DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file (CN202211376117.0 People’s Republic of China 11/04/2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form PTO-1449, filed 11/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature “a second control circuit…” as recited in claim 14, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use recite functional language but are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Apparatus claims 1-3, 9-11, 14’s “first-stage/second-stage amplifier circuit”, “an equalizer circuit”, “a first/second control circuit” that is “configured to” perform recited operations;
Because these claim limitation(s) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 recites the limitation "wherein the control circuit" in the claim 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 15 are rejected under both 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 8,027,193 B2).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses a memory (see for example in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8), comprising:
a first-stage amplifier circuit (e.g., circuit 13; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8), connected to a bit line and a complementary bit line (e.g., BL and BLB; in Fig. 4 related in Figs 1-3, 5-8), and configured to amplify a voltage difference between the bit line and the complementary bit line (implied the BLSA’s function; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8);
a second-stage amplifier circuit (e.g., circuit 19; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8), connected to a local data line and a complementary local data line (e.g., LIO and LIOB; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8), further connected to a global data line and a complementary global data line (e.g., GIO and GIOB; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8), amplifying a voltage difference between the local data line and the complementary local data line after the local data line is connected to the bit line and the complementary local data line is connected to the complementary bit line (see for example in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8), and generating a voltage difference between the global data line and the complementary global data line (see for example in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8); and
a driving circuit (e.g., circuit 18; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8), connected to the local data line and the complementary local data line, and amplifying the voltage difference between the local data line and the complementary local data line (see for example in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8).
The structure in of the prior art (Lee) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.1(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 2, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses wherein the memory further comprises: an equalizer circuit, connected to the local data line and the complementary local data line (e.g., circuit 18b; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8), and charging voltages on the local data line and the complementary local data line to a precharge voltage before the local data line is connected to the bit line and the complementary local data line is connected to the complementary bit line (e.g., from a level of internal power voltage AV to PM1; in Figs. 2, 4 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-8); and the driving circuit is configured to amplify the voltage difference between the local data line and the complementary local data line after the voltages on the local data line and the complementary local data line are charged to the precharge voltage (see for example in Figs. 2, 4 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-8). Also, the structure of in prior art (Lee) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 3, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses wherein a start moment at which the driving circuit amplifies the voltage difference between the local data line and the complementary local data line is earlier than a start moment at which the second-stage amplifier circuit amplifies the voltage difference between the local data line and the complementary local data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-8, as discussed above). Also, the structure of in prior art (Lee) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 4, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses wherein a first start moment is in a first value range when a first time interval is in a first time range; the first start moment is in a second value range when the first time interval is in a second time range (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above); the first time interval is a time interval between adjacent row addressing and column addressing of the memory, and the first start moment is a start moment at which the driving circuit amplifies the voltage difference between the local data line and the complementary local data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above); and an upper limit value of the first time range is less than or equal to a lower limit value of the second time range, and an upper limit value of the first value range is greater than or equal to a lower limit value of the second value range (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above). Also, the structure of in prior art (Lee) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses wherein the driving circuit is configured to: amplify the voltage difference between the local data line and the complementary local data line by driving a voltage on the local data line and/or a voltage on the complementary local data line upward (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above); and a driving capability of driving the local data line upward is negatively correlated with the voltage on the complementary local data line, and a driving capability of driving the complementary local data line upward is negatively correlated with the voltage on the local data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above). Also, the structure of in prior art (Lee) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 6, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses wherein the driving circuit comprises: a switch unit, connected to a first driving unit and a second driving unit (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above), controlling connection or disconnection between the first driving unit and a first power supply terminal under the control of a first control signal (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above), and controlling connection or disconnection between the second driving unit and the first power supply terminal under the control of the first control signal, the first power supply terminal providing a power voltage (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above); the first driving unit, connected to the local data line and the complementary local data line, and driving the voltage on the local data line upward based on the voltage on the complementary local data line when the first driving unit is connected to the first power supply terminal (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above); and the second driving unit, connected to the local data line and the complementary local data line, and driving the voltage on the complementary local data line upward based on the voltage on the local data line when the second driving unit is connected to the first power supply terminal (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above); and a driving capability of the first driving unit in driving the local data line is negatively correlated with the voltage on the complementary local data line, and a driving capability of the second driving unit in driving the complementary local data line is negatively correlated with the voltage on the local data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above). Also, the structure of in prior art (Lee) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 7, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses wherein the first driving unit comprises: a first P-type transistor, a source being connected to the switch unit, a drain being connected to the local data line, and a gate being connected to the complementary local data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above); and the second driving unit comprises: a second P-type transistor, a source being connected to the switch unit, a drain being connected to the complementary local data line, and a gate being connected to the local data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above). Also, the structure of in prior art (Lee) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 8, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses wherein the switch unit comprises: a third P-type transistor, a source being connected to the first power supply terminal, a drain being connected to the source of the first P-type transistor, the drain being further connected to the source of the second P-type transistor, and a gate receiving the first control signal (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above). Also, the structure of in prior art (Lee) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 15, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses wherein the memory further comprises: a third-stage amplifier circuit (e.g., circuit 21; in Fig. 4 related in Figs. 1-3, 5-8), connected to the global data line and the complementary global data line, and configured to amplify the voltage difference between the global data line and the complementary global data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above). Also, the structure of in prior art (Lee) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 8,027,193 B2 hereinafter “Lee_1”) in view of Lee et al (US 11,776,588 B2 hereinafter “Lee_2”).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding claim 9, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses wherein the driving circuit further comprises: a first output terminal being connected to a control terminal of the switch unit (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above), a second output terminal being connected to a control terminal of the second-stage amplifier circuit, and a first input terminal receiving a mode signal and a second input terminal receiving a reference signal to generate the first control signal based on the mode signal and the reference signal and generate a second control signal based on the reference signal (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above); and a start moment at which the first control signal is in a valid state is earlier than a start moment at which the second control signal is in a valid state, and the second-stage amplifier circuit is controlled by the second control signal to amplify the voltage difference between the local data line and the complementary local data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8, as discussed above).
However, Lee_1 is silent with regard to a first control circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee_2, for example in Figs. 1-13, discloses a first control circuit (e.g., control logic circuit 150; in Figs. 3, 6 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 7-13).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Lee_1 such as semiconductor memory device having bit line disturbance preventing unit (see for example in Figs. 1-8 of Lee_1) by incorporating the teaching of Lee_2 such as sense amplifier and semiconductor memory device including the sense amplifier (see for example in Figs. 1-13 of Lee_2), for the purpose of controlling the peripheral circuit includes a sense amplifier for amplifying a voltage difference between a bit line BL and a complementary bit line BLB (Lee_2, Col. 1, lines 31-33).
The structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.1(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 10, the above Lee_1/Lee_2, combination discloses wherein the start moment at which the first control signal is in the valid state is later than an end moment at which an equalization control signal is in a valid state (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 3, 6 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 7-13 of Lee_2, as discussed above), and the voltages on the local data line and the complementary local data line are charged to a precharge voltage when the equalization control signal is in the valid state (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 3, 6 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 7-13 of Lee_2, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.1(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 11, the above Lee_1/Lee_2, combination discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to: determine a time step between the reference signal and the first control signal based on the mode signal; and process the reference signal based on the time step to generate the first control signal (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 3, 6 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 7-13 of Lee_2, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.1(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 12, the above Lee_1/Lee_2, combination discloses wherein the mode signal is determined based on any one or more parameters of a first time interval, a process angle of the memory, a temperature of the memory, and an operating voltage of the memory (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 3, 6 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 7-13 of Lee_2, as discussed above); and the first time interval is a time interval between adjacent row addressing and column addressing of the memory (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 3, 6 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 7-13 of Lee_2, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.1(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 13, the above Lee_1/Lee_2, combination discloses wherein the reference signal is a column selection signal, and the column selection signal is configured to control connection or disconnection between the bit line and the local data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 3, 6 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 7-13 of Lee_2, as discussed above), and is further configured to control connection or disconnection between the complementary bit line and the complementary local data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 3, 6 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 7-13 of Lee_2, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.1(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 14, the above Lee_1/Lee_2, combination discloses wherein the memory further comprises: a second control circuit, connected to the bit line and the complementary bit line, further connected to the local data line and the complementary local data line (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 3, 6 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 7-13 of Lee_2, as discussed above), and configured to receive a column selection signal, control connection or disconnection between the bit line and the local data line under the control of the column selection signal, and control connection or disconnection between the complementary bit line and the complementary local data line under the control of the column selection signal (see for example in Figs. 2, 4, 7 related in Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 8 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 3, 6 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5, 7-13 of Lee_2, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.1(I). The manner of operation does not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Conclusion
/THA-O H BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825 05/29/2026