DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 5, and 9 have been amended as per Applicant’s amendment filed on January 21, 2026. No claims have been canceled. Claims 16 and 17 are newly added. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (CN 108598117, Filed April 25, 2018 – translation attached) in view of Kang (US 2019/0035859 A1, Published January 31, 2019) and Wang (US 2018/0210571 A1, Published July 26, 2018).
As to claim 1, Gu discloses a device comprising:
a control portion; a memory portion (Gu at Fig. 12, processing module 120; Fig. 19, computing device 50 including memory 51 and processor 52); and
a display portion, the display portion comprising: a display element (Gu at Fig. 12, light emitting pixel layer 112 and light emitting element 1121) comprising:…
a light-receiving element (Gu at Figs. 3, 12, fingerprint sensing layer 140 including fingerprint sensing unit 141; page 6 discloses “wherein the fingerprint sensing layer 140 comprises a plurality of array arranged fingerprint sensing unit 141, each fingerprint sensing unit 141 for receiving the finger reflection of the light, generating the finger corresponding position of the fingerprint image.” Page 7 discloses “The fingerprint sensing unit 141 may be a photosensitive sensor having a photosensitive effect, for example, a photosensitive TFT or a photosensitive PIN type photodiode.”) comprising:…
wherein the display portion is configured to display an image with the display element on the basis of image data input from the control portion (Gu at Figs. 1, 2, 12, 19, display device 110; page 6)
wherein the display portion is configured to take an image of a fingerprint with the light-receiving element and outputting imaging data to the control portion (Gu at Figs. 12-15; page 11, in particular, discloses “Optionally, in the embodiment of the invention, based on the photosensitive principle of the fingerprint sensing unit 141, the received reflected light is light emitted by the light emitting pixel and reflected by the user finger, the number of the fingerprint sensing unit 141 can be arranged in the form of arrangement. For example, the fingerprint sensing unit 141 and the light emitting pixel can be one-to-one corresponding relation, namely the number of the fingerprint sensing unit 141 and arrangement mode can be the same with the light emitting pixel; For example, in order to save space and hardware cost, a fingerprint sensor corresponding to a plurality of light emitting pixels, also can realize the sensing of the finger reflected light, in the scene, generally requiring the light emitting pixel is an integer multiple of the fingerprint sensor, if it is a non-integer multiple, there is a redundant light emitting pixel; The above two corresponding methods can be used for mixing.”).
Gu does not disclose that the display element and the light-receiving element are formed over the same side of a substrate.
However, Kang does disclose that the display element and the light-receiving element are formed over the same side of a substrate (Kang at Figs. 1, 3, sub-pixels SPX and sensing pixels FPX are on the same side of substrate 10).1
Gu discloses a base display device with fingerprint recognition upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kang discloses a comparable display device with fingerprint recognition which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Gu the teachings of Kang for the predictable result of reducing manufacturing time and manufacturing cost (Kang at ¶ [0058]).
The combination Gu and Kang does not disclose that the display element comprises a first pixel electrode; a light-emitting layer; and a common electrode, and that the light receiving element comprises a second pixel electrode; an active layer; and the common electrode.
However, Wang does disclose that the display element comprises a first pixel electrode; a light-emitting layer; and a common electrode (Wang at Fig. 1, light emitting device 210 including anode 211, light emitting layer 213, and cathode 213), and
that the light receiving element comprises a second pixel electrode; an active layer; and the common electrode (Wang at Fig. 1, photosensitive diode 110 including anode 111, photosensitive material layer 112, and cathode 113; ¶ [0039] discloses “the cathode 113 of each photo-sensitive diode 110 may be in the same layer as, and integrated with, the cathode 213 of the organic electroluminescent display panel”).
As to claim 16, the combination of Gu, Kang, and Wang discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising: a touch sensor (Gu at Fig. 12, touch sensing module 160; page 9 discloses “FIG. 12 is a structure schematic diagram of another display device provided by the embodiment of the present invention; on the basis of the above embodiments, the display device provided by the embodiment of the present invention may further include: and a touch sensing module 160 respectively connected with each TFT. FIG. 12 shows a connection between a touch sensing module 160 and a TFT array layer 111, which illustrate that the touch sensing module 160 is connected to each TFT in the TFT array layer 111, respectively. wherein the touch sensing module 160 is used for according to the touch position of the finger, starting the finger region of the TFT driving group; processing module 120, further used for controlling the opening and closing of the TFT driving group in the area of the finger, orderly lighting the light emitting pixel group corresponding to each TFT driving group.”),
wherein the display portion is configured to obtain positional data of a finger with the touch sensor and outputting the positional data to the control portion (Gu at Fig. 12, processing module 120; page 10 discloses “Therefore, the embodiment of the invention senses the touch position of the user finger by the touch sensing module 160, and can selectively turn on the display device in the finger region of the TFT driving group, therefore, the light emitting pixel group is also in the range of the area, namely only the light emitting pixel in the area for time-sharing scanning; collecting the fingerprint image in the area.” Figs. 17-18, step S401; Page 14 discloses “Correspondingly, the implementation manner of S402 in the embodiment of the present invention may include: the processing module controls the opening and closing of the TFT driving group of the area where the finger is located; orderly lighting the light emitting pixel group corresponding to each TFT driving group” Examiner submits that the touch position is necessarily known in order to drive the TFT area where the finger is located).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gu, Kang, and Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Lee3 (US 2020/0167537 A1, Filed July 17, 2019).
As to claim 2, the combination of Gu, Kang, and Wang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the display portion is capable of obtaining fingerprint data of a finger that touches any position on a screen (Gu at Figs. 4, 12, in particular; page 14).
However, in the event that it is found that Gu does not unequivocally disclose that the display portion is capable of obtaining fingerprint data of a finger that touches any position on a screen, then Examiner offers in the alternative Lee3 for disclosing such subject matter at Fig. 13C and ¶ [0205] which discloses “As further another embodiment, as shown in FIG. 13C, the size of a fingerprint panel F-PNL can be similar or equal to that of the touch panel T-PNL.”
The combination of Gu and Kang discloses a base fingerprint device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee3 discloses a comparable fingerprint device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Gu and Kang the teachings of Lee3 for the predictable result of enable fingerprint sensing to be performed in a large area fingerprint sensor (Lee3 at ¶ [0009]).
Claims 3, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu, Kang, and Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Lee (US 2021/0133422 A1, Filed December 22, 2017).
As to claim 3, the combination of Gu, Kang, Wang discloses the device according to claim 1.
Gu does not expressly disclose that the memory portion is configured to retain user's fingerprint data registered in advance.
However, Lee does disclose that the memory portion is configured to retain user's fingerprint data registered in advance (Lee at ¶ [0062], [0081], in particular).
The combination of Gu, Kang, Wang discloses a base fingerprint display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable fingerprint display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Gu, Kang, Wang the teachings of Lee for the predictable result of reducing a time required for fingerprint recognition (Lee at ¶ [0012]).
As to claim 4, the combination of Gu, Kang, Wang, and Lee discloses the device according to claim 3, wherein the control portion further comprises an authentication portion, and wherein the authentication portion is configured to compare fingerprint data input from the display portion and the fingerprint data retained in the memory portion and perform processing for determining whether the fingerprint data input from the display portion and the fingerprint data retained in the memory portion match or not (Lee at Fig. 12; ¶ [0081]).2
The combination of Gu, Kang, Wang discloses a base fingerprint display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable fingerprint display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Gu, Kang, Wang the teachings of Lee for the predictable result of reducing a time required for fingerprint recognition (Lee at ¶ [0012]).
Claims 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu (CN 108598117, Filed April 25, 2018) in view of Lee (US 2021/0133422 A1, Filed December 22, 2017) and Raguin (US 2017/0032166 A1, Published February 2, 2017).
As to claim 5, Gu discloses an authentication method for an electronic device comprising:
a display portion comprising display elements and light-receiving elements arranged in a matrix and a touch sensor for detecting a touch on the display portion (Gu at Figs. 4, 12, in particular);…
the authentication method for an electronic device comprising:
a step of obtaining positional data of a finger touching the display portion by the touch sensor; a step of turning on the display element in a first region comprising a position touched by the finger in the display portion; a step of taking fingerprint data of the first region by the light-receiving element (Gu at Figs. 12; Page 10 disclose “Therefore, the embodiment of the invention senses the touch position of the user finger by the touch sensing module 160, and can selectively turn on the display device in the finger region of the TFT driving group, therefore, the light emitting pixel group is also in the range of the area, namely only the light emitting pixel in the area for time-sharing scanning; collecting the fingerprint image in the area.”)…
a step of performing user authentication processing using the fingerprint data by the authentication portion.
Gu does not expressly disclose an authentication portion, and a step of performing user authentication processing using the fingerprint data by the authentication portion. Gu does not disclose outputting the fingerprint data to the authentication portion.
However, Lee does disclose an authentication portion, and a step of performing user authentication processing using the fingerprint data by the authentication portion (Lee at Fig. 12, in particular, Step 1250; ¶ [0012], [0081] discloses “The fingerprint information acquired through the fingerprint sensor 420 may be stored as image information and compared with user's fingerprint information already stored in the memory 450 to authenticate the user of the electronic device 400.”).
Lee discloses outputting the fingerprint data to the authentication portion (Lee at Fig. 4, finger print sensor 420 to processor 460)
Gu discloses a base fingerprint display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable fingerprint display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Gu the teachings of Lee for the predictable result of reducing a time required for fingerprint recognition (Lee at ¶ [0012]).
The combination of Gu and Lee does not disclose that when the finger touches a screen in the step of turning on the display elements in the first region, a projected area of the finger on the screen is larger than a contact area of the finger.
However, Raguin does disclose that when the finger touches a screen in the step of turning on the display elements in the first region, a projected area of the finger on the screen is larger than a contact area of the finger (Raguin at Fig. 12, in particular; ¶ [0105] discloses “Alternatively, as in FIG. 12, an outline of the fingerprint features may be displayed on the screen display 150. When in fingerprint outline display mode, any overlay graphics or text 1254 placed in the area of the display that is projecting the fingerprint scanner image 1258 will be easier to discern by the subject and/or operator.” MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in size/proportion are obvious).3
The combination of Gu and Lee discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Raguin discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Gu and Lee the teachings of Raguin for the predictable result of scanning four fingers simultaneously (Raguin at ¶ [0012]).
As to claim 6, the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses the authentication method for an electronic device according to claim 5, wherein the display element in a region other than the first region of the display portion displays another image (Lee at Fig. 9).
As to claim 7, the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses the authentication method for an electronic device according to claim 5, wherein the display element in a region other than the first region of the display portion emits no light (Gu at Pages 10, 14 disclose selectively turning on light emitting elements only in region of the finger).
As to claim 9, Gu discloses an authentication method for an electronic device comprising:
a display portion comprising display elements and light-receiving elements arranged in a matrix and a touch sensor for detecting a touch on the display portion (Gu at Figs. 4, 12, in particular);…
the authentication method for an electronic device comprising: …
a step of detecting a touch on the position to be touched by the touch sensor; a step of turning on the display element in a first region comprising the position to be touched in the display portion; a step of taking fingerprint data of the first region by the light-receiving element (Gu at Figs. 12; Page 10 disclose “Therefore, the embodiment of the invention senses the touch position of the user finger by the touch sensing module 160, and can selectively turn on the display device in the finger region of the TFT driving group, therefore, the light emitting pixel group is also in the range of the area, namely only the light emitting pixel in the area for time-sharing scanning; collecting the fingerprint image in the area.”)…
Gu does not disclose an authentication portion, and a step of performing user authentication processing using the fingerprint data by the authentication portion. Gu does not disclose outputting the fingerprint data to the authentication portion.
Gu also does not disclose a step of displaying an image showing a position to be touched to a user on the display portion.
However, Lee does disclose an authentication portion, and a step of performing user authentication processing using the fingerprint data by the authentication portion (Lee at Fig. 12, in particular, Step 1250; ¶ [0012], [0081] discloses “The fingerprint information acquired through the fingerprint sensor 420 may be stored as image information and compared with user's fingerprint information already stored in the memory 450 to authenticate the user of the electronic device 400.”).
Lee discloses outputting the fingerprint data to the authentication portion (Lee at Fig. 4, finger print sensor 420 to processor 460)
Lee also discloses a step of displaying an image showing a position to be touched to a user on the display portion (Lee at Fig. 11, Step 1110; ¶ [0145]).
Gu discloses a base fingerprint display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable fingerprint display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Gu the teachings of Lee for the predictable result of reducing a time required for fingerprint recognition (Lee at ¶ [0012]).
The combination of Gu and Lee does not disclose that when the finger touches a screen in the step of turning on the display elements in the first region, a projected area of the finger on the screen is larger than a contact area of the finger.
However, Raguin does disclose that when the finger touches a screen in the step of turning on the display elements in the first region, a projected area of the finger on the screen is larger than a contact area of the finger (Raguin at Fig. 12, in particular; ¶ [0105] discloses “Alternatively, as in FIG. 12, an outline of the fingerprint features may be displayed on the screen display 150. When in fingerprint outline display mode, any overlay graphics or text 1254 placed in the area of the display that is projecting the fingerprint scanner image 1258 will be easier to discern by the subject and/or operator.” MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in size/proportion are obvious).4
The combination of Gu and Lee discloses a base touchscreen device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Raguin discloses a comparable touchscreen device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Gu and Lee the teachings of Raguin for the predictable result of scanning four fingers simultaneously (Raguin at ¶ [0012]).
As to claim 10, the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses the authentication method for an electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the display element in a region other than the first region of the display portion displays another image (Lee at Fig. 9).
Gu discloses a base fingerprint display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee discloses a comparable fingerprint display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Gu the teachings of Lee for the predictable result of reducing a time required for fingerprint recognition (Lee at ¶ [0012]).
As to claim 11, the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses the authentication method for an electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the display element in a region other than the first region of the display portion emits no light (Gu at Pages 10, 14 disclose selectively turning on light emitting elements only in region of the finger).
As to claim 14, the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses the authentication method for an electronic device according to claim 5, wherein when the contact area is assumed to be 100 %, a range that emits light is greater than or equal to 50 % and less than or equal to 150 % (The combination does not expressly disclose this claim aspect. However, MPEP 2144.05(II) establishes that optimization of ranges is obvious).
As to claim 15, the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses the authentication method for an electronic device according to claim 9, wherein when the contact area is assumed to be 100 %, a range that emits light is greater than or equal to 50 % and less than or equal to 150 % (The combination does not expressly disclose this claim aspect. However, MPEP 2144.05(II) establishes that optimization of ranges is obvious).
Claim 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu, Lee, and Raguin as applied to claims 5 and 9 respectively above, and further in view of Reynolds (US 2020/0192522 A1, Filed on June 24, 2019).
As to claim 8, the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses the authentication method for an electronic device according to claim 5.
The combination does not expressly disclose that a luminance or a gray level of the display element that emits brightest light, which is assumed to be 100%, is greater than or equal to 50% and less than or equal to 100%.
However, Reynolds does disclose that a luminance or a gray level of the display element that emits brightest light, which is assumed to be 100%, is greater than or equal to 50% and less than or equal to 100% (Reynolds at ¶ [0075] discloses “one or more subpixels 280 may be configured to emit light for fingerprint sensing that differs from the light emitting for display updating. For example, the subpixels 280 may be driven with a maximum or near maximum brightness values when the corresponding display device is performing fingerprint sensing regardless of the brightness values driven on the subpixels 280 for display updating.”).
The combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses a base fingerprint display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Reynolds discloses a comparable fingerprint display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin the teachings of Reynolds for the predictable result of authenticating a user based on fingerprint information (Reynolds at Fig. 5, step 590).
As to claim 12, the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses the authentication method of claim 9.
The combination does not disclose that a luminance or a gray level of the display element that emits brightest light, which is assumed to be 100%, is greater than or equal to 50% and less than or equal to 100%.
However, Reynolds does disclose that a luminance or a gray level of the display element that emits brightest light, which is assumed to be 100%, is greater than or equal to 50% and less than or equal to 100% (Reynolds at ¶ [0075] discloses “one or more subpixels 280 may be configured to emit light for fingerprint sensing that differs from the light emitting for display updating. For example, the subpixels 280 may be driven with a maximum or near maximum brightness values when the corresponding display device is performing fingerprint sensing regardless of the brightness values driven on the subpixels 280 for display updating.”).
The combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses a base fingerprint display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Reynolds discloses a comparable fingerprint display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin the teachings of Reynolds for the predictable result of authenticating a user based on fingerprint information (Reynolds at Fig. 5, step 590).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu, Lee, and Raguin as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Shim (US 2018/0189468 A1, Published July 5, 2018).
As to claim 13, the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses the authentication method for an electronic device according to claim 9.
The combination does not disclose that the display portion displays a plurality of images showing the position to be touched by two or more fingers simultaneously and the authentication processing is performed based on two or more fingerprint data.
However, Shim does disclose that the display portion displays a plurality of images showing the position to be touched by two or more fingers simultaneously and the authentication processing is performed based on two or more fingerprint data (Shim at ¶ [0286] discloses “Meanwhile, it is needless to say that, in the mobile terminal 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention, the fingerprint information may be used instead of user authentication information (e.g., PIN (personal identity number), which should be entered after more than a preset number of failed unlocking attempts, as well as when unlocking the mobile terminal 100. In this case, the controller 180 may require more fingerprint information than required when unlocking the mobile terminal 100. That is, the controller 180 may display on the display unit 151 screen information for simultaneously receiving a plurality of fingerprints. Also, when a plurality of fingerprints are applied, the mobile terminal 100 may be unlocked based on results of recognition of the shapes of the fingerprints. In this case, the controller 180 may release the locked state based on whether the positions on the display unit 151 where the fingerprints are sensed are registered positions or not, as well as based on the shapes of the fingerprints.”).
The combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses a base fingerprint display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Shim discloses a comparable fingerprint display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin the teachings of Shim for the predictable result of unlocking a mobile terminal based on fingerprint information (Shim at ¶ [0010]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gu, Lee, and Raguin as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Lee3 (US 2020/0167537 A1, Filed July 17, 2019).
As to claim 17, the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses the authentication method for an electronic device according to claim 9.
The combination does not disclose that the image showing a position to be touched to a user indicates different positions each time processing is performed.
However, Lee3 does disclose that the image showing a position to be touched to a user indicates different positions each time processing is performed (Lee3 at Fig. 15; ¶ [0216]-[0217]).
The combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin discloses a base fingerprint device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Lee3 discloses a comparable fingerprint device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Gu, Lee, and Raguin the teachings of Lee3 for the predictable result of enable fingerprint sensing to be performed in a large area fingerprint sensor (Lee3 at ¶ [0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but they are believed to be addressed above, and therefore, moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
01/29/2026
1 See also Kang at Fig. 1, substrate 002.
2 See also Reynolds at ¶ [0053].
3 See also Lee2 used in previous office action at Figs 3, 19, in particular.
4 See also Lee2 used in previous office action at Figs 3, 19, in particular.