DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 requires “wherein the cowl profile in the radial plane is non-symmetric with respect to the local cowl axis within the tip portion.” This reads on e.g. Fig. 6, which has the cowl axis within the tip portion. However, claim 1 has been amended to read on Fig. 7, e.g. via the angular offset of at least at least 15°. In that embodiment, the cowl axis is not within the tip portion. Accordingly, applicant did not possess this combination of claim limitations simultaneously.
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 requires “wherein the cowl profile in the radial plane is non-symmetric with respect to the local cowl axis within the tip portion.” This reads on e.g. Fig. 6, which has the cowl axis within the tip portion. However, claim 1 has been amended to read on Fig. 7, e.g. via the angular offset of at least at least 15°. In that embodiment, the cowl axis is not within the tip portion. As applicant did not possess this combination of claim limitations simultaneously, the claim is unclear how to simultaneously have the tip portion be offset and also be on the cowl axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones et al (10816213). Jones et al [see annotations] teach Combustion equipment for a gas turbine engine, comprising: an annular combustion chamber 14 having a head plate 36 at an upstream end, wherein the combustion chamber is annular around a central axis; a plurality of fuel injectors 28 angularly distributed around the combustion chamber, each fuel injector having a respective air inlet 26 defining an air inlet axis; an annular cowl 20 positioned upstream of the head plate, the annular cowl extending from a downstream base proximal to the head plate to an upstream tip; wherein, in a radial plane intersecting the central axis and at an angular location between adjacent fuel injectors, the annular cowl has a cowl profile which extends along a local cowl axis from the base towards the tip; wherein the local cowl axis is: normal to a midpoint on the head plate in the radial plane, or coincident with an angular projection of an air inlet axis of an adjacent fuel injector to the radial plane; and wherein the cowl profile in the radial plane is non-symmetric with respect to the local cowl axis, in the radial plane the cowl profile is defined by a first curved half [top] and a second curved half that meet towards the tip, the first curved half having an ogee profile and a point of inflection [note the profile changes from convex to concave near the tip and has a point of inflection and ogee shape], and the second curved half having an ogive profile and no point of inflection, and the cowl profile has a non-uniform radius of curvature and includes a point of minimum radius of curvature or a locus of points of common minimum radius of curvature [note the minimum radius of curvature does not need to occur at the tip, see annotations], in the radial plane, the local cowl axis intersects the head plate at an origin, in a polar frame of reference about the origin in which the local cowl axis extends from the origin at an angle of 0°, and the point of minimum radius of curvature or locus of points of common minimum radius of curvature are angularly offset from the local cowl axis by at least 15° [as illustrated]; (2) wherein in the radial plane the cowl profile has a local height along a direction normal to the local cowl axis, wherein the local height varies along the local cowl axis from the tip to the base, increasing from a minimum at a tip point; wherein a tip portion of the cowl profile extends from the tip point to an axial location corresponding to 50% of a maximum local height of the cowl profile; and wherein the cowl profile in the radial plane is non-symmetric with respect to the local cowl axis within the tip portion; (3) wherein in the radial plane the cowl profile has a local height along a direction normal to the local cowl axis, wherein the local height varies along the local cowl axis from the tip to the base, increasing from a minimum at a tip point; wherein the air inlets of the plurality of fuel injectors each have a centre at a radial location with respect to the central axis, defined as an air inlet radial location; and wherein the tip point is offset from the air inlet radial location by a radial offset with respect to the central axis which is greater than 10% of the maximum local height of the cowl profile; (4) wherein the air inlets of the plurality of fuel injectors each have a centre at a radial location with respect to the central axis, defined as an air inlet radial location; wherein in the radial plane the cowl profile has a non-uniform radius of curvature, and wherein a point of minimum radius of curvature or a locus of points of common minimum radius of curvature is offset from the air inlet radial location by a radial offset with respect to the central axis which is greater than 10% of a maximum radial separation between points on the cowl profile; (9) wherein for each fuel injector: the cowl comprises a recess [Figs. 2, 5] projecting inwardly towards the head plate, wherein the respective fuel injector 28 extends through the recess and has a supporting fuel injector arm extending radially inwardly towards the recess [hole in 50 in Fig. 5] so as to protrude upstream of the cowl within the recess at a radial location radially outward of the respective air inlet, defined as an embedded arm radial location; wherein in the radial plane, the cowl profile is convex with respect to the midpoint of the head plate and has a concave region [concave region in ogee portion] with respect to the midpoint of the head plate at a radial location corresponding to the embedded arm radial location [opening in 50 in Fig. 5 receives the fuel injector arm]; wherein the radial plane is at an angular location between adjacent recesses of the cowl; (13) wherein the cowl profile is axisymmetric with respect to the central axis over an angular region extending between the adjacent fuel injectors [Fig. 7]; (14) wherein the first curved half having the ogee profile is positioned radially outward of the second curved half having the ogive profile with respect to the central axis.
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species:
Species A: Fig(s) 3, 4 base arrangement
Species B: Fig(s) 7 first alternate
Species C: Fig(s) 8 second alternate
Species D: Fig(s) 9 third alternate (purely series)
Species E: Fig(s) 10 fourth alternate (active valves)
Species F: Fig(s) 11 fifth alternate (passive valves)
Species G: Fig(s) 12 fifth alternate (pump)
The species are independent or distinct because they involve distinct arrangements of the cooling circuit and which lead in divergent arrangements. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, no claim appears generic to all the species.
There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: the diverging aspects of the species would lead to divergent search areas to treat the divergent constructions and require divergent references to be applied to the areas of divergence.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 10, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labastie et al (3,049,882) in view of Reider et al (4,458,479) and optionally / for claim 9 further in view of Armit (2016/0290225)1. Labastie et al teach Combustion equipment for a gas turbine engine, comprising: an annular combustion chamber having a head plate 14 at an upstream end, wherein the combustion chamber is annular around a central axis; a plurality of fuel injectors 12 angularly distributed around the combustion chamber, each fuel injector having a respective air inlet defining an air inlet axis; and an annular cowl 15 positioned upstream of the head plate 14, the annular cowl 15 extending from a downstream base proximal to the head plate 14 to an upstream tip; wherein in a radial plane intersecting the central axis and at an angular location between adjacent fuel injectors 12, the annular cowl 15 has a cowl profile which extends along a local cowl axis from the base towards the tip, the local cowl axis is: normal to a midpoint on the head plate 14 in the radial plane, or coincident with an angular projection of an air inlet axis of an adjacent fuel injector 12 to the radial plane, the cowl profile in the radial plane is non-symmetric with respect to the local cowl axis, in the radial plane the cowl profile is defined by a first curved half and a second curved half that meet towards the tip 16, the first curved half [top] having an ogee profile and a point of inflection, and the second curved half [bottom] having an ogive profile and no point of inflection, and the cowl profile has a non-uniform radius of curvature [at tip 16] and includes a point of minimum radius of curvature or a locus of points of common minimum radius of curvature, in the radial plane, the local cowl axis intersects the head plate 14 at an origin, in a polar frame of reference about the origin in which the local cowl axis extends from the origin at an angle of 0°, and the point of minimum radius of curvature or locus of points of common minimum radius of curvature are angularly offset from the local cowl axis by an angle; (2) wherein in the radial plane the cowl profile has a local height along a direction normal to the local cowl axis, wherein the local height varies along the local cowl axis from the tip 16 to the base, increasing from a minimum at a tip point; wherein a tip portion 16 of the cowl profile extends from the tip point to an axial location corresponding to 50% of a maximum local height of the cowl profile; and wherein the cowl profile in the radial plane is non-symmetric with respect to the local cowl axis within the tip portion 16; (3) wherein in the radial plane the cowl profile has a local height along a direction normal to the local cowl axis, wherein the local height varies along the local cowl axis from the tip 16 to the base, increasing from a minimum at a tip point; wherein the air inlets of the plurality of fuel injectors 12 each have a centre at a radial location with respect to the central axis, defined as an air inlet radial location; and wherein the tip point is offset from the air inlet radial location by a radial offset with respect to the central axis which is greater than 10% of the maximum local height of the cowl profile; (4) wherein the air inlets of the plurality of fuel injectors 12 each have a centre at a radial location with respect to the central axis, defined as an air inlet radial location; wherein the point of minimum radius of curvature or the locus of points of common minimum radius of curvature is offset from the air inlet radial location by a radial offset with respect to the central axis which is greater than 10% of a maximum radial separation between points on the cowl profile; (13) wherein the cowl profile is axisymmetric with respect to the central axis over an angular region extending between the adjacent fuel injectors; (14) wherein the first curved half having the ogee profile [top] is positioned radially outward of the second curved half having the ogive profile [bottom] with respect to the central axis.
Labastie et al teach the cowl profile has a non-uniform radius of curvature [at tip 16] and includes a point of minimum radius of curvature or a locus of points of common minimum radius of curvature, in the radial plane, the local cowl axis intersects the head plate 14 at an origin, in a polar frame of reference about the origin in which the local cowl axis extends from the origin at an angle of 0°, and the point of minimum radius of curvature or locus of points of common minimum radius of curvature are angularly offset from the local cowl axis by an angle but do not teach the angle is at least 15°. Reider et al teach the cowl profile has a non-uniform radius of curvature 76 and includes a point of minimum radius of curvature [junction of 78 and 84] or a locus of points of common minimum radius of curvature, in the radial plane, the local cowl axis intersects the head plate [circa 40’ leadline] at an origin, in a polar frame of reference about the origin in which the local cowl axis extends from the origin at an angle of 0°, and the point of minimum radius of curvature or locus of points of common minimum radius of curvature are angularly offset from the local cowl axis by at least 15°. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to angularly offset from the local cowl axis by an angle of at least 15°, as a typical range of operation used in the combustor art of gas turbine engines. Note that Labastie et al already teach the ogee and ogive profiles. Alternately, Armit et al teach an analogous annular combustor where the by two curved halves that meet towards the tip; wherein a first of the curved halves has a point of inflection and an ogee profile 30 [see paragraph 0046]. The ogee profiled with a point of inflection is well known in the use of arch shapes as a strong shape which resists deformation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the top profile an ogee shape with point of inflection, in order utilize a typical shape utilized in the art for this location and which is well known in the use of arch shapes as a strong shape which resists deformation.
Labastie et al teach (9) wherein for each fuel injector: the cowl comprises a recess projecting inwardly towards the head plate 14, wherein the respective fuel injector extends through the recess, wherein in the radial plane, the cowl profile is convex with respect to the midpoint of the head plate 14 and has a concave region with respect to the midpoint of the head plate 14; wherein the radial plane is at an angular location between adjacent recesses of the cowl. Labastie et al do not teach a supporting fuel injector arm extending radially inwardly towards the recess so as to protrude upstream of the cowl within the recess at a radial location radially outward of the respective air inlet; and a concave region with respect to the midpoint of the head plate 14 at a radial location corresponding to the embedded arm radial location; nor (10) wherein in the radial plane, the cowl profile has a point of inflection at a radial location corresponding to the embedded arm radial location. Armit et al teach (9) wherein for each fuel injector: the cowl comprises a recess projecting inwardly towards the head plate, wherein the respective fuel injector extends through the recess and has a supporting fuel injector arm extending radially inwardly towards the recess so as to protrude upstream of the cowl within the recess at a radial location radially outward of the respective air inlet, defined as an embedded arm [arms of 29] radial location; wherein in the radial plane, convex [majority of cowl profile, except concave region] with respect to the midpoint of the head plate 24 and has a concave region [near inflection point or at dashed lines in 31 to receive arms of 29] with respect to the midpoint of the head plate; (10) wherein in the radial plane, the cowl profile has a point of inflection [within ogee] at a radial location corresponding to the embedded arm 50 radial location.. It would have been obvious to place a supporting fuel injector arm extending radially inwardly towards the recess so as to protrude upstream of the cowl within the recess at a radial location radially outward of the respective air inlet; and a concave region with respect to the midpoint of the head plate 14 at a radial location corresponding to the embedded arm radial location, wherein in the radial plane, (10) the cowl profile has a point of inflection at a radial location corresponding to the embedded arm radial location, as taught by Armit, in order to use an equivalent fuel injector arm / recess configuration utilized in the art.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of any of Labastie combination and Jones et al, as applied above, and further in view of either Clemen (2015/0260409) or De Sousa et al (2009/0293487). The prior art already teach wherein the cowl profile is axisymmetric with respect to the central axis over an angular region extending between the adjacent fuel injectors Alternately, Clemen teaches wherein the cowl profile 3 is axisymmetric with respect to the central axis over an angular region extending between the adjacent fuel injectors is the conventional practice in the art [Fig. 1B, 3C] and moreover is what applicant’s invention is modified against (e.g. Fig. 2 of applicant). Alternately, De Sousa et al teach making the cowl profile/combustor with symmetry of revolution / axisymmetry [annular, Fig. 4] is the typical practice in the art for annular combustors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the cowl profile axisymmetric with respect to the central axis over an angular region extending between the adjacent fuel injectors, as taught by either Clemen or De Sousa et al, as the standard shape utilized in the art.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of any of Armit combination, Cohen combination and Jones et al, as applied above, and further in view of Matsuyama et al (2015/0082797). The prior art do not necessarily teach (11) wherein for each of the fuel injectors, a wall defining the respective air inlet is non-symmetrically tapered to bias flow around the wall towards a radially inward direction, or towards a radially outward direction; (12) wherein the non-symmetrical taper is defined by a truncation of the wall along a plane that is inclined with respect to the air inlet axis and a normal of the air inlet axis. Matsuyama et al ‘797 teach (11) wherein for each of the fuel injectors 1, a wall defining the respective air inlet [see plane of leadlines for 20, 6 in Fig. 4B] is non-symmetrically tapered [about C1] to bias flow around the wall towards a radially inward direction, or towards a radially outward direction; (12) wherein the non-symmetrical taper is defined by a truncation of the wall along a plane that is inclined with respect to the air inlet axis and a normal of the air inlet axis. Matsuyama et al ‘797 teach the injector achieves high combustor efficiency [see paragraph 010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ 11) wherein for each of the fuel injectors, a wall defining the respective air inlet is non-symmetrically tapered to bias flow around the wall towards a radially inward direction, or towards a radially outward direction; (12) wherein the non-symmetrical taper is defined by a truncation of the wall along a plane that is inclined with respect to the air inlet axis and a normal of the air inlet axis, in the manner taught by Matsuyama et al ‘797, as a typical air inlet configuration utilized in the art and which facilitates directing the air where desired to achieve high combustor efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s explanation clarify claim 13 under 35 USC 112.
Applicant’s arguments concerning Jones are not persuasive, alleging
“This point is positioned closely adjacent to where cowl 20 meets fastener 48, which is well inside of the claimed 15° angular offset from the local cowl axis.”
However, the tip and the minimum radius of curvature are not required to be at the same location. It is noted that as annotated, the angular offset of at least 15° is met by Jones.
Applicant’s amendments have necessitated the use of Labastie et al and Reider et al.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
May 16, 2026
such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
1 Labastie combination. Note for claim 9 Armit is required and regarded as optional for the other claims.