DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species Group I in the reply filed on 10 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 June 2026. Note that while Applicant asserts that claims 2-7 are readable on both Invention I and Species Group I, claims 6 and 7 recite “a locking mechanism” of the back frame, which is only associated with other, non-elected species. These claims have accordingly been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 9, it appears that “rea” should read - - rear - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikawa et al. (US Patent Number 10106060).
Regarding claim 2, Ikawa discloses a conveyance seat, comprising: a seat cushion (1); a seat back (2); a slide rail (at least the lower, inner member of 24) which moves the seat cushion in a predetermined direction; and a leg member (including 10, 20, at least portions of 24, etc.) capable of collapsing the seat cushion to bring the conveyance seat into a collapsed state, wherein the leg member has a front leg portion (10) which supports a front lower portion of the seat cushion and a rear leg portion (20, upper, outer portion of 24) which supports a rear lower portion of the seat cushion, the rear leg portion has an arm portion (upper, outer portion of 24) of which one end is rotatably fixed to the rear leg portion (at least via the side frame) and the other end is connected to the slide rail, and is capable of changing a height of the seat cushion while the seat back is raised on the seat cushion (this is the general manner of operation; note that any position of the seat back would be “raised” on the seat cushion as it remains above relative thereto).
Regarding claim 3, Ikawa further discloses the front leg portion is foldable such that one end of the front leg portion is rotatably fixed to the front lower portion of the seat cushion and the other end of the front leg portion is position behind the front end of the seat cushion, and wherein the rear leg portion is capable of changing a height of the seat cushion while the front leg portion is folded (this is the general arrangement; see figures).
Regarding claim 5, Ikawa further discloses the front leg portion and the rear leg portion are positioned overlapping each other in the vertical direction of the seat in the side view when the conveyance seat is the collapsed state (see figures).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kammerer (US Patent Number 8424969).
Regarding claim 2, Kammerer discloses a conveyance seat, comprising: a seat cushion (3); a seat back (5); a slide rail (9) which moves the seat cushion in a predetermined direction; and a leg member (including 13, 27, 29, etc.) capable of collapsing the seat cushion to bring the conveyance seat into a collapsed state, wherein the leg member has a front leg portion (13) which supports a front lower portion of the seat cushion and a rear leg portion (27, 29) which supports a rear lower portion of the seat cushion, the rear leg portion has an arm portion (29) of which one end is rotatably fixed to the rear leg portion (at least via the side frame) and the other end is connected to the slide rail, and is capable of changing a height of the seat cushion while the seat back is raised on the seat cushion (this is the general manner of operation; note that any position of the seat back would be “raised” on the seat cushion as it remains above relative thereto).
Regarding claim 3, Kammerer further discloses the front leg portion is foldable such that one end of the front leg portion is rotatably fixed to the front lower portion of the seat cushion and the other end of the front leg portion is position behind the front end of the seat cushion, and wherein the rear leg portion is capable of changing a height of the seat cushion while the front leg portion is folded (this is the general arrangement; see figures).
Regarding claim 4, Kammerer further discloses the arm portion is provided below the seat cushion and disposed rearward of the rear leg portion (this is the general arrangement; see figures).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12172558. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to provide the components as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it discloses a range of related devices.
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636