CTFR 18/947,840 CTFR 88098 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 10, 21-22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delgado, JR et al. (US 2015/0330303) in view of Brillet (US 2011/0283712), further in view of Somanath et al. (US 2020/0224588) . In Reference to Claim 1 (See Delgado, Figures 1-2, 4-5, and 9) Delgado, JR et al. (Delgado) discloses: An aircraft propulsion system comprising: a core engine (101) comprising a core flow path through a main compressor (105) where an inlet airflow is compressed and communicated to a combustor (90) to generate an exhaust gas flow that is expanded through a main turbine section (155,157) to generate mechanical power to drive the main compressor and a propulsive fan (103) (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0025]-[0026]); a cryogenic fuel system comprising a cryogenic fuel storage tank (12), a fuel flow path for routing a cryogenic fuel flow to the combustor (90) of the core engine (101) (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0022]-[0025]); and a thermoelectric generator (602) in thermal communication with the cryogenic fuel flow (608) and a heat source (606) to generate a temperature differential across the thermoelectric generator (602) utilized to generate electric power. (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0078]-[0079]). Delgado discloses the claimed invention except: Wherein the heat source comprises the exhaust gas flow and the thermoelectric generator is disposed within a flow path of the exhaust gas flow generated by the core engine; and a bottoming cycle where heat from the exhaust gas flow is used to heat a working fluid flow within a first heat exchanger that is disposed upstream of the thermoelectric generator, wherein the bottoming cycle comprises a bottoming turbine where a heated working fluid flow is expanded to generate mechanical power, a fuel/working fluid heat exchanger where the cryogenic fuel flow accepts thermal energy from the working fluid flow before communication to the thermoelectric generator. Brillet discloses a thermoelectric generator system for a turbine engine. (See Brillet, Abstract). Brillet discloses including a thermoelectric generator system in the exhaust nozzle for heating fuel from the exhaust gas flow. (See Brillet, Paragraphs [0012]-[0014] & [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the thermoelectric exhaust heated device of Brillet to the device of Delgado, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that both references are directed towards thermoelectric generator systems for a turbine engine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the thermoelectric exhaust generator of Brillet would have increased the efficiency and enhanced the power generation of the device of Delgado by additionally utilizing the waste heat of exhaust gases to generate power from the thermoelectric device. (See Brillet, Paragraph [0009]). Somanath et al. (Soma) discloses a gas turbine engine with electricity generation. (See Soma, Abstract). Soma discloses a bottoming cycle where heat from the core engine is utilized to heat a working fluid flow, wherein the bottoming cycle comprises a first heat exchanger where heat from the core engine is input into the working fluid, a bottoming turbine where a heated working fluid flow is expanded to generate mechanical power, and a fuel/working fluid heat exchanger where the cryogenic fuel flow is initially heated before being communicated to the thermoelectric generator. (See Soma, Paragraphs [0036]-[0042] & [0043] w/respect to fuel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used added the bottoming cycle of Soma in the device of Delgado, as both references are directed towards turbine engine waste heat systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bottoming cycle of Soma would increase engine efficiency by using waste heat to provide useful work improving the overall operation of the system. (See Soma, Paragraph [0003]). In Reference to Claim 10 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Soma discloses: Further comprising an output shaft driving by the bottoming turbine for driving an accessory component. (See Soma, Paragraph [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used added the bottoming cycle of Soma in the device of Delgado, as both references are directed towards turbine engine waste heat systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bottoming cycle of Soma would increase engine efficiency by using waste heat to provide useful work improving the overall operation of the system. (See Soma, Paragraph [0003]). In Reference to Claim 21 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Soma discloses: wherein the bottoming cycle comprises a bottoming compressor and a working fluid heat exchanger receives the working fluid flow from the bottoming compressor for transferring heat from working fluid exhausted from the bottoming turbine. (See Soma, Paragraphs [0036]-[0042] & [0043] w/respect to 180). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used added the bottoming cycle of Soma in the device of Delgado, as both references are directed towards turbine engine waste heat systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bottoming cycle of Soma would increase engine efficiency by using waste heat to provide useful work improving the overall operation of the system. (See Soma, Paragraph [0003]). In Reference to Claim 22 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Soma discloses: wherein the fuel/working fluid heat exchanger is disposed upstream of the bottoming compressor and downstream of the working fluid heat exchanger. (See Soma, Paragraphs [0036]-[0042] & [0043] w/respect to 180 & 182). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used added the bottoming cycle of Soma in the device of Delgado, as both references are directed towards turbine engine waste heat systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bottoming cycle of Soma would increase engine efficiency by using waste heat to provide useful work improving the overall operation of the system. (See Soma, Paragraph [0003]). In Reference to Claim 24 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Soma discloses: Wherein the thermoelectric generator is disposed within the flow path for the exhaust gas flow between the main turbine and a nozzle for the exhaust gas flow. (See Brillet, Paragraphs [0012]-[0014] & [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the thermoelectric exhaust heated device of Brillet to the device of Delgado, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that both references are directed towards thermoelectric generator systems for a turbine engine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the thermoelectric exhaust generator of Brillet would have increased the efficiency and enhanced the power generation of the device of Delgado by additionally utilizing the waste heat of exhaust gases to generate power from the thermoelectric device. (See Brillet, Paragraph [0009]). The Examiner notes that the thermoelectric generator system is at least between the main turbine and the nozzle outlet and/or nozzle wall . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11, 18, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delgado, JR et al. (US 2015/0330303) in view of Brillet (US 2011/0283712), further in view of Rytkonen (US 2020/0309027) . In Reference to Claim 11 (See Delgado, Figures 1-2, 4-5, and 9) Delgado discloses: A gas turbine engine comprising: a core engine (101) comprising a core flow path through a main compressor (105) where an inlet airflow is compressed and communicated to a combustor (90) to generate an exhaust gas flow that is expanded through a main turbine section (155,157) to generate mechanical power to drive the main compressor through an engine shaft (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0025]-[0026]); a cryogenic fuel system comprising a cryogenic fuel storage tank (12), a fuel flow path for routing a cryogenic fuel flow to the combustor (90) of the core engine (101) (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0022]-[0025]); and a thermoelectric generator (602) where the cryogenic fuel flow (608) and thermal energy from the core engine (101) are utilized to create a temperature differential across the thermoelectric generator (602) utilized to generate electric power. (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0078]-[0079]). Delgado discloses the claimed invention except: The thermal energy comes from the exhaust gas flow and the thermoelectric generator is disposed within the core flow path; and an electric motor at least partially driven by electric power generated by the thermoelectric generator, wherein the electric motor is coupled to the engine shaft to supplement the mechanical power generated by the main turbine. Brillet discloses a thermoelectric generator system for a turbine engine. (See Brillet, Abstract). Brillet discloses including a thermoelectric generator system in the exhaust nozzle for heating fuel from the exhaust gas flow. (See Brillet, Paragraphs [0012]-[0014] & [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the thermoelectric exhaust heated device of Brillet to the device of Delgado, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that both references are directed towards thermoelectric generator systems for a turbine engine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the thermoelectric exhaust generator of Brillet would have increased the efficiency and enhanced the power generation of the device of Delgado by additionally utilizing the waste heat of exhaust gases to generate power from the thermoelectric device. (See Brillet, Paragraph [0009]). Rytkonen (Ryt) discloses a gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Abstract). Ryt discloses an electric motor on a drive shaft of the gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Paragraphs [0070]-[0071] & [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the electric motor to the drive shaft of the turbine engine of Delgado as both references are directed towards gas turbine engines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the motor of Ryt powered at least partially by thermoelectrically generated electricity would have reduced the load on the core engine and increased the efficiency of the gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Paragraph [0071]). In Reference to Claim 18 (See Delgado, Figures 1-2, 4-5, and 9) Delgado discloses: A method of operating an aircraft propulsion system comprising: generating an exhaust gas flow in a combustor (90) by igniting a mixture of compressed air and a cryogenic fuel (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0025]-[0026]); thermally communicating a cryogenic fuel flow (608) with a thermoelectric generator (602) (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0078]-[0079]).; thermally communicating heat from a heat source (606) with thermoelectric generator (602) to generate a temperature differential across the thermoelectric generator (602) between the heat (606) and the cryogenic fuel flow (608) (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0078]-[0079]); and generating electric power with the thermoelectric generator (602) in response to the temperature differential created across the thermoelectric generator (602) by the heat source (606) and the cryogenic fuel flow (608). (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0078]-[0079]). Delgado discloses the claimed invention except: The thermal energy comes from the exhaust gas flow and the thermoelectric generator is disposed within the core flow path; and driving an electric motor with electric power generated by the thermoelectric generator to supplement the mechanical power generated by the main turbine. Brillet discloses a thermoelectric generator system for a turbine engine. (See Brillet, Abstract). Brillet discloses including a thermoelectric generator system in the exhaust nozzle for heating fuel from the exhaust gas flow. (See Brillet, Paragraphs [0012]-[0014] & [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the thermoelectric exhaust heated device of Brillet to the device of Delgado, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that both references are directed towards thermoelectric generator systems for a turbine engine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the thermoelectric exhaust generator of Brillet would have increased the efficiency and enhanced the power generation of the device of Delgado by additionally utilizing the waste heat of exhaust gases to generate power from the thermoelectric device. (See Brillet, Paragraph [0009]). Rytkonen (Ryt) discloses a gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Abstract). Ryt discloses an electric motor on a drive shaft of the gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Paragraphs [0070]-[0071] & [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the electric motor to the drive shaft of the turbine engine of Delgado as both references are directed towards gas turbine engines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the motor of Ryt powered at least partially by thermoelectrically generated electricity would have reduced the load on the core engine and increased the efficiency of the gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Paragraph [0071]). In Reference to Claim 28 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Ryt discloses: Wherein the electric motor is coupled to the engine shaft forward of the main compressor. (See Ryt, Paragraphs [0070]-[0071] & [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the electric motor to the drive shaft of the turbine engine of Delgado as both references are directed towards gas turbine engines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the motor of Ryt powered at least partially by thermoelectrically generated electricity would have reduced the load on the core engine and increased the efficiency of the gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Paragraph [0071]). In Reference to Claim 29 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Soma discloses: Wherein the thermoelectric generator is disposed within the flow path for the exhaust gas flow between the main turbine and a nozzle for the exhaust gas flow. (See Brillet, Paragraphs [0012]-[0014] & [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the thermoelectric exhaust heated device of Brillet to the device of Delgado, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that both references are directed towards thermoelectric generator systems for a turbine engine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the thermoelectric exhaust generator of Brillet would have increased the efficiency and enhanced the power generation of the device of Delgado by additionally utilizing the waste heat of exhaust gases to generate power from the thermoelectric device. (See Brillet, Paragraph [0009]). The Examiner notes that the thermoelectric generator system is at least between the main turbine and the nozzle outlet and/or nozzle wall. In Reference to Claim 30 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Ryt discloses: Coupling the electric motor to the engine shaft forward of the main compressor. (See Ryt, Paragraphs [0070]-[0071] & [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the electric motor to the drive shaft of the turbine engine of Delgado as both references are directed towards gas turbine engines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the motor of Ryt powered at least partially by thermoelectrically generated electricity would have reduced the load on the core engine and increased the efficiency of the gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Paragraph [0071]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7-8 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delgado, JR et al. (US 2015/0330303) in view of Brillet (US 2011/0283712) and Somanath et al. (US 2020/0224588), further in view of Rytkonen (US 2020/0309027) . In Reference to Claim 7 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modifed by Somanath disclose the claimed invention except: Further comprising an electric motor at least partially driven by electric power generated by the thermoelectric generator. Rytkonen (Ryt) discloses a gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Abstract). Ryt discloses an electric motor on a drive shaft of the gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Paragraphs [0070]-[0071] & [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the electric motor to the drive shaft of the turbine engine of Delgado as both references are directed towards gas turbine engines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the motor of Ryt powered at least partially by thermoelectrically generated electricity would have reduced the load on the core engine and increased the efficiency of the gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Paragraph [0071]). In Reference to Claim 8 (See Delgado, Figures 1-2, 4-5, and 9) The Delgado-Brillet combination as modifed by Somanath and Ryt discloses: Wherein the electric motor is coupled to drive a shaft of the core engine. (See Ryt, Paragraphs [0070]-[0071] & [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the electric motor to the drive shaft of the turbine engine of Delgado as both references are directed towards gas turbine engines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the motor of Ryt powered at least partially by thermoelectrically generated electricity would have reduced the load on the core engine and increased the efficiency of the gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Paragraph [0071]). In Reference to Claim 23 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modifed by Somanath and Ryt discloses: Wherein the electric motor is coupled to the engine shaft forward of the main compressor. (See Ryt, Paragraphs [0070]-[0071] & [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the electric motor to the drive shaft of the turbine engine of Delgado as both references are directed towards gas turbine engines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the motor of Ryt powered at least partially by thermoelectrically generated electricity would have reduced the load on the core engine and increased the efficiency of the gas turbine engine. (See Ryt, Paragraph [0071]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 17, 25-27, and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delgado, JR et al. (US 2015/0330303) in view of Brillet (US 2011/0283712) and Rytkonen (US 2020/0309027), further in view of Somanath et al. (US 2020/0224588) . In Reference to Claim 17 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modifed by Rytkonen disclose the claimed invention except: further comprising a bottoming cycle where heat from the core engine is utilized to heat a working fluid flow, wherein the bottoming cycle comprises a working fluid that circulates within a closed circuit that includes a bottoming compressor, a bottoming turbine coupled to drive the bottoming compressor through a bottoming output shaft, a first heat exchanger where heat from the core engine is input into the working fluid, and a fuel/working fluid heat exchanger where the working fluid flow is in thermal communication with a portion of the cryogenic fuel flow and heated before communication to the thermoelectric generator. Somanath et al. (Soma) discloses a gas turbine engine with electricity generation. (See Soma, Abstract). Soma discloses a bottoming cycle where heat from the core engine is utilized to heat a working fluid flow, wherein the bottoming cycle comprises a first heat exchanger where heat from the core engine is input into the working fluid, a bottoming turbine where a heated working fluid flow is expanded to generate mechanical power, and a fuel/working fluid heat exchanger where the cryogenic fuel flow is initially heated before being communicated to the thermoelectric generator. (See Soma, Paragraphs [0036]-[0042] & [0043] w/respect to fuel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used added the bottoming cycle of Soma in the device of Delgado, as both references are directed towards turbine engine waste heat systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bottoming cycle of Soma would increase engine efficiency by using waste heat to provide useful work improving the overall operation of the system. (See Soma, Paragraph [0003]). In Reference to Claim 25 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modifed by Rytkonen and Somanath discloses: wherein the bottoming cycle comprises a bottoming compressor and a working fluid heat exchanger receives the working fluid flow from the bottoming compressor for transferring heat from working fluid exhausted from the bottoming turbine. (See Soma, Paragraphs [0036]-[0042] & [0043] w/respect to 180). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used added the bottoming cycle of Soma in the device of Delgado, as both references are directed towards turbine engine waste heat systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bottoming cycle of Soma would increase engine efficiency by using waste heat to provide useful work improving the overall operation of the system. (See Soma, Paragraph [0003]). In Reference to Claim 26 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Rytkonen and Soma discloses: wherein the fuel/working fluid heat exchanger is disposed upstream of the bottoming compressor and downstream of the working fluid heat exchanger. (See Soma, Paragraphs [0036]-[0042] & [0043] w/respect to 180 & 182). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used added the bottoming cycle of Soma in the device of Delgado, as both references are directed towards turbine engine waste heat systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bottoming cycle of Soma would increase engine efficiency by using waste heat to provide useful work improving the overall operation of the system. (See Soma, Paragraph [0003]). In Reference to Claim 27 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Rytkonen and Soma discloses: Wherein the first heat exchanger is disposed upstream of the thermoelectric generator. (See Soma, Paragraphs [0036]-[0042] & [0043] w/respect to fuel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used added the bottoming cycle of Soma in the device of Delgado, as both references are directed towards turbine engine waste heat systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bottoming cycle of Soma would increase engine efficiency by using waste heat to provide useful work improving the overall operation of the system. (See Soma, Paragraph [0003]). In Reference to Claim 31 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Rytkonen discloses the claimed invention except: further comprising transferring thermal energy from the exhaust gas flow into a working fluid flow of a bottoming cycle with a first heat exchanger forward of the thermoelectric generator and generating mechanical power through expansion of the working fluid flow through a bottoming turbine driving a bottoming output shaft. Somanath et al. (Soma) discloses a gas turbine engine with electricity generation. (See Soma, Abstract). Soma discloses transferring thermal energy from the exhaust gas flow into a working fluid flow of a bottoming cycle with a first heat exchanger forward of the thermoelectric generator and generating mechanical power through expansion of the working fluid flow through a bottoming turbine driving a bottoming output shaft. (See Soma, Paragraphs [0036]-[0042] & [0043] w/respect to fuel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used added the bottoming cycle of Soma in the device of Delgado, as both references are directed towards turbine engine waste heat systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bottoming cycle of Soma would increase engine efficiency by using waste heat to provide useful work improving the overall operation of the system. (See Soma, Paragraph [0003]). In Reference to Claim 32 The Delgado-Brillet combination as modified by Rytkonen and Somanath discloses: Further comprising cooling the working fluid in the bottoming cycle in a fuel/working fluid heat exchanger with the cryogenic fuel flow before communication to the thermoelectric generator. (See Soma, Paragraphs [0036]-[0042] & [0043] w/respect to fuel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used added the bottoming cycle of Soma in the device of Delgado, as both references are directed towards turbine engine waste heat systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bottoming cycle of Soma would increase engine efficiency by using waste heat to provide useful work improving the overall operation of the system. (See Soma, Paragraph [0003]) . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 05 March 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s arguments that “the proposed modification of placing Delgado within the exhaust flow path would require a change to the principal of operation”, the Office respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the placement of the thermoelectric generator of Delgado avoids temperature, pressure and performance issues that accompany placing any structure within the harsh environment of the exhaust gas flow path of a turbine engine and thus as Delgado explicitly discloses this, the thermoelectric generator of Brillet would require a change to the principal of operation. However, the Examiner notes that Delgado does not tie the thermoelectric generator to purely use with “bleed air”, but instead merely discusses the operation of a thermoelectric generator requiring a temperature difference for operation while giving an example of possible hot and cold fluids for operation. Additionally, the Examiner finds no disclosure within Delgado that requires that the thermoelectric generator is required to be placed outside of a core flow path in order to avoid “temperature, pressure and performance issues that accompany placing any structure within the harsh environment of the exhaust gas flow path of a turbine engine”. Instead, Delgado contemplates the use of a thermoelectric generator utilizing both hot and cold energy sources in a turbine engine system. (See Delgado, Paragraphs [0078]-[0079]). Brillet discloses a thermoelectric generator system for a turbine engine utilizing the heat of the exhaust gas core flow and the cryogenic fuel system. (See Brillet, Paragraphs [0012]-[0014] & [0018]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the thermoelectric exhaust heated device of Brillet to the device of Delgado, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that both references are directed towards thermoelectric generator systems for a turbine engine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the thermoelectric exhaust generator of Brillet would have increased the efficiency and enhanced the power generation of the device of Delgado by additionally utilizing the waste heat of exhaust gases to generate power from the thermoelectric device. (See Brillet, Paragraph [0009]). Additionally, Applicant argues that Brillet fails to disclose “placement of the thermoelectric generator within the core flow path”. However, the Examiner notes that the claim recitations merely require “the thermoelectric generator is disposed within the core flow path”. Brillet explicitly discloses the thermoelectric generator is within the core flow path. (See Brillet, Paragraphs [0034]-[0035]). Further it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the thermoelectric cells are exposed to the exhaust gas directly) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns , 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW THOMAS LARGI whose telephone number is (571)270-3512. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 - 4:00 M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Essama Omgba can be reached at (469) 295-9278. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 2 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 3 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 4 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 5 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 6 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 7 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 8 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 9 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 10 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 11 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 12 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 13 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 14 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 15 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 16 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 17 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 18 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 19 Art Unit: 3746 Application/Control Number: 18/947,840 Page 20 Art Unit: 3746