Claims 13, 17, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration. Applicant made the election of in Group A, species a, directed to the stacking at 10 in fig. 1. Applicant also elects species Group B, and Species 1, drawn to the lock in figs. 5-13 embodiment without traverse, in the response dated 01/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 12, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
In claim 3, the specification defines a locking hole identified as 1211, and an unlocking hole, identified as 1212. In the drawing shows there is only one hole formed portion 1211 and 1212. A “hole” is defined as an opening through something, and there is only one opening. The claim recites two separate holes which make two openings contradict the meaning of “a hole”.
In claims 12, 16, 18 and 20, the limitation “further optionally” renders the claims indefinite since it is unclear whether the claim require the limitations following said recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
SET I:
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bourgeois et al. (US 9924770).
The present invention discloses a multifunctional carrying device comprising a female connecting member and a male connecting member which the female connecting member and the male connecting member are connected in a snap-in manner;
(31) As demonstrated in FIG. 14C and FIG. 15C, when the user snaps the female connecting member 1 into the male connecting member 2, the manual force will make the panel used for automatic lock catch 12 slide at the same time, in the direction as shown by the arrows in respective figures, both forward horizontally and downward vertically along the sloped surfaces of the automatic fastening members 22. Then, as demonstrated in FIG. 14D and FIG. 15D, the automatic lock catch 12 will slide back, in the direction as shown by the arrows in respective figures, backward horizontally to its initial position but beneath the automatic fastening members 22, and eventually be clawed by the automatic fastening members 22 from beneath.
Regarding claim 1, Bourgeois teaches a locking connecting device configured to combine a first container (200 fig.13) and a second container (300), comprising: a fitting member (12) disposed on the second container; and a locking mechanism (male portion 22), wherein the locking mechanism is capable of being operatable disposed on the first container and configured to be releasably snap-fitted to the fitting member (cited above), enabling the locking connecting device to switch between a locked state and an unlocked state, wherein when the locking mechanism is operated to enable the locking connecting device to be in the locked state, the locking mechanism and the fitting member are snap-fitted to each other to prevent the first container and the second container combined with each other from being separated from each other; and when the locking mechanism is operated to enable the locking connecting device to be in the unlocked state, the locking mechanism and the fitting member are released from each other (via 14) to enable the first container and the second container combined with each other to be separated from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bourgeois in view of Parker (US 11786022).
Regarding claim 2, Bourgeois teaches a housing 13, a lock cylinder (12) movably disposed in the locking housing, the lock cylinder is configured to move between a locked position and an unlocked position (fig. 16 A/B), wherein when the lock cylinder is driven to move to the locked position relative to the locking housing, the lock cylinder is configured to be snap-fitted to the fitting member (22); and when the lock cylinder is driven to move to the unlocked position relative to the locking housing, the lock cylinder is configured to be released from the fitting member.
Bourgeois does not teach the connecting device is detachably disposed, Parker teaches that it is known in the art to provide an attachment device buckle that can be attached to a luggage via different removable device, e.g., screws, snaps
(25) As shown, the main bag 11 includes a buckle 30. The buckle 30 is coupled to the main bag 11. Coupling structures are not shown; however, the buckle 30 may be coupled to the main bag 11 through a variety of couplings, such as, but not limited to: adhesives, rivets, screws, bolts, pins, clips, and snaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the locking mechanism of Bourgeois of detachable connection to enable one to maintain and/or replace broken parts.
Regarding claim 3, note the lock cylinder 12 of the locking mechanism is a sliding lock slidably disposed in the locking housing, the sliding lock is provided with a hole. Regarding the locking hole and unlocking hole. In view of 112 issue above, the hole in 12 is an oval hole comprising a locking hole where it engages fitting member 22 at an edge and an unlocking hole where it disengages from the fitting member 22 allowing the removable as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, note a head part of the fitting member 22 is greater than that of the locking hole in the locking position and less than that of the unlocking hole of the sliding lock 12 for disengagement.
Regarding claim 5, note the locking housing of the locking mechanism (housing 13) provided with an inserting cavity (below portion 12 in fig 14A) and a sliding cavity in communication with each other, the sliding lock is capable of slidably inserting into the sliding cavity of the locking housing, and the fitting member is capable of inserting into the inserting cavity of the locking housing to be releasably snap-fitted to the sliding lock.
Regarding claim 6, note the switch (13), and the switch is correspondingly disposed between the locking housing 13 and the sliding lock 12 and configured to enable the sliding lock to slide and switch between the locked position and the unlocked position after the sliding lock is pressed.
Regarding claim 7, note the resetting member (spring biasing the switch 14 in fig. 16A/B) and a limiting member (note the protrusion portion protruding into the middle hole of portion 12 (locking cylinder)), the resetting member (spring) is disposed between the locking housing (portion 13) and the sliding lock 912), and the resetting member is configured to apply a force opposite to a pressing direction on the sliding lock; the limiting member (cited above) is disposed between the locking housing and the sliding lock, the limiting member is configured to releasably restrict the sliding lock (12); wherein when the sliding lock is restricted by the limiting member, the sliding lock is capable of being remained at the locked position by the resetting member and the limiting member; and after a restriction between the limiting member and the sliding lock is released, the sliding lock is capable of automatically sliding to the locked position by the resetting member.
Regarding claim 14, note a first container and a second container; and the locking connecting device as set forth above, and the locking connecting device is correspondingly disposed between the first container and the second container and configured to be releasably locked on the first container.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the locking mechanism of the locking connecting device is disposed on the first container, and the fitting member of the locking connecting device is correspondingly disposed on the second container, such that when the second container is stacked on the first container, the locking mechanism of the locking connecting device and the fitting member are snap-fitted to each other to form a combined container.
Regarding claim 16, note the first container comprises a first container body wherein the locking mechanism of the locking connecting device is disposed on the first container body, and the fitting member of the locking connecting device is correspondingly disposed on the second container body, such that the second container body is releasably locked on the first container body by the locking connecting device. With respect to the openings on the first and second container, note the device in Bourgeois of first container and a second container, each inherently has an opening for placing the contents.
Claims 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bourgeois in view of Parker, as set forth above, and further in view of Breener (US 11008136).
Regarding claim 16, in the alternative, Brunner teaches that it is known in the art to provide stacking suitcases, each with opening and closure (fig. 6G) with one place on the lid of another. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the openings and provide the stacking on the lid of the other to provide the desired and convenience location for attaching the two suitcases.
Regarding claim 18, note Brunner teaches the at least two locking mechanisms of the at least one pair of locking connecting devices are disposed on a top of the first container (at 119 fig. 6G); and the at least two fitting members of the at least one pair of locking connecting devices are fixedly disposed on a bottom of the second container (112).
Regarding claim 20, Brenner also teaches three stacking containers in fig. 6A. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a third container, and the third container is stacked on and connected to the second container by a locking device in figs. 3A-4D. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a third container using the locking device in Bourgeois to enable one to transport the desired amount of containers.
SET II:
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colorado (US 8312600).
Regarding claim 1, Colorado teaches a locking connecting device configured to combine a first container (note 420 is a container and portion 60 is part of the container or the container attachment) and a second container (note fig. 6A has container and portion 490 is part of the container), comprising: a fitting member (female portion fig. 13B) disposed on the second container; and a locking mechanism (male portion fig. 13B), wherein the locking mechanism is capable of being operatable disposed on the first container and configured to be releasably snap-fitted to the fitting member (note the portion 860 is snap into the female portion since the bias springs 1120 causes the two portion 1180 into locked position in fig. 13A/14A similar to applicant device), enabling the locking connecting device to switch between a locked state and an unlocked state, wherein when the locking mechanism is operated to enable the locking connecting device to be in the locked state, the locking mechanism and the fitting member are snap-fitted to each other to prevent the first container and the second container combined with each other from being separated from each other; and when the locking mechanism is operated to enable the locking connecting device to be in the unlocked state, the locking mechanism and the fitting member are released from each other (via 1060/1200) to enable the first container and the second container combined with each other to be separated from each other.
Regarding claim 2, the locking mechanism comprises a locking housing (11) detachably disposed (via screws at 900/800) on the first container and a lock cylinder (1060) movably disposed in the locking housing, the lock cylinder is configured to move between a locked position (fig. 13A/14A) and an unlocked position (13B/14B), wherein when the lock cylinder is driven to move to the locked position relative to the locking housing, the lock cylinder is configured to be snap-fitted to the fitting member, and when the lock cylinder is driven to move to the unlocked position relative to the locking housing, the lock cylinder is configured to be released from the fitting member.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colorado in view of Sameshima (US 5666595), and further in view of Perkins et al. (US 5732867). Colorado meets all claimed limitations except for the hole comprising locking and unlocking holes.
Sameshima teaches that it is known in the art to provide locking and unlocking holes at 44a/44b similar to that of applicant. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide lock and unlocking holes as taught by Sameshima to provide an alternative locking structure for simplicity. Furthermore,
Perkin also teaches that it is known in the art to provide only one side operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the latching structure of Sameshima using only one side operation as taught by Perkins to provide simpler operation (using one side instead of both side).
Regarding claim 4, note a head part of the fitting member is greater than that of the locking hole 44b of the sliding lock, and less than that of the unlocking hole 44a of the sliding lock.
Regarding claim 5, note an inserting cavity (930) and a sliding cavity (cavity for 1160) in communication with each other, the sliding lock is capable of slidably inserting into the sliding cavity of the locking housing, and the fitting member is capable of inserting into the inserting cavity of the locking housing to be releasably snap-fitted to the sliding lock.
Claim 8-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733