DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 18-37 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11672971. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and the US Patent claim device for evoking a virtual sensation in a user, the device comprising: at least one electrode electrically coupled to the user; a signal generator circuitry electrically coupled to the at least one electrode, the signal generator circuitry is configured to generate via the electrode a stimulation signal to evoke the virtual sensation stimulation comprising an amplitude.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tan et al. (A neural interface provides long-term stable natural touch perception filed on 10/8/2014). Examiner finds support for the current application claims pertaining back to PCT/US2014/070435 filed on 12/16/2014).
Regarding claim 18, Tan discloses a device for evoking a virtual sensation in a user, the device comprising:
at least one electrode electrically coupled to the user (Page 7, paragraph 1, 3);
a signal generator circuitry electrically coupled to the at least one electrode (page 11, paragraph 1), the signal generator circuitry is configured to generate via the electrode a stimulation signal to evoke the virtual sensation (page 12, paragraph 5), the stimulation signal comprising:
a first plurality of pulses having a first amplitude (Page 18 Fig. 2B, 1.1mA); and
a second plurality of pulses having a second amplitude different from the first amplitude (Page 18 Fig. 2B, 2.0 mA).
Regarding claim 19, Tan discloses the device of claim 18, wherein
the second plurality of pulses is generated after the first plurality of pulses (Page 18 Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 20, Tan discloses the device of claim 18, wherein
the first plurality of pulses is generated with the second plurality of pulses (Page 18 Fig. 2A-B).
Regarding claim 21, Tan discloses the device of claim 18, wherein
the first plurality of pulses comprises two or more pulses (Page 18, Figs. 2A-B).
Regarding claim 22, Tan discloses the device of claim 18, wherein
the first plurality of pulses has a first duration and the second plurality of pulses has a second duration different from the first duration (Page 18, Figs. 2B).
Regarding claim 23, Tan discloses the device of claim 18, wherein
at least one pulse of the first plurality of pulses has a different amplitude than at least one other pulse of the first plurality of pulses (Fig. 2B, M5).
Regarding claim 26, Tan discloses The device of claim 18, wherein
a first population of axons is recruited in response to the first plurality of pulses and a second population of axons is recruited in response to the second plurality of pulses (Page 7 paragraphs 3-4).
Regarding claim 27, Tan discloses the device of claim 18, wherein
each pulse of the stimulation signal is a charge balanced pulse (Page 11 paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 28, Tan discloses the device of claim 18, wherein
the signal generator circuitry is further configured to modulate at least one of pulse width or interpulse interval of at least one of the first plurality of pulses or the second plurality of pulses (page 11, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 29, Tan discloses the device of claim 18, wherein
the stimulation signal comprises a predefined envelope that is base, at least in part, on the user (Fig. 3, Page 19).
Regarding claim 30, Tan discloses a stimulation device for evoking a virtual sensation by mimicking a biological signal in a user, the device comprising:
a signal receiver configured to receive an instruction from a computing device comprising a user interface (Page 11, paragraph 1), the instruction to evoke the virtual sensation (page 12, paragraph 5);
at least one electrode, each configured to conductively couple to the user proximate to a population of axons (Page 11 paragarph 3) associated with a radial nerve section of the user (Page 10 paragraph 3); and
a signal generator electrically coupled to the at least one electrode (Page 11 paragraph 1), the configured to generate a stimulation signal comprising at least one charge balanced electrical pulse at a defined amplitude and duration (Page 11, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 31, Tan discloses the stimulation device of claim 30, wherein
the stimulation signal comprises a plurality of pulses having at least two different amplitudes (Fig. 2B, M5).
Regarding claim 32, Tan discloses The stimulation device of claim 30, wherein
the instruction received by the signal receiver specifies a type of virtual sensation (Page 12, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 33, Tan discloses The stimulation device of claim 30, wherein
the stimulation signal is delivered through the electrode to evoke a sense of touch based at least in part on a virtual object rendered on the user interface (Fig. 1, Page 16-17).
Regarding claim 34, Tan discloses The stimulation device of claim 30, wherein
the signal generator is further configured to modulate a pulse width or interpulse interval of the stimulation signal based on the instruction (Page 11, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 35, Tan discloses a method for evoking a virtual sensation in a user by mimicking a biological signal (abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, by a signal receiver, an instruction from a computing device comprising a user interface, the instruction indicating a virtual sensation to be evoked (page 12, paragraph 5);
generating, by a signal generator electrically coupled to an electrode (Page 11 paragraph 1), a stimulation signal comprising at least one charge-balanced electrical pulse having a defined amplitude and duration based at least in part on the instruction (Page 11 paragraph 2 Page 18, Fig. 2B); and
applying the stimulation signal via the electrode to the user to evoke the virtual sensation (page 12, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 36, Tan discloses The method of claim 35, comprising
generating a second stimulation signal comprising a plurality of charge-balanced pulses (Page 11 paragraph 2) having a second amplitude different from the defined amplitude of the first stimulation signal (Page 18 Fig. 2B, 2.0 mA).
Regarding claim 37, Tan discloses The method of claim 35, wherein
the stimulation signal evokes a sense of touch associated with a virtual object rendered on the user interface of the computing device (Fig. 1, Page 16-17).
Conclusion
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796