DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “driving unit,” “hoist unit,” “hand unit,” “hoist driving unit,” “horizontal moving unit,” and “hoist driving unit” in claims 1-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 lines 2-3 recite “between the first guide rollers” [plural]. As only a single first guide roller is set forth previous to this limitation, it is not clear what is meant. How many first guide rollers are required by claim 10?
Claim 10 lines 4-5 recite “between the second guide rollers” [plural]. As only a single second guide roller is set forth previous to this limitation, it is not clear what is meant. How many second guide rollers are required by claim 10?
Claim 10 lines 6-7 recite “between the third guide rollers” [plural]. As only a single third guide roller is set forth previous to this limitation, it is not clear what is meant. How many third guide rollers are required by claim 10?
Claim 14 recites “crossing each other at an upper portion.” An upper portion of what? Of the belts? One of the belts? Of the transferring apparatus.
Claim 17 recites “the first connector and the second connector includes a bevel gear.” As in they each have a bevel gear? As in they both together “include a [single] bevel gear”? How many bevel gears are required?
Claims 15-16 and 18 depend from claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0092605 A1 (hereinafter “Mohr”).
Regarding claim 1 Mohr discloses a transferring apparatus comprising:
a driving unit provided with a driving wheel (see paragraphs 3 and 4) and connected with a housing (3);
a hoist unit (4) provided in the housing (3); and
a hand unit (2) provided with a gripper that grips a transfer target (“heavy objects,” par. 9), wherein the hoist unit (4) includes:
a belt unit (H1-H4) connected to the hand unit (2), including a first hoist belt (H4) and a second hoist belt (H2); and
a hoist driving unit (4a/4b) configured to wind or unwind the belt unit (H1-H4), and
each of a first surface of the first hoist belt (H4) and a second surface of the second hoist belt (H2) is disposed to be misaligned at an angle (see annotated fig. below) with a driving direction (horizontal) of the driving unit (see paragraphs 3 and 4) without being parallel with the driving direction (horizontal) of the driving unit (see paragraphs 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 3 Mohr discloses the above apparatus, and further discloses wherein each of the first surface of the first hoist belt (H4) and the second surface of the second hoist belt (H2) is disposed toward a central direction (i.e. inward towards element 40) of the housing (3) rather than the driving direction (horizontally outwards of 3) of the driving unit (see paragraphs 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 4 Mohr discloses the above apparatus, and further discloses wherein the belt unit (H1-H4) further includes a third hoist belt (H1) connected to the hand unit (2) and disposed to be spaced apart from each of the first hoist belt (H4) and the second hoist belt (H2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2006/0180565 A1 (hereinafter “Nakao”) in view of Mohr.
Regarding claims 14 and 1-2 Nakao teaches a transferring apparatus comprising:
a driving unit (6) provided with a driving wheel (or else it wouldn’t drive) and connected with a housing (18);
a hoist unit (10) provided in the housing (18);
a horizontal moving unit (8) moving in a direction orthogonal to a driving direction (see fig. ) of the driving unit (6) between the housing (18) and the hoist unit (10) to move the hoist unit (10) relative to the housing (18); and
a hand unit (14) provided with (being) a gripper that grips a transfer target,
wherein the hoist unit (10) includes:
a belt unit (22-25) connected to the hand unit (14), including a first hoist belt (22) and a second hoist belt (24); and
a hoist driving unit (46/48) configured to wind or unwind the belt unit (22-25), and
a first surface of the first hoist belt (22) and a second surface of the second hoist belt (24) are [not parallel one with another], and are extended in a downward direction (see figs. 3-4).
Nakao fails to teach the belt surfaces of the first and second belts are disposed in an X shape by crossing each other at an upper portion. Mohr teaches a multiple belt suspension device for lifting and repositioning objects. Mohr further teaches belt surfaces of first and second belts (S1a/S2a; see pars. 31 and 61, i.e. preferably belts) are disposed in an X shape (see fig. 1) by crossing each other at an upper portion (i.e. portion above the bottom of the device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakao to have crossing belts, as taught by Mohr, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to lessen the sway of, and provide more stability to the grab of, Nakao.
Regarding claim 15 modified Nakao teaches the above apparatus, and further teaches wherein the belt unit (Nakao 22-25) further includes a third hoist belt (Nakao 25) connected to the hand unit (Nakao 14) and disposed to be spaced apart from each of the first hoist belt (Nakao 22) and the second hoist belt (Nakao 24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
Claims 5-9 and 11-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 and 16-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to anticipate or make obvious the entire combination of claim recitations set forth by any of claims 5, 16, or 19. Specifically, these claims require the combination of a hoist drive (e.g. see claim 1) with misaligned belt surfaces, in conjunction with the following drive train:
[Claims 5 and 16] a driven pulley connected to the driving pulley by a timing belt; an input shaft extended to both sides of the driven pulley; a first connector connected to one end of the input shaft at an acute or obtuse angle; a second connector connected to the other end of the input shaft at an acute or obtuse angle; a first output shaft connected to the first connector; a second output shaft connected to the second connector; a first drum connected to the first output shaft, on which the first hoist belt is wound; a second drum connected to the second output shaft, on which the second hoist belt is wound; and a third drum surrounding the input shaft to receive a rotational force of the input shaft, on which the third hoist belt is wound.
[Claim 19] a driven pulley connected to the driving pulley by a timing belt; an input shaft extended to both sides of the driven pulley; a first bevel gear connected to one end of the input shaft at an acute angle; a second bevel gear connected to the other end of the input shaft at an obtuse angle symmetrical with the first bevel gear; a first output shaft connected to the first bevel gear; a second output shaft connected to the second bevel gear; a first drum connected to the first output shaft, on which the first hoist belt is wound; a second drum connected to the second output shaft, on which the second hoist belt is wound; a third drum surrounding the input shaft to receive a rotational force of the input shaft, on which the third hoist belt is wound, and disposed between the first drum and the second drum.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654