DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2024 and 07/09/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. (US. Pub. No. 2024/0219799, hereinafter “Xia”).
As to claim 1, Xia discloses a light control panel [figure 2A, a variable light transmission device], comprising:
a first electrode [figure 2A, electrode 207];
a second electrode [figure 2A, electrode 202 on 207] on the first electrode;
a dielectric layer [figure 2A, dielectric layer 217 between 207 and 202] between the first electrode and the second electrode, the dielectric layer including:
a plurality of dielectric patterns disposed between a plurality of grooves [figures 2A-D, a plurality of dielectric patterns 217 are disposed between a plurality of grooves], and
a plurality of spacers [figures 2A-D, a plurality of spacers 212 spaced apart from the plurality of dielectric patterns 217] spaced apart from the plurality of dielectric patterns, the plurality of spacers further protruding toward the second electrode than the plurality of dielectric patterns [figures 2A-D, the plurality of spacers 212 protruding toward the second electrode 202 than 217];
an ink layer [figure 2D, ink layer 222 disposed in a space between 217 and 202, 222 is charged pigment particles, paragraph 85, Each microcell of the plurality of microcells comprises an electrophoretic medium including electrically charged pigment particles 222] disposed in a space between the dielectric layer and the second electrode, the ink layer including charged particles;
a light-blocking pattern [figure 13, a light-blocking pattern 1311 disposed on the plurality of spacers 1312] disposed on the plurality of spacers; and
a bonding layer [figure 2D, a bonding layer 206 disposed between 222 and 202, figure 13, a bonding layer 1312 disposed between 222 and 202] disposed between the ink layer and the second electrode,
wherein the light-blocking pattern is in contact with the bonding layer [figure 13, the light-blocking pattern 1311 is in contact with the bonding layer 1312].
Xia discloses multiple embodiments, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the embodiment of light control panel in figures 2A-D with the light blocking feature in figure 13, in order to modulate the amount of light passing through the device (paragraph 23).
As to claim 3, Xia discloses the light control panel of claim 1, wherein the plurality of spacers extends in a first direction, and the plurality of grooves extends in the same direction as the plurality of spacers [figure 2D, the plurality of spacers 212 extends in a first direction and the plurality of grooves extends in the same direction as the plurality of spacers 212].
As to claim 4, Xia discloses the light control panel of claim 1, wherein the plurality of dielectric patterns and the plurality of spacers are integrally disposed [figure 2D, the plurality of dielectric patterns 217 and spacers 212 are integrally disposed].
As to claim 5, Xia discloses the light control panel of claim 1, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are made of a transparent conductive material [paragraph 122, A device was prepared by laminating together a sheet of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) coated with an Indium Tin Oxide (ITO) transparent conductor to an embossed microcell array on a second sheet of PET/ITO containing and electrophoretic medium].
As to claim 6, Xia discloses the light control panel of claim 1, wherein a width of the light-blocking pattern is equal to or larger than a width of a top surface of each of the plurality of spacers and smaller than a width between the plurality of dielectric patterns [figure 13, width of 1311 is equal to width of a top surface of spacer and smaller than width between the plurality of dielectric patterns].
As to claim 7, Xia discloses the light control panel of claim 1, wherein the light-blocking pattern is made of a black-based material [figure 13, the light-blocking pattern 1311 is made of a black-based material].
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Hsu et al. (US. Pub. No. 2003/0081319, hereinafter “Hsu”).
As to claim 2, Xia discloses the light control panel of claim 1, wherein the plurality of dielectric patterns and the plurality of spacers have a rectangular shape [figure 2A, spacer 212 have a rectangular shape], a square shape, or a trapezoidal shape in which a bottom surface has a larger width than a top surface.
Xia doesn’t disclose wherein the plurality of dielectric patterns and the plurality of spacers each include a transparent material.
Hsu teaches wherein dielectric patterns an spacers each include a transparent material [paragraph 23, The central spacer 26 comprises a transparent dielectric film 261].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the light control panel of Xia to have dielectric patterns and spacers each include a transparent material, as taught by Hsu, in order to provide a tunable filter which precisely transmits a light signal having a desired wavelength in an accurately controllable manner (Hsu, paragraph 11).
Claim(s) 8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0202683, hereinafter “Lee”) in view of Xia.
As to claim 8, Lee discloses a display device [figure 2, display device, abstract, transparent display], comprising:
a transparent display panel [figure 3, transparent display panel having a transmissive area TA to transmit external light] having a transmissive area configured to transmit external light, and a non-transmissive area [figure 3, non-transmissive area NTA] in which a plurality of pixels is disposed; and
a light control panel [figure 3, light control panel EA adjacent to TA] adjacent to the transparent display panel.
Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the light control panel includes:
a first electrode;
a second electrode on the first electrode and facing the first electrode;
a dielectric layer provided between the first electrode and the second electrode, the dielectric layer including:
a plurality of dielectric patterns disposed between a plurality of grooves, and
a plurality of spacers spaced apart from the plurality of dielectric patterns and further protruding toward the second electrode than the plurality of dielectric patterns;
an ink layer disposed in a space between the dielectric layer and the second electrode, the ink layer including charged particles;
a light-blocking pattern on the plurality of spacers; and
a bonding layer between the ink layer and the second electrode, and
wherein the light-blocking pattern is in contact with the bonding layer.
Xia teaches a first electrode [figure 2A, electrode 207];
a second electrode [figure 2A, electrode 202 on 207] on the first electrode and facing the first electrode;
a dielectric layer [figure 2A, dielectric layer 217 between 207 and 202] provided between the first electrode and the second electrode, the dielectric layer including:
a plurality of dielectric patterns disposed between a plurality of grooves [figures 2A-D, a plurality of dielectric patterns 217 are disposed between a plurality of grooves], and
a plurality of spacers [figures 2A-D, a plurality of spacers 212 spaced apart from the plurality of dielectric patterns 217] spaced apart from the plurality of dielectric patterns and further protruding toward the second electrode than the plurality of dielectric patterns [figures 2A-D, the plurality of spacers 212 protruding toward the second electrode 202 than 217];
an ink layer [figure 2D, ink layer 222 disposed in a space between 217 and 202, 222 is charged pigment particles, paragraph 85, Each microcell of the plurality of microcells comprises an electrophoretic medium including electrically charged pigment particles 222] disposed in a space between the dielectric layer and the second electrode, the ink layer including charged particles;
a light-blocking pattern [figure 13, a light-blocking pattern 1311 disposed on the plurality of spacers 1312] on the plurality of spacers; and
a bonding layer [figure 2D, a bonding layer 206 disposed between 222 and 202, figure 13, a bonding layer 1312 disposed between 222 and 202] between the ink layer and the second electrode,
wherein the light-blocking pattern is in contact with the bonding layer [figure 13, the light-blocking pattern 1311 is in contact with the bonding layer 1312].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the display device of Lee to wherein the light control panel includes: a first electrode; a second electrode on the first electrode and facing the first electrode; a dielectric layer provided between the first electrode and the second electrode, the dielectric layer including: a plurality of dielectric patterns disposed between a plurality of grooves, and a plurality of spacers spaced apart from the plurality of dielectric patterns and further protruding toward the second electrode than the plurality of dielectric patterns; an ink layer disposed in a space between the dielectric layer and the second electrode, the ink layer including charged particles; a light-blocking pattern on the plurality of spacers; and a bonding layer between the ink layer and the second electrode, and wherein the light-blocking pattern is in contact with the bonding layer, as taught by Xia, in order to modulate the amount of light passing through the device (Xia, abstract).
As to claim 10, see the above discussion of claim 3.
As to claim 11, see the above discussion of claim 4.
As to claim 12, see the above discussion of claim 5.
As to claim 13, see the above discussion of claim 6.
As to claim 14, see the above discussion of claim 7.
As to claim 15, Lee in view of Xia discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein the charged particles are positioned between the plurality of grooves when a voltage is applied between the first electrode and the second electrode [Xia, figure 13, the charged particles 222 are positioned between the plurality of grooves, paragraph 86, movement of the electrically charged pigment particles 222 towards the channel is caused when the polarity of the electrically charged pigment particles 222 and the voltage polarity of the second light transmissive electrode layer are opposite to each other]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 8.
As to claim 16, Lee discloses a transparent display device [figure 2, display device, abstract, transparent display], comprising:
a transparent display panel [figure 3, transparent display panel having a transmissive area TA to transmit external light] including a transmissive area configured to transmit external light and a non-transmissive area [figure 3, non-transmissive area NTA] in which a plurality of pixels is disposed; and
a light control panel [figure 3, light control panel EA adjacent to TA] coupled to the transparent display panel.
Lee doesn’t expressly disclose the light control panel including:
a first electrode facing and spaced apart from a second electrode;
a plurality of spacers between the first electrode and the second electrode, the plurality of spacers being spaced apart from each other, each spacer of the plurality of spacers having a top surface; and
a light-blocking pattern on the top surface of the plurality of spacers, the light-blocking pattern being spaced apart from the second electrode.
Xia teaches a light control panel including:
a first electrode [figure 2A, electrode 207 facing and spaced apart from second electrode 202] facing and spaced apart from a second electrode;
a plurality of spacers [figures 2A-D, a plurality of spacers 212 between 202 and 207 spaced apart from each other, each spacer having a top surface] between the first electrode and the second electrode, the plurality of spacers being spaced apart from each other, each spacer of the plurality of spacers having a top surface; and
a light-blocking pattern [figure 13, a light-blocking pattern 1311 disposed on the plurality of spacers 1312, 1311 being spaced apart from 202] on the top surface of the plurality of spacers, the light-blocking pattern being spaced apart from the second electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the display device of Lee to wherein the light control panel includes: a first electrode; a second electrode on the first electrode and facing the first electrode; a dielectric layer provided between the first electrode and the second electrode, the dielectric layer including: a plurality of dielectric patterns disposed between a plurality of grooves, and a plurality of spacers spaced apart from the plurality of dielectric patterns and further protruding toward the second electrode than the plurality of dielectric patterns; an ink layer disposed in a space between the dielectric layer and the second electrode, the ink layer including charged particles; a light-blocking pattern on the plurality of spacers; and a bonding layer between the ink layer and the second electrode, and wherein the light-blocking pattern is in contact with the bonding layer, as taught by Xia, in order to modulate the amount of light passing through the device (Xia, abstract).
As to claim 17, Lee, as modified by Xia, discloses the transparent display device of claim 16, further comprising:
a plurality of dielectric patterns [Xia, figure 2D, a plurality of dielectric patterns 217 between adjacent spacers 212] between adjacent spacers of the plurality of spacers, the plurality of dielectric patterns being spaced apart from each other,
each dielectric pattern of the plurality of dielectric patterns having a top surface [Xia, figure 2D, each of dielectric pattern 217 having a top surface],
wherein the first electrode has a top surface [Xia, figure 2D, 207 has a top surface].
Lee, as modified by Xia, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a first distance between the top surface of the first electrode and the top surface of a dielectric pattern of the plurality of dielectric patterns is smaller than a second distance between the top surface of the first electrode and the top surface of a spacer of the plurality of spacers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the transparent display device to have a first distance between the top surface of the first electrode and the top surface of a dielectric pattern of the plurality of dielectric patterns is smaller than a second distance between the top surface of the first electrode and the top surface of a spacer of the plurality of spacers, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an- invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to claim 18, Lee, as modified by Xia, discloses the transparent display device of claim 17, further comprising:
a first groove between the spacer and the dielectric pattern [Xia, figure 2D, a first groove between the spacer 212 and the dielectric pattern 217]; and
a second groove between adjacent dielectric patterns of the plurality of dielectric patterns [Xia, figure 2D, a second groove between adjacent dielectric patterns 217]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 16.
As to claim 19, Lee, as modified by Xia, discloses the transparent display device of claim 17, further comprising:
a plurality of charged particles [Xia, figure 2D, a plurality of charged particles 222 between 202 and 207] between the first electrode and the second electrode,
wherein some portions of the plurality of charged particles are present in the first groove and the second groove [Xia, figure 2D, some portions of 222 are present in the first groove and the second groove]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 16.
As to claim 20, Lee, as modified by Xia, discloses the transparent display device of claim 17, further comprising:
a plurality of charged particles [Xia, figure 2D, a plurality of charged particles 222 between 202 and 207] between the first electrode and the second electrode,
wherein, in operation, when a voltage is applied between the first electrode and the second electrode, the plurality of charged particles are disposed within the first groove and the second groove [Xia, figure 13, the charged particles 222 are positioned between the plurality of grooves, paragraph 86, movement of the electrically charged pigment particles 222 towards the channel is caused when the polarity of the electrically charged pigment particles 222 and the voltage polarity of the second light transmissive electrode layer are opposite to each other]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 16.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Xia, further in view of Hsu.
As to claim 9, see the above discussion of claim 2.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Xia, further in view of Kasano et al. (US. Pub. No. 2008/0251873, hereinafter “Kasano”).
As to claim 21, Lee, as modified by Xia, discloses the transparent display device of claim 17, wherein the plurality of spacers and the plurality of dielectric patterns are integrally formed [Xia, figure 2D, the plurality of dielectric patterns 217 and spacers 212 are integrally disposed].
Lee, as modified by Xia, does not disclose spacers and dielectric patterns are made of a same material.
Kasano teaches spacers and dielectric patterns are made of a same material [paragraph 106, spacer layer material may utilize the same material as one of the high refractive index layer and the low refractive index layer which make up the dielectric layer].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the transparent display device of Lee to have spacers and dielectric patterns made of a same material, as taught by Kasano, in order to provide a solid-state imaging device with excellent color reproducibility (Kasano, paragraph 16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0250450, hereinafter “Li”) is considered as pertinent art to claims 8 and 16 regarding the transmitting area and non-transmitting area as seen in figure 2.
/NAN-YING YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629