DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is unclear what the phrase “in response to execution by the controller, cause the controller to perform operations", recites in in lines 8-9 means, for instance what structure or means is responding to the execution by the controller, and furthermore how can the stored instruction cause a controller to perform the operations listed in the claim. Especially when the controller would rather be expected to send instruction(s) or operational signal(s) to the claimed system devices or units to cause each to perform a predetermined operation(s). The claim is therefore rendered indefinite since the metes and bound are unascertainable.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "tangible, non-transitory memory having instructions stored thereon" in line. The phrase “having instruction stored thereon” is vague, in that the term “instruction” is so broad that it could encompass all conceivable operating instructions of an additive manufacturing system for producing ultra-fine-grained material materials; particularly since the specification does not define what the constitutes the store instructions.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "applying, by the pulsed laser, a plurality of optical pulses to a base material to add an additive material to the base material in a melt pool of the base material;" in lines 10-11. The claim is indefinite for the following reasons: (i) it does not recite how and by what manner the base material is formed, (ii) what constitutes the base material and where is the base material formed since the claim lacks any type of substrate or a built platform. Furthermore, how the melt pool is formed and how the additive material is added to the melt pool of the base material by the plurality of optical pulses is not clearly defined in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unascertainable.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "applying, by the pulsed laser, a plurality of optical pulses to a base material to add an additive material to the base material in a melt pool of the base material " in lines 10-11; and “applying, by the ultrasonic pulsed laser, ultrasonic vibrations to a melt of the melt pool of the base material” in lines 15-16;
however, the claim as written does not clearly recite how and by what means the base material is heated or melted to create a melt pool as set forth in the claim; thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "applying, by the ultrasonic pulsed laser, ultrasonic
vibrations to a melt of the melt pool of the base material " in lines 15-16. It is unclear what the phrase “to a melt of the melt pool of the base material” means. It is not clear if
“a melt” is distinct from “the melt”; thereby rendering the scope of the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Acharya et al. (US Patent No. 11,214,002).
Regarding claim 1, Acharya et al. teaches an additive manufacturing control system for manufacturing an article characterized by nanocrystal grains in amorphous matrix (see column 1, lines 64-column 2, line 4), the system comprising: a controller in a form of a control module (109, see figures 1, column 2, lines 63-66 and column 3, lines 11-60) a pulsed laser (101, see figure 1 and column 2, lines 55-67 and column 3, lines as an energy applicator or as a heat source, and the pulsating of the laser controlled by the control module (109, see column 3, lines 10-24 and lines 44-55); a vibration mechanism in the form of a plurality of acoustic transducers (103, see figure 1 and column 3, lines 24-38) and an array of ultrasonic transducers (111, see figure 2 and column 3, lines 24-38) disposed on or in the build platform (105, see figure 1 and column 3, lines 24-38),wherein said acoustic transducer are configured to vibrate the build platform during additive manufacturing (see column 4, lines 21-28); ultrasonic assisted laser for shaping and refining the grain structure of the article formed on the build platform ( see column 4, line 66-column 5, lines 14); a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer executable instruction communicably linked to the controller or control module (109, see column 4, lines 1-16); a powder nozzle (107, see figure 1 and column 4, line 55 to column 5, line 10) configured under the control of the controller (109) to eject powder for example a metal powder onto the build platform (105, see figure 1 and column 4, line 55 to column 5, line 10) to be heated, melted and form a melt pool on the build platform by the pulsed laser under the control of the controller (see column 4, line 55 to column 5, line 10).
Acharya et al. teaches a system configured to form nanocrystal grain (i.e., reads on the claimed ultra-fine -grained material) in an amorphous matrix but fails to teach a system that forms fine equiaxed grains with random crystallographic texture. However, because Acharya et al., as listed above, teaches substantially all the structure features of the claimed system, it would, therefore necessarily flow, absent any evidence to the contrary, that the additive manufacturing control system of Acharya et al., would equally be capable of forming fine equiaxed grains with random crystallographic texture in the same manner as claimed. Furthermore, "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Also see MPEP 2114.II.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Acharya et al. in figure 1 shows a build platform (105) and vibration mechanism that comprises a plurality or an array of acoustic transducers (103, also see column 3, lines 24-38) that are configured to vibrate the build platform (105) and the article formed thereon in at least two directions (i.e. X-Y direction or first and second directions). Acharya et al., therefore, meets substantially all aspects of claims 2 and 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Craft et al. (US 10,189,057) and Bruck et al. (US 2016/0228990) are also cited in PTI-892.
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.A/ Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JESSEE R ROE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759