DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 3,462,805 to Quisling (Quisling).
Regarding Claim 1: Quisling discloses an apparatus comprising: a hanger assembly that includes: a first panel having (See Annotated Fig. A): a proximate edge (See Annotated Fig. A) having at least one cut-out (18) and at least one lance (16); and a distal edge (See Annotated Fig. A) having at least one cut-out (18) and at least one lance (16); and a second panel (See Annotated Fig. A) having: a proximate edge (See Annotated Fig. A) having at least one cut-out (18) and at least one lance (16); and a distal edge (See Annotated Fig. A) having at least one cut-out (18) and at least one lance (16), wherein: the hanger assembly is deformable such that the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A) abuts the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A); the at least one cut-out (18) of the proximate edge (See Annotated Fig. A) of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A) receives the at least one lance (16) of the proximate edge of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A); the at least one cut-out (18) of the distal edge of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A) receives the at least one lance (16) of the distal edge of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A); the at least one cut-out (18) of the proximate edge (See Annotated Fig. A) of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A) receives the at least one lance (18) of the proximate edge of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A); and the at least one cut-out (18) of the distal edge of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A) receives the at least one lance (16) of the distal edge of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 2: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A) is defined by a flat sheet (See generally Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 3: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one lance (16) of the proximate edge of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A) is bent and raised relative to a surface of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 4: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one lance (16) of the distal edge of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A) is bent and raised relative to a surface of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 5: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one lance (16) of the proximate edge of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A) is bent and raised relative to a surface of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 6: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one lance (16) of the distal edge of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A) is bent and raised relative to a surface of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 13: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one lance (16) of the proximate edge of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A) may be aligned in an opposite direction (See Annotated Fig. A) as the at least one lance (16) of the proximate edge of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 14: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one lance (16) of the distal edge of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A) may be aligned in an opposite direction (See Annotated Fig. A) as the at least one lance (16) of the distal edge of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 15: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein a first surface of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A) is affixed to a rigid surface (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 17: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first panel comprises at least one of a metal material (See Col. 3, line 3).
Regarding Claim 18: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A) comprises at least one of a metal material (See Col. 3, line 3).
Regarding Claim 19: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one lance (16) of the proximate edge of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A) is formed by a partial cut-out (18) of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A), and wherein the at least one lance (16) of the distal edge of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A) is formed by a partial cut-out (18) of the first panel (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 20: Quisling discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one lance (16) of the proximate edge of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A) is formed by a partial cut-out (18) of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A), and wherein the at least one lance (16) of the distal edge of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A) is formed by a partial cut-out (18) of the second panel (See Annotated Fig. A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
None of the cited prior art, considered alone or in combination, discloses or teaches:
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second panel comprises a U-shaped portion;
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second panel is configured to slidably interlock with a portion of the first panel to form an enclosure;
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one lance of the proximate edge of the first panel may be aligned in a same direction as the at least one lance of the proximate edge of the second panel; or
the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the rigid surface corresponds to a cabinet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the references used in this rejection and those cited in the PTO-892, the following references are very relevant to the claimed invention: US 5050824.
ERET C. MCNICHOLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ERET C MCNICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632