DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 1/27/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the applicability of the previous rejection(s) to the instantly amended claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jones et al. (US 2020/0284140) below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are objected to because in each claim, the phrase “the one or more probes are an opposite side of the two stabilizers” is grammatically awkward and should apparently read – the one or more probes are on an opposite side of the two stabilizers –.
Claim 1 is also objected to because in line 9, “though” should apparently be – through --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 8 and 15 each recite “a low volume pump” and “a high-volume bidirectional pump”, and are indefinite as it is not clear what “volumes” would be considered low or high as claimed. The remaining claims are indefinite as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US 2020/0284140) in view of Ross et al. (US 2011/0114310).
In regard to claim 1, Jones et al. disclose a method comprising: disposing a tool into a borehole, the tool disposed on a drill string or conveyance, wherein the tool comprises: a probe section (as in fig 3) comprising: at least two stabilizers (328, 330) to hold the tool in place in a formation; one or more probes (318, 320) that extend into the formation, wherein the one or more probes are an opposite side of the two stabilizers (as in fig 3); one or more probes channels (322, 324 as in fig 3) that connect the one or more probes to a prove fluid passageway (336) though one or more probe valves (332 as in fig 3); a low volume pump (326) connected to the probe fluid passageway; a probe pressure sensor (338) disposed on the probe fluid passageway; a bubble point valve (334) that connects the probe fluid passageway to a tool fluid passageway; and a tool pressure sensor (308, as in paragraph 25) disposed on the tool fluid passageway; and a flow-control pump-out section comprising a high-volume bidirectional pump (312) connected to the tool fluid passageway; taking a pressure measurement at the probe pressure sensor (inherent to providing sensor as above); and taking a pressure measurement at the tool pressure sensor (inherent to providing sensor as above). Jones et al. do not disclose calculating a noise, wherein the noise comprises a difference between the pressure measurement at the probe pressure sensor and the pressure measurement at the tool pressure sensor.
Ross et al. disclose a method comprising disposing a tool into a borehole (as in fig 1 or 2) and calculating a noise, wherein the noise comprises a difference between a pressure measurement at a probe pressure sensor (54) and a pressure measurement at a tool pressure sensor (56; paragraph 48 as using flowline pressure to identify pressure loses; also paragraph 52-54 as determining pressure disturbance as correlating between measurements involves determining a difference). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to provide the method of Jones et al. with the noise calculating steps of Ross et al. in order to determine the noise in the measurements of Jones et al. and provide more accurate data.
In regard to claim 2, Ross et al. disclose wherein the noise comprises a common system noise (paragraph 54 at least).
In regard to claim 3, Ross et al. disclose wherein the common system noise is from a tool vibration, a gauge-related noise or another tool (paragraph 54 at least)
In regard to claim 4, Ross et al. disclose wherein the noise is from a mud pump rate, a pulser, and a bit position (inherent as noise would include all noise within system).
In regard to claim 5, Ross et al. disclose wherein the noise is from a mud thickness and mobility of the formation (inherent as noise would include all noise within system).
In regard to claim 6, Ross et al. disclose indicating the one or more probes are not in fluid communication with the formation when the difference is null (inherent to correlating measurements such that noise is “null” would include not being in fluid communication with formation as not being in use).
In regard to claim 7, Ross et al. disclose identifying a type of fluid within the tool fluid passageway based on pressure drop during a pressure drawdown (paragraph 41 at least where compressible fluid can be identified).
In regard to claim 8, Jones et al. disclose a method comprising: disposing a tool into a borehole, the tool disposed on a drill string or conveyance, wherein the tool comprises: a probe section (as in fig 3) comprising: at least two stabilizers (328, 330) to hold the tool in place in a formation; one or more probes (318, 320) that extend into the formation, wherein the one or more probes are an opposite side of the two stabilizers (as in fig 3); one or more probes channels (322, 324 as in fig 3) that connect the one or more probes to a prove fluid passageway (336) though one or more probe valves (332 as in fig 3); a low volume pump (326) connected to the probe fluid passageway; a probe pressure sensor (338) disposed on the probe fluid passageway; a bubble point valve (334) that connects the probe fluid passageway to a tool fluid passageway; and a tool pressure sensor (308, as in paragraph 25) disposed on the tool fluid passageway; and a flow-control pump-out section comprising a high-volume bidirectional pump (312) connected to the tool fluid passageway; extending the one or more probes into an inner surface of the borehole (paragraph 24); closing the bubble point valve (paragraph 26); taking a pressure measurement at the probe pressure sensor (inherent to providing sensor as above); and taking a pressure measurement at the tool pressure sensor (inherent to providing sensor as above). Jones et al. do not disclose calculating a noise, wherein the noise comprises a difference between the pressure measurement at the probe pressure sensor and the pressure measurement at the tool pressure sensor.
Ross et al. disclose a method comprising disposing a tool into a borehole (as in fig 1 or 2) and calculating a noise, wherein the noise comprises a difference between a pressure measurement at a probe pressure sensor (54) and a pressure measurement at a tool pressure sensor (56; paragraph 48 as using flowline pressure to identify pressure loses; also paragraph 52-54 as determining pressure disturbance as correlating between measurements involves determining a difference). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to provide the method of Jones et al. with the noise calculating steps of Ross et al. in order to determine the noise in the measurements of Jones et al. and provide more accurate data.
In regard to claim 9, Ross et al. disclose wherein the noise comprises a common system noise and formation-related noise (paragraph 54 at least, also inherent that noise would include all sources within the system).
In regard to claim 10, Ross et al. disclose wherein the common system noise is from a tool vibration, a gauge-related noise or another tool (paragraph 54 at least)
In regard to claim 11, Ross et al. disclose wherein the noise comprises a common system noise (paragraph 54 at least, also inherent that noise would include all sources within system).
In regard to claim 12, Ross et al. disclose wherein the common system noise is from a tool vibration, a gauge-related noise or another tool (paragraph 54 at least)
In regard to claim 13, Ross et al. disclose indicating the one or more probes are not in fluid communication with the formation when the difference is null (inherent to correlating measurements such that noise is “null” would include not being in fluid communication with formation as not being in use).
In regard to claim 14, Ross et al. disclose identifying a type of fluid within the tool fluid passageway based on pressure drop during a pressure drawdown (paragraph 41 at least where compressible fluid can be identified).
In regard to claim 15, Jones et al. disclose a method comprising: disposing a tool into a borehole, the tool disposed on a drill string or conveyance, wherein the tool comprises: a probe section (as in fig 3) comprising: at least two stabilizers (328, 330) to hold the tool in place in a formation; one or more probes (318, 320) that extend into the formation, wherein the one or more probes are an opposite side of the two stabilizers (as in fig 3); one or more probes channels (322, 324 as in fig 3) that connect the one or more probes to a prove fluid passageway (336) though one or more probe valves (332 as in fig 3); a low volume pump (326) connected to the probe fluid passageway; a probe pressure sensor (338) disposed on the probe fluid passageway; a bubble point valve (334) that connects the probe fluid passageway to a tool fluid passageway; and a tool pressure sensor (308, as in paragraph 25) disposed on the tool fluid passageway; and a flow-control pump-out section comprising a high-volume bidirectional pump (312) connected to the tool fluid passageway; taking a pressure measurement at the tool pressure sensor (inherent to providing sensor as above); closing the bubble point valve (paragraph 26); and taking a pressure measurement at the tool pressure sensor (inherent to providing sensor as above). Jones et al. do not disclose calculating a noise, wherein the noise comprises a difference between the pressure measurement at the probe pressure sensor and the pressure measurement at the tool pressure sensor.
Ross et al. disclose a method comprising disposing a tool into a borehole (as in fig 1 or 2) and calculating a noise, wherein the noise comprises a difference between a pressure measurement at a probe pressure sensor (54) and a pressure measurement at a tool pressure sensor (56; paragraph 48 as using flowline pressure to identify pressure loses; also paragraph 52-54 as determining pressure disturbance as correlating between measurements involves determining a difference). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to provide the method of Jones et al. with the noise calculating steps of Ross et al. in order to determine the noise in the measurements of Jones et al. and provide more accurate data.
In regard to claim 18, Ross et al. disclose wherein the noise comprises a common system noise and formation-related noise (paragraph 54 at least, also inherent that noise would include all sources within the system).
In regard to claim 19, Ross et al. disclose wherein the common system noise is from a tool vibration, a gauge-related noise or another tool (paragraph 54 at least)
In regard to claim 20, Ross et al. disclose identifying a type of fluid within the tool fluid passageway based on pressure drop during a pressure drawdown (paragraph 41 at least where compressible fluid can be identified).
In regard to claim 21, Ross et al. disclose wherein the operational noise is from a mud pump rate, a pulser, and a bit position (inherent as noise would include all noise within system).
In regard to claim 22, Ross et al. disclose wherein the operational noise is from a mud thickness and mobility of the formation (inherent as noise would include all noise within system).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 18-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,173,601 in view of Jones et al. (US 2020/0284140). For example, claim 1 of ‘601 discloses a method including disposing a tool into a borehole; wherein the tool comprises one or more probes that extend into a formation; one or more prob channels with one or more probe valves; a probe pressure sensor and a tool pressure sensor and calculating a noise based on a difference of measurements at the probe pressure sensor and tool pressure sensor. ‘601 does not claim that the tool includes a low volume pump and a high volume pump or that the probes are on an opposite side of two stabilizers. Jones et al. disclose a method including providing a tool including at least two stabilizers with one or more probes on an opposite side of the two stabilizers (as in fig 3, and as above); a low volume pump (326) and a high volume pump (312). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have the method as claimed in ‘601 to include the components as disclosed by Jones et al. in order provide the probe closer to the formation for measurements (with the stabilizers) and provide motive force for the fluids to be drawn into the tool (with the pumps). Claims 2-15 and 18-22 are similarly encompassed by claims 2-18 of ‘601 with similar modification with Jones et al. as above.
Conclusion
/D. ANDREWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
3/11/2026