DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the reference Mishra’s target count is reference to time instead of counts.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Based on the Merrian Webster Dictionary of the term “count” is : “consider, account”
The limitation of “…a target count of the redundant copies and a current count of the redundant copies..” can be interpreted as “consider, account of the redundant copies and a current consider, account of the redundant copies”
Mishra, the cited art, teaches the backup operation dynamically (as it consider past, current and future redundant copies) runs on criteria as indicated by the storage policy/backup copy, information management rule set policy, which includes the initial starting time (refer to par 0189) – To accounts/consider all the redundant copies of current as well as future redundant copies (e.g., the storage manager keeps record of the backup copies, refer to par 0187- 0190 and 0174 – information management policies, which specific or depends on current or history criteria that determines which rules to particular data object, system component, information management operation such as frequency/generate backup time
of secondary copies that have been predicted/account, consider for target redundant copies).
The limitation indicates the current work assignment is associated with the storing of the redundant copies of the original among the cluster nodes associated with a cluster, and an updated work assignment is based on target count of redundant copies and a current count of redundant copies, which as explained above, the reference does teach the alleged missing limitation.
With respect to claims 8-20, the argument and response is similar and indicated above.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive, the rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al hereinafter Mishra (20240296099) in view of Chawla et al hereinafter Chawla (US 9,893,940).
Referring to Claim 1. Mishra discloses a method executed by a computer system that assigns work among cluster nodes storing redundant copies of an original, comprising:
receiving, by the computer system, a current version of work assignments associated
with the storing of the redundant copies of the original among the cluster nodes associated with a cluster (backup jobs, refer to par 0188, 0245, 0247, 0248, 0123); and
generating, by the computer system, a new the work assignments based on
a target count of the redundant copies and a current count of the redundant copies (generate the backup job after certain period time ellipse, refer to par 0189, 0245, 0187- 0190 and 0174).
Although Mishra disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, Mishra did not explicitly indicate the version of the work assignment.
Chawla, in analogues art, disclosing the version of the work assignment (auto scaling rules, refer to Col 2, Lines 46- 67, Col 23, Lines 1-18 and modify the instances based on the available resources /current vs needs/target).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mishra with Chawla because Chawla’s teaching would allow the system of Mishra to provide topology aware network device configuration and improve network communication bottleneck and delay conditions.
Referring to Claim 2. Mishra with Chawla disclosed the method of claim 1, Chawla further discloses comprising adding a cluster node to the cluster nodes based on the target count of the redundant copies (scale up components/devices base on the resources and updated policies refer to Col 23, Lines 1-24, Col 1, Lines 15-25, Col 6, Lines 40-67, Col 9, lines 35-55).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mishra with Chawla because Chawla’s teaching would allow the system of Mishra to provide topology aware network device configuration and improve network communication bottleneck and delay conditions.
Referring to Claim 3. Mishra with Chawla disclosed the method of claim 1, Chawla further discloses comprising adding a cluster node to the cluster nodes based on the current count of the redundant copies (to add or terminate the component/device is to consider the existing count of the resources, refer to Col 23, Lines 1-24, Col 7, Lines 1-10, Col 13, Lines 21-55).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mishra with Chawla because Chawla’s teaching would allow the system of Mishra to provide topology aware network device configuration and improve network communication bottleneck and delay conditions.
Referring to Claim 4. Mishra with Chawla disclosed the method of claim 1, Chawla further discloses adding a cluster node to the cluster nodes based on the target count of the redundant copies and the current count of the redundant copies (add the nodes and considered the resources available and policies, and use topology aware configuration, refer to Col 12, Lines 10-15, Lines 54-63, Col 13, Lines 21-55).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mishra with Chawla because Chawla’s teaching would allow the system of Mishra to provide topology aware network device configuration and improve network communication bottleneck and delay conditions.
Referring to Claim 5. Mishra with Chawla disclosed the method of claim 1, Chawla further discloses removing a cluster node from the cluster nodes based on the target count of the redundant (remove the nodes and considered the resources available and policies, and use topology aware configuration, refer to Col 12, Lines 10-15, Lines 54-63, Col 13, Lines 21-55).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mishra with Chawla because Chawla’s teaching would allow the system of Mishra to provide topology aware network device configuration and improve network communication bottleneck and delay conditions.
Referring to Claim 6. Mishra with Chawla disclosed the method of claim 1, Chawla further discloses removing a cluster node from the cluster nodes based on the current count of the redundant copies (remove the nodes and considered the resources available/current and policies/target, and use topology aware configuration, refer to Col 12, Lines 10-15, Lines 54-63, Col 13, Lines 21-55).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mishra with Chawla because Chawla’s teaching would allow the system of Mishra to provide topology aware network device configuration and improve network communication bottleneck and delay conditions.
Referring to Claim 7. Mishra with Chawla disclosed the method of claim 1, Chawla further discloses removing a cluster node from the cluster nodes based on the target count of the redundant copies and the current count of the redundant copies (remove the nodes and considered the resources available and policies, and use topology aware configuration, refer to Col 12, Lines 10-15, Lines 54-63, Col 13, Lines 21-55).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mishra with Chawla because Chawla’s teaching would allow the system of Mishra to provide topology aware network device configuration and improve network communication bottleneck and delay conditions.
Referring claims 8-20, are rejected under similar rational as claims 1-7.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAREN C TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447