DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on November 16, 2024 for application number 18/950,018. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 16, 2024 was submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP 23212653.2 filed on November 28, 2023.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Claims 7 and 9-12 are objected as allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-6, 8 and 13-15 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (BAUER – WO 03029060 A2).
Regarding claim 1, BAUER discloses:
A parking brake control arrangement (The essential components of a parking brake device for a commercial vehicle are shown in FIG. 3, which shows the essential elements of the pneumatic part of a first exemplary embodiment of an emergency brake device 28. A manually operated parking brake control element 5 which is arranged in the area of the driver's seat of vehicle 3 and which can be shifted between a driving position and a braking position control or actuates a parking brake control valve 6 such that it can be switched between a first switching position I and a second switching position II) for controlling operation of a parking brake of a vehicle, configured to:
receive a first indication of whether or not a driver of the vehicle is present in a driver’s seat of the vehicle ([0035]: “For example, it can be controlled via a driver identification device, not shown, which is used to determine whether the vehicle 3 is in driverless mode or is controlled by a driver. For this purpose, the driver identification device can have, for example, a driver seat occupancy sensor or detect the manual operation of control elements such as the steering wheel and / or pedals in order to infer a driverless or a driver-controlled operation”);
receive a second indication of whether or not the vehicle being in motion ([0008]: “In the brake system according to the invention, the emergency braking process can be triggered not only manually, but also automatically by a monitoring device that monitors the driving operating state of the vehicle during driverless operation. As soon as the monitoring device detects an impermissible operating state, for example a defect in the service brake or leaving the driverless vehicle in a given driving corridor, it generates a corresponding trigger signal which triggers the emergency braking process. This takes place in driverless operation, since manual intervention is not possible or is very difficult. It is still possible to manually trigger the emergency braking process. This can be necessary in driverless operation to prevent collisions or in operation with the driver if he is unable to intervene, for example if he has lost consciousness. The manual release can be carried out by a person in the vehicle surroundings or by the passenger by actuating the emergency brake operating device. In contrast to the known brake systems, the monitoring device can detect a defect in the service brake device before a service brake operation is triggered that has no or only an insufficient braking effect. The defect in the service brake system is automatically detected by the monitoring device and independently of a service brake operation that has been brought about, and an emergency braking operation is then triggered automatically in driverless operation. The emergency braking process is also brought about when the driverless vehicle leaves a predetermined driving corridor. As a result, collisions with vehicles in other driving corridors (dynamic obstacles) and static obstacles can be effectively prevented in driverless operation. Overall, the brake system according to the invention provides increased safety for vehicles that can be operated without a driver”);
receive a third indication of whether or not the vehicle is in a towing mode ([0042]: “The parking brake control valve 6 is designed as a 3/2-way valve and is fluidly connected via an output line 8 to parking brake actuators 9, 10 of the parking brake device and to a trailer control valve 11 of a coupling device. Of the coupling device known per se for coupling a trailer or semitrailer to the vehicle 3, only the trailer control valve is used 11, which, when a coupling with a trailer or semi-trailer is produced, is in turn fluidly connected via a trailer control line 12 to a trailer braking device 13 of the trailer or semi-trailer”); and
control, when the first indication indicates that the driver is absent from the driver’s seat, the second indication indicates that the vehicle is in movement, and the third indication indicates that the vehicle is not in the towing mode, the parking brake of the vehicle from a disengaged state to an engaged state ([0035-0068]: “The third switch 80 can be operated manually or automatically. For example, it can be controlled via a driver identification device, not shown, which is used to determine whether the vehicle 3 is in driverless mode or is controlled by a driver. For this purpose, the driver identification device can have, for example, a driver seat occupancy sensor or detect the manual operation of control elements such as the steering wheel and / or pedals in order to infer a driverless or a driver-controlled operation” and “As indicated by dash-dotted lines in FIG. 1, an electrical bridging line 79 with a third switch 80 could be provided in parallel to the emergency brake operating device 34. When the third switch 80 is closed, the emergency brake control device 34 would be ineffective, whereas when the third switch 80 is open, the emergency brake control device 34 would be effective as a triggering device for an emergency braking operation”).
Regarding claim 15, BAUER discloses:
A method of controlling operation of a parking brake of a vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving a first indication of whether or not a driver of the vehicle is present in a driver’s seat of the vehicle ([0035]);
receiving a second indication of whether or not the vehicle being in motion ([0008]);
receiving a third indication of whether or not the vehicle is in a towing mode ([0042]); and
controlling, when the first indication indicates that the driver is absent from the driver’s seat, the second indication indicates that the vehicle is in motion, and the third indication indicates that the vehicle is not in the towing mode, the parking brake of the vehicle from a disengaged state to an engaged state ([0035-0068]).
Regarding claim 2, BAUER disclose the filter insert according to claim 1, and further on BAUER also discloses:
the first indication indicating that the driver is absent from the driver’s seat when a weight sensor in the driver’s seat indicates that the driver is likely not sitting in the driver’s seat and a seat belt sensor indicates that a seat belt of the driver’s seat is unlocked ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]).
Regarding claim 3, BAUER disclose the filter insert according to claim 1, and further on BAUER also discloses:
the parking brake control arrangement being further configured to:
control, when the first indication indicates that the driver is absent from the driver’s seat, the second indication indicates that the vehicle is in motion, and the third indication indicates that the vehicle is in the towing mode, the parking brake of the vehicle to be in the disengaged state ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]).
Regarding claim 4, BAUER disclose the filter insert according to claim 1, and further on BAUER also discloses:
the parking brake control arrangement being further configured to:
control, when the first indication indicates that the driver is present in the driver’s seat ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]), or
the second indication indicates that the vehicle is stationary ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]), or
the third indication indicates that the vehicle is in the towing mode, the parking brake of the vehicle from the engaged state to the disengaged state ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]).
Regarding claim 5, BAUER disclose the filter insert according to claim 1, and further on BAUER also discloses:
the parking brake control arrangement further comprising:
a switching arrangement (first switch 55, second switch 60, third switch 80 and fourth switch 90: Figs. 1-9) controllable to connect a power source to an actuator of the parking brake of the vehicle ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]).
Regarding claim 6, BAUER disclose the filter insert according to claim 5, and further on BAUER also discloses:
the switching arrangement (first switch 55, second switch 60, third switch 80 and fourth switch 90: Figs. 1-9) comprising
a plurality of controllable switches (first switch 55, second switch 60, third switch 80 and fourth switch 90: Figs. 1-9), the switches (first switch 55, second switch 60, third switch 80 and fourth switch 90: Figs. 1-9) being arranged to connect the power source to the actuator of the parking brake of the vehicle in response to the first indication indicating that the driver is absent from the driver’s seat, the second indication indicating that the vehicle is in motion, and the third indication indicating that the vehicle is not in the towing mode ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]).
Regarding claim 8, BAUER disclose the filter insert according to claim 1, and further on BAUER also discloses:
a parking brake system for a heavy-duty vehicle, comprising:
an air reservoir arrangement (first air reservoir 17 associated with the parking brake device) for storing pressurized air for operation of the parking brake system ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]);
an air brake chamber (second storage container 249) configured to engage a parking brake of the vehicle when an air pressure inside the air brake chamber is lower than a predefined parking brake threshold pressure ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]); and
the parking brake control arrangement of claim 1 arranged to control, when the first indication indicates that the driver is absent from the driver’s seat, the second indication indicates that the vehicle is in motion, and the third indication indicates that the vehicle is not in the towing mode, the air pressure inside the air brake chamber to become lower than the predefined parking brake threshold pressure ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]).
Regarding claim 13, BAUER disclose the filter insert according to claim 8, and further on BAUER also discloses:
a vehicle (vehicle 3: Fig. 4) comprising:
vehicle wheels ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]); and
the parking brake system of claim 8 actuatable to brake at least one of the vehicle wheels ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]).
Regarding claim 14, BAUER disclose the filter insert according to claim 13, and further on BAUER also discloses:
an alert system (warning lamp 57) configured to provide an alert external to the vehicle in response to the parking brake control arrangement of the parking brake system controlling the parking brake of the vehicle from the disengaged state to the engaged state ([Abstract, 0008, 0035-0068]: “A first switch 55 of the first switching relay 47, which is controlled by the first switching coil 46, connects a warning device 56, for example a warning lamp 57, to the voltage supply line 41 and thus to the supply voltage source when the first switching coil 46 is not energized. The warning lamp 57 is connected at its other connection to the vehicle ground, so that when the first controlled switch 55 is in the rest position, the warning lamp 57 lights up”).
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747