DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024, 06/17/2025 and 07/22/2026 considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima JP 2018184915 A in view of Ohuchi et al. US 6,073,611 A (hereinafter referred to as Ohuchi)
Regarding claim 1, Shima discloses a combustion control system (fig. 1-2, ECU 0, par. [0015]) to be applied to an engine (fig. 1, internal combustion engine, par. [0009]) provided with a cylinder (fig. 1, cylinder, par. [0010]), an injector (fig. 1, injector 11, par. [0010]), configured to inject fuel into the cylinder, and a spark plug (fig. 1, ignition plug 12, par. [0014]) configured to ignite a mixture gas (fig. 1, air-fuel mixture, par. [0027]), containing the fuel injected from the injector the system comprising: an ignition coil (fig. 2, ignition coil 14, par. [0014]) including a primary coil and a secondary coil (fig. 2, a primary coil and a secondary winding 24, par. [0009], [0015]); an igniter (fig. 2, igniter 13, par. [0014]-[0015]) configured to induce high voltage in the secondary coil through ON/OFF of supply of electric current to the primary coil (fig. 2, semiconductor switch 131, par. [0015]-[0017]), and cause electric discharge between plug electrodes of the spark plug by the induced high voltage (par. [0022]); a bias voltage generator (fig. 2, bias power supply unit 15, par. [0027]) configured to apply bias voltage for detecting ion current to the plug electrodes (clm. 2, 6), the ion current occurring between the plug electrodes and originating in ions inside the cylinder (clm. 2, 6); and a processor configured to execute (fig. 3, ECM, col. 5, ln. 23-50): an ion current detector (fig. 2, ion current detection circuit, par. [0027]) to detect the ion current an injector (fig. 1, injector 11, par. [0010]) configured to inject fuel into the cylinder (fig. 1, cylinder 1, par. [0010]); an ignition controller (fig. 1-2, ECU, par. [0028]) to control the bias voltage apply (par. [0027]) the bias voltage to the plug electrodes (fig. 1-2, center electrode of the ignition plug 12, par. [0015]) at a same timing (fig. 3, time point t0, par [0020]) as a start of a low-temperature oxidation reaction (par. [0037]-[0042]) caused inside the cylinder with compression of the mixture gas (par. [0037]-[0042]), and control the igniter (fig. 2, igniter 13, par. [0014]-[0015]) to cause the electric discharge (par. [0014]-[0015]) between the plug electrodes at an ignition timing set to a timing later (fig. 3, time point t1, par [0019]-[0020]) than the start of the low-temperature oxidation reaction (fig. 4, time t0, t0’, par. [0042]); and during a detection period from a timing at which the application of the bias voltage is started to a given timing earlier than the ignition timing (fig. 2, 4, ion current, par. [0027], [0040]-[0043]), wherein the ignition controller corrects the ignition timing according to the property of the fuel (par. [0026],[0047]), in a same cycle as that when the property of the fuel is estimated, and controls the igniter to perform the electric discharge at the corrected ignition timing (fig. 4, par. [0040]-[0073]).
Shima do not disclose an estimator to estimate a property of the fuel injected from the injector based on the ion current detected by the ion current detector; wherein the ignition controller corrects the ignition timing according to the property of the fuel in a same cycle as that when the property of the fuel is estimated.
Ohuchi discloses an estimator (fig. 1, elm. 30, col. 9, ln. 28-36) to estimate a property of the fuel injected from the injector (fig. 1, elm. 10, col. 1, ln. 50-54) based on the ion current detected by the ion current detector (fig. 1, elm. 29, col. 8, ln. 57-65); wherein the ignition controller (fig. 1, elm. 20, col. 8, ln. 18-35) corrects the ignition timing (fig. 2, 12, control calculating means 34, col. 14, ln. 45-col. 15, ln. 23) according to the property of the fuel in a same cycle as that when the property of the fuel is estimated (fig. 2, 12, fuel property NF, col. 14, ln. 45-col. 15, ln. 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an internal combustion engine control device comprising ion current detection means for detecting ion current and ion current parameter calculation means for calculating ion current parameter indicative of the properties of fuel, changes of the ion current parameter in a time period from an engine start time to a predetermined number of ignitions, as taught in Ohuchi in modifying the apparatus of Shima. The motivation would be correcting the control parameters in accordance with the fuel property so as to suppress the deterioration of the exhaust gas and to enhance the deterioration of the exhaust gas and to enhance the drivability. (see Ohuchi: col. 4, ln. 62-67).
Regarding claim 8, Shima and Ohuchi discloses the combustion control system of claim 1, Shima discloses wherein the bias voltage generator (fig. 2, bias power supply unit 15, par. [0027]) is a capacitor device (fig. 2, capacitor 151, par. [0027]) connected to the secondary coil (fig. 2, secondary side, par. [0015]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima in view of Ohuchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hitomi et al. JP 2005016408 A (hereinafter referred to as Hitomi)
Regarding claim 2, Shima and Ohuchi discloses the combustion control system of claim 1, Shima and Ohuchi do not disclose wherein the estimator estimates a ratio of isooctane contained in the fuel as the property of the fuel, and wherein the ignition controller corrects the ignition timing toward a retarding side as the ratio of isooctane decreases.
Hitomi discloses wherein the estimator (fig. 4, elm. 32, par. [0036]) estimates a ratio of isooctane (fig. 4, octane number, par. [0038]) contained in the fuel as the property of the fuel, and wherein the ignition controller (fig. 4, elm. 36, par. [0047]) corrects the ignition timing toward a retarding side as the ratio of isooctane decreases (fig. 10, par. [0047]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 3-7 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima in view of Ohuchi in view of Hitomi as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Henein et al. US 2021/0079856 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Henein)
Regarding claim 3, Shima, Ohuchi and Hitomi discloses the combustion control system of claim 2, Shima, Ohuchi and Hitomi do not disclose wherein calculates an ion current feature quantity correlating with the property of the fuel, based on the ion current detected during the detection period, and estimates the ratio of isooctane from the calculated ion current feature quantity.
Henein discloses calculate an ion current feature quantity correlating with the property of the fuel, based on the ion current detected during the detection period, and estimates the ratio of isooctane from the calculated ion current feature quantity (fig. 3, par. [0020]- [0022]) (clm. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an algorithm to determine auto-ignition quality of the fuel (e.g. Cetane Number (CN) or Derived Cetane Number (DCN)) being used based on the ion current signal, as taught in Hitomi in modifying the apparatus of Shima, Ohuchi and Hitomi. The motivation would be engine control unit to enable the engine to operate properly and reduce the losses associated with variations in the auto-ignition quality of the fuel. (see Hitomi: par. [0012]).
Regarding claim 4, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses the combustion control system of claim 3, Henein discloses wherein the ion current feature quantity is a maximum charge amount that is a maximum value of a charge amount between the plug electrodes during the detection period and the estimator estimates the ratio of isooctane to be larger as the maximum charge amount decreases (fig. 3, par. [0020]-[0022]) (clm. 10).
Regarding claim 5, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses the combustion control system of claim 3, Henein discloses wherein the ion current feature quantity is a maximum ion current that is a maximum value of the ion current during the detection period, and wherein the estimator estimates the ratio of isooctane to be larger as the maximum ion current decreases (fig. 3, par. [0020]-[0022]) (clm. 10)..
Regarding claim 6, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses the combustion control system of claim 4, Shima discloses wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 2, bias power supply unit 15, par. [0027]) so that the bias voltage increases gradually from the start of the low-temperature oxidation reaction and decreases gradually thereafter (fig. 2-3, par. [0020], [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses the combustion control system of claim 5, Shima discloses wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 2, bias power supply unit 15, par. [0027]) so that the bias voltage increases gradually from the start of the low-temperature oxidation reaction and decreases gradually thereafter (fig. 2-3, par. [0020], [0043]).
Regarding claim 14, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses combustion control system of claim 3, Shima discloses wherein the ignition controller (fig. 1-2, ECU 0, par. [0015]) controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 2, bias power supply unit 15, par. [0027]) so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced (par. [0043]) as an engine load increases (temperature oxidation reaction increases).
Regarding claim 15, Shima and Ohuchi discloses the combustion control system of claim 2, Shima discloses wherein the ignition controller (fig. 1-2, ECU 0, par. [0015]) controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 2, bias power supply unit 15, par. [0027]) so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced (par. [0043]) as an engine load increases (temperature oxidation reaction increases).
Regarding claim 16, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses the combustion control system of claim 3, Shima discloses wherein the ignition controller (fig. 1-2, ECU 0, par. [0015]) controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 2, bias power supply unit 15, par. [0027]) so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced (par. [0043]) as an engine load increases (temperature oxidation reaction increases).
Regarding claim 17, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses the combustion control system of claim 4, Shima discloses wherein the ignition controller (fig. 1-2, ECU 0, par. [0015]) controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 2, bias power supply unit 15, par. [0027]) so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced (par. [0043]) as an engine load increases (temperature oxidation reaction increases).
Regarding claim 18, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses the combustion control system of claim 5, Shima discloses wherein the ignition controller (fig. 1-2, ECU 0, par. [0015]) controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 2, bias power supply unit 15, par. [0027]) so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced (par. [0043]) as an engine load increases (temperature oxidation reaction increases).
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima in view of Hitomi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fitzner et al. US 4111174 A (hereinafter referred to as Fitzner).
Regarding claim 9, Shima and Ohuchi discloses the combustion control system of claim 1, Shima and Ohuchi do not disclose wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced as an engine speed increases.
Fitzner discloses wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 1, elm. 40, col. 7, ln. 31-33) so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced as an engine speed increases (bias voltage automatically advances the triggering and the timing of the spark, thereby effectively increasing the engine speed, col. 7, ln. 59-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide electronic idle speed governor for stabilizing the operation of internal combustion engines where controlled variation of the ignition system triggering threshold can provide the desired electronic spark advance for idle speed stabilization, as taught in Fitzner in modifying the apparatus of Shima and Ohuchi. The motivation would be to electronically produces an automatic advance of the spark as the engine speed slows down below a selected speed. (see Fitzner, col. 2, 18-31).
Regarding claim 10, Shima, Ohuchi and Hitomi discloses the combustion control system of claim 2, Shima, Ohuchi and Hitomi do not disclose herein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced as an engine speed increases.
Fitzner discloses wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 1, elm. 40, col. 7, ln. 31-33) so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced as an engine speed increases (bias voltage automatically advances the triggering and the timing of the spark, thereby effectively increasing the engine speed, col. 7, ln. 59-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide electronic idle speed governor for stabilizing the operation of internal combustion engines where controlled variation of the ignition system triggering threshold can provide the desired electronic spark advance for idle speed stabilization, as taught in Fitzner in modifying the apparatus of Shima, Ohuchi and Hitomi. The motivation would be to electronically produces an automatic advance of the spark as the engine speed slows down below a selected speed. (see Fitzner, col. 2, 18-31).
Regarding claim 11, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses combustion control system of claim 3, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein do not disclose wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced as an engine speed increases.
Fitzner discloses wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 1, elm. 40, col. 7, ln. 31-33) so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced as an engine speed increases (bias voltage automatically advances the triggering and the timing of the spark, thereby effectively increasing the engine speed, col. 7, ln. 59-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide electronic idle speed governor for stabilizing the operation of internal combustion engines where controlled variation of the ignition system triggering threshold can provide the desired electronic spark advance for idle speed stabilization, as taught in Fitzner in modifying the apparatus of Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein. The motivation would be to electronically produces an automatic advance of the spark as the engine speed slows down below a selected speed. (see Fitzner, col. 2, 18-31).
Regarding claim 12, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses combustion control system of claim 3, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein do not disclose wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced as an engine speed increases.
Fitzner discloses wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 1, elm. 40, col. 7, ln. 31-33) so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced as an engine speed increases (bias voltage automatically advances the triggering and the timing of the spark, thereby effectively increasing the engine speed, col. 7, ln. 59-65).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein discloses combustion control system of claim 3, Shima, Ohuchi, Hitomi and Henein do not disclose wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced as an engine speed increases.
Fitzner discloses wherein the ignition controller controls the bias voltage generator (fig. 1, elm. 40, col. 7, ln. 31-33) so that the application start of the bias voltage is advanced as an engine speed increases (bias voltage automatically advances the triggering and the timing of the spark, thereby effectively increasing the engine speed, col. 7, ln. 59-65).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 3.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shima in view of Hitomi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuo et al. US 2011/0246049 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Matsuo).
Regarding claim 19, Shima and Ohuchi discloses the combustion control system of claim 1, Shima and Ohuchi do not disclose wherein the estimator is further configured to determine an occurrence of a preignition based on the ion current detected by the ion current detector, and the processor is further configured to execute an injection controller configured to cause the injector to inject additional fuel when the occurrence of the preignition is determined.
Matsuo discloses wherein the estimator (fig. 1, elm. 42, par. [0061]) is further configured to determine the occurrence of a preignition based on the ion current detected by the ion current detector (fig. 1, elm. 34, par. [0048]), and the processor (fig. 2, elm., par. [0017], [0056]) is further configured to execute an injection controller (fig. 2, elm. 44, par. [0058]) configured to cause the injector (fig. 2, elm. 44, par. [0043]) to inject additional fuel when the occurrence of the preignition is determined (par. [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the amount fuel injection from an injector if a preignition is detected in the specific operating region, as taught in Matsuo in modifying the apparatus of Shima and Ohuchi. The motivation would be to inject enough fuel to lowers the in-cylinder temperature to suppress the occurrence of the preignition (see Matsuo: par. [0066]).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858