2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations does have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being clearly anticipated by Georgescu et al (Pub No. US. 2022/0076411).
Regarding claim 1, Georgecu et al discloses a computer-implemented method of identifying attributes of electronic images and displaying the attributes (Abstract & Fig. 4-5), the method comprising: receiving one or more electronic medical images associated with a pathology specimen (Para. 16 & 25-26: Identify area of interest from an image and locate tumor/ lesions from the images), the one or more electronic medical images including a first electronic medical image (Para. 11 & 100: pathology images); determining a plurality of salient regions within the one or more electronic medical images, the plurality of salient regions including a first salient region and a second salient region in the first electronic medical image (Para. 53 & 74 & 12: classified ‘salient’ & Para.. 96: Multiple area of interest identified from the images); determining a policy based on features of the plurality of salient regions (Para. 339: determining a policy salient regions[Wingdings font/0xE0] Magnification/ zooming setting for the images. & Para. 219 & 266: Close-up viewing pane the currently selected toxic area at a higher magnification) & (Para. 168-174 & Para. 213: area of interest ranking and displaying); and automatically adjusting a display view, using a display, of the first salient region and the second salient region according to the policy (Para. 168-174 & Fig. 5 & Para. 210-214: Display area of interest according to the magnification/ zooming. Presenting multiple area of interest) & (Para. 208: Area of interest is filtered based on preset criterion & Para. 219: The GUI adjust resolution of the image pane so that the area of interest is sized to substantially fill the high-resolution viewing pane).
Regarding claim 2 & 9 & 16, Georgecu et al discloses determining a predetermined order of the plurality of salient regions (Para. 213: allows areas of interest to be highlighted and presented to the user in a way that provides the user with ranking information)
Regarding claim 3 & 10 & 17, Georgecu et al discloses during automatically adjusting a display view, receiving an annotation; and modifying the predetermined order based on the received annotation (Para. 42 & 168-174 & Fig. 5 & Para. 210-214: Display area of interest according to the magnification/ zooming) & (Para. 208: Area of interest is filtered based on preset criterion & Para. 219).
Regarding claim 4 & 11 & 18, Georgecu et al discloses determining a magnification level of each salient region of the plurality of salient regions, wherein the automatically adjusting a display view, using the display, is further according to the determined magnification level of each salient region (Para. 339: determining a policy salient regions[Wingdings font/0xE0] Magnification/ zooming setting for the images. & Para. 219 & 266: Close-up viewing pane the currently selected toxic area at a higher magnification) & (Para. 168-174 & Para. 213: area of interest ranking and displaying).
Regarding claim 5 & 12 & 19, Georgescu et al discloses predetermined order is determined according to at least one of: a tissue type; a tissue texture; a calcification presence (Para. 208 & 210 & 230: Tissue type).
Regarding claim 6 & 13 & 20, Georgescu et al discloses detecting tissue within the one or more electronic medical images, wherein the plurality of salient regions comprise at least a portion of the detected tissue (Para. 210-213) & (Para. 208: Classify and mark the tissue in the area of the interest. Multiple tissue area of interest from the image data).
Regarding claim 7 & 14, Georgescu et al discloses electronic medical images are whole slide images obtained using a microscope (Para. 245: Microscope image).
Regarding claim 8, Georgecu et al discloses a system for identifying attributes of electronic images and displaying the attributes (Abstract & Fig. 5: medical analysis and displaying attributes), the system comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations (Fig. 11: memory with processor) comprising: receiving one or more electronic medical images associated with a pathology specimen (Para. 16 & 25-26: Identify area of interest from an image and locate tumor/ lesions from the images), the one or more electronic medical images including a first electronic medical image (Para. 11 & 100: pathology images); determining a plurality of salient regions within the one or more electronic medical images, the plurality of salient regions including a first salient region and a second salient region in the first electronic medical image (Para. 53 & 74 & 12: classified ‘salient’ & Para.. 96: Multiple area of interest identified from the images); determining a policy based on features of the plurality of salient regions (Para. 339: determining a policy salient regions[Wingdings font/0xE0] Magnification/ zooming setting for the images. & Para. 219 & 266: Close-up viewing pane the currently selected toxic area at a higher magnification) & (Para. 168-174 & Para. 213: area of interest ranking and displaying); and automatically adjusting a display view, using a display, of the first salient region and the second salient region according to the policy (Para. 168-174 & Fig. 5 & Para. 210-214: Display area of interest according to the magnification/ zooming. Presenting multiple area of interest) & (Para. 208: Area of interest is filtered based on preset criterion & Para. 219: The GUI adjust resolution of the image pane so that the area of interest is sized to substantially fill the high-resolution viewing pane).
Regarding claim 15, Georgecu et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, perform a method for identifying attributes of electronic images and displaying the attributes (Abstract & Fig. 4-5), the method comprising: receiving one or more electronic medical images associated with a pathology specimen (Para. 16 & 25-26: Identify area of interest from an image and locate tumor/ lesions from the images), the one or more electronic medical images including a first electronic medical image (Para. 11 & 100: pathology images); determining a plurality of salient regions within the one or more electronic medical images, the plurality of salient regions including a first salient region and a second salient region in the first electronic medical image (Para. 53 & 74 & 12: classified ‘salient’ & Para.. 96: Multiple area of interest identified from the images); determining a policy based on features of the plurality of salient regions (Para. 339: determining a policy salient regions[Wingdings font/0xE0] Magnification/ zooming setting for the images. & Para. 219 & 266: Close-up viewing pane the currently selected toxic area at a higher magnification) & (Para. 168-174 & Para. 213: area of interest ranking and displaying); and automatically adjusting a display view, using a display, of the first salient region and the second salient region according to the policy (Para. 168-174 & Fig. 5 & Para. 210-214: Display area of interest according to the magnification/ zooming. Presenting multiple area of interest) & (Para. 208: Area of interest is filtered based on preset criterion & Para. 219: The GUI adjust resolution of the image pane so that the area of interest is sized to substantially fill the high-resolution viewing pane).
Another Prior Art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Another prior art, Takayamaet al (US 2019/0304409) discloses a display control section configured to display, on a display apparatus, an enlarged image corresponding to a part of a display region of the reconfigured slide image and change the enlarged image displayed on the display apparatus such that the display region moves on the reconfigured slide image according to a movement instruction. Specimen observation for marking regions of interest while observing a low-magnification image of a slide and, thereafter, a detailed observation of the regions of interest is performed using a high-magnification image. In the specimen observation, lesion part and the like, an observer is requested to comprehensively observe throughout an entire specimen region on the slide.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648