DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 5, 7-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,155,703. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to conferencing applications utilizing client applications.
Application 18/946,531
US Patent 12,155,703
Claims 1, 8, and 15:
A method comprising: receiving, by a client application, a selection of application content associated with a conference application, the conference application installed through the client application; generating an invitation to a network conference; attaching the application content to the invitation; and transmitting the invitation
Claim 1:
A method for… receiving a selection of a conference application from a plurality of conference applications installed through the client application including the installed at least one conference application… to generate a conference invitation configured to invite conference attendees to the network conference before the start of the network conference; and transmitting the conference invitation to a network server
Claims 2, 9, 16:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the client application, a selection of the conference application; and executing, from the client application, the conference application to generate the application content
Claim 1:
A method …receiving a selection of a conference application from a plurality of conference applications installed through the client application including the installed at least one conference application; executing the conference application from the client application to generate content…
Claims 3, 10, and 17:
The method of claim 1, wherein the conference application is configured as a web application that can be executed by a web browser
Claim 5:
The method of claim 1, wherein the conference application is configured as a web application that can be executed by a web browser
Claims 4, 11, 18:
The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the invitation is to a remote server
Claim 1:
….attaching the content generated by the conference application to an instance of a network conference to generate a conference invitation configured to invite conference attendees to the network conference before the start of the network conference; and transmitting the conference invitation to a network server.
Claims 5, 12, 19:
The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the invitation is to one or more conference attendees
Claim 8:
The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the conference invitation to a network server causes the conference invitation to be transmitted to one or more conference attendees
Claims 6, 13, 20:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: joining the network conference; and executing, during the network conference, the conference application from the client application to access the application content
Claim 2:
The method of claim 1, further comprising joining the network conference to communicate with one or more attendees over at least one of a wired and wireless network
Claim 1:
…. the client application configured to install and execute conference applications that provide additional functionalities other than the conferencing features of the client application…executing the conference application from the client application to generate content before a start of the network conference
Claims 7, 14:
The method of claim 1, wherein attaching the application content from the conference application to an instance of a network conference to generate the invitation is performed within the client application
Claim 7:
The method of claim 1, wherein attaching the content from the conference application to an instance of a network conference to generate the conference invitation is performed within the client application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Panattu (US 2007/0276947 A1)
With regards to Claim 1, Panattu teaches method comprising: receiving, by a client application, a selection of application content associated with a conference application, the conference application installed through the client application (i.e., an illustrative dataflow diagram 300 illustrating how a new application is integrated with a UE utilizing an S-URI in accordance with embodiments of the present invention. The dataflow begins when user-A 302 selects application 320 corresponding with a new application server and then depresses a PTT button on the UE to send, Paragraph 34; Paragraph 14; Figure 3); generating an invitation to a network conference; attaching the application content to the invitation; and transmitting the invitation (i.e., sending an INVITE message containing the S-URI to the primary application server by the UE, the S-URI configured to provide access information corresponding with the secondary application server…, Paragraph 12).
With regards to Claim 2, Panattu teaches receiving, by the client application, a selection of the conference application (i.e., an illustrative dataflow diagram 300 illustrating how a new application is integrated with a UE utilizing an S-URI in accordance with embodiments of the present invention. The dataflow begins when user-A 302 selects application 320 corresponding with a new application server and then depresses a PTT button on the UE to send, Paragraph 34; Paragraph 14; Figure 3); and executing, from the client application, the conference application to generate the application content (i.e., … wherein the secondary application server is configured to provide the application…, Paragraph 12)
With regards to Claim 4, Panattu teaches wherein transmitting the invitation is to a remote server (i.e., locating the secondary application server by the communications network; establishing a session between the secondary application server and the UE, wherein the application is provided to the UE by the secondary application server. In some embodiments, the locating the secondary application server includes: determining, by the primary application server, whether the S-URI in the INVITE message matches a stored entry in a local configuration table on the primary application server wherein the stored entry includes a number of fields corresponding with the secondary application server…, Paragraph 12)
With regards to Claim 5, Panattu teaches wherein transmitting the invitation is to one or more conference attendees (i.e., Upon receiving HTTP request message 726, BCA server 710 (acting as the secondary application server) will subsequently send a multimedia message service (MMS) message 730 to PoC client-B 712 and to any other recipients with the business card of the originator (i.e. PoC client-A 704) attached. Once the secondary application has completed sending the business card to all intended recipients, PoC server 707 may send INVITE message 734 to SIP/IP core 708 to continue setting up a PoC session between PoC client-A 704 and PoC client-B 712 where SIP/IP core 708 sends invite message 738 to PoC client-B 712…, Paragraph 45)
With regards to Claim 6, Panattu teaches further comprising: joining the network conference (i.e., Once all acknowledgments are delivered, the DVM application then begins to provide the new application experience to an initiating user by, for example, playing out all new voice messages to PoC client-A 504. As may be appreciated, corresponding graphical representation 550 mirrors dataflow 500 and is provided solely for better clarifying embodiments of the present invention, Paragraph 42); and executing, during the network conference, the conference application from the client application to access the application content (i.e. establishing a session between the secondary application server and the UE, wherein the application is provided to the UE by the secondary application server…, Paragraph 12; Paragraph 69).
With regards to Claim 7, Panattu teaches wherein attaching the application content from the conference application to an instance of a network conference to generate the invitation is performed within the client application (i.e., sending an INVITE message containing the S-URI to the primary application server by the UE, the S-URI configured to provide access information corresponding with the secondary application server…, Paragraph 12)
The limitations of Claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 2 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 11 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 4 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 12 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 5 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 13 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 6 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 7 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 15 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 16 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 2 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 18 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 4 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 19 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 5 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 20 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 6 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panattu (US 2007/0276947 A1) in view of Chhabra (US 2020/0112450 A1).
With regards to Claim 3, Panattu teaches the above disclosed subject matter. However, Panattu does not explicitly disclose wherein the conference application is configured as a web application that can be executed by a web browser. Chhabra does teach wherein the conference application is configured as a web application that can be executed by a web browser (i.e., For example, a remote system can be configured to deliver to a web browser application executing on the user's device as identified in the conference organization request a meeting invite…, Paragraph 39) in order to provide a number of conference tools presently available for enabling people to conduct live meetings (Paragraph 1). Therefore, based on Panattu in view of Chhabra, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings of Chhabra with the system of Panattu in order to provide a number of conference tools presently available for enabling people to conduct live meetings.
The limitations of Claim 10 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 3 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 17 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 3 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 February 20, 2026