DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 20130342310 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a battery replacement apparatus configured to perform battery replacement of replacing a first battery mounted in a vehicle with a second battery, comprising:
a drive device configured to perform the battery replacement ([0103], [0110], and Fig. 7, where battery charging station 200 comprises battery exchange robot 250);
a processor configured to control the drive device ([0112] and Fig. 7, where charging station control unit 270 controls battery exchange robot 250), wherein the processor is configured to
acquire first vehicle information that identifies the vehicle and replacement battery information that identifies the second battery from the vehicle or a user of the vehicle ([0050-0051] and [0057], where the vehicle sends replacement battery information that identifies if a second battery can be exchanged into the vehicle, specifically a battery type; [0053] and [0055-0056], where the battery charging station receives a reservation command that creates a reservation with the corresponding vehicle),
and control the drive device using the replacement battery information and the first vehicle information to replace the first battery with the second battery ([0114-0116] and [0118], where the battery exchange robot is controlled to perform the battery exchange according to the reservation made).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches wherein the processor is configured to control the drive device using the replacement battery information and the first vehicle information acquired after the replacement battery information to replace the first battery with the second battery ([0050-0051] and [0055-0056], where information regarding the initial availability of a second replacement battery is first received, then the reservation confirmation of the battery exchanging is received for future replacement with the identified vehicle).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the battery replacement apparatus further comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire second vehicle information of the vehicle ([0046], [0107], and Fig. 7, where communication unit 220 receives second vehicle information when transmitted to the battery charging station 200),
wherein the processor is configured to control the drive device to replace the first battery with the second battery when the second vehicle information coincides with the first vehicle information ([0114-0116], where the reservation information, i.e. first vehicle information, and the identification information, i.e. second vehicle information, are checked to see if the vehicle matches a reservation on record, and battery exchanging occurs if the vehicle has a reservation).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches an information providing device configured to provide information to a battery replacement apparatus that replaces a first battery mounted in a vehicle with a second battery, (Figs. 2, control unit 130 and communication unit 120), wherein the information providing device is configured to:
provide the battery replacement apparatus with replacement battery information that identifies the second battery ([0050-0052] and [0057], where the vehicle requests if the battery charging station has a battery that can be exchanged based on the battery type),
and provide the battery replacement apparatus with vehicle information that identifies the vehicle ([0053] and [0055-0056], where the battery charging station receives a reservation command from the vehicle that creates a reservation with the corresponding vehicle).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches wherein the information providing device is configured to provide the vehicle information to the battery replacement apparatus after the replacement battery information is provided to the battery replacement apparatus ([0050-0051] and [0054-0056], where information regarding the initial availability of a second replacement battery is first sent by the vehicle, then the reservation confirmation of the battery exchanging is sent by the vehicle for future replacement with the identified vehicle).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches a battery replacement system comprising:
a battery replacement apparatus configured to perform battery replacement of replacing a first battery mounted in a vehicle with a second battery (Fig. 7, battery charging station 200);
and an information providing device configured to provide information to the battery replacement apparatus (Fig. 2, control unit 130 and communication unit 120), wherein the battery replacement apparatus includes:
a drive device configured to perform the battery replacement ([0103], [0110], and Fig. 7, where battery charging station 200 comprises battery exchange robot 250);
and a processor configured to control the drive device ([0112] and Fig. 7, where charging station control unit 270 controls battery exchange robot 250), the processor is configured to:
acquire vehicle information that identifies the vehicle and replacement battery information that identifies the second battery from the vehicle or a user of the vehicle ([0050-0051] and [0057], where the vehicle sends replacement battery information that identifies if a second battery can be exchanged into the vehicle, specifically a battery type; [0053] and [0055-0056], where the battery charging station receives a reservation command that creates a reservation with the corresponding vehicle),
and control the drive device using the replacement battery information and the vehicle information to replace the first battery with the second battery ([0114-0116] and [0118], where the battery exchange robot is controlled to perform the battery exchange according to the reservation made),
and the information providing device is configured to provide the battery replacement apparatus with the replacement battery information and the vehicle information ([0053] and [0055-0056], where the battery charging station receives a reservation command from the vehicle that creates a reservation with the corresponding vehicle).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches wherein the processor is configured to control the drive device using the replacement battery information and the vehicle information acquired after the replacement battery information to replace the first battery with the second battery ([0050-0051] and [0055-0056], where information regarding the initial availability of a second replacement battery is first received, then the reservation confirmation of the battery exchanging is received for future replacement with the identified vehicle).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches wherein the information providing device is configured to provide the vehicle information to the battery replacement apparatus after the replacement battery information is provided to the battery replacement apparatus ([0050-0051] and [0054-0056], where information regarding the initial availability of a second replacement battery is first sent by the vehicle, then the reservation confirmation of the battery exchanging is sent by the vehicle for future replacement with the identified vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 20230063189 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches the acquisition unit of claim 3, but does not teach the limitations of claim 4. In the same field of battery replacement processes for vehicles, Huang teaches:
wherein the acquisition unit includes a camera configured to image the vehicle ([0048]),
and the second vehicle information includes information on a license plate of the vehicle imaged by the camera ([0047-0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify the acquisition of unit of Park based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation of increasing the accuracy of the performed identification of the vehicle, ensuring that the correct vehicle is authorized for a reserved battery.
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches that the acquisition unit includes a communication unit ([0044] and [0046), but does not teach that it is configured to perform near-field radio communication with the vehicle, and is configured to receive the second vehicle information from the vehicle through the communication unit.
In the same field of battery replacement processes for vehicles, Huang teaches: an acquisition unit including a communication unit configured to:
perform near-field radio communication with the vehicle ([0048], where a vehicle identification collection device is a radio frequency identification tag reader),
and is configured to receive the second vehicle information from the vehicle through the communication unit ([0048], where the vehicle identification collection device reads vehicle information from its radio frequency identification tag).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify the acquisition of unit of Park based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation of increasing the accuracy of the performed identification of the vehicle, ensuring that the correct vehicle is authorized for a reserved battery.
Conclusion
/JACK ROBERT BREWER/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ADAM D TISSOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663