein the touch driver is disposed on a flexible printed circuit connected to the electronic panel, (Oh teaches the display device in accordance with claim 7, but does not disclose a flexible printed circuit. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the use of a flexible printed circuit board for an organic light emitting diode display: “The OLED display may further include a display driver formed in the peripheral area and configured to apply driving signals to the pixels and a touch driver formed over the touch flexible printed circuit board” (Lim, paragraph 20))
and wherein the compensation line extends to the electronic panel in the flexible printed circuit. (“When the touch sensor driver drives the second touch sensors, the second gate driving circuit may be configured not to output the gate signal to the second display area, and the second data driving circuit may be configured to output a first noise compensation voltage having a phase opposite to a phase of the first data voltage to the second data lines,” (Oh, paragraph 20) The second data lines DL2 of Oh receive signals from the second data driving circuit, and therefore, if the second data driving circuit were disposed on a printed flexible circuit board of the type of Kim, the second data lines DL2 would extend to the flexible printed circuit board.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the display device as taught by Oh; with the OLED display as taught by Kim, wherein the OLED display includes a printed flexible circuit board. Such a combination involves incorporating a known feature (Kim) into a known device in order to yield the predictable result of a flexible, lightweight, and compact connection component.
Instant Claim 9: The display device of claim 8, wherein the compensation line is adjacent to the touch line in the electronic panel. (Oh teaches the display device in accordance with claim 8, but does not disclose the second data lines DL2 being adjacent to the first touch wires TL1. However, according to section 2144.04 of the MPEP, under the heading Rearrangement of Parts, in the case of In re Kuhle the courts ruled “the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice”. Similarly in Oh, the particular placement of the various lines is an obvious matter of design choice.)
Conclusion
/YARON COHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2626