DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0204605 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsai teaches a computer-implemented method for dynamic adjustment of sound output (method for calibrating television parameter, Fig. 3, Paras. [0026]-[0035]) of a multi-speaker configuration of a display device (display device 15 with multiple speaker 22, Fig. 1), comprising:
detecting, by the display device, an initiation event for initiating the dynamic adjustment of sound output of the multi-speaker configuration of the display device (display device 15 receives information indicative that a calibration process has been initiated, Para. [0028]);
causing a first speaker of the multi-speaker configuration to emit a first calibration sound wave and a second speaker of the multi-speaker configuration to emit a second calibration sound wave responsive to detecting the initiation event (upon receiving an indication from the RC unit 18 that a calibration process has been initiated, the calibration manager 25 instructs the TV control logic 24 to provide an audio signal [calibration sound wave], to one of the speakers 22, Para. [0030]; sound emitted from each speaker 22 is in a different frequency range [i.e. the first and second calibration sound wave] such that the RC control logic 52 can identify each speaker based on the frequency of its emitted sound. In such an example, all speakers 22 can be tested simultaneously, Para. [0025]);
receiving, by the display device from a remote device, sound data, wherein the sound data comprises a sound output characteristic associated with the first calibration sound wave and the second calibration sound wave (the RC [remote device] control logic 52 monitors samples [first and second calibration sound wave from speakers 22] from microphone 67 and calculates the speaker's time of flight, and at block 149, the RC control logic 52 transmits the calculated value to the calibration manager 25 of display device 15, Figs. 1 and 3, Para. [0032]);
analyzing the sound data based on a sound characteristic threshold value (the RC control logic 52 compares each sample to a predefined threshold, as shown by blocks 131 and 133, to determine when sound from the speaker 22 reaches the microphone 131. In this regard, the RC control logic 52 determines that such sound has reached the microphone 67 when the current sample from the microphone 67 exceeds the threshold, Para. [0032]); and
adjusting sound output of at least one of the first speaker and the second speaker based on the sound output characteristic (based on the calculated flight time, the calibration manager 25 adjusts at least one television parameter. For example, the TV calibration manager 25 may adjust the speaker delay of at least one speaker 22, Para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsai teaches wherein the initiation event comprises at least one of turning on the display device or receiving a user request (user provides an input, via user interface 55, indicating that calibration is to commence, Fig. 2, Para. [0027]).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsai teaches wherein the display device comprises a television (television 15, Fig. 1), and wherein the multi-speaker configuration is integrated as internal speakers of the television (speakers 22, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsai teaches wherein the display device comprises a television connected to an external media device (television 15 is connected to external media device 28, Fig. 1, Para. [0012]), wherein the multi-speaker configuration is integrated as internal speakers of the television (speakers 22, Fig. 1), and wherein the external media device is configured to communicate with the remote device (external media device 28 communicates with RC unit 18, Fig. 1, Para. [0016]).
Regarding Claim 9, Tsai teaches a display device configured to perform dynamic adjustment of sound output (television system 10, Fig. 1, Paras. [0010] and [0011]) of a multi-speaker configuration of the display device (display device 15 with multiple speaker 22, Fig. 1), comprising:
a storage module (the calibration manager 25, as well as portions of the control logic 24, are implemented in software and stored in memory, Para. [0011]);
the multi-speaker configuration comprising a first speaker and a second speaker (first and second speakers 22, Fig. 1);
at least one processor coupled to the storage module (when at least a portion of the control logic 24 or the calibration manager 25 is implemented in software, the television 15 comprises an instruction execution device, such as a microprocessor, for executing instructions of the software, Para. [0011]), and configured to: detect an initiation event for initiating the dynamic adjustment of sound output of the multi-speaker configuration (display device 15 receives information indicative that a calibration process has been initiated, Para. [0028]);
cause the first speaker to emit a first calibration sound wave and the second speaker to emit a second calibration sound wave responsive to detecting the initiation event (upon receiving an indication from the RC unit 18 that a calibration process has been initiated, the calibration manager 25 instructs the TV control logic 24 to provide an audio signal [calibration sound wave], to one of the speakers 22, Para. [0030]; sound emitted from each speaker 22 is in a different frequency range [i.e. the first and second calibration sound wave] such that the RC control logic 52 can identify each speaker based on the frequency of its emitted sound. In such an example, all speakers 22 can be tested simultaneously, Para. [0025]);
receive, from a remote device, sound data, wherein the sound data comprises a sound output characteristic associated with the first calibration sound wave and the second calibration sound wave (the RC [remote device] control logic 52 monitors samples [first and second calibration sound wave from speakers 22] from microphone 67 and calculates the speaker's time of flight, and at block 149, the RC control logic 52 transmits the calculated value to the calibration manager 25 of display device 15, Figs. 1 and 3, Para. [0032]);
analyze the sound data based on a sound characteristic threshold value (the RC control logic 52 compares each sample to a predefined threshold, as shown by blocks 131 and 133, to determine when sound from the speaker 22 reaches the microphone 131. In this regard, the RC control logic 52 determines that such sound has reached the microphone 67 when the current sample from the microphone 67 exceeds the threshold, Para. [0032]); and
adjust sound output of at least one of the first speaker and the second speaker based on the sound output characteristic (based on the calculated flight time, the calibration manager 25 adjusts at least one television parameter. For example, the TV calibration manager 25 may adjust the speaker delay of at least one speaker 22, Para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 13, Tsai teaches wherein the initiation event comprises at least one of turning on the display device or receiving a user request (user provides an input, via user interface 55, indicating that calibration is to commence, Fig. 2, Para. [0027]).
Regarding Claim 15, Tsai teaches wherein the display device comprises a television (television 15, Fig. 1), and wherein the multi-speaker configuration is integrated as internal speakers of the television (speakers 22, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Tsai teaches wherein the display device comprises a television connected to an external media device (television 15 is connected to external media device 28, Fig. 1, Para. [0012]), wherein the multi-speaker configuration is integrated as internal speakers of the television (speakers 22, Fig. 1), and wherein the external media device is configured to communicate with the remote device (external media device 28 communicates with RC unit 18, Fig. 1, Para. [0016]).
Regarding Claim 17, it is similarly rejected as Claim 1. The non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon is found in Tsai (Fig. 1, Para. [0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 2, 3, 10, 11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0204605 A1) in view of So et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0174445 A1, hereinafter "So").
Regarding Claim 2, Tsai fails to explicitly teach wherein the multi-speaker configuration comprises a plurality of side-firing speakers, and the first speaker comprises a left side-firing speaker and the second speaker comprises a right side-firing speaker.
However, So teaches wherein the multi-speaker configuration comprises a plurality of side-firing speakers (side firing speakers 130-1, 130-3, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]), and the first speaker comprises a left side-firing speaker (left side firing speaker 130-1, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]) and the second speaker comprises a right side-firing speaker (right side firing speaker 130-3, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsai) to include the side firing speakers (as taught by So). Doing so creates a wider sound stage enhancing spatial audio immersion.
Regarding Claim 3, Tsai fails to explicitly teach wherein the multi-speaker configuration further comprises a side-firing speaker and at least one of a bottom speaker and a back speaker, and wherein the first speaker comprises the side-firing speaker and the second speaker comprises the at least one of the bottom speaker and the back speaker.
However, So teaches wherein the multi-speaker configuration further comprises a side-firing speaker (side firing speakers 130-1, 130-3, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]) and at least one of a bottom speaker and a back speaker (bottom speaker 130-4, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]), and wherein the first speaker comprises the side-firing speaker (side firing speakers 130-1, 130-3, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]) and the second speaker comprises the at least one of the bottom speaker and the back speaker (bottom speaker 130-4, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsai) to include the side firing speaker and the bottom speaker (as taught by So). Doing so creates a wider sound stage enhancing spatial audio immersion.
Regarding Claim 10, Tsai fails to explicitly teach wherein the multi-speaker configuration comprises a plurality of side-firing speakers, and the first speaker comprises a left side-firing speaker and the second speaker comprises a right side-firing speaker.
However, So teaches wherein the multi-speaker configuration comprises a plurality of side-firing speakers (side firing speakers 130-1, 130-3, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]), and the first speaker comprises a left side-firing speaker (left side firing speaker 130-1, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]) and the second speaker comprises a right side-firing speaker (right side firing speaker 130-3, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsai) to include the side firing speakers (as taught by So). Doing so creates a wider sound stage enhancing spatial audio immersion.
Regarding Claim 11, Tsai fails to explicitly teach wherein the multi-speaker configuration further comprises a side-firing speaker and at least one of a bottom speaker and a back speaker, and wherein the first speaker comprises the side-firing speaker and the second speaker comprises the at least one of the bottom speaker and the back speaker.
However, So teaches wherein the multi-speaker configuration further comprises a side-firing speaker (side firing speakers 130-1, 130-3, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]) and at least one of a bottom speaker and a back speaker (bottom speaker 130-4, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]), and wherein the first speaker comprises the side-firing speaker (side firing speakers 130-1, 130-3, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]) and the second speaker comprises the at least one of the bottom speaker and the back speaker (bottom speaker 130-4, Fig. 1, Para. [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsai) to include the side firing speaker and the bottom speaker (as taught by So). Doing so creates a wider sound stage enhancing spatial audio immersion.
Regarding Claim 18, it is similarly rejected as Claim 2. The non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon is found in Tsai (Fig. 1, Para. [0011]).
Regarding Claim 19, it is similarly rejected as Claim 3. The non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon is found in Tsai (Fig. 1, Para. [0011]).
5. Claim(s) 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0204605 A1) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0295206 A1, hereinafter "Park").
Regarding Claim 4, Tsai, fails to explicitly teach further comprising:
displaying, by the display device, a position confirmation screen responsive to detecting the initiation event; and
receiving, via the remote device, a confirmation instruction subsequent to displaying the position confirmation screen, wherein the confirmation instruction indicates that user input is received by the remote device, and wherein causing the first speaker to emit the first calibration sound wave and the second speaker to emit the second calibration sound wave is triggered based on the initiation event and the confirmation instruction.
However, Tsai teaches further comprising:
the display device detecting the initiation event (display device 15 receives information indicative that a calibration process has been initiated, Para. [0028]); and
receiving, via the remote device, a confirmation instruction, wherein the confirmation instruction indicates that user input is received by the remote device (user provides an input, via user interface 55, indicating that calibration is to commence, Fig. 2, Para. [0027]), and wherein causing the first speaker to emit the first calibration sound wave and the second speaker to emit the second calibration sound wave is triggered based on the initiation event and the confirmation instruction (upon receiving an indication from the RC unit 18 that a calibration process has been initiated, the calibration manager 25 instructs the TV control logic 24 to provide an audio signal [calibration sound wave], to one of the speakers 22, Para. [0030]; sound emitted from each speaker 22 is in a different frequency range [i.e. the first and second calibration sound wave] such that the RC control logic 52 can identify each speaker based on the frequency of its emitted sound. In such an example, all speakers 22 can be tested simultaneously, Para. [0025]).
However, Park teaches displaying, by the display device, a position confirmation screen (display 180 may display the location of each of external speakers with respect to a user's viewing location (e.g., the location of a remote control device), Paras. [0192] and [0193]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsai) to include the position confirmation screen (as taught by So). Doing so, it is possible to implement an optimal multi-channel stereophonic sound system (Park, Paras. [0022] and [0023]).
Regarding Claim 12, Tsai, fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
display a position confirmation screen responsive to detecting the initiation event; and
receive, via the remote device, a confirmation instruction subsequent to displaying the position confirmation screen, wherein the confirmation instruction indicates that user input is received by the remote device, and wherein causing the first speaker to emit the first calibration sound wave and the second speaker to emit the second calibration sound wave is triggered based on the initiation event and the confirmation instruction.
However, Tsai teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
display detecting the initiation event (display device 15 receives information indicative that a calibration process has been initiated, Para. [0028]); and
receive, via the remote device, a confirmation instruction, wherein the confirmation instruction indicates that user input is received by the remote device (user provides an input, via user interface 55, indicating that calibration is to commence, Fig. 2, Para. [0027]), and wherein causing the first speaker to emit the first calibration sound wave and the second speaker to emit the second calibration sound wave is triggered based on the initiation event and the confirmation instruction (upon receiving an indication from the RC unit 18 that a calibration process has been initiated, the calibration manager 25 instructs the TV control logic 24 to provide an audio signal [calibration sound wave], to one of the speakers 22, Para. [0030]; sound emitted from each speaker 22 is in a different frequency range [i.e. the first and second calibration sound wave] such that the RC control logic 52 can identify each speaker based on the frequency of its emitted sound. In such an example, all speakers 22 can be tested simultaneously, Para. [0025]).
However, Park teaches display a position confirmation screen (display 180 may display the location of each of external speakers with respect to a user's viewing location (e.g., the location of a remote control device), Paras. [0192] and [0193]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsai) to include the position confirmation screen (as taught by So). Doing so, it is possible to implement an optimal multi-channel stereophonic sound system (Park, Paras. [0022] and [0023]).
6. Claim(s) 6, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0204605 A1) in view of Doken et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0244437 A1, hereinafter "Doken").
Regarding Claim 6, Tsai fails to explicitly teach wherein the sound characteristic threshold value comprises a sound intensity threshold and wherein the sound output characteristic comprises first intensity information for the first calibration sound wave and second intensity information for the second calibration sound wave, and wherein the analyzing the sound data comprises:
performing a first comparison of the first intensity information with the sound intensity threshold and a second comparison of the second intensity information with the sound intensity threshold, wherein adjusting the sound output of at least one of the first speaker and the second speaker comprises:
adjusting a first intensity of first sound output from the first speaker based on the first comparison; and
adjusting a second intensity of second sound output from the second speaker based on the second comparison.
However, Tsai teaches the sound characteristic threshold value (the RC control logic 52 compares each sample to a predefined threshold, as shown by blocks 131 and 133, to determine when sound from the speaker 22 reaches the microphone 131, Para. [0032]) and wherein the sound output characteristic comprises first information for the first calibration sound wave and second information for the second calibration sound wave (upon receiving an indication from the RC unit 18 that a calibration process has been initiated, the calibration manager 25 instructs the TV control logic 24 to provide an audio signal [calibration sound wave], to one of the speakers 22, Para. [0030]; sound emitted from each speaker 22 is in a different frequency range [i.e. the first and second calibration sound wave] such that the RC control logic 52 can identify each speaker based on the frequency of its emitted sound. In such an example, all speakers 22 can be tested simultaneously, Para. [0025]), and wherein the analyzing the sound data comprises:
performing a first comparison of the first information with the sound threshold and a second comparison of the second information with the sound threshold (the RC control logic 52 compares each sample to a predefined threshold, as shown by blocks 131 and 133, to determine when sound from the speaker 22 reaches the microphone 131, Para. [0032]), wherein adjusting the sound output of at least one of the first speaker and the second speaker comprises:
adjusting a first sound output from the first speaker based on the first comparison (based on the calculated flight time, the calibration manager 25 adjusts at least one television parameter. For example, the TV calibration manager 25 may adjust the speaker delay of at least one speaker 22, Paras. [0032] and [0033]); and
adjusting a second sound output from the second speaker based on the second comparison (based on the calculated flight time, the calibration manager 25 adjusts at least one television parameter. For example, the TV calibration manager 25 may adjust the speaker delay of at least one speaker 22, Paras. [0032] and [0033]).
However, Doken teaches wherein the sound characteristic threshold value comprises a sound intensity threshold (sound level measurement [sound intensity] is compared to a threshold, Fig. 2, Para. [0055]; see also Claim 1) and wherein the sound output characteristic comprises first intensity information for the first calibration sound wave (loudness [first intensity information] from sound 204 is measured by device 214, Fig. 2, Para. [0050]) and second intensity information for the second calibration sound wave (loudness [second intensity information] from sound 204 is measured by device 210, Fig. 2, Para. [0050]), and wherein the analyzing the sound data comprises:
performing a first comparison of the first intensity information with the sound intensity threshold and a second comparison of the second intensity information with the sound intensity threshold (devices 210-214 may capture sound 204, generate a sound level measurement, transmit sound data via network/internet to management server 224, which may access profiles in sound management policies database 226, compare the received sound data to a threshold, Fig. 2, Para. [0055]), wherein adjusting the sound output of at least one of the first speaker and the second speaker comprises:
adjusting a first intensity of first sound output from the first speaker based on the first comparison (if the threshold is exceeded, send an ECP control signal for interface 203 of device 201 to lower the volume of content 202, Fig. 2, Para. [0055]); and
adjusting a second intensity of second sound output from the second speaker based on the second comparison (if the threshold is exceeded, send an ECP control signal for interface 203 of device 201 to lower the volume of content 202, Fig. 2, Para. [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsai) to include the sound intensity measurements and the sound intensity threshold (as taught by Doken). Doing so, it is possible to measure and regulate devices' noise level without manual interference (Doken, Para. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 14, Tsai fails to explicitly teach wherein the sound characteristic threshold value comprises a sound intensity threshold and wherein the sound output characteristic comprises first intensity information for the first calibration sound wave and second intensity information for the second calibration sound wave, and wherein in analyzing the sound data the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform a first comparison of the first intensity information with the sound intensity threshold and a second comparison of the second intensity information with the sound intensity threshold, wherein in adjusting the sound output of at least one of the first speaker and the second speaker the at least one processor is further configured to:
adjust a first intensity of first sound output from the first speaker based on the first comparison; and
adjust a second intensity of second sound output from the second speaker based on the second comparison.
However, Tsai teaches the sound characteristic threshold value (the RC control logic 52 compares each sample to a predefined threshold, as shown by blocks 131 and 133, to determine when sound from the speaker 22 reaches the microphone 131, Para. [0032]) and wherein the sound output characteristic comprises first information for the first calibration sound wave and second information for the second calibration sound wave (upon receiving an indication from the RC unit 18 that a calibration process has been initiated, the calibration manager 25 instructs the TV control logic 24 to provide an audio signal [calibration sound wave], to one of the speakers 22, Para. [0030]; sound emitted from each speaker 22 is in a different frequency range [i.e. the first and second calibration sound wave] such that the RC control logic 52 can identify each speaker based on the frequency of its emitted sound. In such an example, all speakers 22 can be tested simultaneously, Para. [0025]), and wherein in analyzing the sound data the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform a first comparison of the first information with the sound threshold and a second comparison of the second information with the sound threshold (the RC control logic 52 compares each sample to a predefined threshold, as shown by blocks 131 and 133, to determine when sound from the speaker 22 reaches the microphone 131, Para. [0032]), wherein in adjusting the sound output of at least one of the first speaker and the second speaker the at least one processor is further configured to:
adjusting a first sound output from the first speaker based on the first comparison (based on the calculated flight time, the calibration manager 25 adjusts at least one television parameter. For example, the TV calibration manager 25 may adjust the speaker delay of at least one speaker 22, Paras. [0032] and [0033]); and
adjusting a second sound output from the second speaker based on the second comparison (based on the calculated flight time, the calibration manager 25 adjusts at least one television parameter. For example, the TV calibration manager 25 may adjust the speaker delay of at least one speaker 22, Paras. [0032] and [0033]).
However, Doken teaches wherein the sound characteristic threshold value comprises a sound intensity threshold (sound level measurement [sound intensity] is compared to a threshold, Fig. 2, Para. [0055]; see also Claim 1) and wherein the sound output characteristic comprises first intensity information for the first calibration sound wave (loudness [first intensity information] from sound 204 is measured by device 214, Fig. 2, Para. [0050]) and second intensity information for the second calibration sound wave (loudness [second intensity information] from sound 204 is measured by device 210, Fig. 2, Para. [0050]), and wherein in analyzing the sound data the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform a first comparison of the first intensity information with the sound intensity threshold and a second comparison of the second intensity information with the sound intensity threshold (devices 210-214 may capture sound 204, generate a sound level measurement, transmit sound data via network/internet to management server 224, which may access profiles in sound management policies database 226, compare the received sound data to a threshold, Fig. 2, Para. [0055]), wherein in adjusting the sound output of at least one of the first speaker and the second speaker the at least one processor is further configured to:
adjust a first intensity of first sound output from the first speaker based on the first comparison (if the threshold is exceeded, send an ECP control signal for interface 203 of device 201 to lower the volume of content 202, Fig. 2, Para. [0055]); and
adjust a second intensity of second sound output from the second speaker based on the second comparison (if the threshold is exceeded, send an ECP control signal for interface 203 of device 201 to lower the volume of content 202, Fig. 2, Para. [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsai) to include the sound intensity measurements and the sound intensity threshold (as taught by Doken). Doing so, it is possible to measure and regulate devices' noise level without manual interference (Doken, Para. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 20, it is similarly rejected as Claim 6. The non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon is found in Tsai (Fig. 1, Para. [0011]).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Melanson (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2007/127821 A2) teaches calibrating a sound beam-forming system using a test signal supplied to multiple speaker drivers and detected from a microphone signal supplied from a microphone positioned at a listening position.
Jordan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0136414 A1) teaches automatic adjustments in a digital 6-speaker, wherein to optimize the surround sound effect, the listener simply initiates the adjustment process on the remote device, and the system automatically adjusts itself to a predetermined optimal setting.
Couleaud et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2026/0095716 A1) teaches automatically calibrating sound in real-time based on changes in the environment that exceed a threshold.
/CHIMEZIE EZERIWE BEKEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691