DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shigeru [KR 20220003599A].
As to claim 1. Shigeru discloses A cooling plate that cools an electronic component for testing mounted on a wiring board used for testing a device under test (DUT), the cooling plate comprising:
a first plate, [fig. 4, 0036] member 130, having a main surface having a first groove that forms a flow path through which a cooling liquid passes, [fig. 4, 0038];
a second plate, [fig. 4, 0036] top plate 120, disposed on the main surface of the first plate, [fig. 4, 0038]; and
an adhesive part that bonds the first plate and the second plate, [0043] epoxy resin.
As to claim 3. Shigeru discloses The cooling plate according to claim 1 wherein the adhesive part surrounds the flow path around an entire periphery of the flow path in a plan view, [0043] hermetically seal the coolant flow 131.
As to claim 4. Shigeru discloses The cooling plate according to claim 1, wherein the adhesive part comprises: a first extending part that is interposed between the first plate and the second plate and extends along one side of the flow path; and a second extending part that is interposed between the first plate and the second plate and extends along another side of the flow path, [0043] hermetically seal the coolant flow 131, which requires for the epoxy to cover all surface of the top of the groove of member 130.
As to claim 5. Shigeru discloses The cooling plate according to claim 4, wherein the main surface of the first plate has: a first recess extending along the one side of the first groove; and a second recess extending along the other side of the first groove, the first recess accommodates at least part of the first extending part, and the second recess accommodates at least part of the second extending part, [fig. 4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 9-13, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeru in view of Shinichi [JP 2017/224651A].
As to claim 2. Shigeru fails to discloses The cooling plate according to claim 1, wherein the second plate has a second groove facing the first groove, and the first groove and the second groove form the flow path.
Shinichi teaches a cooler comprising a first and second plates 30a and 30b, each comprising grooves 31 forms a fluid path, [fig. 5, 0015].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shigeru with that of Shinichi so that the plates can be used interchangeably allowing the system to manufacture only one plate to reduce manufacturing cost.
As to claim 6. Shigeru discloses The cooling plate according to claim 1, wherein the first plate has a narrow groove formed on a bottom surface of the first groove.
Shinichi teaches a cooler comprising a first and second plates 30a and 30b, each comprising grooves 31 forms a fluid path, [fig. 5, 0015]; wherein the groves 31 comprise a staged groove with the second grove being the narrow portion of the groove 31 at the bottom, [fig. 5].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shigeru with that of Shinichi so that the fluid path can have a bigger surface area.
As to claim 9. Shigeru discloses A wiring board assembly comprising:
a first electronic component for testing, [fig. 1, 0021] tester 4;
a first wiring board on which the first electronic component is mounted, [fig. 1, 0023] probe card 12 with probes 12a is connected to the tester 4; and
the cooling plate according to claim 1, [figs. 1, 4, 0023] device 10.
Shigeru fails to disclose wherein the first wiring board is disposed on the cooling plate, such that the first electronic component is interposed between the first wiring board and the cooling plate.
Shinichi teaches a cooler comprising a first and second plates 30a and 30b, each comprising grooves 31 forms a fluid path, [fig. 5, 0015]; wherein the transistor chips 21a, 21b to be tested and cooled are sandwiched between the two cooling plates 31a, 31b, [figs. 3, 5, 0018].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shigeru with that of Shinichi so that device under test can have a maximum surface area exposed to the cooling liquid.
As to claim 10. Shigeru fails to disclose The wiring board assembly according to claim 9, further comprising: a first heat transfer layer that contacts the first electronic component and contacts a first outer surface of the cooling plate.
Shinichi teaches a cooler comprising a first and second plates 30a and 30b, each comprising grooves 31 forms a fluid path, [fig. 5, 0015]; wherein the transistor chips 21a, 21b to be tested and cooled are sandwiched between the two cooling plates 30a, 30b, [figs. 3, 5, 0018]; further comprising a heat sink 17, [fig. 3, 0018].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shigeru with that of Shinichi so that heat sink can used to contact the heat from the device to be tested to the cooling system.
As to claim 11. Shigeru fails to disclose The wiring board assembly according to claim 9, further comprising: a second electronic component for testing; and a second wiring board on which the second electronic component is mounted, wherein the second wiring board is disposed on the cooling plate such that the second electronic component is interposed between the second wiring board and the cooling plate, and the cooling plate is interposed between the first wiring board and the second wiring board.
Shinichi teaches a cooler comprising a first and second plates 30a and 30b, each comprising grooves 31 forms a fluid path, [fig. 5, 0015]; wherein the transistor chips 21a, 21b to be tested and cooled are sandwiched between the two cooling plates 30a, 30b, [figs. 3, 5, 0018]; wherein each transistor is connected to control terminals 4 in a series connection; wherein the chips and the connections are between the two plates 30a, 30b, [figs. 3, 4].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shigeru with that of Shinichi so that the system can be used to test a plurality of devices at the same time saving time for testing.
As to claim 12. Shigeru fails to disclose The wiring board assembly according to claim 11, further comprising: a second heat transfer layer that contacts the second electronic component and contacts a second outer surface of the cooling plate.
Shinichi teaches a cooler comprising a first and second plates 30a and 30b, each comprising grooves 31 forms a fluid path, [fig. 5, 0015]; wherein the transistor chips 21a, 21b to be tested and cooled are sandwiched between the two cooling plates 30a, 30b, [figs. 3, 5, 0018]; further comprising a heat sink 17 for each transistor to be tested, [fig. 3, 0018].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shigeru with that of Shinichi so that heat sink can used to contact the heat from the device to be tested to the cooling system.
As to claim 13. Shigeru discloses A device testing apparatus that tests a device under test (DUT), [fig. 1, 0021], the device testing apparatus comprising: the wiring board assembly according to claim 9, [fig. 1].
As to claim 15. Shigeru fails to disclose The device testing apparatus according to Claim 13, wherein the cooling liquid is water.
Shinichi teaches a cooler comprising a first and second plates 30a and 30b, each comprising grooves 31 forms a fluid path, [fig. 5, 0015]; wherein the refrigerant is water, [0009].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shigeru with that of Shinichi so that the cooling system can be implemented using a readily available resource.
As to claim 16. Shigeru discloses The device testing apparatus according to Claim 13, further comprising: a test head that accommodates the wiring board assembly comprising a pin electronics card, [fig. 1, 0023] probes 12a is connected to the tester 4, wherein the pin electronics card comprises: the first wiring board, [fig. 1, 0023] probe card 12 ; and the first electronic component, [fig. 1, 0021] tester 4.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeru in view of Shinichi as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Ward et al. [US 20130092356].
As to claim 14. Shigeru discloses The device testing apparatus according to claim 13, further comprising: a cooling liquid supply device that supplies a cooling liquid to the flow path in the cooling plate, [fig. 1, 4] a refrigerant supply pipe 160 supplying the refrigerant, which requires a refrigerant supply device to supply the refrigerant.
The combination of Shigeru and Shinichi fails to disclose wherein the apparatus further comprises an ion removing filter that is interposed between the cooling liquid supply device and the wiring board assembly and removes ions from the cooling liquid.
Ward teaches a system for testing a device under test DUT using a cooling fluid, [fig. 4, 0044], wherein the system comprises a particle filter 10 inline with the fluid path 32, [fig. 4, 0044], to remove charged particles from the fluid, [0035].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Shigeru and Shinichi with that of Ward so that the cooling fluid can be free of impurities and perform at a higher efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688