DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The parent application is now a published patent. Therefore, it is recommended to change “18/540,459 filed December 14, 2023, which is” in ¶1 to “18/540,459 filed December 14, 2023 and issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,177,150 on December 24, 2024, which is”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,895,046 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-7 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of claims 1-18 of 11,895,046.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,177,150 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-7 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of claims 1-6 of 12,177,150.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 5 recite the limitation “phase continuity” in lines 6 and 10 respectively. It is unclear whether phase continuity is performed cross slots, channel estimation is performed cross slots, an UL transmission is performed while maintaining phase continuity, or something else. For examining purposes, the examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claims 1 and 5 recites the limitation "same aggregated slots transmitted in the NTN communications" in lines 6-7 and 10-11 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are also rejected since they are dependent upon rejected claims 1 and 5 respectively, as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soriaga et al. US 2019/0230656 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Soriaga”) in view of Hong US 2022/0007455 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Hong”).
As to claims 1 and 5, Soriaga teaches an apparatus (¶¶47 and 119; figures 1 and 18: UE/communications device), comprising:
a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with network nodes of a wireless network (¶¶47-48 and 119; figures 1 and 18: transceiver for communicating with nodes in wireless network); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising (¶119; figure 18: processor to perform processing functions):
receiving, via the transceiver, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) time bundling configuration (¶¶89-90 and 96-98; figures 10B and 11: receive slot aggregation configuration for DMRS reception);
determining a duration interval of the DMRS time bundling configuration (¶¶89-90 and 96-98; figures 10B and 11: determine DMRS to be in each of the aggregated slots indicated by the slot aggregation configuration); and
performing phase continuity cross slots based on the duration interval (if performing channel estimation: ¶99; figure 11: receive DMRS in the aggregated slots to perform channel estimation; or if performing UL transmission while maintaining phase continuity: ¶¶89, 95, 105 and 113; figure 10A: perform UL DMRS transmission according to configuration indicating DMRS across the uplink aggregated slots are phase continuous),
Although Soriaga teaches “An apparatus…cross slots based on the duration interval,” Soriaga does not explicitly disclose “same aggregated slots transmitted in the NTN communications”.
However, Hong teaches same aggregated slots transmitted in the NTN communications (¶¶125, 171, 173, 181-182, 286-287, and 305: configured NTN transmission/reception across slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Soriaga by including “same aggregated slots transmitted in the NTN communications” as taught by Hong because it provides Soriaga’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of receiving explicit configuration for NTN configuration (Hong, ¶173).
As to claims 2 and 6, Soriaga in view of Hong teaches apparatus of Claim 5. Soriaga further teaches wherein, during operation, the processor further performs operations comprising:
inferring a first channel over which a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) symbol on an antenna port is conveyed from a second channel over which a DMRS symbol on the antenna port is conveyed when the PDSCH symbol and the DMRS symbol are within same resources as the PDSCH symbol in one slot in an event that the DMRS time bundling configuration is not configured (¶¶89-90 and 96-98; figures 10B and 11).
As to claims 3 and 7, Soriaga in view of Hong teaches apparatus of Claim 5. Soriaga further teaches wherein, during operation, the processor further performs operations comprising:
inferring a first channel over which a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) symbol on an antenna port is conveyed from a second channel over which a DMRS symbol on the antenna port is conveyed when the PDSCH symbol and the DMRS symbol are within same resources as the PDSCH symbol in consecutive slots in an event that the DMRS time bundling configuration is configured (¶¶89-90 and 96-98; figures 10B and 11).
As to claim 4, Soriaga in view of Hong teaches method of Claim 1. Soriaga further teaches wherein the receiving comprises receiving the DMRS time bundling configuration via an explicit signaling or an implicit signaling (¶¶89-90 and 96-98; figures 10B and 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang et al., IEEE “The Evolution of LTE Physical Layer Control Channels”
Kim et al., US 2020/0260416 A1 – Method and Apparatus for Transmitting Downlink Control Channel in Wireless Communication System
Moon et al., US 2020/0367242 A1 – Method for Transmitting and Receiving Downlink Channel and Reference Signal in Communication System
Peng, US 2021/0007107 A1 – Downlink Control Information Transmission Method, Device and Network Equipment
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469