DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 13 Nov 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first contact" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, “the first contact” will be interpreted as referring to “the first contact surface”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the cam surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the cam " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 16, 18-19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kotragouda Basappa et al (US 20190383409).
Regarding Claim 1, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose a slam-shut mechanism (Figures 4-5) for operatively connecting a slam-shut control element of a fluid regulator with a controller for the slam-shut control element (Figure 2), the slam-shut mechanism comprising:
a latching pin (portion 342 of 302) adapted to be operatively connected to the slam-shut control element (to control element 174 via 240);
a latch (338); and
a lever (314) operably connected to the latch (via 298), the lever adapted to be selectively engaged by the controller (by 250),
wherein responsive to the controller engaging the lever (via 314 and 294), the latch is movable from a first position, in which the latch securely retains the latching pin (Figure 5), such that the slam-shut control element is retained in a fully open position (Figure 4), to a second position (Figure 6), in which the latching pin is released from the latch, thereby allowing the slam-shut control element to move from the fully open position to a closed position (Figure 6),
wherein the latching pin (portion 342 of 302) has a first contact surface (342) and the latch (338) has a second contact surface (Figure 5 on 342) configured to engage the first contact surface when the latch is in the first position (Figure 4), and wherein the first contact surface is inclined relative to the second contact surface (at least at the notch portion of 338 which is inclined almost perpendicular to the first contact surface at 342).
Regarding Claim 2, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose where when the latch (338) is in the first position (Figure 5), the latching pin (portion 342 of 302) extends substantially along a longitudinal slam-shut axis (Figure 5 shows generally up and down along the same longitudinal axis as 240), and wherein the second contact surface (on 342) is oriented at an angle relative to the longitudinal slam-shut axis (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 4, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose a second lever (298) that operatively connects the lever and the latch (Figure 5), wherein the second lever is configured to pivot with the lever (Figure 5 via contact with 294).
Regarding Claim 5, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose a shaft (240) and a cam (the top surface of 302) carried by the shaft (Figures 4-5), the cam having a cam surface adapted to be operatively connected to the slam-shut control element (the top surface is connected to the control element 174 via 240), wherein the cam is reconfigurable relative to the shaft (via the pivot at 334) to adjust an angle between the cam surface and a transverse axis of the shaft (Figure 5 via the pivot point 334).
Regarding Claim 16, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose fluid regulator (paragraph 2). The regulator comprising:
a regulator body (120) having an inlet (128), an outlet (132), and a flow path extending between the inlet and the outlet (136),
the regulator body including a seat surrounding an orifice in the flow path (124);
a slam-shut control element (174) disposed within the regulator body and shiftable along a longitudinal axis between a fully open position in which the slam-shut control element is spaced away from the seat (Figure 2), and a closed position in which the slam-shut control element is seated against the seat (Figure 6);
a controller (250) for moving the slam-shut control element between the fully open position and the closed position, the controller coupled to a first portion of the regulator body (via 254); and
a slam-shut mechanism for operatively connecting the slam-shut control element to the controller (254), the slam-shut mechanism comprising:
a shaft (240) operatively connected to the slam-shut control element (to 174);
a latching pin (portion 342 of 302) carried by the shaft (240);
a latch (338); and
a lever (314) operably connected to the latch (via 298), the lever configured to be selectively engaged by the controller (by 250),
wherein responsive to the controller engaging the lever (via 314 and 294), the latch is movable from a first position, in which the latch securely retains the latching pin such that the slam-shut control element is retained in the fully open position (Figure 4), to a second position, in which the latching pin is released from the latch (Figure 6), wherein movement of the latch from the first position to the second position allows the slam-shut control element to move from the fully open position to the closed position (Figure 6), and
wherein the latching pin (portion 342 of 302) has a first contact surface (342) and the latch (338) has a second contact surface (Figure 5 on 342) configured to engage the first contact surface when the latch is in the first position (Figure 4), and wherein the second contact surface is inclined relative to the longitudinal axis (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 18, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose wherein the second contact surface is inclined relative to the first contact surface (at least at the notch portion of 338 which is inclined almost perpendicular to the first contact surface at 342).
Regarding Claim 19, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose where the latching pin (portion 342 of 302) extends outward from the shaft (from 240 in Figure 5) in the first position (Figure 4), the latching pin (portion 342 of 302) extends substantially along the longitudinal axis (Figure 5 shows generally up and down along the same longitudinal axis as 240).
Regarding Claim 22, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose a cam (the top surface of 302) carried by the shaft (Figures 4-5), the cam having a cam surface adapted to be operatively connected to the slam-shut control element (the top surface is connected to the control element 174 via 240), wherein the cam is reconfigurable relative to the shaft (via the pivot at 334) to adjust an angle between the cam surface and a transverse axis of the shaft (Figure 5 via the pivot point 334).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Kotragouda Basappa et al (US 20190383409).
Regarding Claims 3 and 21, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the second contact surface is inclined relative to the first contact surface at an angle between approximately 1.5 degrees and approximately 2.5 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle to be between approximately 1.5 degrees and approximately 2.5 degrees since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an angle that provides a sufficient latch based on user defined Criteria.
Regarding Claim 17, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose all essential elements including where the controller is removable from the first portion of the regulator body (via the bolts attaching 266 to 282) but is moot to where the controller is coupleable to a second portion of the regulator body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided for where the controller is coupleable to a second portion of the regulator body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Doing so would allow the unit to be positioned within a system with different space requirements or orientations to still allow a user access to both the valve and the controller for inspection and maintenance.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotragouda Basappa et al (US 20190383409) in view of Crutsinger et al (US 20150316166).
Regarding Claim 8, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose a slam-shut mechanism (Figures 4-5) for operatively connecting a slam-shut control element of a fluid regulator with a controller for the slam-shut control element (Figure 2), the slam-shut mechanism comprising:
a housing (254) adapted to be coupled to a regulator body (120) of the fluid regulator (Figure 2);
a shaft (240) extending through an opening formed in the housing (through the bottom in Figure 2), the shaft adapted to be operatively connected to the slam-shut control element (to 174);
a latching pin (portion 342 of 302) carried by the shaft (Figure 5);
a latch (338) pivotably coupled to the housing (via 334); and
a lever (314) pivotably coupled to the housing (306) and operably connected to the latch (via 298), the lever adapted to be selectively engaged by the controller (via 278), wherein responsive to the controller engaging the lever, the latch is movable from a first position (Figure 4), in which the latch securely retains the latching pin such that the slam-shut control element is retained in a fully open position (Figure 4), to a second position (Figure 6), in which the latching pin is released from the latch, thereby allowing the slam-shut control element to move from the fully open position to a closed position (Figure 6), and
wherein the latching pin (portion 342 of 302) has a first contact surface (342) and the latch (338) has a second contact surface (Figure 5 on 342) configured to engage the first contact surface when the latch is in the first position (Figure 4), and wherein the first contact surface is inclined relative to the second contact surface (at least at the notch portion of 338 which is inclined almost perpendicular to the first contact surface at 342),
but fails to expressly disclose where the shaft is rotatable.
Crutsinger et al teach a slam shut mechanism (Figure 3) with a shaft (340), a cam (345) and a control assembly (320) where the shaft rotates from a first position to a second position (Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shaft of Kotragouda Basappa et al to incorporate the shaft of Crutsinger et al to provide for where the shaft movement is a rotation. Doing so would be combining prior art elements according to known methods (the cam arrangement of Crutsinger et al with the system of Kotragouda Basappa et al) to yield predictable results (to allow for use of less space since space within the housing will not be needed for axial movement).
Regarding Claim 9, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose where when the latch (338) is in the first position (Figure 5), the latching pin (portion 342 of 302) extends substantially along a longitudinal slam-shut axis (Figure 5 shows generally up and down along the same longitudinal axis as 240), and wherein the second contact surface (on 342) is oriented at an angle relative to the longitudinal slam-shut axis (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 11, Kotragouda Basappa et al as modified by Crutsinger et al teach where the latching pin (portion 342 of 302 of Kotragouda Basappa et al) extends outward from the rotatable shaft (from 240 in Figure 5 of Kotragouda Basappa et al with Crutsinger et al teaching the shaft being rotatable as taught above).
Regarding Claim 12, Kotragouda Basappa et al as modified by Crutsinger et al teach where movement of the latch (338) from the first position (Figure 4) to the second position (Figure 6) permits the rotatable shaft (240; with Crutsinger et al teaching the shaft being rotatable as taught above) to rotate in a first direction to a closed position (Crutsinger et al teaching the shaft being rotatable as taught above), and wherein when the rotatable shaft is in the closed position, rotation of the rotatable shaft in a second direction opposite the first direction (Crutsinger et al teaching the shaft being rotatable as taught above) causes the latch to move from the second position (Figure 6) to the first position (Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Kotragouda Basappa et al disclose a cam (the top surface of 302) carried by the shaft (Figures 4-5), the cam having a cam surface adapted to be operatively connected to the slam-shut control element (the top surface is connected to the control element 174 via 240), wherein the cam is reconfigurable relative to the shaft (via the pivot at 334) to adjust an angle between the cam surface and a transverse axis of the shaft (Figure 5 via the pivot point 334).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Kotragouda Basappa et al (US 20190383409) in view of Crutsinger et al (US 20150316166).
Regarding Claim 10, Kotragouda Basappa et al as modified by Crutsinger et al teach all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the second contact surface is inclined relative to the first contact surface at an angle between approximately 1.5 degrees and approximately 2.5 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle to be between approximately 1.5 degrees and approximately 2.5 degrees since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an angle that provides a sufficient latch based on user defined Criteria.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 20 and 23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753