DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0007015 to Yokoyama et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Yokoyama discloses (e.g., Figs. 1–3 and their description) a pixel array substrate 10, comprising: a substrate 11; an insulation layer 12A/13 disposed on the substrate; and a plurality of pixel structures 10R/G/B disposed on the substrate, and each comprising: an active device 12 disposed between the substrate and the insulation layer; and a reflective layer 14 disposed on the insulation layer (paragraph [0046], “laminated structure 14 also has a function as a reflective layer”), and comprising: a silver-based reflective layer 14A having a reflective surface (paragraph [0046]); and a protective layer 14C covering the silver-based reflective layer, wherein a thickness of the protective layer along a normal direction of the reflective surface is greater than or equal to 30 angstroms and less than or equal to 80 angstroms (paragraph [0051], substantially overlapping range).
Regarding Claim 2, Yokoyama discloses wherein a material of the protective layer comprises a light-transmitting conductive material (paragraph [0054], ITO or IZO).
Regarding Claim 3, Yokoyama discloses wherein the thickness of the protective layer is greater than or equal to 50 angstroms and less than or equal to 60 angstroms (paragraph [0051]).
Regarding Claim 4, Yokoyama discloses wherein the reflective layer further comprises a buffer layer 14B disposed between the insulation layer and the silver-based reflective layer, and a material of the buffer layer comprises a conductive material (e.g., ITO/IZO, paragraph [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 5–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama.
Regarding Claim 5, Yokoyama discloses wherein the insulation layer 13 has an opening and a side wall surface defining the opening (Fig. 2), the silver-based reflective layer 14A and the buffer layer 14B extend to cover the side wall surface of the insulation layer (Fig. 2), and a first thickness of a side wall portion of the buffer layer covering the side wall surface along a normal direction of the side wall surface is greater than or equal to 30 angstroms and less than or equal to 80 angstroms (paragraph [0053], teaching an overlapping range, and while not explicitly stating the thickness along a normal direction of the side wall, such would have been obvious as a matter of design choice to have the thickness in a normal direction be nearly consistent throughout the device, and yielding predictable results, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results, and also likely to be similar to the thickness elsewhere due to the sputtering, laminating, or other manufacturing method used, paragraphs [0053], [0074], and [0120]).
Regarding Claim 6, Yokoyama discloses wherein the insulation layer further has a surface connected to the side wall surface, the surface faces away from the substrate, and a second thickness of a horizontal portion of the buffer layer covering the surface of the insulation layer along a normal direction of the surface is greater than or equal to 40 angstroms and less than or equal to 100 angstroms (Fig. 2; paragraph [0053]).
Regarding Claim 7, Yokoyama would have rendered obvious wherein the first thickness is greater than or equal to 50 angstroms and less than or equal to 60 angstroms, and the second thickness is greater than or equal to 70 angstroms and less than or equal to 80 angstroms (where Yokoyama teaches a range of 50-500 angstroms, paragraph [0053], and also suggests that the first thickness, or thickness along the side wall, will naturally be smaller than the second thickness, or thickness along the flat portion, due to the sputtering used during manufacture, e.g., paragraphs [0053] and [0074], and where selecting appropriate thickness would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, yielding predictable results, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results from the claim features).
Regarding Claim 8, Yokoyama discloses (e.g., Figs. 1–3 and their descriptions) a pixel array substrate 10, comprising: a substrate 11; an insulation layer 12A/13 disposed on the substrate; and a plurality of pixel structures 10R/G/B disposed on the substrate, and each comprising: an active device 12 disposed between the substrate and the insulation layer; and a reflective layer 14 disposed on the insulation layer (paragraph [0046], “laminated structure 14 also has a function as a reflective layer”), and comprising: a silver-based reflective layer 14A having a reflective surface (paragraph [0046]); and a buffer layer 14B disposed between the insulation layer and the silver-based reflective layer (Fig. 2), wherein a material of the buffer layer comprises a conductive material (e.g., ITO/IZO, paragraph [0054]), wherein the insulation layer has an opening and a side wall surface defining the opening (Fig. 2), the silver-based reflective layer and the buffer layer extend to cover the side wall surface of the insulation layer (Fig. 2), and a first thickness of a side wall portion of the buffer layer covering the side wall surface along a normal direction of the side wall surface is greater than or equal to 30 angstroms and less than or equal to 80 angstroms (paragraph [0053], teaching an overlapping range, and while not explicitly stating the thickness along a normal direction of the side wall, such would have been obvious as a matter of design choice to have the thickness in a normal direction be nearly consistent throughout the device, and yielding predictable results, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results, and also likely to be similar to the thickness elsewhere due to the sputtering, laminating, or other manufacturing method used, paragraphs [0053], [0074], and [0120]).
Regarding Claim 9, Yokoyama would have rendered obvious wherein the reflective layer further comprises: a protective layer covering the silver-based reflective layer, wherein a thickness of the protective layer along a normal direction of the reflective surface is greater than or equal to 30 angstroms and less than or equal to 80 angstroms (paragraph [0051], substantially overlapping range).
Regarding Claim 10, Yokoyama would have rendered obvious wherein the insulation layer further has a surface connected to the side wall surface, the surface faces away from the substrate (Fig. 2), and a second thickness of a horizontal portion of the buffer layer covering the surface of the insulation layer along a normal direction of the surface is greater than or equal to 40 angstroms and less than or equal to 100 angstroms (Fig. 2; paragraph [0053]).
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871