DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application filed on 11/14/2024, which claims priority from the provisional application 63/599,886 filed on 11/16/2023. Claims 24-43 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25, 27-28, 32, 34-35, 39 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 25, 32 and 39 include the limitation of “…the joint TCI state for the certain TCI codepoint indicates the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint are not present, determine that the certain TCI codepoint indicates only the first joint TCI state” is vague and indefinite. It is not clear how the TCI codepoint indicates the first joint TCI state when the TCI code point indicates that the first and the second joint TCI states associated with the TCI codepoint are not present. The specification does not appear to provide any details or examples, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claims 27, 34 and 41 include the limitation of “…the joint TCI state for the certain TCI codepoint does not indicate the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint are present, determine that the certain TCI codepoint indicates the second joint TCI state” is vague and indefinite. It is not clear how the TCI codepoint indicates the second joint TCI state when the TCI code point does not indicate that the first and the second joint TCI states associated with the TCI codepoint are present (i.e. the first and the second joint TCI states associated with the TCI codepoint are not present). The specification does not appear to provide any details or examples, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claims 28, 35 and 42 include the limitation of “…the joint TCI state for the certain TCI codepoint does not indicate the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint are not present, determine that there is no joint TCI state” is vague and indefinite. It is not clear how it is determined that there is no joint TCI state when the joint TCI state for the certain TCI codepoint does not indicate the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint are not present (i.e. the first and the second joint TCI states associated with the TCI codepoint are present). The specification does not appear to provide any details or examples, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24, 26, 29-31, 33, 36-38, 40 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guan et al. (US 2026/0039429, hereinafter Guan).
Regarding claim 24, Guan discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to [Guan Figure 1 discloses an example communication system comprising a network device and a terminal device (Guan Figure 1, paragraph 0087). Guan Figure 20 discloses a device which can be considered as an implementation of the terminal device and/or the network device of Figure 1 (Guan paragraph 0242, Figure 20). The device includes a processor, a memory, a transmitter/receiver, and a communication interface (Guan paragraphs 0243-0246)]:
Receive, from a network device, an activation command for a transmission configuration indication (TCI) codepoint, the TCI codepoint indicating whether a TCI state for a certain TCI codepoint indicates a first joint TCI state and whether a second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint is present [Guan discloses that TCI state activation/deactivation signaling includes TCI state combination type information for indicating a TCI state combination corresponding to a TCI codepoint, or the number of TCI states corresponding to a TCI codepoint. The TCI state combination type can be indicated by a base station to a UE via a MAC CE (i.e. an activation command for TCI codepoint indicating a TCI state combination) (Guan paragraphs 0097 and 0098). Guan Figures 4-5 disclose exemplary formats of MAC CE which may be used to map multiple TCI states to a TCI codepoint for multiple TRPs (Guan Figures 4-5, paragraphs 0119-0120). In some cases example interpretation of TCI states mapped to a codepoint is shown in Fig. 6 (Guan paragraphs 0121-0122). As disclosed in Guan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 000 indicates a 1st TCI state of joint TCI and no second TCI state being present. A TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state and a second TCI state being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122). Thus, a TCI codepoint indicates whether a TCI state for a certain TCI codepoint indicates a first joint TCI state and whether a second joint TCI state is present]; and
Determine, based on the activation command, that a joint TCI state of the certain TCI codepoint indicates at least one of the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state [As disclosed in Juan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 000 indicates a 1st TCI state of joint TCI and no second TCI state being present. A TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state and a second TCI state being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122). The terminal device can determine the TCI states based on fields of the indication of a combination type, which may include a field indicating the number of TCI states for a TCI codepoint (Guan paragraph 0105). Thus, a determination can be made, based on the activation command (e.g. a MAC CE format), that a joint TCI state of the certain TCI codepoint indicates at least one of the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state].
Regarding claim 26, Guan discloses the apparatus of claim 24, Guan further discloses wherein the apparatus is caused to: in accordance with a determination that the joint TCI state for the certain TCI codepoint indicates the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint are present, determine that the certain TCI codepoint indicates both the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state [As disclosed in Guan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 1) and a second TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 9) being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122); indicating that when the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint are present for a TCI codepoint, the codepoint indicates both the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state].
Regarding claim 29, Guan discloses the apparatus of claim 24, Guan further discloses wherein the activation command further indicates the following: an identifier of the first joint TCI state indicated for the certain TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field; and an identifier of the second joint TCI state indicated for the certain TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field if a second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint is present [Guan discloses that regarding MAC CE TCI states activation/deactivation, the TCI codepoint to which the TCI states are mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI codepoints with sets of TCI state ID i, j fields (Guan paragraph 0082). A 3-bit TCI field in DCI may correspond to TCI state combinations for MTRP (Guan paragraphs 0083-0084). In some cases example interpretation of TCI states mapped to a codepoint is shown in Fig. 6 (Guan paragraphs 0121-0122). As disclosed in Guan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 1) and a second TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 9) being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122); indicating an identifier of the first joint TCI state, and a second joint TCI state for a certain TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field].
Regarding claim 30, Guan discloses the apparatus of claim 29, Guan further discloses wherein the activation command is indicated by a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) [Guan discloses that TCI state activation/deactivation signaling includes TCI state combination type information for indicating a TCI state combination corresponding to a TCI codepoint, or the number of TCI states corresponding to a TCI codepoint. The TCI state combination type can be indicated by a base station to a UE via a MAC CE (i.e. an activation command for TCI codepoint indicating a TCI state combination) (Guan paragraphs 0097 and 0098)].
Regarding claim 31, Guan discloses a system comprising: an apparatus; at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to [Guan Figure 1 discloses an example communication system comprising a network device and a terminal device (Guan Figure 1, paragraph 0087). Guan Figure 20 discloses a device which can be considered as an implementation of the terminal device and/or the network device of Figure 1 (Guan paragraph 0242, Figure 20). The device includes a processor, a memory, a transmitter/receiver, and a communication interface (Guan paragraphs 0243-0246)]:
Receive, from a network device, an activation command for a transmission configuration indication (TCI) codepoint, the TCI codepoint indicating whether a TCI state for a certain TCI codepoint indicates a first joint TCI state and whether a second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint is present [Guan discloses that TCI state activation/deactivation signaling includes TCI state combination type information for indicating a TCI state combination corresponding to a TCI codepoint, or the number of TCI states corresponding to a TCI codepoint. The TCI state combination type can be indicated by a base station to a UE via a MAC CE (i.e. an activation command for TCI codepoint indicating a TCI state combination) (Guan paragraphs 0097 and 0098). Guan Figures 4-5 disclose exemplary formats of MAC CE which may be used to map multiple TCI states to a TCI codepoint for multiple TRPs (Guan Figures 4-5, paragraphs 0119-0120). In some cases example interpretation of TCI states mapped to a codepoint is shown in Fig. 6 (Guan paragraphs 0121-0122). As disclosed in Guan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 000 indicates a 1st TCI state of joint TCI and no second TCI state being present. A TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state and a second TCI state being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122). Thus, a TCI codepoint indicates whether a TCI state for a certain TCI codepoint indicates a first joint TCI state and whether a second joint TCI state is present]; and
Determine, based on the activation command, that a joint TCI state of the certain TCI codepoint indicates at least one of the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state [As disclosed in Juan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 000 indicates a 1st TCI state of joint TCI and no second TCI state being present. A TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state and a second TCI state being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122). The terminal device can determine the TCI states based on fields of the indication of a combination type, which may include a field indicating the number of TCI states for a TCI codepoint (Guan paragraph 0105). Thus, a determination can be made, based on the activation command (e.g. a MAC CE format), that a joint TCI state of the certain TCI codepoint indicates at least one of the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state].
Regarding claim 33, Guan discloses the system of claim 31. Guan further discloses wherein the apparatus is caused to: in accordance with a determination that the joint TCI state for the certain TCI codepoint indicates the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint are present, determine that the certain TCI codepoint indicates both the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state [As disclosed in Guan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 1) and a second TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 9) being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122); indicating that when the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint are present for a TCI codepoint, the codepoint indicates both the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state].
Regarding claim 36, Guan discloses the system of claim 31. Guan further discloses wherein the activation command further indicates the following: an identifier of the first joint TCI state indicated for the certain TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field; and an identifier of the second joint TCI state indicated for the certain TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field if a second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint is present [Guan discloses that regarding MAC CE TCI states activation/deactivation, the TCI codepoint to which the TCI states are mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI codepoints with sets of TCI state ID i, j fields (Guan paragraph 0082). A 3-bit TCI field in DCI may correspond to TCI state combinations for MTRP (Guan paragraphs 0083-0084). In some cases example interpretation of TCI states mapped to a codepoint is shown in Fig. 6 (Guan paragraphs 0121-0122). As disclosed in Guan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 1) and a second TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 9) being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122); indicating an identifier of the first joint TCI state, and a second joint TCI state for a certain TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field].
Regarding claim 37, Guan discloses the system of claim 36. Guan further discloses wherein the activation command is indicated by a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) [Guan discloses that TCI state activation/deactivation signaling includes TCI state combination type information for indicating a TCI state combination corresponding to a TCI codepoint, or the number of TCI states corresponding to a TCI codepoint. The TCI state combination type can be indicated by a base station to a UE via a MAC CE (i.e. an activation command for TCI codepoint indicating a TCI state combination) (Guan paragraphs 0097 and 0098)].
Regarding claim 38, Guan discloses a method comprising: receiving, from a network device, an activation command for a transmission configuration indication (TCI) codepoint, the TCI codepoint indicating whether a TCI state for a certain TCI codepoint indicates a first joint TCI state and whether a second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint is present [Guan Figure 1 discloses an example communication system comprising a network device and a terminal device (Guan Figure 1, paragraph 0087). Guan discloses that TCI state activation/deactivation signaling includes TCI state combination type information for indicating a TCI state combination corresponding to a TCI codepoint, or the number of TCI states corresponding to a TCI codepoint. The TCI state combination type can be indicated by a base station to a UE via a MAC CE (i.e. an activation command for TCI codepoint indicating a TCI state combination) (Guan paragraphs 0097 and 0098). Guan Figures 4-5 disclose exemplary formats of MAC CE which may be used to map multiple TCI states to a TCI codepoint for multiple TRPs (Guan Figures 4-5, paragraphs 0119-0120). In some cases example interpretation of TCI states mapped to a codepoint is shown in Fig. 6 (Guan paragraphs 0121-0122). As disclosed in Guan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 000 indicates a 1st TCI state of joint TCI and no second TCI state being present. A TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state and a second TCI state being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122). Thus, a TCI codepoint indicates whether a TCI state for a certain TCI codepoint indicates a first joint TCI state and whether a second joint TCI state is present]; and
Determining, based on the activation command, that a joint TCI state of the certain TCI codepoint indicates at least one of the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state [As disclosed in Juan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 000 indicates a 1st TCI state of joint TCI and no second TCI state being present. A TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state and a second TCI state being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122). The terminal device can determine the TCI states based on fields of the indication of a combination type, which may include a field indicating the number of TCI states for a TCI codepoint (Guan paragraph 0105). Thus, a determination can be made, based on the activation command (e.g. a MAC CE format), that a joint TCI state of the certain TCI codepoint indicates at least one of the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state].
Regarding claim 40, Guan discloses the method of claim 38. Guan further discloses regarding in accordance with a determination that the joint TCI state for the certain TCI codepoint indicates the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint are present, determining that the certain TCI codepoint indicates both the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state [As disclosed in Guan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 1) and a second TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 9) being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122); indicating that when the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint are present for a TCI codepoint, the codepoint indicates both the first joint TCI state and the second joint TCI state].
Regarding claim 43, Guan discloses the method of claim 38. Guan further discloses wherein the activation command further indicates the following: an identifier of the first joint TCI state indicated for the certain TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field; and an identifier of the second joint TCI state indicated for the certain TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field if a second joint TCI state associated with the certain TCI codepoint is present [Guan discloses that regarding MAC CE TCI states activation/deactivation, the TCI codepoint to which the TCI states are mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI codepoints with sets of TCI state ID i, j fields (Guan paragraph 0082). A 3-bit TCI field in DCI may correspond to TCI state combinations for MTRP (Guan paragraphs 0083-0084). In some cases example interpretation of TCI states mapped to a codepoint is shown in Fig. 6 (Guan paragraphs 0121-0122). As disclosed in Guan Figure 6, a TCI codepoint of 001 indicates a first joint TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 1) and a second TCI state (represented by Joint TCI state ID 9) being present (see Guan Figure 6, paragraphs 0121-0122); indicating an identifier of the first joint TCI state, and a second joint TCI state for a certain TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25, 27-28, 32, 34-35, 39 and 41-42 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Since claims 25, 27-28, 32, 34-35, 39 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, the determination of allowability will be re-evaluated based on resolution of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph issue.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414