DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 06/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3 and 4 are pending. Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0101524 to Makino et al. (“Makino”).
Regarding claim 1, Makino teaches a method of extracting chemical substances from used molding sand (abstract, para [0013] – [0016]) comprising: a) preparing a mixture of used molding sand and liquid, wherein the used molding sand includes a sand material and at least one chemical substance (para [0013] – [0016], water, active clay and Oolitic layer); and b) cleaning the mixture via an ultrasonic cleaning process to separate and extract the at least one chemical substance from the sand material (para [0013] – [0016]).
Makino does not explicitly teach the method wherein a volume ratio of the used molding sand to the liquid is 1:10 in the mixture. However, Makino discloses that weight of the water is three to ten times the weight of the sand (para [0030]). Since dry sand is about 12.5 lb/gal and water is about 8.34 lb/gal, the sand to water density is about 1.5. So, for a 1:10 volume as recited, using 1 gallon of sand and 10 gallons of water yields 12.5 lbs of sand and 83.4 lbs of water, such that the water weight is about 6.7 times the weight of sand. And 6.7 falls within the recited range of 3-10.
In the case where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, or where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2145.05. Further, since too little water risks insufficient cleaning, while too much water risks waste, the amount of water used is a result-effective variable, and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to optimize the amount of water through routine experimentation with predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Makino does not explicitly teach the method wherein in the step b) of cleaning the mixture the ultrasonic cleaning process uses a frequency that ranges from 30 kHz to 50 kHz. However, Makino discloses a frequency that ranges from 20 kHz to 400 kHz (para [0030]). In the case where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, or where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2145.05.
Regarding claim 4, Makino does not explicitly teach the method wherein in the step b) of cleaning the mixture the ultrasonic cleaning process operates at a power that ranges from 60 W to 80 W. However, since an operating power that is too low risks insufficient cleaning, while an operating power that is too high risks waste and personal and equipment harm, the operating power is a result-effective variable and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to optimize the operating power through routine experimentation with predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (remarks, page 5, last paragraph, page 6, second paragraph), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., true density, rather than bulk density, must be utilized; and at least one chemical substance is directly extracted from the sand material for use in industry) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, and with respect to the issue of what density must be used, it is noted that arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. MPEP 2145.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the initial value of 3-10 the weight of sand may be inappropriate since, it is alleged, Makino discloses that the volume of liquid is variable (remarks, page 6, first paragraph), it is not clear how this distinguishes the claimed invention. Indeed, such variability suggests that broader Makino disclosure includes a broader range than 3-10, making it even more likely to overlap with the presently claimed ratio. Further, it is noted that the present claims do not require the ratio be limited to any particular point in time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714