The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 10 claims and claims 1-10 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's argument, filed on May 18, 2026 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
On page 3, regarding Double Patenting, conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations.
On pages 4-5, applicant argued " CHUANG does not explicitly disclose disabling a Bi-directional Optical flow mode allowing refining a motion of samples of a block based on an optical flow for the current block responsive to the at least one decoded first block level parameter indicates generalized bi-prediction weights are not equal to default weights," as claimed in claim 1. While the applicant's argument points are understood, the examiner respectfully disagrees it is because in [para 0060 and Fig. 11]- discloses Bi-directional optical flow (BIO) or affine prediction/compensation, with reduced system bandwidth to refine motion according to an embodiment of the present invention, where the current block is divided into sub-blocks depending on whether prediction direction associated with the current block is bi-prediction or uni-prediction which is equivalent to allowing refining a motion of samples of a block based on an optical flow for the current block responsive to the at least one decoded first block level parameter indicates generalized bi-prediction weights are not equal to default weights, as it is not clear what is “bi-prediction weights are not equal to default weights”.
Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 33,35,47, 48,50, 51, 53, 54,58, 60, 61, 63 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,834 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations, using varying terminology, and the claims are obvious variants of each other because:
The independent claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 9 of the current application include broader limitations of the claims 33, 35, 48, 50, 51, 53 and 61 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,184,834 B2.
The limitations of claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 9 of the current application can be read on the limitations of the independent claims 33, 35, 48, 50, 51, 53 and 61 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,184,834 B2.
The limitation of claim 2,5,7 and 9 of the current application can be read on limitations of claims 47, 58, 60 and 63 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,184,834 B2.
Nonetheless, claims 1-10 of the present application made the claim a broader version of claims 33,35,47, 48,50, 51, 53, 54,58, 60, 61, 63 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,834 B2. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claims 1-10 is not patentably distinct from claim 33,35,47, 48,50, 51, 53, 54,58, 60, 61, 63 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,834 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUANG et al. (2018/0199057) in view of Ching-Yeh Chen et al. (NPL-Description of SDR video coding technology proposal by MediaTek; given by the applicant in the IDS, hereinafter as Chen).
Regarding claim 1, CHUANG a decoding method comprising: decoding at least one first block level parameter for a current block ([see in Fig. 8]-decoding current block); disabling a Bi-directional Optical flow mode allowing refining a motion of samples of a block based on an optical flow for the current block responsive to the at least one decoded first block level parameter indicates generalized bi-prediction weights are not equal to default weights; and decoding the current block([para 0022]- Bi-directional optical flow (BIO) or Decoder-side MV refinement (DMVR), to refine motion are disclosed. According to one method of the present invention, a target motion-compensated reference block associated with the current block in a target reference picture from a reference picture list is determined, where the target motion-compensated reference block includes additional surrounding pixels around a corresponding block of the current block in the target reference picture for performing interpolation filter required for any fractional motion vector of the current block).
However, CHUANG does not explicitly disclose disabling a Bi-directional Optical flow mode allowing refining a motion of samples of a block based on an optical flow for the current block responsive to the at least one decoded first block level parameter indicates generalized bi-prediction weights are not equal to default weights
In an analogous art, CHAUNG discloses disabling a Bi-directional Optical flow mode allowing refining a motion of samples of a block based on an optical flow for the current block responsive to the at least one decoded first block level parameter indicates generalized bi-prediction weights are not equal to default weights([see in section:2:4:9]-Bi-directional optical flow(BIO) is proposed in VCEG-AZ07 ad adopted in JEM. The concept of BIO is to utilize the assumption of optical flow and steady motion to further refine the final predictor in bi-prediction. The decoding process of the BIO in this proposal is similar to the BIO in JEM07.0. A block-based design of BIO is used instead of the sample-based designed. The block size is adaptively switched between 2x2 and 4x4, according to the video resolution and OMBC condition. If the video resolution is smaller than or equal to 720P or the current MC block is used for OBMC process, the BIO sub-block size 2x2. Otherwise, the BIO sub-block is set to 4x4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Chen to the modified system of CHUANG to provide a video codec with higher compression capability than HEVC, especially for ultra high definition (UHD) and full high-definition (FHD) video contents. To achieve this goal, a number of tools are proposed covering several aspects of video compression technology, including coding block structure, inter/intra prediction, transform, quantization, in-loop filtering [Chen; abstract].
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses further comprising disabling generalized bi-prediction or setting generalized bi-prediction weights to default weights responsive to a size of the block is below a predetermined value([see in section: 2.4.7]- Generalized bi-prediction (GBi) is proposed in JVET-C0047. The concept of GBi is to allow using different weights for predictors from LO and Ll, respectively, instead of using equal weights in traditional bi-prediction).
Regarding claim 3, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 3 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 4 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 6 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 8 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 9 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. CHEN et al., US 2018/0249172 A1, discloses extending the BIO to more general cases, or applying BIO adaptively to improve performance or reducing complexity.
2. Hsu et. al., US 2018/0041769 A1, discloses motion vector restoration for decoder-side predictor refinement.
3. Li et al., US 2017/0094305 A1, discloses techniques for coding (e.g., encoding or decoding) video data.
4. CHEN et al., US 2019/0045215 A1, discloses using the BIO selectively for certain conditions to improve performance or reduce complexity for using the BIO techniques.
5. Liu et al., US 2023/0093366 A1, discloses refining motion information of a video block by using a multi-step refinement processing, multiple refined motion vectors (MVs) of the video block being derived iteratively in respective steps of the multi-step refinement processing, and performing a video processing on the video block based on the multiple refined MVs of the video block.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487