DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2024, 12/10/2024, and 03/05/2026 were filed after the filing date of this application on 11/14/2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“the support member is provided at an inner wall surface of the inner shell, and the water storage chamber is composed of the support member and at least one of the inner shell and the outer shell assembly” in claim 2
“the bypass chamber is communicated with the operation chamber through the dispensing chamber” in claims 6 and 15
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 9-10, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “a second end of the support member body” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 3 from which claim 4 depends discloses “a second end” of the support member body. Therefore, it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “second end of the support member body” of claim 4 is referencing the previously disclosed “second end” of claim 3 or an additional end. More clarity is requested.
For examination purposes, the phrase “a second end of the support member body” will be interpreted as -- the second end of the support member body --
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “an outer side wall of the support member body” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 3 from which claim 6 depends already discloses “an outer side wall of the support member body”. Therefore, it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “outer side wall of the support member body” of claim 6 is referencing the previously disclosed “outer side wall of the support member body” of claim 3 or an entirely different structure. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “a second end of the support member body” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 3 from which claim 6 depends discloses “a second end” of the support member body. Therefore, it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “second end of the support member body” of claim 6 is referencing the previously disclosed “second end” of claim 3 or an additional end. More clarity is requested.
For examination purposes, the phrase “a second end of the support member body” will be interpreted as -- the second end of the support member body --
Regarding claims 9 and 15, the claims recite “the bypass chamber is communicated with the operation chamber through the dispensing chamber” which renders the claim indefinite. Referring to paragraphs [00100] to [00101] and Figs. 5-6, it is unclear how the bypass chamber and the operation chamber communicate since either the water is unfiltered when the operation chamber is closed (meaning the bypass chamber is in use) or the water is filtered when the operation chamber is opened (meaning the bypass chamber is not in use). More clarity is requested.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, it is noted that the conditional step of “wherein in case that the valve core assembly is at the first position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber” may never occur. In particular, claims 9 and 15 do not positively recite the condition precedent (i.e. the valve core assembly being at the first position), actually occurs, or is ever required to occur, within the broadest reasonable interpretation. Since the recited “in case” conditions need not be satisfied to meet the claims, the recited steps of the valve core assembly blocking the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber need not occur to satisfy the claims. As such, the Examiner need not present evidence establishing the obviousness of the conditional "in case” step of claims 9 and 15, because it is not required to be performed under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, it is noted that the conditional step of “in case that the valve core assembly is at the second position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber” may never occur. In particular, claims 9 and 15 do not positively recite the condition precedent (i.e. the valve core assembly being at the second position), actually occurs, or is ever required to occur, within the broadest reasonable interpretation. Since the recited “in case” conditions need not be satisfied to meet the claims, the recited steps of the valve core assembly blocking the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber, and the main water inlet being communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber need not occur to satisfy the claims. As such, the Examiner need not present evidence establishing the obviousness of the conditional "in case” step of claims 9 and 15, because it is not required to be performed under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, the claims recite “wherein in case that the valve core assembly is at the first position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber” which renders the claims indefinite. Here, the term to “block” is understood as to shut off, therefore as recited, the claim is confusing because it is not entirely clear how the “dispensing chamber” can be shut off and still allow communication between the main water inlet and the main water outlet. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, the claims recite “in case that the valve core assembly is at the second position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber” which renders the claims indefinite. Here, the term to “block” is understood as to shut off, therefore as recited, the claim is confusing because it is not entirely clear how the “dispensing chamber” can be shut off and still allow communication between the main water inlet and the main water outlet. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claims 10 and 16, it is noted that the conditional step of “wherein in case that the water-stop assembly is at the first position, the water-stop assembly blocks the first passage, and the check valve blocks the second passage” may never occur. In particular, claims 10 and 16 do not positively recite the condition precedent (i.e. the water-stop assembly being at the first position), actually occurs, or is ever required to occur, within the broadest reasonable interpretation. Since the recited “in case” conditions need not be satisfied to meet the claims, the recited steps of the water-stop assembly blocking the first passage, and the check valve blocking the second passage need not occur to satisfy the claims. As such, the Examiner need not present evidence establishing the obviousness of the conditional "in case” step of claims 10 and 16, because it is not required to be performed under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Regarding claims 10 and 16, it is noted that the conditional step of “in case that the water-stop assembly is at the second position, the water-stop assembly conducts the first passage, and the check valve conducts the second passage” may never occur. In particular, claims 10 and 16 do not positively recite the condition precedent (i.e. the water-stop assembly being at the second position), actually occurs, or is ever required to occur, within the broadest reasonable interpretation. Since the recited “in case” conditions need not be satisfied to meet the claims, the recited steps of the water-stop assembly conducting the first passage, and the check valve conducting the second passage need not occur to satisfy the claims. As such, the Examiner need not present evidence establishing the obviousness of the conditional "in case” step of claims 10 and 16, because it is not required to be performed under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “a first position and a second position” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 9 from which claim 10 depends, already discloses “a first position and a second position”. Therefore, it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “a first position and a second position” of claim 10 is referencing the previously disclosed “a first position and a second position” of claim 9 or additional positions. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “a refrigerator compartment … the refrigeration compartment” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing because it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “refrigerator” and “refrigeration” compartments are referring to the same structure or entirely different structures.
More clarity is requested. For examination purposes, the phrase “a refrigerator compartment” will be interpreted as -- a refrigeration compartment --
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “at least one water-use component” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 11 from which claim 12 depends already discloses “a water-use component”. Therefore, it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “at least one water-use component” of claim 12 is referencing the previously disclosed “water-use component” of claim 11 or an additional “water-use component”. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “a first position and a second position” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 15 from which claim 16 depends, already discloses “a first position and a second position”. Therefore, it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “a first position and a second position” of claim 10 is referencing the previously disclosed “a first position and a second position” of claim 9 or additional positions. More clarity is requested.
Claims 5, 13-14, and 17-20 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren et al. (CN211513640U, herein after referred to as Ren).
Regarding claim 1, Ren teaches a water purification assembly (the disclosed “filter element assembly” in paragraph [35] and Fig. 1), comprising: an outer shell assembly (outer cylinder 510 and outer adapter 520 Fig. 4), wherein an accommodation chamber (corresponds to the inner cavities of outer cylinder 510 and adapter 520 Fig. 3) is provided inside the outer shell assembly Fig. 3); a filter element (inner cylinder 310 Fig. 3), provided inside the accommodation chamber (Fig. 3); an inner shell (middle cylinder 440 Fig. 3), provided between the outer shell assembly and the filter element (Fig. 3), wherein a first flow channel (water inlet channel 620 Fig. 1) is provided between the inner shell and the outer shell assembly (Fig. 1), and a second flow channel (first water outlet channel 630 Fig. 1) is provided between the inner shell and the filter element (Fig. 1); and a support member (first filter element 100 Figs. 1 and 3), adapted to support the filter element (Figs. 1 and 3), wherein a water storage chamber (corresponds to the inner cavity of first filter element 100 Fig. 1) is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer shell assembly (Fig. 1), and the water storage chamber is communicated with the first flow channel and the second flow channel respectively (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Ren teaches wherein the outer shell assembly comprises a first outer shell (outer cylinder 510 Fig. 4) and a second outer shell (outer adapter 520 Fig. 4), and the first outer shell is connected to and at least partially seals the second outer shell (Fig. 3 and paragraph [50]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Zheng et al. (CN108939658A, herein after referred to as Zheng).
Regarding claim 2, Ren teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the support member is provided at an inner wall surface of the outer shell assembly, and the water storage chamber is formed inside the support member; or the support member is provided at an inner wall surface of the inner shell, and the water storage chamber is composed of the support member and at least one of the inner shell and the outer shell assembly”.
However, Zheng teaches wherein a support member (second filter cartridge 22 Fig. 26 and septum 3 Fig. 36 correspond to the support member of Zheng) is provided at an inner wall surface of an outer shell assembly (connecting ribs 122 Figs. 6 and 17 where filter casing 1 corresponds to the outer shell assembly of Ren), and a water storage chamber (second filter chamber 220 Fig. 4 corresponds to the water storage chamber of Ren) is formed inside the support member (Fig. 4) to provide a compact and simple structure (paragraph 118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ren to include “wherein the support member is provided at an inner wall surface of the outer shell assembly, and the water storage chamber is formed inside the support member; or the support member is provided at an inner wall surface of the inner shell, and the water storage chamber is composed of the support member and at least one of the inner shell and the outer shell assembly” in view of the teachings of Zheng to provide a compact and simple structure.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach wherein the support member comprises a support member body (first cylinder 221 Fig. 26 of Zheng) and a limit block (bottom cover 8 Fig. 2 of Zheng), wherein the limit block is provided at an outer side wall of the support member body (bottom portion of the outer side walls of first cylinder 221 Fig. 6 of Zheng) and is suitable for abutting against the inner wall surface of the outer shell assembly (Fig. 6 of Zheng), wherein the support member body has a first end (bottom end of second filter cartridge 22 Fig. 26 of Zheng) and a second end (top end of second filter cartridge 22 coupled to septum 3 Fig. 6 of Zheng), the first end is formed with a first water inlet (bottom opening of second filter cartridge 22 Fig. 4 of Zheng), the first water inlet is communicated with the first flow channel (Fig. 4 of Zheng where gap 10a corresponds to the first flow channel of Ren), and the second end is adapted to abut against the filter element (Fig. 6 of Zheng where first filter medium 4 corresponds to the filter element of Ren).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach wherein a first block member (septum 3 Fig. 6 of Zheng) is provided at the second end of the support member body (Fig. 6 of Zheng), and the first block member abuts against an end portion of the filter element (Fig. 6 of Zheng).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein a block groove (partition body 31 and connection portion 32 Fig. 36 of Zheng) is provided at a side of the first block member (Fig. 36 of Zheng) facing the filter element (Fig. 6 and paragraph [147] of Zheng), and the filter element is embedded in the block groove (Fig. 6 and paragraph [147]); and a protrusion (positioning ribs 312 Figs. 6 and 36 of Zheng) is provided inside the block groove (Fig. 36 of Zheng), a third flow channel (second tube water passage 60b Fig. 6 of Zheng) is provided inside the filter element (Fig. 6 of Zheng), and the protrusion extends into the third flow channel (Fig. 5 of Zheng).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the support member body and the first block member are integrally formed”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “wherein the support member body and the first block member are integrally formed” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing a support for the filter element. Since it has been held that making parts integral has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 V. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of providing a support for the filter element.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein a limit portion (ribs 224 Fig. 6 of Zheng) is provided at the outer side wall of the support member body (Figs. 6 and 26 of Zheng), and the inner shell abuts against the limit portion (Fig. 6 of Zheng); and a first water outlet (outlet of first filter element 100 Figs. 1 and 4 of Ren) is communicated with the second flow channel (Fig. 1 of Ren).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the first water outlet is provided between the limit portion and the second end of the support member body”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the first water outlet is provided between the limit portion and the second end of the support member body” does anything more than produce the predictable result of allowing the water leaving the storage chamber to bypass the filter element. Since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of allowing the water leaving the storage chamber to bypass the filter element.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Kim et al. (US 20100326114 A1, herein after referred to as Kim).
Regarding claim 8, Ren teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein at least one of the first flow channel and the second flow channel is provided with a flow guide portion, and the flow guide portion extends along a central axis of the inner shell to form a spiral structure”.
However, Kim teaches wherein a first flow channel (the channel formed by the plurality of purification chambers 150 Fig. 7B corresponds to the first flow channel of Ren) is provided with a flow guide portion (flow channel defining member 140 Figs. 4 and 7B), and the flow guide portion extends along a central axis of an inner shell (Figs. 4 and 7B where transparent tube 120 corresponds to the inner shell of Ren) to form a spiral structure (Figs. 4 and 7B) to increase a dwell time of the water introduced into the housing (paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ren to include “wherein at least one of the first flow channel and the second flow channel is provided with a flow guide portion, and the flow guide portion extends along a central axis of the inner shell to form a spiral structure” in view of the teachings of Kim to increase a dwell time of the water introduced into the housing.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Lim et al. (KR20100102048A, herein after referred to as Lim).
Regarding claim 9, and due to indefiniteness, Ren teaches further comprising: a socket assembly (waterway plate 800 Fig. 1), wherein the socket assembly comprises: a socket main body (body of waterway plate 800 Fig. 1), provided with a main water inlet (the inlet of raw water channel 610 Fig. 1) and a main water outlet (the outlet of pure water channel 660 Fig. 1), wherein a bypass chamber (water purification channel 640 Fig. 1), a dispensing chamber (raw water channel 610 Fig. 1) and an operation chamber (the lower cavity portion of waterway plate 800 that accommodates second water outlet channel 650 Fig. 1) are provided inside the socket main body (Fig. 1), the bypass chamber is communicated with the operation chamber through the dispensing chamber (Fig. 1), and the operation chamber is detachably connected to the water purification assembly (Figs. 1 and 3).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a valve core assembly, movably provided inside the dispensing chamber and adapted to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein in case that the valve core assembly is at the first position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber; or in case that the valve core assembly is at the second position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber”.
However, and due to indefiniteness, Lim teaches a valve core assembly (valve unit 160 Fig. 5), movably provided inside a dispensing chamber (paragraph [0076] and Fig. 5 where the inner cavity of valve assembly 140 corresponds to the dispensing chamber of Ren) and adapted to switch between a first position (corresponds to when valve unit 160 is moved to the left as described in paragraph [0087] and Fig. 5) and a second position (corresponds to when valve unit 160 is moved to the right when filter assembly 130 is installed paragraph [0088] and Figs. 4-5), wherein in case that the valve core assembly is at the first position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and an operation chamber (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0087] where the inner cavity of valve housing 150 corresponds to the operation chamber of Ren), and a main water inlet (inlet passage 151 Fig. 5 corresponds to the main water inlet of Ren) is communicated with a main water outlet (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0088] where outlet passage 153 corresponds to the main water outlet of Ren) through the dispensing chamber and a bypass chamber (paragraph [0087] and Fig. 5 where bypass flow path A corresponds to the bypass chamber of Ren); or in case that the valve core assembly is at the second position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber (paragraph [0088]), and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber (paragraph [0088]) to prevent water leakage to the outside when the filter assembly is detached (paragraph [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a valve core assembly, movably provided inside the dispensing chamber and adapted to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein in case that the valve core assembly is at the first position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber; or in case that the valve core assembly is at the second position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber” in view of the teachings of Lim to prevent water leakage to the outside when the filter assembly is detached.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren and Lim as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN111115888A, herein after referred to as Chen).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising: a water-stop assembly, wherein a water-stop chamber is provided inside the outer shell assembly, the water-stop assembly is movably provided at the water-stop chamber, and the water-stop assembly is adapted to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein a first passage is provided outside the water-stop assembly, a second passage is provided inside the water-stop assembly, and a check valve is provided inside the second passage, wherein in case that the water-stop assembly is at the first position, the water-stop assembly blocks the first passage, and the check valve blocks the second passage; or in case that the water-stop assembly is at the second position, the water-stop assembly conducts the first passage, and the check valve conducts the second passage”.
However, Chen teaches further comprising: a water-stop assembly (second adaptor 150 Fig. 9), wherein a water-stop chamber (corresponds to the inner cavity of cover body 120 Figs. 1 and 4) is provided inside an outer shell assembly (Fig. 1 where cover body 120 and housing 110 Fig. 1 correspond to the outer shell assembly of Ren), the water-stop assembly is movably provided at the water-stop chamber (paragraph [80]), and the water-stop assembly is adapted to switch between a first position (the “compressed state” disclosed in paragraph [80] and Fig. 1) and a second position (the “closed” state disclosed in paragraph [80] and Fig. 2), wherein a first passage (the water channel formed between outer shell 152 and inner cylinder 123 Figs. 3-4) is provided outside the water-stop assembly (Figs. 3-4), a second passage (first adaptor 140 Figs. 3-4) is provided inside the water-stop assembly (Figs. 3-4), and a check valve (inner housing 151 Fig. 4 and paragraph [69]) is provided inside the second passage (Figs. 2-3), wherein in case that the water-stop assembly is at the first position (Fig. 2), the water-stop assembly blocks the first passage (paragraph [80] and Fig. 2), and the check valve blocks the second passage (paragraph [80] and Fig. 2); or in case that the water-stop assembly is at the second position (Fig. 3), the water-stop assembly conducts the first passage (paragraph [80] and Fig. 3), and the check valve conducts the second passage (paragraph [80] and Fig. 3) to close both the water inlet and outlet when the filter element is removed (paragraph [80]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising: a water-stop assembly, wherein a water-stop chamber is provided inside the outer shell assembly, the water-stop assembly is movably provided at the water-stop chamber, and the water-stop assembly is adapted to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein a first passage is provided outside the water-stop assembly, a second passage is provided inside the water-stop assembly, and a check valve is provided inside the second passage, wherein in case that the water-stop assembly is at the first position, the water-stop assembly blocks the first passage, and the check valve blocks the second passage; or in case that the water-stop assembly is at the second position, the water-stop assembly conducts the first passage, and the check valve conducts the second passage” in view of the teachings of Chen to close both the water inlet and outlet when the filter element is removed.
Claims 11-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 20100050681 A1, herein after referred to as Ryu), in view of Ren, and in further view of Tae (US 20220381507 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Ryu teaches a refrigeration device (the refrigerator illustrated in Fig. 2), comprising a refrigeration compartment (cooling chamber 20 and freezing chamber 30 Fig. 2) and a water-use component (first icemaker 100, second icemaker 200, and dispenser device 50 Fig. 9), and a water purification assembly (filter 60 Fig. 9 and paragraph [0126]), and the water-use component is connected to a water outlet of the water purification assembly (corresponds to the outlet of filter 60 Fig. 9).
Ryu teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the water purification assembly comprising: an outer shell assembly, wherein an accommodation chamber is provided inside the outer shell assembly; a filter element, provided inside the accommodation chamber; an inner shell, provided between the outer shell assembly and the filter element, wherein a first flow channel is provided between the inner shell and the outer shell assembly, and a second flow channel is provided between the inner shell and the filter element; and a support member, adapted to support the filter element, wherein a water storage chamber is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer shell assembly, and the water storage chamber is communicated with the first flow channel and the second flow channel respectively”.
However, Ren teaches a water purification assembly (the disclosed “filter element assembly” in paragraph [35] and Fig. 1 corresponds to the water purification assembly of Ryu) comprising: an outer shell assembly (outer cylinder 510 and outer adapter 520 Fig. 4), wherein an accommodation chamber (corresponds to the inner cavity of outer cylinder 510 Fig. 3) is provided inside the outer shell assembly (Fig. 3); a filter element (inner cylinder 310 Fig. 3), provided inside the accommodation chamber (Fig. 3); an inner shell (middle cylinder 440 Fig. 3), provided between the outer shell assembly and the filter element (Fig. 3), wherein a first flow channel (water inlet channel 620 Fig. 1) is provided between the inner shell and the outer shell assembly (Fig. 1), and a second flow channel (first water outlet channel 630 Fig. 1) is provided between the inner shell and the filter element (Fig. 1); and a support member (first filter element 100 Figs. 1 and 3), adapted to support the filter element (Figs. 1 and 3), wherein a water storage chamber (corresponds to the inner cavity of first filter element 100 Fig. 1) is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer shell assembly (Fig. 1), and the water storage chamber is communicated with the first flow channel and the second flow channel respectively (Fig. 1) to provide a smaller water purifier (paragraph [05]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ryu to include “the water purification assembly comprising: an outer shell assembly, wherein an accommodation chamber is provided inside the outer shell assembly; a filter element, provided inside the accommodation chamber; an inner shell, provided between the outer shell assembly and the filter element, wherein a first flow channel is provided between the inner shell and the outer shell assembly, and a second flow channel is provided between the inner shell and the filter element; and a support member, adapted to support the filter element, wherein a water storage chamber is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer shell assembly, and the water storage chamber is communicated with the first flow channel and the second flow channel respectively” in view of the teachings of Ren to provide a smaller water purifier.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the water purification assembly is provided inside the refrigeration compartment”.
However, Tae teaches wherein a water purification assembly (filter 15 Fig. 2 corresponds to the water purification assembly of Ryu) is provided inside a refrigeration compartment (Fig. 2 and paragraph [0059] where refrigerating chamber 12 corresponds to the refrigeration compartment of Ryu) to allow for a user to easily replace the filter assembly while minimizing interference with the food stored in the refrigeration chamber (paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the water purification assembly is provided inside the refrigeration compartment” in view of the teachings of Tae to allow for a user to easily replace the filter assembly while minimizing interference with the food stored in the refrigeration chamber.
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach further comprising a valve assembly (valve unit 85 Fig. 9 of Ryu), wherein a liquid inlet of the valve assembly (corresponds to the end of valve unit 85 connected to filter 60 Fig. 9 of Ryu) is communicated with the water outlet of the water purification assembly (Fig. 9 of Ryu), and a liquid outlet of the valve assembly (corresponds to the end of valve unit 85 connected to water channels 85a and 85b Fig. 9 of Ryu) is communicated with at least one water-use component (Fig. 9 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach wherein the water-use component comprises a first ice maker (first icemaker 100 Fig. 2 of Ryu), a second ice maker (second icemaker 200 Fig. 2 of Ryu) and a dispenser (dispenser device 50 Fig. 9 of Ryu); and the refrigeration compartment comprises a refrigerator compartment (cooling chamber 20 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0047] of Ryu) and a freezer compartment (freezing chamber 30 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0047] of Ryu), the first ice maker is provided at the refrigerator compartment (Fig. 2 of Ryu), the second icemaker is provided at the freezer compartment (Fig. 2 of Ryu), and the dispenser is provided at a door body of the refrigeration device (Fig. 3 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach wherein the outer shell assembly comprises a first outer shell (outer cylinder 510 Fig. 4 of Ren) and a second outer shell (outer adapter 520 Fig. 4 of Ren), and the first outer shell is connected to and at least partially seals the second outer shell (Fig. 3 and paragraph [50] of Ren).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, Ren, and Tae as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein at least one of the first flow channel and the second flow channel is provided with a flow guide portion, and the flow guide portion extends along a central axis of the inner shell to form a spiral structure”.
However, Kim teaches wherein a first flow channel (the channel formed by the plurality of purification chambers 150 Fig. 7B corresponds to the first flow channel of Ren) is provided with a flow guide portion (flow channel defining member 140 Figs. 4 and 7B), and the flow guide portion extends along a central axis of an inner shell (Figs. 4 and 7B where transparent tube 120 corresponds to the inner shell of Ren) to form a spiral structure (Figs. 4 and 7B) to increase a dwell time of the water introduced into the housing (paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein at least one of the first flow channel and the second flow channel is provided with a flow guide portion, and the flow guide portion extends along a central axis of the inner shell to form a spiral structure” in view of the teachings of Kim to increase a dwell time of the water introduced into the housing.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, Ren, and Tae as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lim.
Regarding claim 15, and due to indefiniteness, the combined teachings teach further comprising: a socket assembly (waterway plate 800 Fig. 1 of Ren), wherein the socket assembly comprises: a socket main body (body of waterway plate 800 Fig. 1 of Ren), provided with a main water inlet (the inlet of raw water channel 610 Fig. 1 of Ren) and a main water outlet (the outlet of pure water channel 660 Fig. 1 of Ren), wherein a bypass chamber (water purification channel 640 Fig. 1 of Ren), a dispensing chamber (raw water channel 610 Fig. 1 of Ren) and an operation chamber (the lower cavity portion of waterway plate 800 that accommodates second water outlet channel 650 Fig. 1 of Ren) are provided inside the socket main body (Fig. 1 of Ren), the bypass chamber is communicated with the operation chamber through the dispensing chamber (Fig. 1 of Ren), and the operation chamber is detachably connected to the water purification assembly (Figs. 1 and 3 of Ren).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a valve core assembly, movably provided inside the dispensing chamber and adapted to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein in case that the valve core assembly is at the first position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber; or in case that the valve core assembly is at the second position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber”.
However, and due to indefiniteness, Lim teaches a valve core assembly (valve unit 160 Fig. 5), movably provided inside a dispensing chamber (paragraph [0076] and Fig. 5 where the inner cavity of valve assembly 140 corresponds to the dispensing chamber of Ren) and adapted to switch between a first position (corresponds to when valve unit 160 is moved to the left as described in paragraph [0087] and Fig. 5) and a second position (corresponds to when valve unit 160 is moved to the right when filter assembly 130 is installed paragraph [0088] and Figs. 4-5), wherein in case that the valve core assembly is at the first position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and an operation chamber (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0087] where the inner cavity of valve housing 150 corresponds to the operation chamber of Ren), and a main water inlet (inlet passage 151 Fig. 5 corresponds to the main water inlet of Ren) is communicated with a main water outlet (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0088] where outlet passage 153 corresponds to the main water outlet of Ren) through the dispensing chamber and a bypass chamber (paragraph [0087] and Fig. 5 where bypass flow path A corresponds to the bypass chamber of Ren); or in case that the valve core assembly is at the second position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber (paragraph [0088]), and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber (paragraph [0088]) to prevent water leakage to the outside when the filter assembly is detached (paragraph [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a valve core assembly, movably provided inside the dispensing chamber and adapted to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein in case that the valve core assembly is at the first position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber; or in case that the valve core assembly is at the second position, the valve core assembly blocks the dispensing chamber and the bypass chamber, and the main water inlet is communicated with the main water outlet through the dispensing chamber and the operation chamber” in view of the teachings of Lim to prevent water leakage to the outside when the filter assembly is detached.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, Ren, Tae, and Lim as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising: a water-stop assembly, wherein a water-stop chamber is provided inside the outer shell assembly, the water-stop assembly is movably provided at the water-stop chamber, and the water-stop assembly is adapted to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein a first passage is provided outside the water-stop assembly, a second passage is provided inside the water-stop assembly, and a check valve is provided inside the second passage, wherein in case that the water-stop assembly is at the first position, the water-stop assembly blocks the first passage, and the check valve blocks the second passage; or in case that the water-stop assembly is at the second position, the water-stop assembly conducts the first passage, and the check valve conducts the second passage”.
However, Chen teaches further comprising: a water-stop assembly (second adaptor 150 Fig. 9), wherein a water-stop chamber (corresponds to the inner cavity of cover body 120 Figs. 1 and 4) is provided inside an outer shell assembly (Fig. 1 where cover body 120 and housing 110 Fig. 1 correspond to the outer shell assembly of Ren), the water-stop assembly is movably provided at the water-stop chamber (paragraph [80]), and the water-stop assembly is adapted to switch between a first position (the “compressed state” disclosed in paragraph [80] and Fig. 1) and a second position (the “closed” state disclosed in paragraph [80] and Fig. 2), wherein a first passage (the water channel formed between outer shell 152 and inner cylinder 123 Figs. 3-4) is provided outside the water-stop assembly (Figs. 3-4), a second passage (first adaptor 140 Figs. 3-4) is provided inside the water-stop assembly (Figs. 3-4), and a check valve (inner housing 151 Fig. 4 and paragraph [69]) is provided inside the second passage (Figs. 2-3), wherein in case that the water-stop assembly is at the first position (Fig. 2), the water-stop assembly blocks the first passage (paragraph [80] and Fig. 2), and the check valve blocks the second passage (paragraph [80] and Fig. 2); or in case that the water-stop assembly is at the second position (Fig. 3), the water-stop assembly conducts the first passage (paragraph [80] and Fig. 3), and the check valve conducts the second passage (paragraph [80] and Fig. 3) to close both the water inlet and outlet when the filter element is removed (paragraph [80]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising: a water-stop assembly, wherein a water-stop chamber is provided inside the outer shell assembly, the water-stop assembly is movably provided at the water-stop chamber, and the water-stop assembly is adapted to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein a first passage is provided outside the water-stop assembly, a second passage is provided inside the water-stop assembly, and a check valve is provided inside the second passage, wherein in case that the water-stop assembly is at the first position, the water-stop assembly blocks the first passage, and the check valve blocks the second passage; or in case that the water-stop assembly is at the second position, the water-stop assembly conducts the first passage, and the check valve conducts the second passage” in view of the teachings of Chen to close both the water inlet and outlet when the filter element is removed.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, Ren, and Tae as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Zheng.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the support member is provided at an inner wall surface of the outer shell assembly, and the water storage chamber is formed inside the support member; or the support member is provided at an inner wall surface of the inner shell, and the water storage chamber is composed of the support member and at least one of the inner shell and the outer shell assembly”.
However, Zheng teaches wherein a support member (second filter cartridge 22 Fig. 26 and septum 3 Fig. 36 correspond to the support member of Zheng) is provided at an inner wall surface of an outer shell assembly (connecting ribs 122 Figs. 6 and 17 where filter casing 1 corresponds to the outer shell assembly of Ren), and a water storage chamber (second filter chamber 220 Fig. 4 corresponds to the water storage chamber of Ren) is formed inside the support member (Fig. 4) to provide a compact and simple structure (paragraph 118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the support member is provided at an inner wall surface of the outer shell assembly, and the water storage chamber is formed inside the support member; or the support member is provided at an inner wall surface of the inner shell, and the water storage chamber is composed of the support member and at least one of the inner shell and the outer shell assembly” in view of the teachings of Zheng to provide a compact and simple structure.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach wherein the support member comprises a support member body (first cylinder 221 Fig. 26 of Zheng) and a limit block (bottom cover 8 Fig. 2 of Zheng), wherein the limit block is provided at an outer side wall of the support member body (bottom portion of the outer side walls of first cylinder 221 Fig. 6 of Zheng) and is suitable for abutting against the inner wall surface of the outer shell assembly (Fig. 6 of Zheng), wherein the support member body has a first end (bottom end of second filter cartridge 22 Fig. 26 of Zheng) and a second end (top end of second filter cartridge 22 coupled to septum 3 Fig. 6 of Zheng), the first end is formed with a first water inlet (bottom opening of second filter cartridge 22 Fig. 4 of Zheng), the first water inlet is communicated with the first flow channel (Fig. 4 of Zheng where gap 10a corresponds to the first flow channel of Ren), and the second end is adapted to abut against the filter element (Fig. 6 of Zheng where first filter medium 4 corresponds to the filter element of Ren).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach wherein a first block member (septum 3 Fig. 6 of Zheng) is provided at the second end of the support member body (Fig. 6 of Zheng), and the first block member abuts against an end portion of the filter element (Fig. 6 of Zheng).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 9, and 14 of copending Application No. 18948340 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, the reference application (18948340) teaches a water purification assembly (line 2 of claim 1), comprising: an outer shell assembly (outer housing assembly in line 3 of claim 5), wherein an accommodation chamber (accommodation cavity in line 3 of claim 5) is provided inside the outer shell assembly (line 3 of claim 5); a filter element (line 4 of claim 5), provided inside the accommodation chamber (line 4 of claim 5); an inner shell (inner housing in line 5 of claim 5), provided between the outer shell assembly and the filter element (line 5 of claim 5), wherein a first flow channel (first flow duct in line 6 of claim 5) is provided between the inner shell and the outer shell assembly (line 6 of claim 5), and a second flow channel (second flow duct in line 8 of claim 5) is provided between the inner shell and the filter element (in lines 8-9 of claim 5); and a support member (line 12 of claim 5), adapted to support the filter element (line 12 of claim 5), wherein a water storage chamber (water storage cavity in line 12 of claim 5) is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer shell assembly (line 13 of claim 5), and the water storage chamber is communicated with the first flow channel and the second flow channel respectively (lines 13-14 of claim 5).
Regarding claim 11, the reference application (18948340) teaches a refrigeration device (line 1 of claim 9), comprising a refrigerator compartment (line 1 of claim 9) and a water-use component (water-usage device in lines 1-2 of claim 9), and a water purification assembly (line 3 of claim 9), the water purification assembly comprising: an outer shell assembly (outer housing assembly in line 3 of claim 14), wherein an accommodation chamber (line 3 of claim 14) is provided inside the outer shell assembly (line 3 of claim 14); a filter element (line 4 of claim 14), provided inside the accommodation chamber (line 4 of claim 14); an inner shell (inner housing in line 5 of claim 14), provided between the outer shell assembly and the filter element (line 5 of claim 14), wherein a first flow channel (line 6 of claim 14) is provided between the inner shell and the outer shell assembly (line 6 of claim 14), and a second flow channel (second flow duct in line 8 of claim 14) is provided between the inner shell and the filter element (lines 8-9 of claim 14); and a support member (line 12 of claim 14), adapted to support the filter element (line 12 of claim 14), wherein a water storage chamber (water storage cavity in line 12 of claim 14) is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer shell assembly (line 13 of claim 14), and the water storage chamber is communicated with the first flow channel and the second flow channel respectively (lines 14-15 of claim 14), wherein the water purification assembly is provided inside the refrigeration compartment (line 9 of claim 9), and the water-use component is connected to a water outlet of the water purification assembly (main water outlet of the water purification assembly in lines 10-12 of claim 9).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763