CTNF 18/946,790 CTNF 70782 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Awakura et al (US Pub 20070291021 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Awakura et al teaches an image adjustment method applied to an image displaying apparatus (Paragraph 0054, 0060, 0062), the image adjustment method comprising: analyzing an image stream with a plurality of received frames (Paragraph 0013, 0054); determining whether a region of one of the received frames conforms to an execution requirement of a non-partial update function (see Paragraph [0051] (“ … As similar to FIG. 6, FIG. 3A shows a partial display before update, FIG. 3B shows a partial display during data transfer with the partial-display area updated from 201-a to 201-b, and FIG. 3C shows a partial-display after update. Note that, correspondingly, the non-partial-display area is updated from 205-a to 205-b… ); (Figs. 2, 3, 6; Paragraph 0008, 0040, 0051); and applying the non-partial update function or a partial update function for the received frame in accordance with a determination result (see Paragraph [0051] (“… As similar to FIG. 6, FIG. 3A shows a partial display before update, FIG. 3B shows a partial display during data transfer with the partial-display area updated from 201-a to 201-b, and FIG. 3C shows a partial-display after update. Note that, correspondingly, the non-partial-display area is updated from 205-a to 205-b… ) (Figs. 2, 3, 6; Paragraph 0008, 0040, 0051). Regarding Claims 2, 12, Awakura et al teaches the image adjustment method further comprising: applying the non-partial update function for the received frame in accordance with a specific parameter of the received frame when the region conforms to the execution requirement. (Figs. 2, 3, 6; Paragraph 0008, 0040, 0051). Regarding Claims 3, 13, Awakura et al teaches the image adjustment method further comprising: applying the non-partial update function for the received frame in accordance with a current status of the image displaying apparatus when the region conforms to the execution requirement. (Figs. 3, 6; Paragraph 0008, 0040, 0051). Regarding Claims 4, 14, Awakura et al teaches the image adjustment method wherein the image adjustment method determines whether the region of one of the received frames conforms to an execution requirement of any of non-partial update functions, and applies a corresponding non-partial update function when the region conforms to the execution requirement. (Paragraph 0008, 0040, 0051). Regarding Claims 5, 15, Awakura et al teaches the image adjustment method further comprising: the image adjustment method does not apply the partial update function for the received frame when the non-partial update function is applied to the region. (Paragraph 0008, 0040, 0051, 0054). Regarding Claims 6, 16, Awakura et al teaches the image adjustment method further comprising: applying the partial update function for the received frame when the region does not conform to the execution requirement. (Paragraph 0036-0040, 0054). Regarding Claims 7, 17, Awakura et al teaches the image adjustment method wherein the specific parameter is based on a software setting result. (Paragraph 0032-0033). Regarding Claims 8, 18, Awakura et al teaches the image adjustment method, wherein the current status is a detection result of a sensor of the image displaying apparatus. (Paragraph 0054, 0066). Regarding Claims 9, 19, Awakura et al teaches the image adjustment method wherein the received frame is divided into a plurality of regions in a uniform manner or in a non-uniform manner. (Paragraph 0013, 0032). Regarding Claims 10, 20, Awakura et al teaches the image adjustment method further comprising: determining whether the region of the received frame conforms to the execution requirement of the non-partial update function every N received frames or every predefined time. (Figs. 2, 3, 6; Paragraph 0008, 0040, 0051). Regarding Claim 11, the apparatus Claim 11 is rejected for same reason as the method Claim 1, since claim limitations are same in both claims. Conclusion Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, figures, or lines in the prior art references any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331-33, 216 USPQ 1038-39 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Examiner’s Note Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VIJAY SHANKAR whose telephone number is (571)272-7682. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9 am- 6 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached at 571-270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. VIJAY SHANKAR Primary Examiner Art Unit 2624 /VIJAY SHANKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 Application/Control Number: 18/946,790 Page 2 Art Unit: 2624 Application/Control Number: 18/946,790 Page 3 Art Unit: 2624 Application/Control Number: 18/946,790 Page 4 Art Unit: 2624 Application/Control Number: 18/946,790 Page 5 Art Unit: 2624 Application/Control Number: 18/946,790 Page 6 Art Unit: 2624 Application/Control Number: 18/946,790 Page 7 Art Unit: 2624