DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramaswamy et al. (US 20210324201, hereinafter: “Ramaswamy”) in view of Trachtman et al. (GB 2529271, hereinafter: “Trachtman”).
In reference to Claim 1
Ramaswamy discloses:
A method for reducing damage to a component of a gas turbine engine, the component having a substrate and a coating disposed on the substrate, the method comprising the steps of
determining one or more atmospheric agents (dirt, ash, dust ingested by turbomachines, [0006]) present in air that are predicted to be ingested by the gas turbine engine during operation (400, 404) [0080];
determining a composition and a concentration of the one or more atmospheric agents present in the air (“reducing the concentration and/or activity of calcium oxide constituents in the dust deposits,” 0081]) (Step 406 includes the step of determining a composition and a concentration of dust deposits) (“the consumable coating may be re-applied at step 408 based at least in part on the observed or expected extent of combining and/or reacting having occurred (e.g., at step 406) and/or based at least in part on the observed or expected extent of combining and/or reacting having occurred (e.g., at step 406),” [0085]);
determining a composition and an amount of a predicted deposit that is predicted to form on the component based on the composition and the concentration of the one or more atmospheric agents (Step 408 includes determining a composition and an amount of a predicted deposit that is predicted to form on the component; [0084-0085]);
determining a predicted damage to the component based at least on: the composition and the amount of the predicted deposit; and a composition of the coating of the component (Step 408 includes determining a predicted damage to the component based on the composition and the amount of the predicted deposit; [0084-0085]) (“In some embodiments, a consumable coating may be applied and/or re-applied to a component with a barrier coating that has at least one delaminated region. The barrier coating in the delaminated region may be partially missing and/or fully missing,” [0085]);
determining an additive (consumable coating) and its concentration based on the composition and the amount of the predicted deposit and the predicted damage, such that the additive changes at least one of a thermochemical property and a thermomechanical property of the predicted deposit so as to reduce the predicted damage to the component (“In some embodiments, a consumable coating may be applied and/or re-applied to a component with a barrier coating that has at least one delaminated region…even in areas where the barrier coating may have incurred delamination or spalling, the consumable coating may protect the underlying substrate by reducing the volatilization rate of silica from substrate materials (e.g., SiC—SiC CMC substrate materials,” [0085]; 406, 408; [0086]).; and
applying, in-situ, the additive to the component of the gas turbine engine (“For example, the consumable coating may be applied to various components installed in a turbomachine that has been commissioned for service, without fully disassembling, and in some cases, even without partially disassembling, the turbomachine, including an initial consumable coating as well as reapplications of the consumable coating, for example after a previously applied consumable coating has been exposed to some interval of service,” [0025]). [0008-0086] (Fig. 1-4).
Ramaswamy discloses the one or more atmospheric agents, the composition of the one or more atmospheric agents, and the concentration of the one or more atmospheric agents present in the air are determined based on the environment or terrain which is experience by the aircraft (“The consumable coatings presently disclosed may be particularly useful for application to ceramic components, superalloy components, or other components found in high temperature environments (e.g., operating temperatures of about 1,000° C. to about 1800° C.) where molten dust may form, such as in a hot gas path of a turbomachine, and especially in dusty or sandy operating environments such as those in proximity to deserts or other dusty or sandy terrain where elevated levels of dust deposit, such as formation of CMAS, may be prevalent,” [0021]).
Ramaswamy is silent on a meteorological database and a meteorological model.
Trachtman teaches a meteorological hazard identification apparatus comprising a meteorological database which includes the concentration of the one or more atmospheric agents present in the air
(Trachtman, Page 2, ll. 11-26) According to another example embodiment of the present technique, there is provided a meteorological hazard identification apparatus comprising a receiver for receiving data comprising a plurality of measurement sample tracks, each of the measurement sample tracks having been generated by an airborne craft using a measurement device mounted on the craft and each of the measurement sample tracks comprising a plurality of captured samples of one or more meteorological parameters measured with respect to geographical co-ordinates providing location and time stamps of the captured sample within the Earth's airspace and at the altitude of the craft. The captured samples of meteorological parameters may include at least one of particle size, particle concentration in respect of number/mass/volume and phase or type being liquid water, ice, dust, volcanic ash, with respect to atmospheric parameters including temperature, pressure and water vapour content. A data processor is configured to store the plurality of sample tracks into a data store in accordance with a predetermined format, and to retrieve each of the measurement tracks from the data store, and to combine the plurality of measurement tracks to form with respect to mapping information a representation of airspace showing geographical locations within The Earth's airspace at determined altitudes and determined time of detected airborne particulates.
(Trachtman, Page 6, ll. 20-44) The processor 50 controls the storage of the data comprising the measurement track samples into the database DB in accordance with a predetermined format. The processor 50 then combines the measurement tracks received from a plurality of different aircraft A and forms the measurements into a predicted forecast of particles along flight paths of aircraft within a region of the Earth's airspace. This is achieved through use of the measurement data provided by sensors to validate model predictions of quantities of interest. The measurement data of airborne samples are used to provide the "truth" and the model source term can be adjusted accordingly, by running the model in reverse and then forward again, to reduce a mismatch between observed particle concentrations and predicted particle concentrations… Individual cloud layers can be discriminated based on particle concentration peaks. These vertical profiles would be generated for each particle type (supercooled liquid water, ice, volcanic ash, dust). Figure 4c is a further example providing a graphical representation illustrating a vertical profile of cloud particle average size generated as the aircraft left the departure airport during the ascent phase of flight used for Air Traffic Management at an aerodrome.
Based on the teaching of Ramaswamy and Trachtman, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ramaswamy by including a meteorological database or model which includes the one or more atmospheric agents, the composition of the one or more atmospheric agents, and the concentration of the one or more atmospheric agents present in the air as taught by Trachtman for the purpose of detecting the contaminates being ingested by the engine.
In reference to Claim 2
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the additive raises a melting temperature of the predicted deposit (dust deposit) to above an operating temperature of the gas turbine engine. (“The presently disclosed consumable coatings may reduce or mitigate damage from dust deposits to the barrier coating or underlying coating layers or substrate of a component by modifying the chemical composition of the molten or solid dust deposits, for example, by one or both of the following pathways …Regardless of the particular pathway(s), the chemical composition of the molten or solidified dust may be modified by providing a consumable coating that includes one or more ceramic oxide constituents that are capable of combining or interacting with the dust deposits at turbomachine operating temperatures,” [0023]).
In reference to Claim 3
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the additive increases a viscosity of the predicted deposit in its molten phase [“Additionally, or in the alternative, one or more components of the consumable coating may combine and/or react with the calcium oxide constituents in the dust deposits, so as to remove the calcium oxide constituents from being available to interact with the barrier coating,” [0023]) [0022-0023].
In reference to Claim 4
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the predicted damage is further based on: a thickness of the coating of the component; and a composition of the substrate of the component [0027; 0037-0038; 0085].
In reference to Claim 5
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising determining a composition and an amount of a pre-existing deposit formed on the component, wherein the predicted damage is further determined based on the composition and the amount of the pre-existing deposit, and wherein the additive further changes at least one of a thermochemical property and a thermomechanical property of the pre-existing deposit so as to reduce the predicted damage to the component [0084-0085].
In reference to Claim 6
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more atmospheric agents comprise at least one of calcium, magnesium, aluminium, silicon, sulphur, sodium, and chlorin [0006].
In reference to Claim 8
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein applying the additive to the component comprises spraying a solution comprising the additive onto a surface of the component. (“a consumable coating 102 applied on the barrier coating 112. In some embodiments, the consumable coating 102 may be applied in the form of a spray 114 from a coating applicator 116 communicating with a coating formulation source (not shown). The coating formulation sprayed by the coating applicator 116 may be in the form of a slurry suspension or a dry powder, and the coating applicator 116 may include one or more nozzles 118 configured to deliver the spray 114 so as to suitably apply the consumable coating 102 to the outer surface 104 of the component 100” [0034]).
In reference to Claim 9
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein the solution is sprayed onto the surface of the component through a borescope port of the gas turbine engine [0034] (“Components 100 of a turbomachine may be accessed through one or more access ports in the turbomachine casing, such as borescope ports, igniter ports, fuel nozzle ports, and the like,” [0046]).
In reference to Claim 13
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the additive is applied to the component when the gas turbine engine is not operating [0025].
In reference to Claim 15
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
A component (100) for a gas turbine engine [0021], wherein the component comprises the additive that is applied according to the method of claim 1.
In reference to Claim 16
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
A gas turbine engine [0021] including the component (100) of claim 15.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramaswamy et al. (US 20210324201, hereinafter: “Ramaswamy”) in view of Trachtman et al. (GB 2529271, hereinafter: “Trachtman”) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Sales (US 20080149141).
In reference to Claim 10
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
The method of claim 8, further comprising: providing a spraying device (116) comprising a source of the solution (“a coating formulation source (not shown)” [0034]) and a nozzle (118) fluidically connected to the source of the solution; positioning the nozzle towards the component (100); and spraying, via the nozzle, the solution onto the surface of the component [0043-0046] (Fig. 1).
Ramaswamy is silent on a storage tank storing the solution.
Sales teaches a system for spraying the gas turbine engine components. Sales teaches providing a spraying device (100, 108) comprising a storage tank (50) of the solution (“additive/detergent tanks 50” [0063]) and a nozzle (108) fluidically connected to the storage tank of the solution; positioning the nozzle towards the component (blades, [0048]); and spraying, via the nozzle, the solution onto the surface of the component [0057-0071] (Fig. 1).
Based on the teaching of Ramaswamy and Sales, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ramaswamy by including a storage tank to store the solution as taught by Sales for the purpose of providing a well-known component for storing the solution.
In reference to Claim 11
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman and Sales discloses:
The method of claim 10. Sales teaches the nozzle (108) is positioned upstream of a core of the gas turbine engine (“As is known in the art, the manifold and nozzle apparatus is releasably connected to the leading edge of the gas turbine engine for dispersing the cleaning or rinsing fluid to the air intake area of the engine and on into the engine's internal air flow path,” [0052]) (Fig. 10).
In reference to Claim 12
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman and Sales discloses:
The method of claim 10. Sales teaches the storage tank is a hopper (50) [0040] (Fig. 1-2, 12).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramaswamy et al. (US 20210324201, hereinafter: “Ramaswamy”) in view of Trachtman et al. (GB 2529271, hereinafter: “Trachtman”) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Scipio et al. (US 20150159509, hereinafter: “Scipio”).
In reference to Claim 14
Ramaswamy as modified by Trachtman discloses:
The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining the predicted deposit formed on the component during operation of the gas turbine engine; and spraying the solution onto the surface of the component via one or more nozzles during operation of the gas turbine engine, wherein the one or more nozzles are disposed proximal to the component, and wherein the one or more nozzles are fluidically connected to the solution.
Scipio teaches a gas turbine engine comprising a method of determining, via a sensor, the predicted deposit formed on the component during operation of the gas turbine engine (“FIG. 4 illustrates a non-limiting, exemplary method 500 of applying an anticorrosion fluid to a gas turbine engine. In an embodiment at step 505, the condition of the gas turbine engine (e.g., compressor or turbine) may be determined. The condition may be determined based on sensors, borescope inspection, or the like. The condition may include whether the compressor or turbine is clean and pretreated (e.g., amount of debris or dust), whether a gas turbine engine is in operation (e.g., offline or online), how long the gas turbine engine has been in operation, or turbine output, among other things,” [0027].
Scipio also teaches spraying the solution onto the surface of the component via one or more nozzles during operation of the gas turbine engine, wherein the one or more nozzles are disposed proximal to the component, and wherein the one or more nozzles are fluidically connected to a reservoir storing the solution.
[0018, Scipio] The anticorrosion fluid may be inserted into the IBH piping 124 via anticorrosion fluid piping 122. The water-polyamine mixture may be transformed to a vapor (e.g., steam) by the IBH system. The IBH system acts as a vaporizing system to vaporize the anticorrosion fluid. The anticorrosion fluid may travel through air duct 112 and into the compressor bellmouth. There may be an assortment of valves, mixing chambers, sensors, controls, or the like, as discussed and implied herein, that help determine and execute the use of the anticorrosion fluid. The use of IBH piping 124 to help administer a anticorrosion fluid may be done while the gas turbine engine is in normal online operation, during an online wash, or after an offline wash. It is also contemplated herein that another device may be used to assist or create a vapor anticorrosion fluid. For example, another device, alone or in combination with the IBH system, may increase the anticorrosion fluid temperature in order to create the vapor. In another embodiment, anticorrosion fluid may be supplied from an independent and external source, such as a tanker truck. The external source can be manually connected via quick disconnect provisions on anticorrosion fluid piping 122 connected with the IBH piping 124.
Based on the teaching of Ramaswamy and Scipio, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ramaswamy by including a sensor which indicates the amount dust and damage incurred by the engine components and a storage tank to store the coating fluid as taught by Scipio for the purpose of detecting the properties of the contaminates being ingested by the engine and the storage unit to store the coating fluid.
Conclusion
/AYE S HTAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745