DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chun-Pin Chen (U.S. Patent Application: 2012/0122311, here after Chen).
Claim 1 is rejected. Chen teaches an electroless plating method, comprising:
providing an object to be plated, wherein the object to be plated is a metal
material (metal base, 12) [abstract, 0036-0037];
performing a cleaning process on the object to be plated to remove impurities on
a surface of the object to be plated, wherein the cleaning process is a wet chemical cleaning method (surfactant solution of clean water) [0038, 0039];
performing a plasma treatment process on the surface of the object to be plated and thereby [0038, 0044]; and
immersing the object to be plated after the plasma treatment process in a
chemical plating solution to form a plating layer [0039]. Although Chen does not
clearly teach ionizing the surface of the object to be plated. However, the plasma
treatment bombardment [0046] inherently breaks bonds of metal atoms on surface of
metal and ionize a metal of the surface and replacing surface sanitization and activation treatments.
Claim 3 is rejected as Chen teaches a process gas of the plasma treatment
process comprises an oxygen gas and/or an argon gas, so that the surface of the object to be plated is exposed to a plasma environment generated by the process gas [0044].
Claim 4 is rejected. As Chen teaches before the object to be plated is immersed
in the chemical plating solution, the surface of the object to be plated is not activated by
a catalyst (there is no catalyst deposited on surface of metal 12).
Claim 5 is rejected as Chen teaches a material of the object to be plated (12)
comprises gold, silver, platinum, palladium, or nickel [0033].
Claim 6 is rejected as Chen teaches the chemical plating solution comprises a
metal salt, and the metal salt comprises a nickel ion, a gold ion, or a copper ion [0033].
Claim 10 is rejected as Chen teaches the object to be plated is formed on a
substrate (chip, 10), and a material of the substrate comprises a semiconductor (which
is in fact a silicon wafer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun-Pin Chen (U.S. Patent Application: 2012/0122311, here after Chen), further in view of Sergey Lopatin et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2005/0101130, here after Lopatin).
Claim 8 is rejected. Chen teaches a cleaning solution used in the wet chemical
cleaning method comprises inorganic acid [0044], but does not teach sulfuric acid and hydrochloric acid. Lopatin teaches cleaning substrate prior to electroless plating with wet method wherein the wet method comprising water and inorganic acids such as sulfuric acid and hydrochloric acid [0025]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Chen where the cleaning solution comprising HCl and H2SO4, because it is suitable water solution for cleaning substrate prior to electroless plating.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues Chen does not teach wet cleaning process, the examiner disaggregate, Chen teaches wet cleaning [0038,0039] and also dry(plasma) cleaning [0044]. The applicant also argues Chen does not teach plasma treatment can replace surface sensitization and activation treatment used in conventional electroless plating. The examiner disagrees, plasma treatment inherently breaks bonds of metal atoms on surface of metal and ionize a metal of the surface, and since there is no catalyst used in placing therefore plasma treatment can replace surface sensitization and activation treatment used in conventional electroless plating.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718