DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the application filed 11/14/2024.
Claims 1-13 and 20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20180028383A (“KR’383”) (cited by Applicant) (machine translation attached) in view of Takayanagi et al. (US 2015/0090340 A1).
Re claim 1, KR’383 discloses an apparatus for processing a substrate (abstract), the apparatus comprising:
a chamber (see fig. 4, ref. 120) having a processing space;
a support unit (ref. 130) for supporting a substrate in the processing space;
a liquid discharge unit (ref. 141) for discharging a treatment solution in a liquid form onto the substrate supported on the support unit; and
a liquid supply unit (ref. 200, 201) including a tank storing the treatment solution, a supply line connecting the tank and the liquid discharge unit, and
a filter (see fig. 6 ref. 212) installed between the tank and the supply line, wherein the filter includes:
an inlet port (see fig. 6 left of ref. 212) through which the treatment solution flows into the filter from the tank;
an outlet port (see fig. 6 right of ref. 212) through which the treatment solution flows out from the filter to the liquid discharge unit; and
a vent port (ref. 213) for discharging a liquid containing bubbles to the outside of the filter.
KR’383 does not explicitly discloses the liquid supply unit further includes a circulation line which is connected to the vent port of the filter and circulates the treatment solution discharged from the vent port of the filter to a line connected to the inlet port of the filter.
However, Takayanagi teaches a circulation line (see figs. 31 ref. 112 to ref. 111, via ref. 118) which is connected to the vent port of the filter and circulates the treatment solution discharged from the vent port of the filter (at ref. V33b) to a line connected to the inlet port of the filter (ref. 118 via ref. 111).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vent port of KR’383 to further include a circulation line, as suggested by Takayanagi, in order to remov contaminants and bubbles.
Re claims 11-12, Takayanagi further discloses wherein the liquid supply unit further includes: a measurement line having one end connected to the outlet port of the filter (line to ref. 122); and a densitometer (ref. 122) installed on the measurement line, and the measurement line has the other end connected to the circulation line (ref. 118). Regarding “wherein the filter is a membrane filter”, the use of membrane filters is conventionally known in the art. Regarding
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach, suggest or motivate wherein the liquid supply unit includes: a drain line branched from the circulation line and draining the treatment solution discharged from the vent port; and a valve unit for controlling a flow path of the treatment solution so that the treatment solution discharged from the vent port selectively flows to the drain line or the line connected to the inlet port, in the context of claim 1 and 20.
The prior art of record does not teach, suggest or motivate wherein the filter further includes a drain port for discharging the internal residual treatment solution therefrom; and the liquid supply unit further includes a drain valve installed in the drain line and opening and closing a passage of the drain line, and the drain port is located at a bottom end of the filter, and when the drain valve is open, the treatment solution is drained by falling, and the vent port is located at a top end of the filter, and when the treatment solution is fully filled in the filter, the treatment solution is discharged upward, in the context of claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0232460 A1 note collection of air bubbles from pump.
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711