DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed on 8/13/2026.
Claims 21-40 are subject to examination.
This amendment and applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and entered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 21, 30, 35 respectively are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 15 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,707 (hereinafter ‘707 Patent) further in view of Harada et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2017/0090852 (hereinafter Harada)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain similar subject matter as follows:
Claim 21 (Instant Application)
A method, comprising: enabling, during a video conference, access to different functionality of a digital whiteboard for devices of participants of the video conference according to whiteboard roles determined for ones of the participants, wherein the whiteboard roles correspond to respective video conference roles of the ones of the participants; and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more first devices of the devices while the digital whiteboard remains active; and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second devices of the devices based on a termination of the digital whiteboard.
Claim 1 (‘707 Patent)
A method, comprising: determining, based on a request to share a digital whiteboard to a video conference, a whiteboard role for each participant of multiple participants of the video conference based on a conference role of the participant within the video conference; causing a participant device connected to the video conference for each participant to render the digital whiteboard within a graphical user interface associated with the video conference; enabling, for each participant during the video conference, access to functionality of the digital whiteboard corresponding to the whiteboard role determined for the participant, wherein different functionality of the digital whiteboard is enabled for different whiteboard roles; terminating the access to the functionality of the digital whiteboard for a first group of the participants of the video conference upon an end of the video conference and while the digital whiteboard is still active; and terminating the access to the functionality of the digital whiteboard for a second group of the participants of the video conference upon a termination of the digital whiteboard after the end of the video conference.
Claim 30. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising: enabling, during a video conference, access to different functionality of a digital whiteboard for devices of participants of the video conference according to whiteboard roles determined for ones of the participants, wherein the whiteboard roles correspond to respective video conference roles of the ones of the participants; and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more first devices of the devices while the digital whiteboard remains active; and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second devices of the devices based on a termination of the digital whiteboard.
Claim 10. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising: determining, based on a request to share a digital whiteboard to a video conference, a whiteboard role for each participant of multiple participants of the video conference based on a conference role of the participant within the video conference; causing a participant device connected to the video conference for each participant to render the digital whiteboard within a graphical user interface associated with the video conference; enabling, for each participant during the video conference, access to functionality of the digital whiteboard corresponding to the whiteboard role determined for the participant, wherein different functionality of the digital whiteboard is enabled for different whiteboard roles; terminating the access to the functionality of the digital whiteboard for a first group of the participants of the video conference upon an end of the video conference while the digital whiteboard is still active; and terminating the access to the functionality of the digital whiteboard for a second group of the participants of the video conference upon a termination of the digital whiteboard after the end of the conference.
Claim 35.
A system, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to: enabling, during a video conference, access to different functionality of a digital whiteboard for devices of participants of the video conference according to whiteboard roles determined for ones of the participants, wherein the whiteboard roles correspond to respective video conference roles of the ones of the participants; and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more first devices of the devices while the digital whiteboard remains active; and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second devices of the devices based on a termination of the digital whiteboard.
Claim 15.
An apparatus, comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to execute instructions stored in the memory to: determine, based on a request to share a digital whiteboard to a video conference, a whiteboard role for each participant of multiple participants of the video conference based on a conference role of the participant within the video conference; cause a participant device connected to the video conference for each participant to render the digital whiteboard within a graphical user interface associated with the video conference; enable, for each participant during the video conference, access to functionality of the digital whiteboard corresponding to the whiteboard role determined for the participant, wherein different functionality of the digital whiteboard is enabled for different whiteboard roles; terminate the access to the functionality of the digital whiteboard for a first group of the participants of the video conference upon an end of the video conference while the digital whiteboard is still active; and terminate the access to the functionality of the digital whiteboard for a second group of the participants of the video conference upon a termination of the digital whiteboard after the end of the video conference.
‘707 Patent does not explicitly teach terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second of devices of the devices.
Harada teaches terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard (i.e. ending of the use of the whiteboard) for one or more second of devices of the devices (i.e. group 2 devices) based on termination of the digital whiteboard (Paragraph 93). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Harada’s teaching in ‘707 Patent’s teaching to come up with terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second of devices of the devices. The motivation or doing so would be to prevent an unauthorized user(s) to be given access to the whiteboard and prevent from changing any content or functionality/settings of the whiteboard.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shepherd et al. U.S. Patent # 9,398,059 (hereinafter Shepherd) in view of Fieldman et al. U.S. Patent # 11,463,499 (hereinafter Fieldman) further in view of Harada et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2017/0090852 (hereinafter Harada)
With respect to claim 21, Shepherd teaches method, comprising:
-enabling, during a video conference, access to different functionality of a digital whiteboard for devices of participants of the video conference (i.e. participant begins to draw on public portion of the virtual whiteboard, other users see a color coded virtual border around the participant’s sketch) according to whiteboard roles (i.e. participant/moderator) (column 18 lines 3-18, 49-64) determined for ones of the participants , wherein the whiteboard roles correspond to respective video conference roles of the ones of the participants (i.e. moderator is owner of the meeting workspace and leader that moderates the participants of the meeting. Participant is a participants, so a moderator also is a moderator for whiteboard who provides writing privileges ) (column 18 lines 56-64 )(column 7 lines 32-42);
terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more first device of the devices (column 2 lines 13-25) and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second devices of the devices based on a termination of the digital whiteboard (column 2 lines 13-25).
Shepherd does not explicitly teach while the digital whiteboard remains active.
Fieldman teaches terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more first devices of the devices for a second group of the participants based on a termination of the digital whiteboard and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more devices of the devices based on a termination of the digital whiteboard (i.e. permissions are only granted who are present at the end of the session which means if some participants leave early while the conference is active/ongoing, the person who left early will not have access to that content and the participants/person who is left will continue with the whiteboard/content)(column 31 lines 55-67)(column 32 lines 1-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Fieldman’s teaching in Shepherd’s teaching to come up with terminating access to the functionality of the whiteboard for first group of participants while the whiteboard remains active and for a second group of participants based on termination of the whiteboard. The motivation for doing so would to grant access to only participants who stayed throughout the whole conference.
Shepherd and Fieldman does not explicitly teach terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second of devices of the devices.
Harada teaches terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard (i.e. ending of the use of the whiteboard) for one or more second of devices of the devices (i.e. group 2 devices) based on termination of the digital whiteboard (Paragraph 93). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Harada’s teaching in Shepherd and Fieldman’s teaching to come up with terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second of devices of the devices. The motivation or doing so would be to prevent an unauthorized user(s) to be given access to the whiteboard and prevent from changing any content or functionality/settings of the whiteboard.
With respect to claim 22, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the method of claim 21, Shepherd teaches wherein enabling the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for the devices of the participants of the video conference according to the whiteboard roles determined for the ones of the participants comprises: granting access associated with first functionality of the digital whiteboard to the one or more first devices (column 18 lines 3-18, 49-64); and granting access associated with second functionality of the digital whiteboard to the one or more second (column 19 lines 3-30)
With respect to claim 23, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the method of claim 21, but Harada further teaches teaches wherein terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for the open or more second devices based on the termination of the digital whiteboard comprises; and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for the one or more second devices upon a termination of the digital whiteboard after an end of the video conference (Paragraph 93-94)
With respect to claim 24, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the method of claim 21, Shepherd teaches comprising: determining, based on a request to share the digital whiteboard to the video conference, the whiteboard roles (i.e. moderator or participant) for the ones of the participants based on the respective video conference roles of the ones of the participants (column 7 lines 32-42)
With respect to claim 25, Shepherd and Fieldman teaches the method of claim 21, Shepherd teaches comprising: causing one or more participant devices connected to the video conference to render the digital whiteboard within a graphical user interface associated with the video conference (column 11 lines 59-67)(column 12 lines 1-12, lines 47-61)
With respect to claim 26, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the method of claim 21, Shepherd teaches comprising: changing a whiteboard role for a participant while the digital whiteboard is shared to the video conference(column 16 lines 54-64)
With respect to claim 27, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the method of claim 21, Shepherd teaches wherein the whiteboard roles are only maintained while the digital whiteboard remains shared to the video conference (column 18 lines 56-64 )(column 7 lines 32-42)
With respect to claim 28, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the method of claim 21, Shepherd teaches wherein a participant of the participants maintains a prior whiteboard role assigned prior to the video conference (column 13 lines 26-41)
With respect to claim 29, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the method of claim 21, Shepherd teaches wherein the video conference and the digital whiteboard are facilitated using a unified communications as a service platform (column 5 lines 21-28)
With respect to claim 30, Shepherd teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
enabling, during a video conference, access to different functionality of a digital whiteboard for devices of participants of the video conference (i.e. participant begins to draw on public portion of the virtual whiteboard, other users see a color coded virtual border around the participant’s sketch) according to whiteboard roles (i.e. participant/moderator) (column 18 lines 3-18, 49-64) determined for ones of the participants, wherein the whiteboard roles correspond to respective video conference roles of the ones of the participants (i.e. moderator is owner of the meeting workspace and leader that moderates the participants of the meeting. Participant is a participants, so a moderator also is a moderator for whiteboard who provides writing privileges ) (column 18 lines 56-64 )(column 7 lines 32-42);
terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for a first group of the participants (column 2 lines 13-25) and for a second group of the participants based on a termination of the digital whiteboard (column 2 lines 13-25).
Shepherd does not explicitly teach while the digital whiteboard remains active.
Fieldman teaches terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more first devices of the devices for a second group of the participants based on a termination of the digital whiteboard and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more devices of the devices based on a termination of the digital whiteboard (i.e. permissions are only granted who are present at the end of the session which means if some participants leave early while the conference is active/ongoing, the person who left early will not have access to that content and the participants/person who is left will continue with the whiteboard/content)(column 31 lines 55-67)(column 32 lines 1-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Fieldman’s teaching in Shepherd’s teaching to come up with terminating access to the functionality of the whiteboard for first group of participants while the whiteboard remains active and for a second group of participants based on termination of the whiteboard. The motivation for doing so would to grant access to only participants who stayed throughout the whole conference.
Shepherd and Fieldman does not explicitly teach terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second of devices of the devices.
Harada teaches terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard (i.e. ending of the use of the whiteboard) for one or more second of devices of the devices (i.e. group 2 devices) based on termination of the digital whiteboard (Paragraph 93). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Harada’s teaching in Shepherd and Fieldman’s teaching to come up with terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second of devices of the devices. The motivation or doing so would be to prevent an unauthorized user(s) to be given access to the whiteboard and prevent from changing any content or functionality/settings of the whiteboard.
With respect to claim 31, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 30, but Shepherd further teaches comprising: determining mappings of ones of the conference roles to ones of the whiteboard roles (column 7 lines 32-42)(column 15 lines 35-42)
With respect to claim 32, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 30, but Shepherd further teaches wherein an owner of the digital whiteboard retains a whiteboard role enabling highest access to the functionality of the digital whiteboard (column 19 lines 4-16)
With respect to claim 33, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 30, but Shepherd further teaches wherein the different functionality of the digital whiteboard to which access is enabled for a participant based on the whiteboard role determined for the participant corresponds to one or both of document-level functionality or session-level functionality (column 19 lines 4-16)
With respect to claim 34, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 30, but Shepherd further teaches wherein the video conference is set to recur, and wherein the whiteboard roles are temporarily enforced during each future occurrence of the video conference (column 19 lines 17-30)
With respect to claim 35, Shepherd teaches a system, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to:
-enable, during a video conference, access to different functionality of a digital whiteboard for devices of participants of the video conference (i.e. participant begins to draw on public portion of the virtual whiteboard, other users see a color coded virtual border around the participant’s sketch) according to whiteboard roles (i.e. participant/moderator) (column 18 lines 3-18, 49-64) determined for ones of the participants , wherein the whiteboard roles correspond to respective video conference roles of the ones of the participants (i.e. moderator is owner of the meeting workspace and leader that moderates the participants of the meeting. Participant is a participants, so a moderator also is a moderator for whiteboard who provides writing privileges ) (column 18 lines 56-64 )(column 7 lines 32-42); and
terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more first device of the devices (column 2 lines 13-25) and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second devices of the devices based on a termination of the digital whiteboard (column 2 lines 13-25).
Shepherd does not explicitly teach while the digital whiteboard remains active.
Fieldman teaches terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more first devicse of the devices for a second group of the participants based on a termination of the digital whiteboard and terminating the access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more devices of the devices based on a termination of the digital whiteboard (i.e. permissions are only granted who are present at the end of the session which means if some participants leave early while the conference is active/ongoing, the person who left early will not have access to that content and the participants/person who is left will continue with the whiteboard/content)(column 31 lines 55-67)(column 32 lines 1-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Fieldman’s teaching in Shepherd’s teaching to come up with terminating access to the functionality of the whiteboard for first group of participants while the whiteboard remains active and for a second group of participants based on termination of the whiteboard. The motivation for doing so would to grant access to only participants who stayed throughout the whole conference.
Shepherd and Fieldman does not explicitly teach terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second of devices of the devices.
Harada teaches terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard (i.e. ending of the use of the whiteboard) for one or more second of devices of the devices (i.e. group 2 devices) based on termination of the digital whiteboard (Paragraph 93). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Harada’s teaching in Shepherd and Fieldman’s teaching to come up with terminating access to the different functionality of the digital whiteboard for one or more second of devices of the devices. The motivation or doing so would be to prevent an unauthorized user(s) to be given access to the whiteboard and prevent from changing any content or functionality/settings of the whiteboard.
With respect to claim 36, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the system of claim 35, but Shepherd further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to: determine a video conference role of a participant of the participants (column 7 lines 32-42); access data indicative of a mapping of the video conference role to a whiteboard role (column 7 lines 32-42)(column 15 lines 35-42); and determine the whiteboard role using the accessed data (column 7 lines 32-42)(column 15 lines 35-42)
With respect to claim 37, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the system of claim 35, but Shepherd further teaches wherein the whiteboard roles are determined for the ones of the participants based on a request to share the digital whiteboard to the video conference (column 7 lines 32-42)(column 15 lines 35-42)
With respect to claim 38, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the system of claim 35, but Shepherd further teaches wherein the one or more first devices have access to first functionality of the digital whiteboard, the one or more second devices have access to second functionality of the digital whiteboard, and a host of the video conference has access to both of the first functionality of the digital whiteboard and the second functionality of the digital whiteboard (column 19 lines 17-30) (column 18 lines 56-64 )(column 7 lines 32-42)
With respect to claim 39, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the system of claim 35, but Shepherd further teaches wherein the digital whiteboard is shared with the participants prior to a start of the video conference (column 6 lines 64-67)(column 7 lines 1-7)(column 15 lines 43-49)
With respect to claim 40, Shepherd, Fieldman and Harada teaches the system of claim 35, but Shepherd further teaches wherein the whiteboard role for a participant is revoked while the digital whiteboard is shared to the video conference to revoke the access to the functionality of the digital whiteboard for the participant (column 2 lines 13-25)(column 16 lines 54-64)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 21, 30, 35 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Hinohara et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2020/0296146 which teaches about preparation stage performed before the electronic whiteboard participates in a video session.
B). Adams et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2023/0247067 which teaches webinar attendee role in the company and having virtual space assigning the webinar attendee same role as the company role.
D). Masi et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2021/0352120
E). Ackerman et al. U.S. Patent # 10,505,998
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453