DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 05/16/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202210531479.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2024, 12/10/2024, 10/01/2025, and 04/20/2026 were filed after the filing date of this application on 11/14/2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the bypass cavity communicates with the work cavity through the dispense cavity” in claims 7 and 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“support member” in claims 5 and 14.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“support member” corresponds to a cylindrical structure as described in paragraph [0070] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the claims recite “in the first position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the work cavity, and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity” which renders the claims indefinite. Here, the term to “turn off” is understood as to shut off, therefore as recited, the claim is confusing because it is not entirely clear how the “dispense cavity” can be shut off and still allow communication between the main water inlet and the main water outlet. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claims 7 and 16: the claims recite “in the second position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity, and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the work cavity” which renders the claims indefinite. Here, the term to “turn off” is understood as to shut off, therefore as recited, the claim is confusing because it is not entirely clear how the “dispense cavity” can be shut off and still allow communication between the main water inlet and the main water outlet. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claims 7 and 16: the claims recite “the bypass cavity communicates with the work cavity through the dispense cavity” which renders the claim indefinite. Referring to paragraphs [00100] to [00101] and Figs. 5-6, it is unclear how the bypass cavity and the work cavity communicate since either the water is unfiltered when the work cavity is closed (meaning the bypass cavity is in use) or the water is filtered when the work cavity is opened (meaning the bypass cavity is not in use). More clarity is requested.
Claim 9 recites the limitations “…a water-usage device …” and “…a water-usage device …” which render the claim indefinite because the claim as written leave the structure ambiguous in nature as it become difficult to tell if the claim is referencing a previously claimed element or disclosing an element in addition to the previously claimed element.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “at least one of the water-usage devices” which renders the claim indefinite. The claim as recited is confusing because it is not entirely clear if Applicant is disclosing a plurality of “water-usage devices” or a single “water-usage device” that includes a first ice maker, a second ice maker and a dispenser. More clarity is requested.
For examination purposes, the phrase “at least one of the water-usage devices” will be interpreted as -- the water-usage device --
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “a first ice maker … a second ice maker” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 12 from which claim 13 depends already discloses “an ice maker unit”. Therefore, it is not entirely clear if the disclosed first and second ice makers of claim 13 are referencing the previously disclosed ice maker of claim 13 or if they are referring to additional ice makers. More clarity is requested.
For examination purposes, the disclosed first and second ice makers of claim 13 will be interpreted as being components of the ice maker disclosed in claim 12.
Claims 10-12, 14-15, and 17 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (US 20100050681 A1, herein after referred to as Ryu).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu teaches a water supply system (the system illustrated in Fig. 9) for a refrigeration device (the refrigerator illustrated in Fig. 2), comprising: a water purification assembly (filter 60 Fig. 9 and paragraph [0126]); a first water path (corresponds to the line connecting the water supply source to filter 60 as shown in Fig. 9) for connecting an external water source (Fig. 9) to a water inflow end of the water purification assembly (corresponds to the end of filter 60 that is connected to the water supply source as shown in Fig. 9); and a second water path (corresponds to the line connecting filter 60 to valve unit 85 as shown in Fig. 9) connected to a water outflow end of the water purification assembly (corresponds to the end of filter 60 that is connected to valve unit 85 as shown in Fig. 9) to selectively supply water (paragraph [0138]) from the water purification assembly to a water-usage device (first icemaker 100, second icemaker 200, and dispenser device 50 Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 2, Ryu teaches further comprising: a valve component (valve unit 85 Fig. 9), wherein a liquid inlet of the valve component (corresponds to the end of valve unit 85 connected to filter 60 Fig. 9) communicates with the water outflow end of the water purification assembly (Fig. 9), and a liquid outlet of the valve component (corresponds to the end of valve unit 85 connected to water channels 85a and 85bFig. 9) is connected to the second water path (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu teaches wherein the second water path comprises a first water supply pipe assembly (water channel 85a Fig. 9) and a second water supply pipe (water channel 85b Fig. 9), where the first water supply pipe assembly is used for connecting the valve component to an ice maker unit of the water-usage device (first icemaker 100 and second icemaker 200 Fig. 9), and the second water supply pipe is used for connecting the valve component to a dispenser of the water-usage device (dispenser device 50 Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Ryu teaches wherein the ice maker unit comprises a first ice maker (first icemaker 100 Fig. 2) provided at a refrigeration compartment (cooling chamber 20 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0047]) and a second ice maker (second icemaker 200 Fig. 2) provided at a freezer compartment (freezing chamber 30 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0047]); and the first water supply pipe assembly comprises a first water supply sub-pipe (corresponds to the line connecting first icemaker 100 to valve unit 85 Fig. 9) and a second water supply sub-pipe (corresponds to the line connecting second icemaker 200 to valve unit 85 Fig. 9), the first water supply sub-pipe is used for connecting the valve component to the first ice maker (Fig. 9), and the second water supply sub-pipe is used for connecting the valve component to the second ice maker (Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Ren et al. (CN211513640U, herein after referred to as Ren).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the water purification assembly comprises: an outer housing assembly, provided with an accommodation cavity; a filter element, provided inside the accommodation cavity; an inner housing, provided between the outer housing assembly and the filter element, where a first flow duct is provided between the inner housing and the outer housing assembly, the first flow duct communicates with a main water inlet, and the main water inlet communicates with the first water path; a second flow duct is provided between the inner housing and the filter element; a third flow duct is provided inside the filter element, the third flow duct communicates with a main water outlet, and the main water outlet communicates with the second water path; and a support member, for supporting the filter element, where a water storage cavity is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer housing assembly, and the water storage cavity communicates with the first flow duct and the second flow duct respectively”.
However, Ren teaches wherein a water purification assembly (the disclosed “filter element assembly” in paragraph [35] and Fig. 1 corresponds to the water purification assembly of Ryu) comprises: an outer housing assembly (outer cylinder 510 Fig. 3), provided with an accommodation cavity (corresponds to the inner cavity of outer cylinder 510 Fig. 3); a filter element (inner cylinder 310 Fig. 3), provided inside the accommodation cavity (Fig. 3); an inner housing (middle cylinder 440 Fig. 3), provided between the outer housing assembly and the filter element (Fig. 3), where a first flow duct (water inlet channel 620 Fig. 1) is provided between the inner housing and the outer housing assembly (Fig. 1), the first flow duct communicates with a main water inlet (raw water channel 610 Fig. 1), and the main water inlet communicates with a first water path (paragraph [24] where the line that would connect the “external water supply device” to the filter element assembly corresponds to the first water path of Ryu); a second flow duct (first water outlet channel 630 Fig. 1) is provided between the inner housing and the filter element (Fig. 1); a third flow duct (corresponds to the channel provided inside inner cylinder 310 Fig. 1) is provided inside the filter element (Fig. 1), the third flow duct communicates with a main water outlet (pure water channel 660 Fig. 1), and the main water outlet communicates with a second water path (paragraph [24] where the disclosed “water outlet end of the pure water channel” corresponds to the second water path of Ryu); and a support member (first filter element 100 Figs. 1 and 3), for supporting the filter element (Figs. 1 and 3), where a water storage cavity (corresponds to the inner cavity of first filter element 100 Fig. 1) is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer housing assembly (Fig. 1), and the water storage cavity communicates with the first flow duct and the second flow duct respectively (Fig. 1) to provide a smaller water purifier (paragraph [05]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ryu to include “wherein the water purification assembly comprises: an outer housing assembly, provided with an accommodation cavity; a filter element, provided inside the accommodation cavity; an inner housing, provided between the outer housing assembly and the filter element, where a first flow duct is provided between the inner housing and the outer housing assembly, the first flow duct communicates with a main water inlet, and the main water inlet communicates with the first water path; a second flow duct is provided between the inner housing and the filter element; a third flow duct is provided inside the filter element, the third flow duct communicates with a main water outlet, and the main water outlet communicates with the second water path; and a support member, for supporting the filter element, where a water storage cavity is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer housing assembly, and the water storage cavity communicates with the first flow duct and the second flow duct respectively” in view of the teachings of Ren to provide a smaller water purifier.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu and Ren as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20100326114 A1, herein after referred to as Kim).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein at least one of the first flow duct and the second flow duct is provided with a guide portion, and the guide portion extends along a central axis of the inner housing to form a spiral structure”.
However, Kim teaches wherein a first flow duct (the channel formed by the plurality of purification chambers 150 Fig. 7B corresponds to the first flow duct of Ren) is provided with a guide portion (flow channel defining member 140 Figs. 4 and 7B), and the guide portion extends along a central axis of an inner housing (Figs. 4 and 7B where transparent tube 120 corresponds to the inner housing of Ren) to form a spiral structure (Figs. 4 and 7B) to increase a dwell time of the water introduced into the housing (paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein at least one of the first flow duct and the second flow duct is provided with a guide portion, and the guide portion extends along a central axis of the inner housing to form a spiral structure” in view of the teachings of Kim to increase a dwell time of the water introduced into the housing.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu and Ren as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (KR20100102048A, herein after referred to as Lim).
Regarding claim 7, and due to indefiniteness, the combined teachings teach further comprising an adapter seat assembly (water plate 800 Fig. 1 of Ryu), wherein the adapter seat assembly comprises: an adapter seat body (corresponds to the body of water plate 800 Fig. 1 of Ryu), where the main water inlet and the main water outlet are provided at the adapter seat body (Fig. 1 of Ryu), and the adapter seat body is further provided with a bypass cavity (corresponds to the cavity forming water purification channel 640 Fig. 1 of Ryu), a dispense cavity (corresponds to the cavity forming water channel 610 Fig. 1 of Ryu) and a work cavity (corresponds to the cavity forming pure water channel 660 Fig. 1 of Ryu), the bypass cavity communicates with the work cavity through the dispense cavity (Fig. 1 of Ryu), and the work cavity is used for being detachably connected to the water purification assembly (Figs. 1 and 3 of Ryu).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a valve core component, movably provided in the dispense cavity and being switchable between a first position and a second position; in the first position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the work cavity, and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity; and in the second position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity, and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the work cavity”.
However, and due to indefiniteness, Lim teaches a valve core component (valve unit 160 Fig. 5), movably provided in a dispense cavity (paragraph [0076] and Fig. 5 where the inner cavity of valve assembly 140 corresponds to the dispense cavity of Ryu) and being switchable between a first position (corresponds to when valve unit 160 is moved to the left as described in paragraph [0087] and Fig. 5) and a second position (corresponds to when valve unit 160 is moved to the right when filter assembly 130 is installed paragraph [0088] and Figs. 4-5); in the first position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and a work cavity (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0087] where the inner cavity of valve housing 150 corresponds to the work cavity of Ryu), and a main water inlet (inlet passage 151 Fig. 5 corresponds to the main water inlet of Ryu) communicates with a main water outlet (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0088] where outlet passage 153 corresponds to the main water outlet of Ryu) through the dispense cavity and a bypass cavity (paragraph [0087] and Fig. 5 where bypass flow path A corresponds to the bypass cavity of Ryu); and in the second position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity (paragraph [0088]), and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the work cavity (paragraph [0088]) to prevent water leakage to the outside when the filter assembly is detached (paragraph [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a valve core component, movably provided in the dispense cavity and being switchable between a first position and a second position; in the first position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the work cavity, and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity; and in the second position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity, and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the work cavity” in view of the teachings of Lim to prevent water leakage to the outside when the filter assembly is detached.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu and Ren as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN111115888A, herein after referred to as Chen).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a water stop component, wherein a water stop cavity is provided inside the outer housing assembly, and the water stop component is movably provided at the water stop cavity, and is switchable between a first position and a second position; a first duct is provided outside the water stop component, a second duct is provided inside the water stop component, and a check valve is provided at the second duct; in the first position, the water stop component turns off the first duct, and the check valve turns off the second duct; and in the second position, the water stop component turns on the first duct, and the check valve turns on the second duct”.
However, Chen teaches further comprising a water stop component (second adaptor 150 Fig. 9), wherein a water stop cavity (corresponds to the inner cavity of cover body 120 Figs. 1 and 4) is provided inside an outer housing assembly (Fig. 1 where cover body 120 and housing 110 Fig. 1), and the water stop component is movably provided at the water stop cavity (paragraph [80]), and is switchable between a first position (the “compressed state” disclosed in paragraph [80] and Fig. 1) and a second position (the “closed” state disclosed in paragraph [80] and Fig. 2); a first duct (the water channel formed between outer shell 152 and inner cylinder 123 Figs. 3-4) is provided outside the water stop component (Figs. 3-4), a second duct (first adaptor 140 Figs. 3-4) is provided inside the water stop component (Figs. 3-4), and a check valve (inner housing 151 Fig. 4 and paragraph [69]) is provided at the second duct (Figs. 2-3); in the first position, the water stop component turns off the first duct (paragraph [80] and Fig. 2), and the check valve turns off the second duct (paragraph [80] and Fig. 2); and in the second position, the water stop component turns on the first duct (paragraph [80] and Fig. 3), and the check valve turns on the second duct (paragraph [80] and Fig. 3) to close both the water inlet and outlet when the filter element is removed (paragraph [80]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a water stop component, wherein a water stop cavity is provided inside the outer housing assembly, and the water stop component is movably provided at the water stop cavity, and is switchable between a first position and a second position; a first duct is provided outside the water stop component, a second duct is provided inside the water stop component, and a check valve is provided at the second duct; in the first position, the water stop component turns off the first duct, and the check valve turns off the second duct; and in the second position, the water stop component turns on the first duct, and the check valve turns on the second duct” in view of the teachings of Chen to close both the water inlet and outlet when the filter element is removed.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Tae (US 20220381507 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu teaches a refrigeration device (the refrigerator illustrated in Fig. 2), comprising a refrigeration compartment (cooling chamber 20 and freezing chamber 30 Fig. 2), a water-usage device (first icemaker 100, second icemaker 200, and dispenser device 50 Fig. 9), and a water supply system (the system illustrated in Fig. 9) for the refrigeration device (Fig. 9), comprising: a water purification assembly (filter 60 Fig. 9 and paragraph [0126]); a first water path (corresponds to the line connecting the water supply source to filter 60 as shown in Fig. 9) for connecting an external water source (Fig. 9) to a water inflow end of the water purification assembly (corresponds to the end of filter 60 that is connected to the water supply source as shown in Fig. 9); and a second water path (corresponds to the line connecting filter 60 to valve unit 85 as shown in Fig. 9) connected to a water outflow end of the water purification assembly (corresponds to the end of filter 60 that is connected to valve unit 85 as shown in Fig. 9) to selectively supply water (paragraph [0138]) from the water purification assembly to the water-usage device (Fig. 9); a liquid inlet (corresponds to the end of valve unit 85 connected to filter 60 Fig. 9) of a valve component (valve unit 85 Fig. 9) communicates with a main water outlet of the water purification assembly (corresponds to the outlet of filter 60 Fig. 9), and a liquid outlet of the valve component (corresponds to the end of valve unit 85 connected to water channels 85a and 85bFig. 9) communicates with the water-usage device (Fig. 9).
Ryu teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the water purification assembly is provided at the refrigeration compartment”.
However, Tae teaches a water purification assembly (filter 15 Fig. 2 corresponds to the water purification assembly of Tae) is provided at a refrigeration compartment (Fig. 2 and paragraph [0059] where refrigerating chamber 12 corresponds to the refrigeration compartment of Ryu) to allow for a user to easily replace the filter assembly while minimizing interference with the food stored in the refrigeration chamber (paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ryu to include “the water purification assembly is provided at the refrigeration compartment” in view of the teachings of Tae to allow for a user to easily replace the filter assembly while minimizing interference with the food stored in the refrigeration chamber.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein the water-usage device comprises a first ice maker (first icemaker 100 Fig. 2 of Ryu), a second ice maker (second icemaker 200 Fig. 2 of Ryu) and a dispenser (dispenser device 50 Fig. 9 of Ryu); and the refrigeration compartment comprises a refrigerator compartment (cooling chamber 20 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0047]) of Ryu and a freezer compartment (freezing chamber 30 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0047] of Ryu), the first ice maker is provided at the refrigerator compartment (Fig. 2 of Ryu), the second icemaker is provided at the freezer compartment (Fig. 2 of Ryu), and the dispenser is provided at a door body of the refrigeration device (Fig. 3 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach wherein the water supply system for the refrigeration device further comprises: the valve component (Fig. 9 of Ryu), wherein the liquid inlet of the valve component communicates with the water outflow end of the water purification assembly (Fig. 9 of Ryu), and the liquid outlet of the valve component is connected to the second water path (Fig. 9 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein the second water path comprises a first water supply pipe assembly (water channel 85a Fig. 9 of Ryu) and a second water supply pipe (water channel 85b Fig. 9 of Ryu), where the first water supply pipe assembly is used for connecting the valve component to an ice maker unit of the water-usage device (first icemaker 100 and second icemaker 200 Fig. 9 of Ryu), and the second water supply pipe is used for connecting the valve component to a dispenser of the water-usage device (dispenser device 50 Fig. 9 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach a first water supply sub-pipe (corresponds to the line connecting first icemaker 100 to valve unit 85 Fig. 9 of Ryu) and a second water supply sub-pipe (corresponds to the line connecting second icemaker 200 to valve unit 85 Fig. 9 of Ryu), the first water supply sub-pipe is used for connecting the valve component to a first ice maker (icemaker 100 Fig. 9 of Ryu), and the second water supply sub-pipe is used for connecting the valve component to a second ice maker (second ice maker 200 Fig. 9 of Ryu).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu and Tae as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Ren.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the water purification assembly comprises: an outer housing assembly provided with an accommodation cavity; a filter element provided inside the accommodation cavity; an inner housing provided between the outer housing assembly and the filter element, where a first flow duct is provided between the inner housing and the outer housing assembly, the first flow duct communicates with a main water inlet, and the main water inlet communicates with the first water path; a second flow duct is provided between the inner housing and the filter element; a third flow duct is provided inside the filter element, the third flow duct communicates with the main water outlet, and the main water outlet communicates with the second water path; and a support member, for supporting the filter element, where a water storage cavity is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer housing assembly, and the water storage cavity communicates with the first flow duct and the second flow duct respectively”.
However, Ren teaches wherein a water purification assembly (the disclosed “filter element assembly” in paragraph [35] and Fig. 1 corresponds to the water purification assembly of Ryu) comprises: an outer housing assembly (outer cylinder 510 Fig. 3), provided with an accommodation cavity (corresponds to the inner cavity of outer cylinder 510 Fig. 3); a filter element (inner cylinder 310 Fig. 3), provided inside the accommodation cavity (Fig. 3); an inner housing (middle cylinder 440 Fig. 3), provided between the outer housing assembly and the filter element (Fig. 3), where a first flow duct (water inlet channel 620 Fig. 1) is provided between the inner housing and the outer housing assembly (Fig. 1), the first flow duct communicates with a main water inlet (raw water channel 610 Fig. 1), and the main water inlet communicates with a first water path (paragraph [24] where the line that would connect the “external water supply device” to the filter element assembly corresponds to the first water path of Ryu); a second flow duct (first water outlet channel 630 Fig. 1) is provided between the inner housing and the filter element (Fig. 1); a third flow duct (corresponds to the channel provided inside inner cylinder 310 Fig. 1) is provided inside the filter element (Fig. 1), the third flow duct communicates with a main water outlet (pure water channel 660 Fig. 1 corresponds to the main water outlet of Ryu), and the main water outlet communicates with a second water path (paragraph [24] where the disclosed “water outlet end of the pure water channel” corresponds to the second water path of Ryu); and a support member (first filter element 100 Figs. 1 and 3), for supporting the filter element (Figs. 1 and 3), where a water storage cavity (corresponds to the inner cavity of first filter element 100 Fig. 1) is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer housing assembly (Fig. 1), and the water storage cavity communicates with the first flow duct and the second flow duct respectively (Fig. 1) to provide a smaller water purifier (paragraph [05]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the water purification assembly comprises: an outer housing assembly provided with an accommodation cavity; a filter element provided inside the accommodation cavity; an inner housing provided between the outer housing assembly and the filter element, where a first flow duct is provided between the inner housing and the outer housing assembly, the first flow duct communicates with a main water inlet, and the main water inlet communicates with the first water path; a second flow duct is provided between the inner housing and the filter element; a third flow duct is provided inside the filter element, the third flow duct communicates with the main water outlet, and the main water outlet communicates with the second water path; and a support member, for supporting the filter element, where a water storage cavity is provided between the support member and a bottom wall of the outer housing assembly, and the water storage cavity communicates with the first flow duct and the second flow duct respectively” in view of the teachings of Ren to provide a smaller water purifier.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, Tae, and Ren as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein at least one of the first flow duct and the second flow duct is provided with a guide portion, and the guide portion extends along a central axis of the inner housing to form a spiral structure”.
However, Kim teaches wherein a first flow duct (the channel formed by the plurality of purification chambers 150 Fig. 7B corresponds to the first flow duct of Ren) is provided with a guide portion (flow channel defining member 140 Figs. 4 and 7B), and the guide portion extends along a central axis of an inner housing (Figs. 4 and 7B where transparent tube 120 corresponds to the inner housing of Ren) to form a spiral structure (Figs. 4 and 7B) to increase dwell time of water introduced into the housing (paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein at least one of the first flow duct and the second flow duct is provided with a guide portion, and the guide portion extends along a central axis of the inner housing to form a spiral structure” in view of the teachings of Kim to increase dwell time of water introduced into the housing.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, Tae, and Ren as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Lim.
Regarding claim 16, and due to indefiniteness, the combined teachings teach wherein the water supply system further comprises an adapter seat assembly (water plate 800 Fig. 1 of Ryu), wherein the adapter seat assembly comprises: an adapter seat body (corresponds to the body of water plate 800 Fig. 1 of Ryu), where the main water inlet and the main water outlet are provided at the adapter seat body (Fig. 1 of Ryu), and the adapter seat body is further provided with a bypass cavity (corresponds to the cavity forming water purification channel 640 Fig. 1 of Ryu), a dispense cavity (corresponds to the cavity forming water channel 610 Fig. 1 of Ryu) and a work cavity (corresponds to the cavity forming pure water channel 660 Fig. 1 of Ryu), the bypass cavity communicates with the work cavity through the dispense cavity (Fig. 1 of Ryu), and the work cavity is used for being detachably connected to the water purification assembly (Figs. 1 and 3 of Ryu).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a valve core component, movably provided in the dispense cavity and being switchable between a first position and a second position; in the first position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the work cavity, and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity; and in the second position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity, and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the work cavity”.
However, and due to indefiniteness, Lim teaches a valve core component (valve unit 160 Fig. 5), movably provided in a dispense cavity (paragraph [0076] and Fig. 5 where the inner cavity of valve assembly 140 corresponds to the dispense cavity of Ryu) and being switchable between a first position (corresponds to when valve unit 160 is moved to the left as described in paragraph [0087] and Fig. 5) and a second position (corresponds to when valve unit 160 is moved to the right when filter assembly 130 is installed paragraph [0088] and Figs. 4-5); in the first position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and a work cavity (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0087] where the inner cavity of valve housing 150 corresponds to the work cavity of Ryu), and a main water inlet (inlet passage 151 Fig. 5 corresponds to the main water inlet of Ryu) communicates with a main water outlet (Fig. 5 and paragraph [0088] where outlet passage 153 corresponds to the main water outlet of Ryu) through the dispense cavity and a bypass cavity (paragraph [0087] and Fig. 5 where bypass flow path A corresponds to the bypass cavity of Ryu); and in the second position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity (paragraph [0088]), and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the work cavity (paragraph [0088]) to prevent water leakage to the outside when the filter assembly is detached (paragraph [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a valve core component, movably provided in the dispense cavity and being switchable between a first position and a second position; in the first position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the work cavity, and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity; and in the second position, the valve core component turns off the dispense cavity and the bypass cavity, and the main water inlet communicates with the main water outlet through the dispense cavity and the work cavity” in view of the teachings of Lim to prevent water leakage to the outside when the filter assembly is detached.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, Tae, and Ren as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the water supply system further comprises a water stop component, wherein a water stop cavity is provided inside the outer housing assembly, and the water stop component is movably provided at the water stop cavity, and is switchable between a first position and a second position; a first duct is provided outside the water stop component, a second duct is provided inside the water stop component, and a check valve is provided at the second duct; in the first position, the water stop component turns off the first duct, and the check valve turns off the second duct; and in the second position, the water stop component turns on the first duct, and the check valve turns on the second duct”.
However, Chen teaches wherein the water supply system further comprises a water stop component (second adaptor 150 Fig. 9), wherein a water stop cavity (corresponds to the inner cavity of cover body 120 Figs. 1 and 4) is provided inside an outer housing assembly (Fig. 1 where cover body 120 and housing 110 Fig. 1), and the water stop component is movably provided at the water stop cavity (paragraph [80]), and is switchable between a first position (the “compressed state” disclosed in paragraph [80] and Fig. 1) and a second position (the “closed” state disclosed in paragraph [80] and Fig. 2); a first duct (the water channel formed between outer shell 152 and inner cylinder 123 Figs. 3-4) is provided outside the water stop component (Figs. 3-4), a second duct (first adaptor 140 Figs. 3-4) is provided inside the water stop component (Figs. 3-4), and a check valve (inner housing 151 Fig. 4 and paragraph [69]) is provided at the second duct (Figs. 2-3); in the first position, the water stop component turns off the first duct (paragraph [80] and Fig. 2), and the check valve turns off the second duct (paragraph [80] and Fig. 2); and in the second position, the water stop component turns on the first duct (paragraph [80] and Fig. 3), and the check valve turns on the second duct (paragraph [80] and Fig. 3) to close both the water inlet and outlet when the filter element is removed (paragraph [80]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the water supply system further comprises a water stop component, wherein a water stop cavity is provided inside the outer housing assembly, and the water stop component is movably provided at the water stop cavity, and is switchable between a first position and a second position; a first duct is provided outside the water stop component, a second duct is provided inside the water stop component, and a check valve is provided at the second duct; in the first position, the water stop component turns off the first duct, and the check valve turns off the second duct; and in the second position, the water stop component turns on the first duct, and the check valve turns on the second duct” in view of the teachings of Chen to close both the water inlet and outlet when the filter element is removed.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763