DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 12/18/2024, 6/26/2025, 9/18/2025 have been fully considered and are attached hereto.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The title should reference the heat dissipation features of the present invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Limitations of claims 4-8, 17-18
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
See the below 112(a) rejection for additional context.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites, “a hole located on the housing first side” which appears to be a redundant limitation since claim 1 already recites, “a housing first side…comprising a hole”.
It appears this redundant limitation should be deleted.
Claim 9 recites, “the fastening plate” which lacks antecedent basis. It appears claim 9 should either be changed to read, “a fastening plate” or be made to depend from claim 4.
For the purpose of examination, claim 9 will be considered to depend from claim 4.
Claims 2-8, 10-13 are objected to since they depend from claim 1 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-10, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, “an elastic component first end fixedly coupled to the substrate; and an elastic component second end fixedly coupled to the housing second side” and claim 4 further recites, “a fastening plate fixedly supported on the substrate second side” which appears to be new matter not supported by the originally filed specification. The drawings fail to show, and the written description does not appear to provide literary support for, such a configuration. Claim 1 appears to be drawn only to that configuration shown in Figs 4, 6-7 where the elastic component (70) is fixed at one side to the substrate and at the other side to the housing. Figs 8-10, which are drawn to claims 4-8, require that the elastic component (70) be attached at a first side to a fixing plate (61). Thus amended claims 4-10 create new embodiments not disclosed in the originally filed specification.
Claims 17-18 suffer from the same deficiencies as those noted above with respect to claim 4 and are likewise rejected.
Applicant must provide clarification and/or amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 12, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 101998801 – hereinafter, “Yang”).
With respect to claim 1 Yang teaches (In Figs 2, 3a) a circuit board system comprising: a substrate (10) comprising a substrate first side (Top side of 10, see Fig 3a); a first optical system component comprising: a housing (30) arranged on the substrate first side comprising: a housing first side (Top side of 30, see Fig 3a) located away from the substrate and comprising a hole (301); a housing second side (Bottom side of 30) that faces the substrate (See Fig 3a); and a housing first end (Left side of 30 in Fig 3a); and an optical system (50) inserted into the housing from the housing first end in a first direction (See Fig 3a, 50 in inserted into 30 from left to right as per the arrow); an elastic component (401, 4021) comprising: an elastic component first end (Bottom end of 401, 4021) fixedly coupled to the substrate (10, see Fig 3a); and an elastic component second end (Top end of 401) fixedly coupled to the housing second side (Since 401, 10, and 30 are all fixed to each other, it can be said that the top end of 401 is fixedly connected to the bottom of 30); and a heat sink (20, 201) arranged on the housing first side (Top side of 30) coupled to the substrate (20, 201 are coupled to 10 as shown in Fig 2), and comprising: a heat sink first side (Bottom side of 201) that faces the substrate (10, see Fig 3a); and a first boss (2011) located opposite to a position of the hole (See Fig 3a), arranged on the heat sink first side extended into the housing from the hole (See Fig 3a, 2011 is on the bottom of 201 and is within the hole 301), and coupled with the optical
With respect to claim 3, Yang further teaches a plurality of optical system components comprising the first optical system; and a plurality of bosses comprising the first boss in one-to-one correspondence with the optical system components and arranged on the heat sink, wherein each of the bosses extends into a housing of a corresponding optical system component of the optical system components (See Fig 2 which shows two optical system components, their respective housings and bosses which extend into the housings).
With respect to claim 12, Yang further teaches a first pillar comprising: a first pillar first end fixedly coupled to the substrate (10); and a first pillar second end fixedly coupled to the heat sink (20, 201, see Fig 2, the left and right pillars which connect 10 to 201).
With respect to claim 14, Yang teaches (In Figs 2-3a) a communication device comprising: a first circuit board system comprising: a substrate (10) comprising a substrate first side (Top side of 10); a first optical system component comprising: a housing (30) arranged on the substrate first side (See Fig 3a) and comprising: a housing first side (Top side of 30) located away from the substrate (10, see Fig 3a); a hole (301) located on the housing first side (See Fig 2); a housing second side (Bottom side of 30) that faces the substrate (See Fig 3a); and a housing first end (Left side of 30 in Fig 3a); and an optical system (50, “light module”) inserted into the housing from the housing first end in a first direction (Direction the arrow in Fig 3a points); an elastic component (401, 4021) comprising: an elastic component first end (Bottom side of 401, 4021) fixedly coupled to the substrate (Via 402); and an elastic component second end (Top end) fixedly
With respect to claim 16, Yang further teaches wherein the first circuit board system further comprises: a plurality of optical system components; and a plurality of bosses in one-to-one correspondence with the optical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 17 as best understood by the Examiner, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Gektin et al. (US 2014/0262449 – hereinafter, “Gektin”).
With respect to claims 4 and 17, Yang teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 14 as per above and further teaches wherein the substrate (10) further comprises a substrate second side (Bottom side of 10) located away from the first optical system component (50, see Fig 2).
Yang fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the circuit board system further comprises a fastening plate; fixedly supported on the substrate second side.
Gektin, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a circuit board system further comprises a fastening plate (140); fixedly supported on a substrate second side (Bottom side).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gektin with that of Yang such that, in Yang the circuit board system further comprises a fastening plate; fixedly supported on the substrate second side, as taught by Gektin, since doing so would provide additional support to the substrate.
Claims 9-10, as best understood by the Examiner, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Gektin and further in view of Bright et al. (US 2003/0161108 – hereinafter, “Bright”).
With respect to claims 9-10, Yang as modified by Gektin teaches the limitations of claim 4 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a panel fixedly coupled to the fastening plate arranged facing the housing first end, and comprising an avoidance hole is, and wherein the optical system is inserted into the housing through the avoidance hole (Cl. 9), wherein the panel is further coupled to the housing first end using an elastic wave-absorbing material (Cl. 10).
Bright, however, teaches (In Figs 1, 3) a panel (108) fixedly coupled to a PCB (106) and arranged facing a housing (122) first end, and comprising an avoidance hole (109) and wherein an optical system (102) is inserted into the housing through the avoidance hole (Cl. 9), wherein the panel (108) is further coupled to the housing first end using an elastic wave-absorbing material (125, ¶ 0063, “illustrate an EMI shielding gasket assembly 125 for shielding the forward or front end 422 of the guide frame 122 proximate the bezel 108 (shown in FIGS. 1 and 3)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bright with that of Yang as modified by Gektin such that, modified Yang includes a panel fixedly coupled to the fastening plate arranged facing the housing first end, and comprising an avoidance hole, and wherein the optical system is inserted into the housing through the avoidance hole (Cl. 9), wherein the panel is further coupled to the housing first end using an elastic wave-absorbing material (Cl. 10), as taught by Bright, since providing a panel in front of the housing of Yang would provide mechanical protection thereto.
Note that when Yang is further modified such that the substrate has a panel fixed thereto that the panel will also be fixedly coupled to the fastening plate since the substrate of Yang is fixed to the fastening plate as per the teachings of Gektin.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Sharf (US 11,450,980).
With respect to claim 11, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the boss comprises a substrate second side
Sharf, however, teaches (In Fig 4) wherein a boss comprises a substrate second side facing a housing first end and having an oblique surface, and wherein the oblique surface tilts toward a second direction proximate to a housing (110) in a first direction (See Fig A below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sharf with that of Yang such that, in Yang the boss comprises a substrate second sideSharf, since doing so would provide a boss which does not have a rigid end which may come into contact with the optical system thus reducing the chance that the optical system will be damaged by the boss.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Franz et al. (US 10,955,883 – hereinafter, “Franz”).
With respect to claim 13, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a heat pipe embedded in the heat sink.
Franz, however, teaches a heat pipe embedded in a heat sink (Col. 10, ll. 4-5, “The second difference is that heat pipes 540 have been embedded in the heat sink 520”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Franz with that of Yang such that a heat pipe is embedded in the heat sink of Yang, as taught by Franz, since doing so would increase the heat removal capacity of the heat sink.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Xiang et al. (US 2015/0305194 – hereinafter, “Xiang”).
With respect to claims 19-20, Yang teaches the limitations of claim 14 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest circuit board systems comprising the first circuit board system and arranged in parallel; and a backplane located on a substrate second side of each of the circuit board systems in the first direction, arranged away from the housing first end, and electrically coupled to each of the circuit board systems (Cl. 19), air ducts between each adjacent circuit board system of the adjacent board systems; and a fan configured to supply air to the air ducts (Cl. 20).
Xiang, however, teaches (In Fig 1A) circuit board systems comprising a first circuit board system arranged in parallel (See Fig 1A, 110 and 120 are arranged in parallel); and a backplane (130) located on a second side of each of the circuit board systems in a first direction, arranged away from a first end of the board (130 is arranged away from the left end of 110 in Fig 1A), and electrically coupled to each of the circuit board systems (See Fig 1A, see also ¶ 0035), air ducts between each adjacent circuit board system of the adjacent board systems (See Fig 1A, arrows show how air flows between the board systems); and a fan (160) configured to supply air to the air ducts (See Fig 1A, see also ¶ 0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xiang with that of Yang such that Yang includes circuit board systems comprising the first circuit board system and arranged in parallel; and a backplane located on a substrate second side of each of the circuit board systems in the first direction, arranged away from the housing first end, and electrically coupled to each of the circuit board systems (Cl. 19), air ducts between each adjacent circuit board system of the adjacent board systems; and a fan configured to supply air to the air ducts (Cl. 20), as taught by Xiang, since doing so would allow for the first circuit board system of Yang to be housed and air cooled thus providing mechanical protection to the first circuit board system while also providing a means of cooling the heat sink.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,032,936 to So et al. which teaches an information processing device;
US 9,851,519 to Van Gaal which teaches an optic module cage assembly with heat sink;
CN 103811435 to Xiong which teaches a pluggable heat source radiator; and
CN 104125751 to Zhang et al. which teaches a radiating structure of a light module.
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841