DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “more than one strap” is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Cl. 3, the limitation “the arm includes an attachment” renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. Applicant’s specification and drawings do not appear to call out a specific “attachment” in reference to the arm, therefore it is unclear what the Applicant is referring to. However, Applicant’s specification does discuss attachments (23) located on the straps (22) which function to enable the straps to wrap around an object to be hung. Therefore, it is unclear if there is some structure within the arm that constitutes the attachment or if Applicant intended to refer to the attachment of the strap in this instance. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the hose stand" in Line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested that the Applicant amend this phrase to read “a hose stand” to overcome this issue.
Re. Cl. 9, the limitation “the distal ends are separated from the hanger by a length of the arms” renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. Initially, the Examiner wishes to point out that there has been no previous mentioning of multiple straps (see Claim 1 which establishes “a strap”). Further, it is unclear which part of the hanger is being spaced from the distal end of the straps by the arm since the arm is part of the hanger itself. Therefore, it is unclear what the Applicant is referring to in this instance. It appears as if the Applicant may intend to state that the distal ends are separated from the hanger by a length of the straps which would make sense in view of Applicant’s figures. The claim will be interpreted accordingly for the purpose of examination. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Re. Cl. 9, the limitation “a securing point” in Line 3 renders the claim indefinite since it appears as if a securing point has already been previously claimed. In claim 2, which claim 9 ultimately depends from already establishes a securing point. Therefore, it is unclear if the Applicant is referring to a different securing point or the same one. It is suggested that the Applicant amend this limitation to read “the securing point” to overcome this issue.
Re. Cl. 20, the limitation “including attachments along the strap” in Line 1 renders the claim indefinite since the attachments have already been included in claim 18, from which claim 20 depends (see Line 7). Therefore, it is unclear if the Applicant is referring to the same attachments or different ones. It is suggested that the Applicant amend claim 20 to clarify that the attachments in claims 18 and 20 are the same structure to overcome this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jonsson US 4752054 (hereinafter Jonsson).
Re. Cl. 1, Jonsson discloses: A hanger (Fig. 4) comprising: a hook (see annotated figure 4; the shape of the opening 7’ in the annotated hook is curved to hold onto a rod or other appropriate support, therefore being a “hook’), a neck extending from the hook (see annotated figure 4), a body interfacing with the neck (see annotated figure 4), an arm extending from the body (see annotated figure 4), at least one flexible strap (2’s Fig. 4) extending from the arm at a proximal end and reengaging with the hanger at a distal end of the flexible strap (see Fig. 2, and Col. 2, Lines 9-12).
Re. Cl. 2, Jonsson discloses: an opening (31, Fig. 4) serving as a securing point (for securing 2’s as discussed in Col. 2, Lines 9-12).
Re. Cl. 3, Jonsson discloses: the arm includes an attachment (see Fig. 4, attachments 30).
Re. Cl. 4, Jonsson discloses: a set of straps (see 2’s Fig. 4)
Re. Cl. 5, Jonsson discloses: the straps are differentially adjustable (see Fig. 4, by being separate 2’s and 31’s, the straps are differentially adjustable).
Re. Cl. 6, Jonsson discloses: the set of straps are individually adjustable irrespective of one another (see 4, by having separate 2’s and 31’s, the straps 2’ are adjustable independently).
Re. Cl. 7, Jonsson discloses: the straps extend vertically and are longer vertically than horizontally (see Fig. 4).
Re. Cl. 8, Jonsson discloses: the straps are configured to surround portions of the hose stand and reconnect with the hanger such that the straps enclose the portions of the hose stand (see Fig. 4, the straps are configured to wrap and extend into 31’s, thus they are configured to surround portions of a hose stand in the claimed intended use language).
Re. Cl. 9, Jonsson discloses: the straps include distal ends and the distal ends are separated from the hanger by a length of the arms (see Fig. 4, the distal ends of the straps 2’ are spaced from the hanger by the length of the straps 2’), the distal ends flexing to interface with the hanger at a securing point (see Fig. 2 and Col. 2, Lines 9-12).
Re. Cl. 10, Jonsson discloses: the straps curve to interface with the hanger at the distal ends (see Fig. 2 and Col. 2, Lines 9-12).
Re. Cl. 11, Jonsson discloses: A universal hanger system (Fig. 4) comprising: a hook, a neck extending from the hook, a body interfacing with the neck, an arm extending from the body (see annotated figure 4), at least one flexible strap extending from the arm at a proximal end (see 2’ Fig. 4) and reengaging with the hanger at a distal end of the flexible strap (see Fig. 2 and Col. 2, Lines 9-12), wherein the strap forms an adjustable loop (see Fig. 4, by the degree in which 2’s are engaged with 31s).
Re. Cl. 12, Jonsson discloses: the adjustable loop may hang an item for hanging at different heights according to an adjustment of the adjustable loop (see Fig. 4, the straps 2’ can be selectively secured into 31s thereby enabling hanging at different heights).
Re. Cl. 13, Jonsson discloses: attachments on the strap (see 30, Fig. 4).
Re. Cl. 14, Jonsson discloses: the hanger includes more than one straps (see 2’s Fig. 4).
Re. Cl. 15, Jonsson discloses: the straps are differentially adjustable (see Fig. 4, by being separate 2’s and 31’s, the straps are differentially adjustable).
Re. Cl. 16, Jonsson discloses: the straps adjust to hang a host stand (see Fig. 4, Col. 2, Lines 9-12; the straps are capable of being used to hang a host stand as claimed in the claimed intended use).
Re. Cl. 17, Jonsson discloses: the hanger is adapted to hang a set of items having different hanging points in a level plane (see Fig. 2 and Col. 2, Lines 9-12, by being separate entities, the straps 2’ are adapted to hang a set of items as claimed in the intended use).
Re. Cl. 18, Jonsson discloses: In a hose stand (see Fig. 4, the hanger is capable of being used in a hose stand), a universal hanger (Fig. 4) adapted to uniformly hang various structured hose stands (see Fig. 4, by having separate straps 2’ and openings 31, the hanger is adapted to be used in the claimed intended use), said hanger comprising: a hook, a body extending from the hook, an arm extending from the body (see annotated figure 4), a set of flexible straps (2’ Fig. 4) extending from the arm at a proximal end (see Fig. 4), and the straps including attachments (30, Fig. 4) for securing the straps along a distal end at respective securing points (see 31, Fig. 4; Col. 2, Lines 9-12), wherein the straps each form an adjustable loop (see Fig. 2 and Col. 2, Line 9-12).
Re. Cl. 19, Jonsson discloses: the straps are differently adjustable (see Fig. 4, by being separate 2’s and 31’s, the straps are differentially adjustable).
Re. Cl. 20, Jonsson discloses: including attachments (30, Fig. 4) along the straps for engaging the hanger at variable points to form different hanging heights (see Fig. 4, by having different 30s engage with 31).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chmelar US 2018/0244447, Coote US 8994535, Giampavolo US 2003/0019892, Jones US 4898542, Kolton US 4714156, and Yeates US 11957236 disclose other known hangers which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632