Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2022/0077239, 1st interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a color filter substrate (3000 in Fig. 1-9, [0048-0161]), comprising:
a substrate (the substrate corresponding to 310 in Fig. 1-3) having a pixel region (the region corresponding to Pix in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) including a first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3), a second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3), and a third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP3 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3), wherein each of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) and the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) includes a first portion (the portion corresponding to R/G in Picture 1) and a second portion (the portion corresponding to P21/P22 in Picture 1);
a first color resist (321R/321R-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0052-0053]) disposed on the substrate (the substrate corresponding to 310 in Fig. 1-3) and in the first portion (the portion corresponding to R in Picture 1) of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3);
a second color resist (321G/321G-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0054-0055]) disposed on the substrate (the substrate corresponding to 310 in Fig. 1-3) and in the first portion (the portion corresponding to G in Picture 1)of the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3); and
a third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) disposed on the substrate (the substrate corresponding to 310 in Fig. 1-3) and in the first portion (the portion corresponding to R in Picture 1) and the second portion (the portion corresponding to P21 in Picture 1) of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3), the first portion (the portion corresponding to G in Picture 1) and the second portion (the portion corresponding to P22 in Picture 1) of the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3), and the third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP3 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3),
wherein the first color resist (321R/321R-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0052-0053]), the second color resist (321G/321G-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0054-0055]), and the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) have different colors (Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0052-0061, 0097]), and the color of the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) is blue ([0060-0061, 0097]).
Regarding claims 4-5, 7-10 and 12, Kim also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 4) the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) covers (Picture 1, Fig. 1-3) the first color resist (321R/321R-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0052-0053]) in the first portion (the portion corresponding to R in Picture 1) of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3), and the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) covers (Picture 1, Fig. 1-3) the second color resist (321G/321G-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0054-0055]) in the first portion (the portion corresponding to G in Picture 1) of the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3).
(Claim 5) a portion of the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) disposed in the first portion (the portion corresponding to R in Picture 1) of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) or the first portion (the portion corresponding to G in Picture 1) of the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) has a first thickness (t2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3), another portion of the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) disposed in the third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP3 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) has a second thickness(t1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3), and the first thickness (t2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) is less than the second thickness (t1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3).
(Claim 7) a portion of the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) disposed in the first portion (the portion corresponding to R in Picture 1) of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) or the first portion (the portion corresponding to G in Picture 1) of the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) has a thickness (t2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3), and the thickness (t2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) of the portion of the third color resist is less than (Fig. 1-3) a thickness of the first color resist or a thickness of the second color resist (Fig. 1-3).
(Claim 8) a portion of the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) disposed in the third sub-pixel region has a thickness (t1 in Fig. 1-3), and the thickness of the portion of the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) is greater than (Fig. 1-3) a thickness of the first color resist (321R/321R-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0052-0053]) or a thickness of the second color resist (321G/321G-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0054-0055]).
(Claim 9) the color of one of the first color resist (321R/321R-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0052-0053]) and the second color resist (321G/321G-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0054-0055]) is green (Fig. 1-3, [0052-0055]), and the color of the other of the first color resist (321R/321R-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0052-0053]) and the second color resist (321G/321G-a in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0054-0055]) is red (Fig. 1-3, [0052-0055]).
(Claim 10) a portion of the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) disposed in the second portion (the portion corresponding to P21 in Picture 1) of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) or the second portion (the portion corresponding to P22 in Picture 1) of the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) has a first thickness (the thickness of 324 in the area of BA in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3), another portion of the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) disposed in the third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP3 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) has a second thickness (t1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3), and the first thickness (the thickness of 324 in the area of BA in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3) is less than the second thickness (t1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-3).
(Claim 12) A display device (Fig. 4-9), comprising: the color filter substrate (3000 in Fig. 1-9); and an array substrate (1000 in Fig. 4-9), wherein the array substrate and the color filter substrate are disposed opposite to each other (Fig. 4-9).
Picture 1, from Fig. 1 of Kim (US 2022/0077239)
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2022/0077239, 2nd interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a color filter substrate (3000 in Fig. 1-9, [0048-0161]), comprising:
a substrate (the substrate corresponding to 310 in Fig. 1-3) having a pixel region (the region corresponding to Pix in picture 2, Fig. 1-3) including a first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 2, Fig. 1-3), a second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP2 in picture 2, Fig. 1-3), and a third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP3 in picture 2, Fig. 1-3), wherein each of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 2, Fig. 1-3) and the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 2, Fig. 1-3) includes a first portion (the portion corresponding to S11 or S21 in Picture 2) and a second portion (the portion corresponding to S21 or S22 in Picture 2);
a first color resist (321R/321R-a in Picture 2, Fig. 1-3, [0052-0053]) disposed on the substrate (the substrate corresponding to 310 in Fig. 1-3) and in the first portion (the portion corresponding to S11 in Picture 2) of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 2, Fig. 1-3);
a second color resist (321G/321G-a in Picture 2, Fig. 1-3, [0054-0055]) disposed on the substrate (the substrate corresponding to 310 in Fig. 1-3) and in the first portion (the portion corresponding to S21 in Picture 2) of the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP2 in picture 2, Fig. 1-3); and
a third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 2, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) disposed on the substrate (the substrate corresponding to 310 in Fig. 1-3) and in the first portion (the portion corresponding to S11 in Picture 2) and the second portion (the portion corresponding to S12 in Picture 2) of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP1 in picture 2, Fig. 1-3), the first portion (the portion corresponding to S21 in Picture 2) and the second portion (the portion corresponding to S22 in Picture 2) of the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP2 in picture 2, Fig. 1-3), and the third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to SP3 in picture 2, Fig. 1-3),
wherein the first color resist (321R/321R-a in Picture 2, Fig. 1-3, [0052-0053]), the second color resist (321G/321G-a in Picture 2, Fig. 1-3, [0054-0055]), and the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 2, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) have different colors (Picture 2, Fig. 1-3, [0052-0061, 0097]), and the color of the third color resist (324 and 324b in Picture 2, Fig. 1-3, [0060-0061, 0097]) is blue ([0060-0061, 0097]).
Picture 2, from Fig. 1 of Kim (US 2022/0077239)
Regarding claims 2-3, Kim also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 2) a ratio of an area of the first portion (the portion corresponding to S11 in Picture 2) of the first sub-pixel region to an area of the first sub-pixel region (the portion corresponding to SP1 in Picture 2) or a ratio of an area of the first portion (the portion corresponding to S21 in Picture 2) of the second sub-pixel region to an area of the second sub-pixel region (the portion corresponding to SP2 in Picture 2) is greater than or equal to 0.4 and less than or equal to 0.8 (Picture 2).
(Claim 3) the ratio of the area of the first portion of the first sub-pixel region to the area of the first sub-pixel region or the ratio of the area of the first portion of the second sub-pixel region to the area of the second sub-pixel region is 0.6 (Picture 2).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Araki (US 2015/0331278).
Regarding claim 1, Araki teaches a color filter substrate (20A in Fig. 1-2, [0026-0034]), comprising:
a substrate (the substrate corresponding to 21 in Fig. 1) having a pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_R, 22A_G and 22A_B in picture 3, Fig. 2) including a first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_R in picture 3, Fig. 2), a second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_G in picture 3, Fig. 2), and a third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_B in picture 3, Fig. 2), wherein each of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_R in picture 3, Fig. 2) and the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_G in picture 3, Fig. 2) includes a first portion (the portion corresponding to R1 or G1 in Picture 3) and a second portion (the portion corresponding to R2 or G2 in Picture 3);
a first color resist (CF_R in picture 3, Fig. 2) disposed on the substrate (picture 3, Fig. 2) and in the first portion (R1 in Picture 3) of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_R in picture 3);
a second color resist (CF_G in picture 3, Fig. 2) disposed on the substrate (picture 3, Fig. 2) and in the first portion (G1 in Picture 3) of the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_G in picture 3); and
a third color resist (CF_B in picture 3, Fig. 2) disposed on the substrate (picture 3, Fig. 2) and in the first portion (R1 in Picture 3) and the second portion (R2 in Picture 3) of the first sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_R in picture 3), the first portion (G1 in picture 3) and the second portion (G2 in picture 3) of the second sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_G in picture 3), and the third sub-pixel region (the region corresponding to 22A_B in picture 3),
wherein the first color resist (CF_R in picture 3, Fig. 2), the second color resist (CF_G in picture 3, Fig. 2), and the third color resist (CF_B in picture 3, Fig. 2) have different colors (Picture 3, Fig. 1-2, [0029]), and the color of the third color resist (CF_B in picture 3, Fig. 2) is blue ([0029]).
Picture 3, from Fig. 2 of Araki (US 2015/0331278)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0077239, 1st interpretation).
Regarding claim 6, Kim also teaches that the first thickness (t2 in picture 1, Fig. 1-3) is in a range of about 0.5 to about 3 μm ([0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.2 micrometers and less than or equal to 0.5 micrometers overlaps with the range disclosed by the prior art (MPEP 2144. 05 I.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to recognize and try the claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.2 micrometers and less than or equal to 0.5 micrometers for the system of Kim since this would help to provide a display device capable of improving display quality while simplifying a manufacturing process (Kim, [0005]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2019/0155106).
Regarding claim 11, the embodiment of Fig. 1-2 of Araki does not teach the following elements.
Lee teaches the following elements (Fig. 2, Fig. 4, [0083, 0104-0106]):
(Claim 11) a transparent conductive layer (EL2 in Fig. 2 and Fig. 4, [0083]) disposed on a first color resist, a second color resist, and a third color resist (Fig. 4).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Lee for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 1-2 of Araki such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 1-2 of Araki,
(Claim 11) a transparent conductive layer disposed on the first color resist, the second color resist, and the third color resist.
The motivation is to provide electric field to drive the liquid crystal molecules, so that an image is displayed by passing or blocking light through the liquid crystal layer (Lee, [0088).
Conclusion
/Shan Liu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871